View Full Version : Lapira, Staunton and the Hunt Brothers
OhNoYouDidn't
11/07/2007, 6:39 PM
Indo - 11.07.07
Hunt sympathy for brother Noel's snub
By Daniel McDonnell
Wednesday July 11 2007
It may only have been a five-minute cameo appearance but Steve Staunton's decision to award American college student Joseph Lapira a senior cap in May's friendly with Ecuador appears to have irked a key member of the Irish squad.
The Irish boss was unavailable for comment yesterday after Stephen Hunt joined the chorus querying whether Lapira should have earned the right to make his international bow despite being an amateur player with the University of Notre Dame.
Hunt, who has just signed a new contract with Reading, was speaking out on behalf of his brother Noel who plays in the same position as Lapira but has a more established record. Last season, he scored 10 times for Dundee United in the SPL.
While Staunton had an abundance of striking options for the tour, he was still able to find the opportunity to blood Lapira whose Irish roots only came to the fore through his uncle, Michael Lynam, who works for the FAI as their National Children's Officer.
"You go away to America and you have a certain person getting caps and he hasn't even played in England, Ireland and Scotland, he hasn't even played full time and he's wearing the green jersey. It's a little bit harsh," said Hunt.
"From Noel's side there was a lot of strikers in the Ireland squad already but when you see someone coming in from America you do ask questions. I can't say anything against Lapira but Noel was capable of being in the squad."
With the elder Hunt set to play a pivotal role in autumn's European Championship qualifiers in the absence of the injured Damien Duff, Staunton may need to clear the air with the 25-year-old.
so if you were wondering how an amateur American got playing for Ireland, now you know. Just when you thought the Bobby Staunton disaster couldnt get any more farcical.
stiofain
11/07/2007, 7:08 PM
I think hes saying what many of us think. No disrespect to Lapira, but i thought it was a disgrace that he was given a place in the squad ahead of the likes of Roy O'Donovan and to a lesser extent, Noel Hunt.
Philly
11/07/2007, 7:47 PM
Lapira had a great first touch...
Noelys Guitar
11/07/2007, 8:57 PM
This had absolutely nothing to do with Lapira's uncle working for the FAI. Nothing. Next we'll be told that a rotund, balding, individual has a say on who gets into the squad. And that the same individual is an "advisor" to those lucky ones who get picked. All ****** I tell ya.
Qwerty
11/07/2007, 10:12 PM
The manager picks the team. End of story.
What do people want? a league table of Irishness where folks are capped in descending order, madness! As if people expect life to be fair :cool:
Bald Student
11/07/2007, 10:26 PM
What do people want? a league table of Irishness where folks are capped in descending order, madness! As if people expect life to be fair :cool:I don't think this objection relates to his irishness, rather his ability. UCD entered an American colleges' competition a while back and made minced meat of the opposition. If he were playing MLS it might be a different story but his selection was a bit odd.
Patrick Dunne
11/07/2007, 10:51 PM
Lapira was called into the squad as back-up because we were short players
and he was a promising young local player who happened to be in the area.
In similar circumstances, Johnny Glynn was picked for the Ireland squad in a game in the US (1991).
To suggest that he was called up "ahead" of Noel Hunt, or any other UK/EL player, is ridiculous.
Paddy Garcia
11/07/2007, 11:56 PM
Most disappointing is that Hunt is now regarded as a "key member of the Irish squad". Not too long ago he would not have got near the Irish team. He should be grateful he has a place himself before complaining about others. He has yet to deliver anything of note.
12/07/2007, 8:50 AM
Lapira was called into the squad as back-up because we were short players
and he was a promising young local player who happened to be in the area.
In similar circumstances, Johnny Glynn was picked for the Ireland squad in a game in the US (1991).
To suggest that he was called up "ahead" of Noel Hunt, or any other UK/EL player, is ridiculous.
Glynn wasnt officially called up though , I think he only trained with the squad cos he was in the area at the time.
12/07/2007, 9:25 AM
Most disappointing is that Hunt is now regarded as a "key member of the Irish squad". Not too long ago he would not have got near the Irish team. He should be grateful he has a place himself before complaining about others. He has yet to deliver anything of note.
don't think he's a "key" member yet. When Duff is fit, he'll start a substitute, "impact substitute" may be a better description.
