View Full Version : Segregation?

Paddyfield
15/07/2007, 9:40 PM
Is segregation of supporters compulsory at LOI grounds?

There was a bit of a handbags incident at the Showgrounds on Saturday which could have been nasty ...only for the fact that it was two west of Ireland teams whose supporters are too laid back to even bother.

Nevertheless, there is an illustration on the back of the Sligo Rovers match ticket which shows the East Stand (on the right as you walk in) is for away supporters. That stand has about 800 seats (my guesstimate) and there were about 150 GUFC fans there plus about a similar amount of Sligo fans which was monitored by three stewards. When the visiting fans needed to take a wizz or but a Fanta, they had to pass the locals.

At one stage, a Galway United fan got involved in a few verbals with the Sligo fans as he walked passed them after he took a leak. The banter was nothing more than you'd get at a schoolboy hurling match but before we knew it, there were six of the Garda Siochana's finest officers and maybe a dozen stewards forming a human shield to prevent a riot.

When we got out of the Showgrounds in one piece and the Sligo Riot Police team held off :rolleyes:, here was no agro and to be honest, we got a good reception from the locals before and after the game despite the poor quality of football that both teams mustererd up.

I can't help feeling that if this was Cup semi final or relegation battle* that the outcome could have been worse.

Are Clubs obliged to segregate fans?

* maybe it was for us?

15/07/2007, 9:47 PM
Yes, they're obliged to set aside a separate away area per UEFA Licencing.

In reality, few clubs really care, although Cork, Sligo and Derry seem particularly fastidious about it.

Paddyfield
15/07/2007, 9:52 PM

In reality, few clubs really care, although Cork, Sligo and Derry seem particularly fastidious about it.

Sligo weren't so fastei, fatsi, stafidi, er, bothered last Saturday.

15/07/2007, 9:53 PM
Well let's put it this way - those are the only three grounds I've been to to have put aside a separate section for UCD fans, and made us stick to it!

blue til i die
15/07/2007, 9:55 PM
it covers your own backs in case of any trouble. clubs must decide the chance of trouble and get the number of required gardai.
An example might be, Waterford obviously wouldnt expect trouble from, say Derry City,so security might be low, while if Shamrock Rovers (jus picking at random), came down, then security and segredation might be needed. Its all about the risk of trouble!
but if you dont have segredation and policing and there is trouble, the club would be held responsible.

Aaron
15/07/2007, 9:59 PM
We have a set Block for away fans for every game and its Block A (with the exception of Linfield and Glentoran who get the last 2 blocks for obvious reasons). Most of the time there isnt stewards seperating the crowds but stewatrds around to make sure no hassle occurs. The only time there were stewards seperating away fans was when Rovers were here a few years ago in the cup and decided they would surge at the Derry fans and make idiots of themselves (not all I should say but a minority). Otherwise unless its Linfield or Glentoran away fans are set Block A with stewards around to keep an eye

kkontour
15/07/2007, 10:16 PM
We have a set Block for away fans for every game and its Block A (with the exception of Linfield and Glentoran who get the last 2 blocks for obvious reasons). Most of the time there isnt stewards seperating the crowds but stewatrds around to make sure no hassle occurs. The only time there were stewards seperating away fans was when Rovers were here a few years ago in the cup and decided they would surge at the Derry fans and make idiots of themselves (not all I should say but a minority). Otherwise unless its Linfield or Glentoran away fans are set Block A with stewards around to keep an eye
Is that the section where sligo rovers fans were last week? It must be the worst spot to watch a match.
Me and my buddy sat in with the derry fans, and were made very welcome. The seats did have a reserved sign on them but they derry guy in the seat beside them said they were free that evening.

15/07/2007, 10:18 PM
Well in Cobh they give you a big ginger clown and some tape off a building site :rolleyes:

half_full
15/07/2007, 10:25 PM
it covers your own backs in case of any trouble. clubs must decide the chance of trouble and get the number of required gardai.
An example might be, Waterford obviously wouldnt expect trouble from, say Derry City,so security might be low, while if Shamrock Rovers (jus picking at random), came down, then security and segredation might be needed. Its all about the risk of trouble!
but if you dont have segredation and policing and there is trouble, the club would be held responsible.

gardai are absolutley RUBBISH in Waterford, anytime theres trouble they litreally turn their back to it:rolleyes:. If it wasnt for the private security firm the club has brought in there would have been a couple of serious incidents this year.

