View Full Version : GUFC v Celtic

Tir Oilean
12/07/2007, 2:35 PM
United play Celtic in a friendly coming up later this summer, another major deal done by the board well done to all concerned!:)

Claret Murph
12/07/2007, 2:58 PM
United play Celtic in a friendly coming up later this summer, another major deal done by the board well done to all concerned!:)

Tir Oilean
Can you say if it is the under age team or the first team squad ?????

Tir Oilean
12/07/2007, 2:58 PM
From what I here there will be a mix of first team players and reserves

12/07/2007, 3:03 PM
From what I here there will be a mix of first team players and reservesIt'll prob be the squad that played us, Monaghan and Harps 2 years ago. Mixture of U-21's and U-19's.

If it's the first team then fair play as they're hard to get over. We've been trying for years.

Claret Murph
12/07/2007, 3:05 PM
Unreal !!!!!!!!!!
You really have to tip your hat to the the club and the board .
Just been told that it's the week after the Sunderland game , would that be right Tir Oilean .

Tir Oilean
12/07/2007, 3:10 PM
AFAIK. Heard that it was on GBFM just a while ago too. obviously all of the first team wont be over twud cost a small fortune and they already have a huge following over here. they would be more interested in the likes of Japan to try and increase the commercial revenue like all the other top clubs across the pond.

12/07/2007, 3:21 PM
8th August (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/fixtures-and-results/celtic-friendly-announced.html)

Tir Oilean
12/07/2007, 3:27 PM
I hope these highprofile friendlies coming thick and fast dont spoil our chances of survival in the Premier Division

galwaygirl
12/07/2007, 4:04 PM
that's great news...
well done to all involved in organising this...

Torn-Ado
12/07/2007, 4:43 PM
Thats great news.

Of course I'll be missing it though.

:( Bawlocks

Demoshield
12/07/2007, 5:12 PM
Celtic Fixtures
05/08/2007 Clydesdale Bank Premier League Kilmarnock 14:00 Home
08/08/07 GUFC Terryland Park
11/08/2007 Clydesdale Bank Premier League Falkirk 12:30 Away
Don't think we will see many household names in Terryland. Should still pull in a few extra bob. Well done to all involved.

12/07/2007, 6:36 PM
well done to all inolved, everyone knows that it really doesnt matter who turns out for Celtic on the night, the name of the club sells itself!

Guitd
12/07/2007, 7:15 PM
Celtic Fixtures
05/08/2007 Clydesdale Bank Premier League Kilmarnock 14:00 Home
08/08/07 GUFC Terryland Park
11/08/2007 Clydesdale Bank Premier League Falkirk 12:30 Away
Don't think we will see many household names in Terryland. Should still pull in a few extra bob. Well done to all involved.

heard there will be at least 5 well known first team players with the celtic squad and new signings

Paddyfield
12/07/2007, 8:16 PM
heard there will be at least 5 well known first team players with the celtic squad and new signings

The last time Celtic played in Terryland, Mo "Lavine" Johnson was in their line up. Packie Bonner was in goals.

Angelic Upstart
12/07/2007, 8:17 PM
Can't believe it. I'll be on holidays in friggin' Turkey, at the European Debating Championships.

What a time for this to happen.

GuisaSaigon
12/07/2007, 8:22 PM
The last time Celtic played in Terryland, Mo "Lavine" Johnson was in their line up. Packie Bonner was in goals.

My first game in Terryland July 86, Mo Johnson tried to nick my polo mints, big mistake Mo !:mad:

Mr_T
12/07/2007, 8:49 PM
Harps fixture confirmed on www.finnharps.com too

Sounds like they are planning to bring a fairly strong team, with a number of first team players.

12/07/2007, 9:09 PM
Can't believe it. I'll be on holidays in friggin' Turkey, at the European Debating Championships.

What a time for this to happen.

how are you going to talk yourself out of that one !

I'll get my coat.:o

Patrick Dunne
12/07/2007, 9:56 PM
Well done to all at United, it will be a sell-out and will probably ensure that we
break even in 2007.

gilberto_eire
12/07/2007, 10:17 PM
Harps fixture confirmed on www.finnharps.com too

Sounds like they are planning to bring a fairly strong team, with a number of first team players.

ooh sure if there playing ye too i wouldnt expect much of a team!!:p

galwayhoop
13/07/2007, 8:49 AM
the fact it is not on the celtic website
http://www.celticfc.net/home/fixturesResults/firstTeam.aspx

and also as it is called a Celtic XI would lead me to think it won't include many first team Celtic players at all. coming between 2 league fixtures aswell.