He's only described as "key" in the article because noone wants to read an article about an "irked substitute squad player"
12/07/2007, 9:51 AM
'Only in America'
12/07/2007, 10:25 AM
I disagreed with the circumstances that arose to give Lapira his cap but Noel Hunt is not and never will be good enough for international football.
12/07/2007, 10:48 AM
There's a quite simple reason to why Lapira was capped - Lapira could've been capped with another country. What Stan and the FAI did was take the opportunity to give this lad a cap before somebody else did - see also the motivation behind the inclusion of Terry Dixon in the squad last year.
I'm sure Stan's and the FAI's thinking is that people like Noel Hunt can only play for Ireland so there's no need to throw away senior caps on players such as him.
12/07/2007, 11:46 AM
This had absolutely nothing to do with Lapira's uncle working for the FAI. Nothing.
I hate to say that I actually disagree with that. I don't think Lapira would have been called up if his uncle didn't work for the FAI. I don't think Alan O'Brien and Peter Murphy would have got called up if it wasn't for Pat Devlin. McDonald would have had the biggest say in O'Halloran's call up, although that wasn't a bad thing in the end. And If it wasn't for Mick McCarthy I doubt we'd have seen Gleeson called up.
fergalr
12/07/2007, 12:34 PM
Lapira was called into the squad as back-up because we were short players and he was a promising young local player who happened to be in the area.
There's a quite simple reason to why Lapira was capped - Lapira could've been capped with another country.
Is it just me or are these pretty bizarre justifications for awarding an international cap to some unknown who plays at a level that is substantially below our own eircom league.
To give a more detailed rebuttal:
1. We are not "short players" - we have probably more than 100 uncapped players who deserve a cap more than Lapira
2. He was in the area - FFS - half our country do weekends in New York - its not like its impossible to fly a deserving player out there at short notice (not that short notice would be required if there was a moducum of planning)
3. Capped with another country? So every college player worldwide with dual nationality step forward now - Stan is handing out the caps for free.
What Hunt says is 100% spot on - interesting to see how the manager responds.
Paulie
12/07/2007, 12:45 PM
I think that most of us will agree that Lapira should not have been capped. I think he was just in the right place at the right time, it was a cap of convenience. The point here though is that it is not up to Stephen Hunt or any other player to be telling the manager who to pick for his squad. If that was the case we'd have players giving out all the time because they didn't agree with squad selections or tactics. In a squad of 22 players there are obviously going to be differences of opinion on team related matters between management and players but it's down to the manager at the end of the day and whether a player agrees with his selections etc. or not the position of manager of the team needs to be respected. Stephen Hunt has just a handful of caps so instead of sniping from the sides through the media maybe he should just be concentrating on holding down his own place in the squad. The fact that he was right is irrelevant. He should have kept his thoughts to himself.
Dr. Ogba
12/07/2007, 12:55 PM
I think that most of us will agree that Lapira should not have been capped. I think he was just in the right place at the right time, it was a cap of convenience. The point here though is that it is not up to Stephen Hunt or any other player to be telling the manager who to pick for his squad. If that was the case we'd have players giving out all the time because they didn't agree with squad selections or tactics. In a squad of 22 players there are obviously going to be differences of opinion on team related matters between management and players but it's down to the manager at the end of the day and whether a player agrees with his selections etc. or not the position of manager of the team needs to be respected. Stephen Hunt has just a handful of caps so instead of sniping from the sides through the media maybe he should just be concentrating on holding down his own place in the squad. The fact that he was right is irrelevant. He should have kept his thoughts to himself.
Spot on, just shows the worrying fact that the players have about as much respect for Staunton as we do....
Noelys Guitar
12/07/2007, 12:56 PM
I hate to say that I actually disagree with that. I don't think Lapira would have been called up if his uncle didn't work for the FAI. I don't think Alan O'Brien and Peter Murphy would have got called up if it wasn't for Pat Devlin. McDonald would have had the biggest say in O'Halloran's call up, although that wasn't a bad thing in the end. And If it wasn't for Mick McCarthy I doubt we'd have seen Gleeson called up.
