View Full Version : City Vs Pats LIVE on TV3
On Saturday April 12th at 5pm, as its the only time TV3 are willing to give.
City are demanding €10,000 in compo from the FAI, claiming that the move to Saturday evening will badly damage the crowd.
I dunno will it. Glad to see them leaving the pale for once. Now we have to have a noisy and colourful display.
23/03/2003, 12:13 PM
well done city demanding compo, it would damage the crowd.
Originally posted by GWA
City are demanding €10,000 in compo from the FAI, claiming that the move to Saturday evening will badly damage the crowd.
Firstly, I don't think it will have that big an effect on the crowd and even if it did surely the fee they will get from TV3 would make up for it.
Secondly, shoudn't City be trying to encourage TV3 to broadcast more games from Cork instead of moaning about it.
in fairness the clubs always get €5-10k for live games although its mainly been dublin clubs benefiting.
I'll certainly be watching if its on to see if your flags and displays are up to scratch. no pressure.
23/03/2003, 3:14 PM
Originally posted by dejan
no pressure.
Friday, Saturday, even Monday at this stage, i'd say we'll fill the ground anyway no worries.
Pressure ..... wrong choice of words my friend, the place will be rockin', just worried about getting there on time. Last year, one or two games there was crowds turned away ..... and ahh ...... I wouldn't miss this for the world. :)
great news lads
where did ye hear this from btw?
23/03/2003, 3:56 PM
5pm kick off means one thing
SESSION
Originally posted by thecorner
SESSION
absolutely
Badweather Fan
23/03/2003, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by GWA
On Saturday April 12th at 5pm,
:( :( :(
A sicky required there i'd say.
23/03/2003, 11:15 PM
early start,late finish
Shed End John
24/03/2003, 10:59 AM
SESSION
So what time are all the singers gonna gather now? 4:30 or thereabouts??:confused:
Originally posted by GWA
On Saturday April 12th at 5pm, as its the only time TV3 are willing to give.
kool. Was no way i could make the firday game but good chance can make saturday now.
Good decision by the FAI & TV3 to kick off the summer season with a what should be close to a full house.
Last time tv cameras were down for a live city v pats game was probably the 2-1 defeat & it was cracker of a game.
24/03/2003, 1:31 PM
Great. I hope they promote it before hand and people might know that the season is starting.
Badweather Fan
24/03/2003, 2:24 PM
BWF reckons it'll still be a full house.
24/03/2003, 2:34 PM
i reckon singers should meet up bout 2.30--3
p.s i see spillage had the "EXCLUSIVE" again today
I think it's a great idea, but if TV3 choose the time, the league should then insist that that is the time for all live games to be broadcast.
The league has been trying to get all games played @ 7:30 on Friday night, with the obvious exceptions, so TV3 should try to be consistent also.
Jaysus, this waiting is getting harder by the day..:p
IMO the sooner the thursday night games are moved to friday the better.
Might be best also to have the live games on a difference night to the rest of the league games.
IMO city should just take the standard compo package as they want to encourage TV3 to show city games live. Its no coincidence that $hel$ make more money that most of pitch side advertising & the fact that Tolka is on tv more than other grounds. City will make more cash in the long term from extra pitch side revenue than a few thousand extra from the league/tv3 for moving live games to different times.
24/03/2003, 5:26 PM
Originally posted by oddboy
this waiting is getting harder by the day..:p
I know ... enough already !!
The offical (http://d545994.u33.hosting365.ie/citynet/index.php?p=348&more=1) site has said that it is going ahead.
Cád é an scéal ???
It said in Irelan On Sunday yesterday that City are looking for €10000 compo, but his nibs in the Echo today said €20k.
anyone got any clue what the standard precedure is here.
Also, in other leagues they gey money from TV rights. I dont suppose eL clubs get a sniff of that no?
24/03/2003, 7:00 PM
Originally posted by GWA
anyone got any clue what the standard precedure is here.
Standard procedure is to shut up and do what you're told.
I really don't think that Cork City FC will be at a disadvantage since it's the first game of the season, Pat's fans aren't bad to travel and most will relish the chance to give Pat Dolan some stick.
If they get the compo then fair enough but if this situation is managed properly we can sell-out the ground.
Yeah, I can't see the change to Saturday affecting the crowd that much. 5pm is possibly a bit awkward for some people but so is 7.45pm Friday for others.
I still see it being a sell-out.
It's a balls for the Pats fans who had booked hotels etc. Yeera... whadda ya gonna do!