Segregation is in place for every game in the RSC btw, for anyone who hasnt been down this season, as I said above a new security firm has been brought in this year. IMO there seems to be roughly the same amount of these fellas in the ground no matter whos playing

15/07/2007, 10:26 PM
gardai are absolutley RUBBISH in Waterford, anytime theres trouble they litreally turn their back to it:rolleyes:. If it wasnt for the private security firm the club has brought in there would have been a couple of serious incidents this year.

What's the deal with private security firms??

I'd iagine by law they're not allowed to lay hand on anyone :confused:

Paddyfield
15/07/2007, 10:39 PM
What's the deal with private security firms??

I'd iagine by law they're not allowed to lay hand on anyone :confused:

Galway United hire a private security company too. The security men (and women) hava as much authority as a Night Club bouncer; they can check your bag for booze etc and they can escort you out if you don't obey the regulations.

15/07/2007, 11:00 PM
Galway United hire a private security company too. The security men (and women) hava as much authority as a Night Club bouncer; they can check your bag for booze etc and they can escort you out if you don't obey the regulations.

But supposing a group of fans charge

If they grab or push back any of them isn't it assault??

they can check your bag for booze

Always thought you could demand the presence of a guard when being searched :confused:

Aaron
15/07/2007, 11:11 PM
Is that the section where sligo rovers fans were last week? It must be the worst spot to watch a match.
Me and my buddy sat in with the derry fans, and were made very welcome. The seats did have a reserved sign on them but they derry guy in the seat beside them said they were free that evening.

Yep it is. The pitch has a 9ft slope, so the other side of the ground would have a better view than those of the away fans. The reserved stickers were put on for season ticket holders but some dont bother turning up

half_full
15/07/2007, 11:38 PM
But supposing a group of fans charge

If they grab or push back any of them isn't it assault??

Always thought you could demand the presence of a guard when being searched :confused:

1. As someone allready said, they have the same freedom as bouncers at a night club, if certain supporters act in a violent/aggressive manner then I presume its within the law to constrain them.

2. Yes, I think you can, in any almost any other situation in life. But attending a match etc. its a kind of a grey area with the majority of games taking place on private property.

To be fair to the security in the RSC, there not overly agressive and are surprisingly friendly:D. They've settled into the whole match night thing pretty well actually.

15/07/2007, 11:39 PM

Well to be fair, Cork City don't have a choice in this matter to be honest as the FAI will fine us at the drop of a hat. They only need an excuse so the club try and avoid any possibility of that happening.

15/07/2007, 11:44 PM
Well to be fair, Cork City don't have a choice in this matter to be honest as the FAI will fine us at the drop of a hat. They only need an excuse so the club try and avoid any possibility of that happening.

:rolleyes: RRS

Its the way forward so fair play to Cork etc for beinga little pro active

15/07/2007, 11:51 PM
The away fans are supposed to go to the uncovered section of the Carlisle, there's a huge sign as you go through the turnstiles that has an arrow pointing away with "AWAY FANS" written beside it. However, this rarely is the case. The away fans tend to bunch down near the changing rooms in the far corner of the new stand. They are free to move around the ground it seems. I can only think of one occassion where the away fans have been moved from there (Galway this year).

Bald Student
15/07/2007, 11:53 PM
To be fair to the security in the RSC, there not overly agressive and are surprisingly friendly:D. They've settled into the whole match night thing pretty well actually.Seconded, I've always found them very friendly and helpful.

15/07/2007, 11:55 PM
The away fans are supposed to go to the uncovered section of the Carlisle, there's a huge sign as you go through the turnstiles that has an arrow pointing away with "AWAY FANS" written beside it. However, this rarely is the case. The away fans tend to bunch down near the changing rooms in the far corner of the new stand. They are free to move around the ground it seems. I can only think of one occassion where the away fans have been moved from there (Galway this year).