I was being ironic.
OhNoYouDidn't
12/07/2007, 1:02 PM
but this very clearly isnt as simple as a player disagreeing with the manager picking the side.
this is a player objecting to an amateur (first one since 1964) who has never played a club game being selected for no obvious reason other than an uncle working in the association. this is a player speaking out about corruption and the cheapening of Irish caps (or certainly thats the implication from the article).
it also shows how weak Stan is that he can be talked into picking a donkey presumably so Lapira can discuss professional terms from the strength of being an international player, if indeed he does decide to become a professional footballer.
Paulie
12/07/2007, 1:41 PM
but this very clearly isnt as simple as a player disagreeing with the manager picking the side.
this is a player objecting to an amateur (first one since 1964) who has never played a club game being selected for no obvious reason other than an uncle working in the association. this is a player speaking out about corruption and the cheapening of Irish caps (or certainly thats the implication from the article).
it also shows how weak Stan is that he can be talked into picking a donkey presumably so Lapira can discuss professional terms from the strength of being an international player, if indeed he does decide to become a professional footballer.
I take your point, although I'm not sure I agree with the whole grassy knoll conspiracy theory regarding Lapira's Uncle. However, as I stated earlier regardless of whether any of us feel Stephen hunt is right or not is irrelevant. He should have kept his thoughts to himself.
12/07/2007, 1:48 PM
There may also be the issue that has ruined England's chances of ever doing well again, which is that you don't become an international without being talked up first. This is something that I fear may start happening with Ireland - so many players are brought into squads on the basis of talk, and being current in people's minds. Does anyone here REALLY think that Staunton would have capped Gamble (who fully deserved to play) if there had not been a lot of talk about him deserving a place first - I would not be surprised if another Reading player or two, formerly playing with City and already in a squad or two hadn't mentioned him as deserving a go.
In this case, Stephen Hunt has started people talking about whether his brother Noel was deserving of a place. Wouldn't you expect as much if your brother saw someone less experienced and more unproven than you getting in ahead of you?
12/07/2007, 2:03 PM
Some of you guys fall for it every time, a journo picks a (in this case a "me brudder") quote, takes it out of it's context and put's it in another context to fill out an article with the title ...brother Noel´s snub ".
Always the simple interpretation supported by facts will win against any interpretation supported by conspiracy standard theories.
NutterPutter
12/07/2007, 2:13 PM
Silly move from Hunt! He already had the tag of 'super-sub', and now he undermines Stan. Not that I disagree with what he says, but Stan is such an ignorant donkey that he will hold it against Hunt!
:mad: Vote John Delaney for the (electric) chair! Who says a Chartered Accountant doesn't have the ability to see the obvious potential of Stan as the next great international manager! Cyprus 5 : Ireland 2! ... can never be excused! :mad:
onephillyhughes
12/07/2007, 2:43 PM
Agreed.
Its sad that everything Stan does is shot down. Sections of our footballing public and media is getting more and more like the English as every day goes by......
OhNoYouDidn't
12/07/2007, 2:51 PM
Some of you guys fall for it every time, a journo picks a (in this case a "me brudder") quote, takes it out of it's context and put's it in another context to fill out an article with the title ...brother Noel´s snub ".
Always the simple interpretation supported by facts will win against any interpretation supported by conspiracy standard theories.
ok, the facts on this:
- Lapira is an American born US citizen
- He is playing amateur, colleges football, generally recognised as LSL level
- His uncle is an employee of the FAI
- This uncle suggested to Stan that he was eligible
- Stan picked him
Where are the conspiracy theories to say;
a: There are dozens of strikers more deserving,
b: Employees of the FAI should not be putting forward relatives as prospective players and
c: stan should not be picking players due to outside forces?
This is hardly grassy knoll stuff
cavan_fan
12/07/2007, 2:51 PM
I don't agree it was for no obvious reason. The reason was that Stan clearly thinks Lapira may turn out to be a quality player. He picked him to tie him to Ireland. If Lapira turns out to be even of Matt Holland quality he'll have done a good piece of work. If he doesnt then he hasnt lost much.
Comparing him to players like Noel Hunt is ridiculous. Noel Hunt is never going to be a major player for us. It is possible Lapira may be.
Now you may disagree with this but it was not a random pick, there was a clear idea behind it.
RogerMilla
12/07/2007, 3:41 PM
ok, the facts on this:
- Lapira is an American born US citizen
- He is playing amateur, colleges football, generally recognised as LSL level
- His uncle is an employee of the FAI
- This uncle suggested to Stan that he was eligible
- Stan picked him
more facts
Stan picks team
Hunt spoke out to the press contradicting the manager.
and some opinion.
Hunt should not run down his international managers selection in the press.
Hunt should concentrate on cementing his place in our first 11 and should never make comments concerning other players deserving caps.
I like hunt but he is 100% wrong to have vented his spleen on this and i expect Stan to have serious words with him.
stiofain
12/07/2007, 6:43 PM
I don't agree it was for no obvious reason. The reason was that Stan clearly thinks Lapira may turn out to be a quality player. He picked him to tie him to Ireland. If Lapira turns out to be even of Matt Holland quality he'll have done a good piece of work. If he doesnt then he hasnt lost much.
Comparing him to players like Noel Hunt is ridiculous. Noel Hunt is never going to be a major player for us. It is possible Lapira may be.
Now you may disagree with this but it was not a random pick, there was a clear idea behind it.
I take your point, but i just dont think giving a player a cap to tie him to Ireland is right. If Lapira truely wanted to play for Ireland then he had plenty of time to earn a place in the squad without any danger of the USA capping him first. I dont think we'll gain much from this anyway as i doubt Lapira will amount to much (remind me to eat my words if im wrong).
Metrostars
12/07/2007, 7:11 PM
I wish Hunt would have played in the US as well as he complains (see also Reading contract etc). And since when is Noel Hunt the next Maradona?
Paddy Garcia
12/07/2007, 7:45 PM
I wish Hunt would have played in the US as well as he complains (see also Reading contract etc).
Exactly right. And a decent 90 mins. in a competitive match does not seem to much to ask for.
danonion
12/07/2007, 8:16 PM
Noel Hunt is 24 years old and is far from prolific in the SPL. If we are going to start saying that he deserved a place before Lapira, then I would contend that Morrison, Connolly, O'Donovan and Lee should have been ahead of him. O'Donovan is an interesting prospect and the others (esp. Morrison, considering the fact he scores goals AWAY from home) have proven themselves either through international performances or better strike rates than Noel Hunt. He's too old for the youth excuse and is never going to amount to much.
American college soccer produces better players than its given credit for. Nobody seems to take into consideration that the lads playing at that level are students who have the choice of pursuing football as a career or going into whatever field is linked to their academic studies.
12/07/2007, 8:17 PM
Come off it, Hunt is a class player, ye anti Hunt guys were fierce quiet for a while especially after his good performances for Ireland, dont tell me ye need another good season of Hunt to be proven wrong.........again!:rolleyes:
OhNoYouDidn't
12/07/2007, 9:17 PM
so the long and the short of it is that only Keane gets to criticise?
christ you lot have short memories.
fair play to hunt. he has risked his international career standing up to nepotism and corruption.
as for the rest of you, repeat after me: ole ole ole
Paddy Garcia
12/07/2007, 9:21 PM
Come off it, Hunt is a class player, ye anti Hunt guys were fierce quiet for a while especially after his good performances for Ireland, dont tell me ye need another good season of Hunt to be proven wrong.........again!:rolleyes:
I wish he was class, but he is not. A modern day equivalent to Slavin, Liam O'Brien, McGoldrick etc.
He has not yet earned his spurs - unlike Robbie OhNoYouDidn't. ;) And until he does should spend all his spare time practicing football not complaining.
Dr. Ogba
13/07/2007, 7:45 AM
fair play to hunt. he has risked his international career standing up to nepotism and corruption.
Didn't see any mention of Keane here....
RogerMilla
13/07/2007, 7:47 AM
Keane isnt a member of the squad , he is a formern captain trying to drum up publicity for guide dogs.
