View Full Version : Last Harry Potter book
RogerMilla
16/07/2007, 8:53 AM
dont know if anyone is interested but this was in the guardian today.
The Deathly Hallows: a sneak preview In a trailer for the forthcoming ITV documentary, A Year in the Life... J K Rowling, the camera lingers long enough on a printed manuscript of the novel, dated 23 October 2006, to make the opening visible to the eagle eyed. It reads:
'Chapter One. The Dark Lord Ascending. The two men appeared out of nowhere, a few yards apart in the narrow, moonlit lane. For a second they stood quite still, wands pointing at each other's chests: then, recognising each other, they stowed their wands beneath their cloaks and set off, side by side, in the same direction.
"News?", asked the taller of the two.
"The best," replied Snape.'
16/07/2007, 9:00 AM
oh my god you've ruined it! :mad: :p not sure if i'll get this, i read the first 4 but the fifth one put me off the series. suppose ill make the effort!
RogerMilla
16/07/2007, 9:04 AM
thought the last two were the best ones GZ , bet I'll get pelters for this !
16/07/2007, 9:19 AM
Have the kids all psyched up for camping outside the local easons on Fri nite to get the book. Didnt do this b4 but as its the last in the series, thought would be good for them to experience this kinda thing once!
endabob1
16/07/2007, 9:23 AM
I'm a big fan of the HP series, despite all the spin offs etc.. nothing else has had the same sort of impact in terms of getting kids to read books.
Adopts middle aged dad voice... "When I were a lad...."
Calcio Jack
16/07/2007, 9:30 AM
There are Wizards and there are real Wizards and HP is Wizard Lite.... HP IMO is a 3rd rate series but hey it seems to be liked by many so hope they enjoy the last tranche...
16/07/2007, 9:42 AM
It was what got my sons into reading big time too. HP is great for kids of 6 to start on the fantasy trail.
I also love it but then I get excited reading the cornflakes box coz words strung together are like music to me no matter what they say!
16/07/2007, 11:15 AM
Have the kids all psyched up for camping outside the local easons on Fri nite to get the book. Didnt do this b4 but as its the last in the series, thought would be good for them to experience this kinda thing once!
Camping overnight to get a book will be a good experience for them?? :eek: Doing some charity work/helping old women across the road would be a good experience for them. Camping overnight for a book that will be readily available soon is a bit sill IMO. No offence intended Magicme.
16/07/2007, 11:39 AM
No its the excitement of it and having that excitement related to books will stand them well in the future.
Dont worry they are being brought up with the charity/helping old across road ethos too. They were dragged to every event I had to go to when I worked with Refugees. They know the score there.
Have brought them to concerts, football matches & many other events as well as unusual birthday parties to give them experiences that will form great memories of their childhood.
I believe in filling their lives with as many exciting and colourful experiences as I can afford to give them instead of letting them rot in front of a playstation.
16/07/2007, 12:13 PM
When you put it like that then fair play. :)
Wolfie
16/07/2007, 12:57 PM
Managed to get an advance copy.
Didn't see that ending coming!! A lazy way to end the series.
So the entire series of books were all a crazy dream!!!!!!
sfc red
16/07/2007, 1:03 PM
Can't believe he was a transvestite!
16/07/2007, 1:05 PM
Can't believe he was a transvestite!
Voldemort: Harry... I am your father
RogerMilla
16/07/2007, 1:26 PM
Voldemort: Harry... I am your father
LOL GZ. she nicked the idea from star wars anyway.
lives with his uncle and aunt , has special powers that they frown upon, beardy old git teaches him how to use them etc etc so she might as well wrap it up like that !!
16/07/2007, 2:05 PM
LOL GZ. she nicked the idea from star wars anyway.
lives with his uncle and aunt , has special powers that they frown upon, beardy old git teaches him how to use them etc etc so she might as well wrap it up like that !!
:D fantastic, I never spotted that. well done
Have never read the first two, and I thought the fifth book was very poor, especially given the quality of Goblet of Fire, but I'll be picking up a copy of this on Friday night/saturday morning alright.
It's pretty much a dead cert that Harry has to sacrifice himself to kill Voldemort at this stage isn't it? I think some bookies have even stopped taking bets on this one, hopefully Ron bites the bullet too
20/07/2007, 7:36 AM
Can someone tell me what page he dies on? I'm going into town shopping theis afternoon and I'd like to get this info printed on a Tee-Shirt.:)
20/07/2007, 8:46 AM
You'll be popular. I'll have some of your brave pills please. :D
20/07/2007, 8:46 AM
Am so excited. Taking kids to see the Order of the Phoenix this evening b4 we que up for the book. Will be an adventure!
20/07/2007, 11:14 AM
Just passed Easons in Limerick and already there are 5 18/19 year olds queueing up. I mean there are 12 hours left til it goes on sale, and it's raining!!
20/07/2007, 11:19 AM
I see that certain people who endorse every conspiracy theory under the sun, also read HP. Speaks volumes, that does!
20/07/2007, 11:20 AM
jaysus, thank god Monaghan is a small town so there will only be bout 10 people all together! Tesco's and the Library are doing similar events so am sure there will be plenty of people about. Can see drunks coming out of the Pig & headin to Easons at bout 1.30 tonite to buy their book, reading last few pages and spoiling the ending for everyone!
20/07/2007, 11:29 AM
You've been warned! (http://news.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30100-1276130,00.html)
Actually, I think the publishers/JK should make a considerable donation to Childline. The service will be flooded with delusional kids, when it should be dealing with important issues.
20/07/2007, 1:39 PM
I see that certain people who endorse every conspiracy theory under the sun, also read HP. Speaks volumes, that does!jesus Peadar, you'd never keep your personal issues to yourself would you? You're starting to come off as attention seeking or something.
jesus Peadar, you'd never keep your personal issues to yourself will you? You're starting to come off as attention seeking or something.
yeah, starting.......:p
20/07/2007, 3:02 PM
jesus Peadar, you'd never keep your personal issues to yourself would you?
No need to big yourself up. You're not an issue for me.
I find it very easy to disregard everything you say.
20/07/2007, 11:03 PM
I find it very easy to disregard everything you say.Apparently not.
21/07/2007, 12:44 PM
I just don't get this whole Harry Potter thing, it's a f*cking childrens book.
21/07/2007, 1:10 PM
aw its great. Started reading it last nite and really enjoying it. Only I have to go to Kildare shortly to watch the game, I wouldnt be leaving it alone til I had it finished!
*hits the buzzer* finished the boom at 7.05pm roughly.
Have to say I enjoyed it, and will discuss the positives and the negatives further when more people have finished up
I just don't get this whole Harry Potter thing, it's a f*cking childrens book.
Have you read it?
Thoroughly enjoyed all of them, children's books or not.
21/07/2007, 10:21 PM
Have you read it?
Thoroughly enjoyed all of them, children's books or not.
Tried reading one of the earlier ones and it took me 10 or so pages to realise this is a book for a child and i shouldn't continue to insult my intelligence.
21/07/2007, 10:24 PM
Tried reading one of the earlier ones and it took me 10 or so pages to realise this is a book for a child and i shouldn't continue to insult my intelligence.
It took you 10 pages to realise it was written for a child :eek: Maybe your overestimating that whole intelligence thing ;):p
21/07/2007, 10:36 PM
It took you 10 pages to realise it was written for a child :eek: Maybe your overestimating that whole intelligence thing ;):p
You kept reading so it doesn't say that much for you either.
21/07/2007, 10:42 PM
You kept reading so it doesn't say that much for you either.
What? I knew it was a children's book before I started,chose to read it and still thoroughly enjoyed it. I have read plenty of children's books and enjoyed them........
Get off the high horse lad. People enjoying reading a good story originally aimed at children does not show a lack of intelligence.
21/07/2007, 11:31 PM
I read the first one, it didn't particularly motivate me to read any of the other ones though...
21/07/2007, 11:37 PM
I'm lazy so just watch the films:D.
22/07/2007, 11:42 AM
I'm lazy so just watch the films:D.
But their terrible....
If your that bad at least get the books on tape :D
22/07/2007, 12:24 PM
I must say I thought the biggest shock of the last book was when it turned out the books were set in the 90s, with the last one being set in 1998, then when I read the flash forward last chapter, 17 years after the last book, I realised that she is probably shaping up to bring out another book, in 2015
23/07/2007, 8:28 AM
If your that bad at least get the books on tape :D
Dear God! The shame of it!
Someone still using tape.
It's true what they say, the Celtic Tiger didn't even stop to take a leak, in some parts of the country. I trust modernisation bypassed you, while you lived in Limerick.
Says the man from the most run down city in Ireland :rolleyes:
23/07/2007, 10:22 AM
Says the man from the most run down city in Ireland :rolleyes:
It's not my fault that Dublin is rundown!
23/07/2007, 10:45 AM
Dear God! The shame of it!
Someone still using tape.
It's true what they say, the Celtic Tiger didn't even stop to take a leak, in some parts of the country. I trust modernisation bypassed you, while you lived in Limerick.
I never said I used them....In case you didn't notice I was replying to a Sligo man. They don't do technology up in those parts ;)
25/07/2007, 4:30 PM
Just finished it bout an hour ago and have to say I cried.
Am a total sap.
Will miss the books now.
26/07/2007, 1:04 PM
You cried over a fictitious book?? Jesus wept...
God help you when the film comes out girl :D
27/07/2007, 8:22 AM
Yeah, I cried coz I wont be able to get a new installment of Harry & Co's adventures. :(
27/07/2007, 8:29 AM
even jesus has a copy? :eek:
27/07/2007, 9:29 AM
POTM Gavinzac!
27/07/2007, 10:11 AM
God help you when the film comes out girl :D
Strangely Im far more likely to cry at a book than a movie........Didnt cry at this one but will admit I cried at the last one :o
27/07/2007, 10:37 AM
I cried reading Memoirs of a Geisha but not at the movie! Yeah books suck me in more so feel more of an emotional attachment to them.