AFAIK away fans have to be given a percentage of the covered area of the ground

GreenStar
16/07/2007, 12:21 AM
Well let's put it this way - those are the only three grounds I've been to to have put aside a separate section for UCD fans, and made us stick to it!

2 points:

1. You have f**k all fans

2. You will be segregated in Tolka tomorrow

16/07/2007, 12:23 AM
2 points:

1. You have f**k all fans
I think that was his point...

16/07/2007, 12:59 AM
away fans have to be given a percentage of the covered area of the ground

I thought that too...nobody seems to have told Longford...or Dundalk in my experience

Dr.Nightdub
16/07/2007, 1:10 AM
We have a set Block for away fans for every game and its Block A (with the exception of Linfield and Glentoran who get the last 2 blocks for obvious reasons).

So how come we were stuck over on the far side (where the covered terrace used to be) earlier in the season, with Derry fans free to wander through our section?

manalishi
16/07/2007, 8:43 AM

Reminds me of the time UCD played Everton in cup winners cup and this Liverpool mate of mine,who lived in Ireland went over to Goodison and he and his freind were the only 2 people in one of the Goodison stands!!!.

lofty9
16/07/2007, 8:51 AM
So how come we were stuck over on the far side (where the covered terrace used to be) earlier in the season, with Derry fans free to wander through our section?

Don't know TBH, but that was the only time this year for the away fans to be put there. That was done for the Sligo cup replay last year and we weren't allowed to walk near the Sligo fans. We had to be taken onto the greyhound track to get to the section were we stand to avoid them.

16/07/2007, 8:55 AM
The last block of seats in the Wollen is used for away support if they travel in
numbers. They still have to pass by the home fans if they are going to the shop
or toilet.

When there was a silent protest for the Mons game ATFC took on extra private
security incase there was a riot :eek:
(They didnt understand the cincept of silent protest)

It was a total joke though cos 1 security man was clearly looking to start a
fight with anyone who made eye contact with him and the other lad was high
as a kite, smoking a joint at the back of the stand!
He tried to pick on a couple of 12 year olds but they frightened him off.

We were segrageted into the Ballybough end in Tolka and apparently stewards
stopped some supporters from going along the Richmond Rd stand to the chipper.
I got through no problem but wasnt allowed to bring my food back to the Ballybough
in case I threw it at the players (according to the steward). He should have known better,
judging my my roundness it was unlikely that I'd be throwing any food away!!

16/07/2007, 2:17 PM
We are trying to sort out the problem with away fans by putting in facilities at the railway end[ the end closest to where away fans normally are]. best idea would be to put the away fans at the start of the stand so they would have to go by us

MojoPin
16/07/2007, 5:09 PM
while if Shamrock Rovers (jus picking at random),

;););) random eh

17/07/2007, 12:09 AM
AFAIK away fans have to be given a percentage of the covered area of the ground
Everybody seems to bitch about the weather down here anyway. I doubt a piece of thin canvas over your heads will make much difference when you're staring into the Irish Sea.

17/07/2007, 12:20 AM
2. You will be segregated in Tolka tomorrow
Nope.

gufcfan
17/07/2007, 12:43 AM

Sure as Roy Keane pointed out, there is a massive anti-cork bias within the FAI :D

17/07/2007, 12:43 AM
At one stage, a Galway United fan got involved in a few verbals with the Sligo fans as he walked passed them after he took a leak. The banter was nothing more than you'd get at a schoolboy hurling match but before we knew it, there were six of the Garda Siochana's finest officers and maybe a dozen stewards forming a human shield to prevent a riot.

When we got out of the Showgrounds in one piece and the Sligo Riot Police team held off :rolleyes:, here was no agro and to be honest, we got a good reception from the locals before and after the game despite the poor quality of football that both teams mustererd up.

Be glad that there was a strong presence of guards. If it did kick off and there was **** all policing there would be a different thread on this matter :rolleyes: