View Full Version : Drinking on the terraces

Pages : 1 [2] 3

13/07/2007, 3:22 PM
Jaysus how do you pick up on these things McGonigle? See what u want and thats it eh? were u at the game?

mcgonigle
13/07/2007, 3:53 PM
Yeah I was at the game, I was over at the Harps side at half time and about 5 minutes into the second half and there was no problem then, but I'm not saying there wasnt a problem later, I just read two contrasting posts, one after the other and was curious.

I know exactly what some idiot Dundalk fans can be like, we have a number of them, especially for big games and I'm in no doubt that what you both are saying is true and yes I agree about the stewarding so I am on your side about that one and the drinking.

Just to say that I know its not right but you do get these idiots everywhere, in cobh we were verbally abused by some young idiot with a drogheda flag of all things for a good few minutes. This idiot stood facing us during the match both abusing asnd distracting us from he match. Honestly I wanted to hit the guy but didnt want to get thrown out or cause anything, soon enough this idiot moved on to annoy somebody else. During this no steward or cobh fan came anywhere near us, so its a problem in alot of places indeed

13/07/2007, 4:06 PM
def this aint a go at Dundalk but those louts who claim to be fans. As i said above we had the craic with some of the stewards and alot of Dundalk fans but the few d!ckheads causin bother really ****es me off.

13/07/2007, 4:43 PM
You could buy four pints at a time in Paris during the Ireland/France game. They even gave you a tray so you wouldn't spill any going up into the stand. :D

You could. And you could also have a good laugh watching the look on people's faces when you told them what the 'SANS ALCOOL' written on the plastic glass meant. :D

Nah, nah, that must mean EXTRA alcohol...

I've seen it happen in loads of stadiums - Irish fans can't get enough of the non-alcoholic beer. I've even told people as they queued up that the beer has no alcohol. They're so much in denial about it that they go ahead anyway. :eek:

EalingGreen
13/07/2007, 7:53 PM
UEFA competition rules prohibit drink sales at all games under their jurisdiction(club and international). Foreign domestic league games are generally fine (unless its in England or Scotland where its against the law).

I went to UEFA Cup (Prague) and Euro2008 (Vaduz, Copenhagen) matches in the season just past. The only beer available in or at the grounds was low (no?) alcohol.

However, alcohol is not banned at English League games. Most stadia (esp. the new ones) have one or more bars incorporated under/within their stands, but you're not allowed to bring it out into the seated or standing area. And I don't know whether it's a legal requirement (I suspect it is), but stadium bars have to close a quarter of an hour before kick-off, not to open again until half-time.

Further, you're not allowed to drink within view of the pitch, which means that the Prawn Sandwich Brigade in the Executive Boxes have to keep their glasses and bottles below/away from the glass screen which separates them from the plebs (or out of sight if they've got an open balcony outside).

Which is a far cry from when I first started attending matches in the mid-80's. If the weather was nice and there wasn't a big crowd, I distinctly remember the routine whereby me and my mate would have a couple of looseners at White Hart Lane before the game, then order two x one litre glasses of lager each just before kick-off to take onto the Paxton Road terrace, to drink while watching. That's over 3 1/2 pints! The good thing was, there was no rush to finish it, and although it was a bit flat, you could sit on the terraces at half time and carry on at your leisure whilst everyone else was queuing up at the bar.

And although hooliganism was rife in those days, I genuinely don't think drink in the stadium was a factor. This was because there were cops dotted throughout the terraces, often on little steps, where they could see what was going on. Therefore, if you got lairy, you were liable to be thrown out (or shoved in the back of a transit, to get the shi t kicked out of you!)

Besides, the hooligan mob tended to get drunk before the game in selected locals, rather than in the ground itself, with the real hardcore (reputed, at least) staying sober, so as to be able to fight properly. :eek:

These days, I often pop down to Brentford, unique in football in having a pub at each corner of the Ground. In fact, although the club does have some bars within the stadium, they were so fed up with seeing their fans paying over the counter to pub landlords entirely unconnected with the club, they bought the biggest pub (Princess Royal) themselves a couple of years back! It does a roaring trade on matchdays, but during the week as well, and they converted a function room into a club shop, so I imagine it's making them decent money.

13/07/2007, 9:47 PM
who said i drink dutch gold....dont make such a sweeping statement about me when you dont have a clue!. i bring vodka into the grounds in a bottle with red bull.... i think it should be overlooked as long as you sneak it in, and arent rowdy or flauting it!.
you obvioulsy dont get out much if you think over-age men dont want to have a drink while watching a match on a FRIDAY NIGHT!. and dont be trying to describe me as a scumbag in your description...theres only one clown here and its not me!!:rolleyes:

Surely this has earned gilberto a nomination as the coolest and indeed hardest MAN on foot.ie

He brings drink into grounds. He's soooooooo cool. He just had to tell everyone

And he (ssssshhh) SNEAKS IT IN. :eek: Wow, he's soooooooooooo super cool

And don't ever accuse him of drinking dutch gold. He's a renegade. He doesn't play by the usual teenage scrote rules. Vodka and energy drink all the way for this young MAN

And don't imply he's a scumbag. He confuses them with clowns

Midgit
13/07/2007, 10:30 PM
Surely this has earned gilberto a nomination as the coolest and indeed hardest MAN on foot.ie

And don't ever accuse him of drinking dutch gold. He's a renegade. He doesn't play by the usual teenage scrote rules. Vodka and energy drink all the way for this young MAN

Oh god that is an awful sad post. The man just says what he does and you go on a big rant of how he is cool?:confused:
Very imature from you whoever you are.

KoemansCC
14/07/2007, 3:03 AM

I nominate for SPOTM (sarchastic post of the month), if only such a category existed!!! Gilberto's post was hilarious though, made me laugh..."Who drinks Dutch Gold...ME, NEVER, take that back ya fcuker"

Classic...

14/07/2007, 8:38 AM
Any European stadium I have been in which beer was sold, and there was no trouble, it was sold in plastic glasses.
So nothing of a missile nature when the drink has been consumed.

An earlier poster suggested that Irish people could be responsible with alcohol.
Have you been in any major urban centre on a weekend night?We seem to be congenitally incapable of drinking moderately in this country. A trait we share with Native Americans and Aboriginal Australians. We are a nation of binge drinkers. What we consider moderate alcohol consumption is way over the odds in almost any other country on earth. Alcohol abuse is one of the worst social problems in this country and can lead to depression and premature death from both alcohol related illnesses and , in some cases suicide.

I don't think the majority of people in this country can be responsible in any way shape or form about anything... never mind alcohol consumption. Responsible behaviour is almost unknown nowadays, and people refuse to take responsibility for their behaviour either. When someone commits a crime/misdemeanour/felony it's always someone or something else which is to blame.

14/07/2007, 10:28 AM
society is taking a hell of a beating in this thread

I do the normal thing and booze before the game.only time ive done it this season was ucd and i went underneath the stand to avoid breaking the rule:D

14/07/2007, 11:58 AM
Further, you're not allowed to drink within view of the pitch, which means that the Prawn Sandwich Brigade in the Executive Boxes have to keep their glasses and bottles below/away from the glass screen which separates them from the plebs (or out of sight if they've got an open balcony outside).

That certainly isn't true EG. I can name you a list of stadiums in England longer than your arm with corporate boxes where you can happily drink in view of the pitch - some in the open air - with a beer, and not a sniff of a concern form anyone. In fact - there's no staff/stewards/security to be seen to bother you.

That is the first time I've heard of a notion of not being able to drink within view of the pitch. It's not even workable as a policy.

14/07/2007, 12:01 PM
That certainly isn't true EG. I can name you a list of stadiums in England longer than your arm with corporate boxes where you can happily drink in view of the pitch - some in the open air - with a beer, and not a sniff of a concern form anyone. In fact - there's no staff/stewards/security to be seen to bother you.

That is the first time I've heard of a notion of not being able to drink within view of the pitch. It's not even workable as a policy.Can also see pitch from Monaghan's bar. Also, you can drink in the Bernabeu no problem. Plastic glasses of course.

LeixlipRed
14/07/2007, 12:21 PM
Any European stadium I have been in which beer was sold, and there was no trouble, it was sold in plastic glasses.