However.....
the name Celtic itself will ensure a sell-out. and (with the risk of being absolutely slated!!!) i think the club is under selling the fixture. i mean if a non-season ticket holder can shell out €40 for sunderland then surely the same people (or others in their place) will pay €40 for celtic!!!

i for one wouldn't mind paying the €20 and i'm sure most other season ticket holders are the same!!

Torn-Ado
13/07/2007, 2:10 PM
I think it will be reserve/substitute players that will be there. Not first team regulars like Nakamura and Hesselink etc. Expect the likes of Riordan, Killen, Jarosik etc.

gilberto_eire
13/07/2007, 2:14 PM
the fact it is not on the celtic website
http://www.celticfc.net/home/fixturesResults/firstTeam.aspx

and also as it is called a Celtic XI would lead me to think it won't include many first team Celtic players at all. coming between 2 league fixtures aswell.

However.....
the name Celtic itself will ensure a sell-out. and (with the risk of being absolutely slated!!!) i think the club is under selling the fixture. i mean if a non-season ticket holder can shell out €40 for sunderland then surely the same people (or others in their place) will pay €40 for celtic!!!

i for one wouldn't mind paying the €20 and i'm sure most other season ticket holders are the same!!

there half the price of sunderland for the reason that you'll be lucky to see any decent players.... there would be uproar after if having paid €40 you saw a makeshift team....which it will be!
sunderland are putting out strongest 11 and taking this serioulsy so €40 is attainable!

galwayhoop
13/07/2007, 2:33 PM
there half the price of sunderland for the reason that you'll be lucky to see any decent players.... there would be uproar after if having paid €40 you saw a makeshift team....which it will be!
sunderland are putting out strongest 11 and taking this serioulsy so €40 is attainable!

as i said in post above - the name Celtic would ensure sell-out in itself. what uproar would there be? everyone knows it won't be the strongest 11 and if they don't then tough luck. i still reckon €40 could easily be achieved, i mean is it to raise funds or not.

GuisaSaigon
13/07/2007, 2:41 PM
the overheads of the Sunderland game are probably considerably higher than the Celtic game. The club have probably adjusted ticket prices to reflect that. Personally i couldn't give a toss about the Sunderland and Celtic Games. These games arent important. Our game against Waterford is more Important than the two of them put together. And I would have more interest in the outcome of the Connacht Supporters Trust Cup tomorrow than in any of these friendlies.

gilberto_eire
13/07/2007, 3:00 PM
as i said in post above - the name Celtic would ensure sell-out in itself. what uproar would there be? everyone knows it won't be the strongest 11 and if they don't then tough luck. i still reckon €40 could easily be achieved, i mean is it to raise funds or not.

everyone doesnt know.... only fans who scour the forums etc.... ya cant charge €40 to see a reserve team!!.

galwayhoop
13/07/2007, 3:16 PM
everyone doesnt know.... only fans who scour the forums etc.... ya cant charge €40 to see a reserve team!!.

scour the forums my b0llox.... they are calling them Celtic XI ffs and it is on a weeknight between two weekend SPL fixtures!!!!

anyone who knows anything about football would know it wasn't going to be their first team :rolleyes:

i will say it again, people would go just to wear their celtic jersies and see squad/up and coming players and happily pay €40 for the pleasure.

ciaraa
13/07/2007, 3:22 PM
scour the forums my b0llox.... they are calling them Celtic XI ffs and it is on a weeknight between two weekend SPL fixtures!!!!

anyone who knows anything about football would know it wasn't going to be their first team :rolleyes:

i will say it again, people would go just to wear their celtic jersies and see squad/up and coming players and happily pay €40 for the pleasure.

Word of warning lads, I went to see a Drogs - Celtic friendly game in United park about 10 years ago now I guess, but it was a terrible atmosphere with plenty of scum shouting abusive obscenities with their IRA flags and banners. Definitely some of the worst elements of Irish society follow this crowd - even worse then Dundalk ;)

galwayhoop
13/07/2007, 3:42 PM
Word of warning lads, I went to see a Drogs - Celtic friendly game in United park about 10 years ago now I guess, but it was a terrible atmosphere with plenty of scum shouting abusive obscenities with their IRA flags and banners. Definitely some of the worst elements of Irish society follow this crowd - even worse then Dundalk ;)

not having a pop at you but i'd say there would be a higher percentage of this 'IRA supporting/scum element' in the border areas than in galway.

but.... if these are the people who want to go then why not charge them €40 to go!

gilberto_eire
13/07/2007, 4:05 PM

where are they calling them ''Celtic XI''...??.... ive yet to see a paper come out in galway since it was announced, the site says XI but who goes on the site and not the forums?!. IF it was the full-team they would charge €40 but there not because its not....hence NO-ONE WILL PAY THAT TO SEE THE RESERVES!.