24/03/2003, 7:07 PM
Originally posted by Neil
It's a balls for the Pats fans who had booked hotels etc. Yeera... whadda ya gonna do!
Point and laugh I guess
Id say it'll be a sell out, or close to it anyway. Being on tv usually gets people to turn up anyway. But if they can get compo, who's to stop them?
I've already said it but I'll say it again City should be trying to encourage TV3 to show more games instead of demanding compo.
It will not affect the crowd, surely a lot more Pats fans will travel and 5pm isnt a bad time, it won't clash with any Premiershi* matches and it won't impede on peoples night out. I still expect to get as good a crowd as we would have on the friday.
Dr.Nightdub
24/03/2003, 9:34 PM
Originally posted by Neil
Simple - we changed the booking for our train and hotel. Independent Saints have a full carraige booked for this one and ain't nuthin gonna keep us away. They could move kick-off to midnight on the Sunday night and we'd still be there. See youse on the 12th.
25/03/2003, 2:32 AM
and i reckon the pats fans will be more than welcome in the surrounding public houses
definately will be welcomed, cause they aint rovers SCUM :D
Well if the Pats fans act like certain City fans did last January in McDowells, then there will be trouble, but generally Pats fans are okay. Cant ever remember there being any trouble.
Yeah that was a messy night in McDowells. We'll be well oiled but definitely can't see any body I know being THAT drunk. It should be a great occasion and I'm really looking forward to it
but surely there would have been a better atmosphere under lights?
and wouldn't it have been better to have the game on a friday night on TV3 anyway?
whats on? buffy? dark skies? crap like that............
or maybe i'm just moaning cos i can't get to it on Saturday @ 5
25/03/2003, 1:57 PM
Originally posted by Ref
or maybe i'm just moaning cos i can't get to it on Saturday @ 5
ref ... you're an awful auld moaner :)
Shed End John
25/03/2003, 2:58 PM
i reckon singers should meet up bout 2.30--3
Lovely job, where?
Oddboy, I'm in the same boat as you. The waiting keeps getting harder every day. Bring on the Saints, City will show them who's Super!!:p
25/03/2003, 3:06 PM
Originally posted by Ref
and wouldn't it have been better to have the game on a friday night on TV3 anyway?
whats on? buffy? dark skies? crap like that............
You're not going to believe it,
Fridays on tv3
19:00 - Emmerdale
19:30 - Coronation Street
20:00 - Charmed
21:00 - Dark Skies
22:00 - Haunted
And thats supposed to be better than footie?
Uch! :( :rolleyes:
Tis better than this though!
Saturdays on tv3
16:00 - Charlies Angels
17:00 - Popcorn
17:30 - News@5.30
18:00 - Ripleys Believe It Or Not
19:00 - American Idol 2
Actually Ive just read whats on, so Im not sure whats worse. Time to set up a pole I think! ;)
Shed End John
25/03/2003, 3:41 PM
Originally posted by Troy.McClure
Actually Ive just read whats on, so Im not sure whats worse. Time to set up a pole I think! ;)
I'll vote for Friday being WAY worse. At least there's a news bulletin, which is of some value presumably, on the Saturday.
25/03/2003, 3:47 PM
I think TV3 are right to show a Saturday game. A lot of the people who would go to other games would watch the live game so it makes sense to not have it clashing with most of the other games.
Shed End John
25/03/2003, 4:01 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
I think TV3 are right to show a Saturday game. A lot of the people who would go to other games would watch the live game so it makes sense to not have it clashing with most of the other games.
Except that Friday night is City's match night, and TV3 as good as bullied them into the Saturday.:mad: :mad:
Originally posted by Schumi
I agree. If they were to show it at the same time as all the other el games they would lose a huge percentage of their viewers. They are a commercial entity afterall so they have to do what makes economic sense.
SEJ, what are you on about? "TV3 as good as bullied them into it", that's ridiculous. In most other countries games are moved around to facilitate TV coverage every week so I don't see why we should be different. We want to promote our league and having live tv coverage is the best way to do that, so what if City have to move the game to a Saturday! Don't talk rubbish.
Shed End John
25/03/2003, 4:27 PM
Originally posted by Colm
SEJ, what are you on about? "TV3 as good as bullied them into it", that's ridiculous. In most other countries games are moved around to facilitate TV coverage every week so I don't see why we should be different. We want to promote our league and having live tv coverage is the best way to do that, so what if City have to move the game to a Saturday! Don't talk rubbish.