An earlier poster suggested that Irish people could be responsible with alcohol.
Have you been in any major urban centre on a weekend night?We seem to be congenitally incapable of drinking moderately in this country. A trait we share with Native Americans and Aboriginal Australians. We are a nation of binge drinkers. What we consider moderate alcohol consumption is way over the odds in almost any other country on earth. Alcohol abuse is one of the worst social problems in this country and can lead to depression and premature death from both alcohol related illnesses and , in some cases suicide.

I don't think the majority of people in this country can be responsible in any way shape or form about anything... never mind alcohol consumption. Responsible behaviour is almost unknown nowadays, and people refuse to take responsibility for their behaviour either. When someone commits a crime/misdemeanour/felony it's always someone or something else which is to blame.

Excellent post. The issue here isn't whether beer should be sold or banned in football grounds, it's whether we, as a people, are responsible enough to be allowed have a few while watching a game. And I don't think we are. Every single Shels away trip I see some adult Shels fan out of his head drunk acting the fool. Irish people have this compulsion to drink around any semi important event. It's pathetic. I'm not for a minute saying that one shouldn't drink before, after or during a game but it's those who feel the need to drink to enjoy these occassions who I worry about.

14/07/2007, 12:37 PM
Can also see pitch from Monaghan's bar. Also, you can drink in the Bernabeu no problem. Plastic glasses of course.

100% non alcoholic

And the executive boxes aren't treated the same way s stands/terraces

Dazzy
14/07/2007, 3:32 PM
Nya Ullevi for last years Uefa Cup game were selling beer, 4% i think,UEFA put a stop to it at half-time and nearly caused a riot as result even tho there was no problems with the cops or stewards:mad:

EalingGreen
14/07/2007, 5:04 PM

That is the first time I've heard of a notion of not being able to drink within view of the pitch. It's not even workable as a policy.

A few seasons back I had occasional access to a Corporate Box at Spurs and they were very strict against taking drinks from the Bar/Dining Area to the seats at the Glass Windows - even to the point of having signs made up to that effect. Indeed, if you sneaked a bottle with you and were seen sipping from it, they asked you to withdraw further inside.

Last season I was in a Box at Twickenham for the Premiership Play-Off Final and we were allowed to drink within the Box itself (from where you could see the pitch handy enough, as it happens), but we were told not to take our drinks out to the little open-air balcony in front of the Box.

As for elsewhere in the football stadia generally, there is a strict policy against taking either bottles or glasses (both only available in plastic) from the bar area into the seating or standing area. In fact, at Spurs they have Stewards at the steps, with big bins alongside to dump your glass (even if half full) before you go back out to the seating area.

It's the same at Griffin Park, and every other League Ground I can remember attending (nearly 70 of the 92) i.e. it is prohibited to drink alcohol either on the terraces or in the seats.

So unless the Rule for Corporate Boxes has been relaxed recently, then anyone within these who drinks alcohol within sight of the pitch is strictly speaking breaking the law. As for the enforceability, Corporate Boxes often have Waiter Service, so that they (or the Bar Staff) may simply refuse to serve more alcohol in the event of non-compliance.

Edit:
In fact I've just found the following:

http://www.flaweb.org.uk/docs/faqs/faq011.php
The Sporting Events (Control of Alcohol etc) Act 1985 prevents: -

* drunken entry into a football ground (which, in practice, to be an arrestable offence includes disorderly behaviour);
* the consumption of alcohol within view of the playing area including, during the restricted period (15 minutes before the start of the event to 15 minutes after the end of the event), rooms within the ground from which the event may be directly viewed;
* the consumption of alcohol on certain coaches, trains and motor vehicles travelling to a designated football match;
* the possession of fireworks or flares.

The Act applies to the following sporting events:-
* Association football matches in which one or both of the participating teams represents a club which is for the time being a member (whether a full or associate member) of the Football League, the Football Association Premier League, the Football Conference National Division, the Scottish Football League or Welsh Premier League, or represents a country or territory.
* Association football matches in competition the Football association Cup (other than in the preliminary or qualifying round).