And Hunt as Ken Saro Wiwa ?? Don't make me laugh.
Paulie
13/07/2007, 12:53 PM
I really think people are reading too much into this. As I said earlier this was a cap of convenience. We were playing a couple of games in the states so the manager decided to have a look at the guy. If Noel hunt played there he would probably have taken a look at him. I'm not in favour of calling up amateurs but it's still down to the manager.
Metrostars
13/07/2007, 1:51 PM
Now thats funny. Nepotism and Hunt complaining about his brother not being in the squad.
13/07/2007, 1:56 PM
But isnt he doing the same as you say Lapira's uncle has done? Use a connection to Stan to bring notice to a player who otherwise wouldnt get it?
youngirish
13/07/2007, 2:20 PM
To sum it up this is how I see the relevant merits or otherwise of including either of the two strikers:
Noel Hunt is crap and is always going to be crap and he can only play for Ireland even if by some miracle he turns out to be otherwise so there was no gain to be achieved by taking him along for the tour.
Joseph 'Justin Collins' Lapira is crap, will most likely remain crap but there is a tiny possibility he could turn out to be decent, that and the fact that he is elligible to play for the Yanks made him a more worthy candidate to be included in the squad for the tour.
13/07/2007, 2:27 PM
youngirish, sometimes you do make sense :)
RogerMilla
13/07/2007, 3:38 PM
youngirish, sometimes you do make sense :)
LOL was just about to say after nearly 1000 posts one of them had to make sense ! :p:D
RiffRaff
13/07/2007, 5:14 PM
Not so sure there is anything too pre-planned in Lapira getting a cap. I think Staunton invited several US based players to join the training camp and they all declined apart from him. Stan has shown he is stubborn enough to hand out a cap just to pi$$ off those people who didnt bother to turn up. Besides he only got about 5 minutes. If Noel Hunt had gone there and been given a 5 minute run, his brother would probably still be complaining.
BobbySands
14/07/2007, 1:06 AM
Lapira is a US college player at the top of the pile. Most of these players go on to play in the MLS. Now while that may not be the best league around it's head and shoulders above the Eircom league and the SPL (arguably excluding the old firm). To compare him to some Irish university amateur player is to miss the point. Staunton is a joke as a manager but like a stopped clock even eejits are right from time to time.
cavan_fan
14/07/2007, 6:48 AM
Lapira is a US college player at the top of the pile. Most of these players go on to play in the MLS. Now while that may not be the best league around it's head and shoulders above the Eircom league and the SPL (arguably excluding the old firm). To compare him to some Irish university amateur player is to miss the point. Staunton is a joke as a manager but like a stopped clock even eejits are right from time to time.
What evidence is there for this?
Torn-Ado
14/07/2007, 9:36 AM
Money wise, maybe. But standard wise I wouldn't agree. The MLS might be more glamourous than the EL, but 'head and shoulders above' EL and SPL. Don't agree.
OhNoYouDidn't
14/07/2007, 11:27 AM
Sorry BS, but thats nonsense. Ronnie O'Brien. Failed to make the grade in the SPL (Dundee) and the LoI (Bray and Longford). One of the best players in the MLS.
I agree that Hunt speaking out against nepotism would have come accross better if he wasnt pitching his brother, but any split in the camp that hastens Stauntons exit is to be welcomed.
Noelys Guitar
14/07/2007, 12:32 PM
I have gone to about 30 MLS games and the standard is just above Eircom league standard. Apart from Eddie Johnson and a few top south Americans the players are about EL standard. Back to Lapira. Staunton should only be picking players that he himself has seen play. He has plenty of time to travel and view any eligible players he wants. Hiddink went and watched EVERY eligible Aussie before the last world cup. Even though he was a full-time manager at PSV and couldn't get to all their get togethers.
dr_peepee
14/07/2007, 7:07 PM
When did O'Brien play for Bray or Longford?
OhNoYouDidn't
14/07/2007, 8:38 PM
When did O'Brien play for Bray or Longford?
he didnt, he wasnt good enough. was on trial with one and a short term contract with the other.