First of all, I DON'T talk rubbish, and how dare you suggest it. Second, tea-time on a Saturday is about as s***e a time as anyone could have picked. After all, you don't see them doing anything like THAT in England or anywhere else. Lastly, as I've previously said. Friday is City's match night, and I'm not in favour of ANY change for ANY reason from it. If TV3 want to show eL games they can show them at the clubs usual playing time, and bugger whatever s***e they have on their listings!!:mad: :mad:
Originally posted by Shed End John
tea-time on a Saturday is about as s***e a time as anyone could have picked. After all, you don't see them doing anything like THAT in England or anywhere else.
The biggest game in the FA cup quater finals was Arsenal v Chelsea, guess what time twas on at... 5pm Saturday evening. There are numerous occasiions this season when Sky or BBC have shown games live at 5pm on Saturday, so get your facts straight. Games are always moved to facilitate TV, it's not written in stone that City must play all their games on Friday night at 7.45.
I DON'T talk rubbish
course ya don't:rolleyes:
As i said above i think all eL games should be on same time & night but live games should be on a different time/day. Its also the standard practice across Europe.
City are no more being bullied than bohs/shels were to moving their game to a sunday last year.
Much as people would like it to be but this is not a dublin conspiracy again. City should take the standard live game fee & start helping tv3 to promote the game to its full potential.
Any remember the bohs fans getting in touch with tv3 before one of their games last year so they could record some flag & crowd scenes 20mins before the game so they could be showed on the match intro? Might be a good idea when gets closer to the game to organise something similar for the cross?
Ruairi
25/03/2003, 4:50 PM
Can't see what all the fuss is about. Game gets moved, the cross still sells out, we're live on tv and everyone is happy.
Except SEJ, but then, is he ever?
(except when egg-chasing and mud eating I'd say)
Shed End John
25/03/2003, 4:51 PM
Originally posted by Colm
The biggest game in the FA cup quater finals was Arsenal v Chelsea, guess what time twas on at... 5pm Saturday evening. There are numerous occasiions this season when Sky or BBC have shown games live at 5pm on Saturday, so get your facts straight.
Hate to say you're wrong again, but, you are. You're talking an FA Cup match in a country that has a tradition of playing alot of cup matches at that time. Saturday games are anything but tradition here, and are a major annoyance. We'll probably get a big crowd regardless, but, it sure as Hell isn't the same as Friday under lights.
yeah city have a huge tradition of playing on friday nights:rolleyes:
keep on topic lads or i'm moving the chit into the chit forum in off-topics :D
You're talking an FA Cup match in a country that has a tradition of playing alot of cup matches at that time. Yes, I was taking you up on the point you made about how this would never happen in England and just pointing out that in England games are moved to facilitate TV every single week. You're contradicting yourself again SEJ!
saturday games are anything but tradition here
Right you want to talk about tradition. Are you trying to say that we have a tradition of playing games on Friday nights, well that's a really long standing tradition isnt it? yeah a tradition stretching back a whole 8 and a half months!:rolleyes:
Traditionally City have played on Sunday afternoons, would you rather we reverted to that?
It shouldnt affect the crowd badly at all. In fact i think it would be a great idea if TV3 showed all their live games at 5 on a Saturday. Just like Sky have Super Sunday, we will have Super Saturday.
I just hope it isnt their only trip to Cork.
25/03/2003, 6:31 PM
First of all, I DON'T talk rubbish,
I know ... you cant see the rubbish with all the chit you talk !!!
Chill ..... i am winding .... dont explode, it just gets messy :D
hayser
25/03/2003, 9:49 PM
please stop using the word "footie" , makes me cringe and think of that **** soccer am show on sky:mad:
Real ale Madrid
26/03/2003, 12:42 AM
Originally posted by hayser
please stop using the word "footie" , makes me cringe and think of that **** soccer am show on sky:mad:
I like Soccer a.m.
Can't wait for the Saturday kick off. It's going to be a great occasion. There is something fantastic about the start of the season. Everyone is on a level playing field. It will take at least a few games or even months before our dreams start to become mere whimsical fantasies and our hopes savagely crushed:p
I think the Sat time will give all eL fans a chance to watch the game and I doubt it will affect the crowd too much.
Originally posted by hayser
Far better than calling football "soccer".....
26/03/2003, 11:16 AM
Good point re potential audiences being at other games on a friday. Maybe the thing to do would be to agree on a set time for ALL live matches, e.g. Saturday at 5 so as not to clash with other games-good thing about that time is it's accessibility to away fans.