The Act only applies in England and Wales.

bohsmug
14/07/2007, 5:28 PM
I take it you live in England EalingGreen?

I was at Villa Park and City of Manchester stadium last year and the latter of the two definitely didn't shut 15 minutes before the game. It stayed open untill the second half started and then shut for the game. I'm nearly certain it was the same in Villa Park although not 100% on that one.

Incidently I'd love bookies stands at the matches here. It's little things that would make attending games over here just that bit more appealing.

EalingGreen
14/07/2007, 5:38 PM
I take it you live in England EalingGreen?

I was at Villa Park and City of Manchester stadium last year and the latter of the two definitely didn't shut 15 minutes before the game. It stayed open untill the second half started and then shut for the game. I'm nearly certain it was the same in Villa Park although not 100% on that one.

Incidently I'd love bookies stands at the matches here. It's little things that would make attending games over here just that bit more appealing.

Yes, I live in England (in Ealing, funnily enough!)

If you see my Edit to my previous post, you'll see that under the 1985 Legislation, Football Stadium Bars are supposed to shut 15 minutes before kick-off and I doubt if that has since been amended, since Spurs adhere strictly to the policy, and it wouldn't be like them to miss the slightest chance to screw the last shekhel out of their long-suffering punters! (I know, I'm one).

Frankfurt Hoop
14/07/2007, 7:39 PM
In Germany the rule is simple - all the beer they can sell you (except in Nürnberg where you can only get two 0,5s at a time to speed up the queues). High risk games have alcohol-free drinks only but they are few and far between, thankfully. Most cops over there doubt the value of the practice but it keeps the politicians happy.

There should be beer left right and centre at games. The growing number of usual suspects here can twist their knickers all they like over a bit of scooping at games, but coke is the real problem. Stick that on the back of your hand and snort it!

14/07/2007, 10:28 PM
100% non alcoholicWhere, Monaghan or Madrid?:p

new blue
15/07/2007, 12:02 AM

Well said. Cogent argument which says it all. In a nutshell we have a stupid approach to drink which is causing enormous social and health problems.

MojoPin
15/07/2007, 10:11 AM
im currently living in america at the moment and i go to see a baseball game about once a month.. beers are sold at every section of the stadium and they have people going around selling beers from a try.. the limit is 2 beers on any one sale, im sure if it would work in ireland if say 2 tkts were given out at the turnstiles, these have to be used to purchase alcohol and therefore you have a two drink limit excluding halftime inside the club bar... i know people will say that you could get 10 tkt off your friends if they werent drinking but if your of age and behave wat harm????

LeixlipRed
15/07/2007, 10:13 AM
im currently living in america at the moment and i go to see a baseball game about once a month.. beers are sold at every section of the stadium and they have people going around selling beers from a try.. the limit is 2 beers on any one sale, im sure if it would work in ireland if say 2 tkts were given out at the turnstiles, these have to be used to purchase alcohol and therefore you have a two drink limit excluding halftime inside the club bar... i know people will say that you could get 10 tkt off your friends if they werent drinking but if your of age and behave wat harm????

Within 15 mins there'd be a lad with 35 pints rolling around in his own urine

MojoPin
15/07/2007, 11:20 AM
ha ha well with the revenue generated bythe booze extra personel could be deployed by the clubs.. the rule states that no alcohol may be consumed withing view of the pitch. wat about wexford youths bar that over looks the pitch/ does this break the rules? i hope not cause thats an excellent area to watch a game..

passerrby
15/07/2007, 11:57 AM
Where, Monaghan or Madrid?:p

must be them dammed madridians we only sell pure moonshine

maybe if we could not see the pitch we might not need to drink so much

15/07/2007, 3:36 PM
A few seasons back I had occasional access to a Corporate Box at Spurs and they were very strict against taking drinks from the Bar/Dining Area to the seats at the Glass Windows - even to the point of having signs made up to that effect. Indeed, if you sneaked a bottle with you and were seen sipping from it, they asked you to withdraw further inside.

Last season I was in a Box at Twickenham for the Premiership Play-Off Final and we were allowed to drink within the Box itself (from where you could see the pitch handy enough, as it happens), but we were told not to take our drinks out to the little open-air balcony in front of the Box.