galwayhoop
13/07/2007, 4:37 PM
where are they calling them ''Celtic XI''...??.... ive yet to see a paper come out in galway since it was announced,

it was only announced yesterday so Galway First will be the first paper to announce it. even galway bay fm said a Celtic XI and quantified it by saying that it would be a mixture of squad players and future hopefuls. everyone i have spoken to about it since it was announced is aware that it won't be the first team.

oh and i would pay €40 to go as i know it is fund raising for the club. just like i bought 2 stand tickets for the sunderland game (at €50 each) even though i am not going and giving the tickets to my nephew.

pixiehead
13/07/2007, 10:36 PM

Let them in. We will deal with them. ;)

Torn-Ado
13/07/2007, 11:49 PM

Yeah ..

The Big Bad Celtic fans are a LOT worse than Shamrock Rovers and Bohs....

GUISAUltra
14/07/2007, 2:50 AM
i'd easily pay E40 to watch 3-4 payers off the full celtic team than pay 40 to watch a load of misfits playing for sunderland. its just the keano factor that is the difference, now lets be honest if keano was still with celtic then the prices would be the other way around

Patrick Dunne
14/07/2007, 6:21 AM
If Keane wasn't with Sunderland, we would do well to get 3,000 punters in the gate paying E15 each.

For advertising purposes, the club have to state clearly that its a Celtic XI.
The game will still sell out.

Patrick Dunne
16/07/2007, 9:25 PM
The club is solvent because 900 supporters bought season tickets at the beginning of the year.

The club is solvent because of the pricing policy for the Sunderland/Celtic
rewarded these people and sought to maximise revenue from people who
attend very few games in Terryland.

baileban, your only interest seems to be getting into matches as cheaply as possible. You are in no position to lecture other supporters.

16/07/2007, 10:34 PM
On a general note, I must think it's brilliant when eL clubs make serious money out of people that only support the premiership.

Slap it right up them I say.

Patrick Dunne
16/07/2007, 11:13 PM
baileban,

Your claims that the club are ripping people off and riding the supporters rock solid are completely untrue.

For E180 (thats E3.50 a week) this season a Galway United season ticket holder gets
- free access to all home league games
- free access to all home friendlies, including Sunderland and Celtic
- free access to any league cup games
- free access to all league games for two children

E3.50 a week.

galwayhoop
17/07/2007, 8:54 AM
so you would be happy charging the non-IRAsupporting/scum element 40 euro also???
yes. if they are people who rarely, if ever, go to terryland anyhow. however if they are regular patrons then obvioulsy there is need for them to get reduced price tickets - just like the half price tickets for season ticket holders.

Because there isn't any way to differentiate between the people you refer to and the decent punter when they go to purchase their ticket - unless of course they have IRA tatooed on their forehead!
in fact it was the man from drogheda who referred to them as a 'scum element' and if you read back i actually stated that there was a way less likelyhood of these types being present in galway.
as regards 'decent punters' i feel that regulars to terryland should get decent value for money but those who only bother to go up if a big foreign team is there deserve to pay top dollar for the privelege.

I wonder just how far you would go in your cause to fund-raise for the club?
i don't fund raise for the club. i buy a season ticket and go up every week i can.

Seems to me that in your efforts and wishes to raise funds for the club you would leave your scruples at home and just charge as high a price as possible.
why not cash in on people who never go up to support local soccer anyway?? the same people who would be more likely to run down LoI football in favour of green fields overseas.

I am glad the club have seen sense on this one and particularly glad that they are not thinking like you. The club is actually solvent - business-wise - there is no need to bleed the people of Galway dry.
running a professional football club is an on going process. it's not like saving for a car where if you reach X amount you can stop!. the 2 friendlies - sunderland and celtic - have allowed the club to sign more players during this transfer window than they would have been able to without the games.

Fair play to you for spending 100quid on a match that you won't see
anything for the family

- but not everyone has that privilege - you should remember that when you're telling everybody how great you are
sorry but i can't find that quote where i said i was great..... perhaps you could do the honour.... :rolleyes:

galwayhoop
17/07/2007, 8:59 AM
baileban,

Your claims that the club are ripping people off and riding the supporters rock solid are completely untrue.

For E180 (thats E3.50 a week) this season a Galway United season ticket holder gets
- free access to all home league games
- free access to all home friendlies, including Sunderland and Celtic
- free access to any league cup games
- free access to all league games for two children

E3.50 a week.

and don't forget them tokens!!!;)

Sumac
18/07/2007, 11:55 AM
I never got my tokens:(:)

18/07/2007, 1:01 PM
ring the office 767336