As for elsewhere in the football stadia generally, there is a strict policy against taking either bottles or glasses (both only available in plastic) from the bar area into the seating or standing area. In fact, at Spurs they have Stewards at the steps, with big bins alongside to dump your glass (even if half full) before you go back out to the seating area.

It's the same at Griffin Park, and every other League Ground I can remember attending (nearly 70 of the 92) i.e. it is prohibited to drink alcohol either on the terraces or in the seats.

So unless the Rule for Corporate Boxes has been relaxed recently, then anyone within these who drinks alcohol within sight of the pitch is strictly speaking breaking the law. As for the enforceability, Corporate Boxes often have Waiter Service, so that they (or the Bar Staff) may simply refuse to serve more alcohol in the event of non-compliance.

Edit:
In fact I've just found the following:

http://www.flaweb.org.uk/docs/faqs/faq011.php
The Sporting Events (Control of Alcohol etc) Act 1985 prevents: -

* drunken entry into a football ground (which, in practice, to be an arrestable offence includes disorderly behaviour);
* the consumption of alcohol within view of the playing area including, during the restricted period (15 minutes before the start of the event to 15 minutes after the end of the event), rooms within the ground from which the event may be directly viewed;
* the consumption of alcohol on certain coaches, trains and motor vehicles travelling to a designated football match;
* the possession of fireworks or flares.

The Act applies to the following sporting events:-
* Association football matches in which one or both of the participating teams represents a club which is for the time being a member (whether a full or associate member) of the Football League, the Football Association Premier League, the Football Conference National Division, the Scottish Football League or Welsh Premier League, or represents a country or territory.
* Association football matches in competition the Football association Cup (other than in the preliminary or qualifying round).

The Act only applies in England and Wales.

Well the last time i went Corporate at a football game in England, for example, was at Sunderland last season.

Our box consisted of a glass-walled room with a large dining table, a beer full of booze, and a small open air balcony outside. You can see the game from the dining table (though possibly only by standing up) and you obviously have alcoholic drinks with your meal. You could watch the game from the room generally if you were standing up as well.

Staff only come into the room to serve you your meal, take bets and occassionally check you're ok - the rest of the time you're left to your own devices. And there was nothing and no-one to stop you drinking insie whlst watching the match, or taking drink onto the small open-air balcony.

LeixlipRed
15/07/2007, 3:43 PM
a beer full of booze

:eek: Get out of town, a beer full of booze!! :p

gilberto_eire
15/07/2007, 9:18 PM

your sooo pathetic its un-real!!.... i know for a fact your one of these fellas who stays in 24/7 with no social life anyway!!.... no GF for you anyway!!
what a muppet i really feel sorry for ya!!.

gilberto_eire
15/07/2007, 9:20 PM
I nominate for SPOTM (sarchastic post of the month), if only such a category existed!!! Gilberto's post was hilarious though, made me laugh..."Who drinks Dutch Gold...ME, NEVER, take that back ya fcuker"

Classic...

i didnt mean it in that way.... i meant for him to stop making assumptions about me and painting me in a scumbag light...''drinking cans of dutch gold''

dundalksarge
16/07/2007, 12:47 AM
I Have been over in Australia for the past two years and been to plenty of AFL matches seen the socceroos seen Rugby both league and union, and on every occasion I was able to get a drink in the ground. There is certain parts of the grounds where they only sell mid strength lager rather then full strength , there I see no reason why we can’t go to a game and have a few but the thing is the facilities are not there at home , and in oriels case the security sure as hell isn’t there either.

new blue
16/07/2007, 4:22 AM
I think it's time for us to leave behind the stupid Paddy, Irish drunken lout image. We're a little better educated now and have more options.

gufcfan
16/07/2007, 4:57 AM
Oriel is a joke. Full of clowns thinking they are hard lads. Shops must do some sales in tracksuits and Air Max!

Them ones in Hot Fuzz mite have been right!

Tenderloins
16/07/2007, 9:17 AM
Croke Park does not allow beer into the seated area but you can buy pints and drink them around the stadium.

Snoop Drog
17/07/2007, 5:34 AM
I Have been over in Australia for the past two years and been to plenty of AFL matches seen the socceroos seen Rugby both league and union, and on every occasion I was able to get a drink in the ground. There is certain parts of the grounds where they only sell mid strength lager rather then full strength , there I see no reason why we can’t go to a game and have a few but the thing is the facilities are not there at home , and in oriels case the security sure as hell isn’t there either.

In Oz stadia you are limited to 4 drinks per person usually- Which, neatly enough, is about as much as one person can carry!

17/07/2007, 9:23 AM
At Donnybrook and the RDS you can bring your pint out to watch the game. Same with rugby grounds in Wales at least. Lansdowne for rugby you can drink round the back but not while in view of the pitch, as with Croker.

galwayhoop
17/07/2007, 9:49 AM
I think it's time for us to leave behind the stupid Paddy, Irish drunken lout image. We're a little better educated now and have more options.
unfortunately education has had no bearing on our socialising habits.

in fact the so-called 'new paddy' who is educated and earns/has decent money is probably much worse when it comes to abusing alcohol than say late-teens/early twenty year olds of a decade or two ago.

we are NOT a responsible people when it comes to alcohol. we are UNABLE to leave behind the drunken paddy image because it is more common and occurs at a younger age now than ever before.

We may be better educated and have more options but when it comes to drink this generation and the one coming behind will be worse than what has gone before!

Ban drink from all sporting venues - what purpose does it serve. have a couple before you go in if you want and a couple more after. Go to sporting occasions for the sport and not the drink.

new blue
17/07/2007, 11:34 AM
Couldn't agree more.
Some major and tragic incidents in our area due to our love affair with drink.
Yet government extends opening hours and you have people on here wanting it more freely available. Our young people are being sold a pup with the glamourising of drink and the results are horrendous. But some people make money out of it and others don't care so the show goes on - what a mess.

stann
17/07/2007, 2:12 PM
Couldn't agree more.
Some major and tragic incidents in our area due to our love affair with drink.
Yet government extends opening hours and you have people on here wanting it more freely available. Our young people are being sold a pup with the glamourising of drink and the results are horrendous. But some people make money out of it and others don't care so the show goes on - what a mess.

Not to single you out new blue but there's been a lot of posts like this and to be honest it's a crock, and it always gets me biting.
I like a pint, I like to get drunk now and again, I often go weeks without a drink with no complaints, I don't drink drive, I've never swung a punch with drink taken, or even got angry, and I'd love one at a match, though it's not an essential, and there are many many more like me, and I'm f**ked if I'm going to let those no-marks who can't drink properly ruin it for every other f**ker.
It's down to responsibility, pure and simple. Oh it's the government! Oh it's the drinks companies! Oh it's the publicans! Oh and now people want longer hours!!
When is it ever the drink abusers fault? Or their parents for not educating them or setting controls, or a good example?
Sorry, rant over now. :)

Neish
17/07/2007, 2:18 PM
Not to single you out new blue but there's been a lot of posts like this and to be honest it's a crock, and it always gets me biting.
I like a pint, I like to get drunk now and again, I often go weeks without a drink with no complaints, I don't drink drive, I've never swung a punch with drink taken, or even got angry, and I'd love one at a match, though it's not an essential, and there are many many more like me, and I'm f**ked if I'm going to let those no-marks who can't drink properly ruin it for every other f**ker.
It's down to responsibility, pure and simple. Oh it's the government! Oh it's the drinks companies! Oh it's the publicans! Oh and now people want longer hours!!
When is it ever the drink abusers fault? Or their parents for not educating them or setting controls, or a good example?

Well said

passerrby
17/07/2007, 2:22 PM
I like you stann am a responsible drinker but in order to facilate me you have to serve the **** who cant handle responsibility or drink so ihave to agree with new blue. no drink at games.
to prove my point i was at the recent mons v shels game and stood beside a group of senior shels supporters who drank inside the clubhouse and were well behaved while down at the other exit schoolies were being obnoxious after two pints.

17/07/2007, 2:29 PM
and I'm f**ked if I'm going to let those no-marks who can't drink properly ruin it for every other f**ker.

It is the drink abusers fault. I think everybody will agree on that. But the government, and the law, must, like it or not, make laws that stop the lowest idiot from being given free reign to do what he likes.

Making alcohol more available would create no problems for the vast majority, but the damage potentially done by the small minority outweighs that.

You say that is is about responsibility, but the government has a responsibility to ensure that those who are not responsible for themselves do no harm.

stann
17/07/2007, 3:05 PM
I like you stann am a responsible drinker but in order to facilate me you have to serve the **** who cant handle responsibility or drink so ihave to agree with new blue. no drink at games.

Not too pushed about availability at games, I was ranting in general about how moderate, sensible types always have to pander to f**kers who can't do anything right.

It is the drink abusers fault. I think everybody will agree on that. But the government, and the law, must, like it or not, make laws that stop the lowest idiot from being given free reign to do what he likes.

Making alcohol more available would create no problems for the vast majority, but the damage potentially done by the small minority outweighs that.

You say that is is about responsibility, but the government has a responsibility to ensure that those who are not responsible for themselves do no harm.

Don't agree osarusan, or I agree that's that what they do do but not what they should be doing. By those arguments then no-one under the age of 25 should be allowed drive because a few lunatic young fellas won't slow down. Before you say that's taking things to ridiculous extremes there's the admittedly fairly trivial but still illuminatory example that we can no longer buy tippex thinner here because a few f**kwits were sniffing it all the time!
At home here nobody is allowed drink in public (local bye-law) because of trouble with under-age drinking in one spot down the town. Why did it not occur to people to pass a bye-law banning kids from that area, or strengthening police powers to disperse them? Nah, instead everyone has to suffer, much easier. Where does it stop? (BTW, I'm not into knacker drinking, it's just that it fecked up an open-air music festival subsequently)

No to the nanny state! :D

new blue
17/07/2007, 9:34 PM
Do not agree with nanny state and there is a danger of it happening.
Do not agree with restricting mature adults' rights.
But we have a MAJOR problem with abuse of alcohol especially by young people. This has gone beyond rationalisation and excuses. We need to rethink our excessive drink culture and someone needs to say STOP.

17/07/2007, 9:35 PM
Do not agree with nanny state and there is a danger of it happening.
Do not agree with restricting mature adults' rights.
But we have a MAJOR problem with abuse of alcohol especially by young people. This has gone beyond rationalisation and excuses. We need to rethink our excessive drink culture and someone needs to say STOP.

WTF, drink isn't allowed at football games

Bring your social rants into current affairs

new blue
17/07/2007, 10:46 PM
You're very articulate and a real leader so yes sir I'll do exactly as you say.
Get lost. This thread is about the wider availability of drink at football matches or is that a little too complex for you and unlike your crap some people give reasons for their preferences. Come back to me when you have a considered opinion of more than ten words.

17/07/2007, 11:47 PM
You're very articulate and a real leader so yes sir I'll do exactly as you say.
Get lost. This thread is about the wider availability of drink at football matches or is that a little too complex for you and unlike your crap some people give reasons for their preferences. Come back to me when you have a considered opinion of more than ten words.

Please read the thread, and my posts on it, before patronising me

18/07/2007, 9:11 AM
WTF, drink isn't allowed at football games

It seems like some clubs pick and choose about allowing the crowd to drink or not to drink.

18/07/2007, 9:20 AM
Not in the premier division. Some first division clubs are basically junior clubs and obviously don't feel the need to conform to UEFA guidelines

Anyway getting back to the point I see no problem with clubs serving drink in plastic glasses. Not going to happen though. People drinking cans at games is ridiculous (and I say this having been to one game this year and not remembered a single thing)

18/07/2007, 9:49 AM
People drinking cans at games is ridiculous (and I say this having been to one game this year and not remembered a single thing)

If you had to watch first division ****e you'd think differently ;)

18/07/2007, 11:54 AM
Really, how hard up for alcohol are we that we need to drink at games? I mean if you wanna drink, stay in the pub until as close to kick off as possible. Go for a pint at half time(if pub nearby, generally there is). Then head to pub after the game.

All you have to do is go without drink for 2 hours at most like! It can't be that hard...and if it is then you should join an alcohol support group.