View Full Version : Rovers Vs. Galway United
09/07/2007, 11:50 PM
Time to forget about Derry and focus on the weekend. should be a great game and hope the result on friday wont damage the attendance! galway will hava few down for it aswell id imagine so should be a good atmosphere. id imagine we're goin to havta go to the main stand? sligoman, any ideas?
we should be beating galway, especially at home and i think a similar result to the 1st game of the season will be recorded. 2-1 though this time to the bit o'red i think :)
09/07/2007, 11:57 PM
Hoping the fans match will be a good warm up to this. Should ensure no trouble with Galway fans too:D. Defo think we should win this. Galway are one of the worst teams I've seen play this season. Although, they seem to perform better away so we still have to perform well enough.
id imagine we're goin to havta go to the main stand? sligoman, any ideas?I'd say we might do what was done Vs. Bohs. Although, with lack of interest(for obvious reasons:D) from Rovers fans to go to the stand that day he mightn't bother sticking the fences up. I'll try to find out tomorrow.
10/07/2007, 12:01 AM
wont be any trouble with galway fans, there never will be trouble imo in the showgrounds like, with the new singing crowd we dont go looking for fights, its just a bit of craic like, there'll never be and fighting i dont think anyway
10/07/2007, 12:07 AM
wont be any trouble with galway fans, there never will be trouble imo in the showgrounds like, with the new singing crowd we dont go looking for fights, its just a bit of craic like, there'll never be and fighting i dont think anywayDidn't mean fighting as in coming to blows, just meant no hopping fences and then them getting kicks:D.
Midgit
10/07/2007, 9:37 AM
Any news on Peersie lads? Is he back in training? Or how long is he out for?
DRDoc
10/07/2007, 11:37 AM
I will be heading to this one also
I have really enjoyed my sligo games this year
vs Cork - goals goals goals and great football
vs Bohs - great atmosphere, dodgy penalty, great football and 2 officials sent off - plus loads of abuse for the lineman
vs Longford - another dodgy penalty, another decent crowd,queues to get in, even more abuse for the lineman - -no new improved turnstyles doh!
vs Galway????? I see goals again . . hopefully
10/07/2007, 11:42 AM
DRDoc you should come to all our games!
Claret Murph
10/07/2007, 11:50 AM
I say it should be a cracking game but i would say it has a draw wrote all over it 1-1 .
red rovers
10/07/2007, 3:47 PM
It should be a good game.Ventre or Boyd could be playing. 2-1 Judge and Hughus to score.
10/07/2007, 8:27 PM
id imagine we're goin to havta go to the main stand? sligoman, any ideas?The blue stand will be half and half so ye can still go there if ye wanna create atmosphere. Entrance through Railway End as per Bohs game.
Shiba
10/07/2007, 10:22 PM
Sligoman it will be painful for you der on Saturday night,Gaa Team meant to be guests of Honour
10/07/2007, 10:25 PM
Sligoman it will be painful for you der on Saturday night,Gaa Team meant to be guests of HonourCouldn't care less tbh, was half expecting it really saying as our chairman is a bogball man at heart.
Shiba
10/07/2007, 10:30 PM
Couldn't care less tbh, was half expecting it really saying as our chairman is a bogball man at heart.
Must be painful been Irish:rolleyes:
10/07/2007, 10:34 PM
Must be painful been Irish:rolleyes:No, I'm proud of being Irish. Don't have to like a silly Irish sport to prove it though. btw, why are you dragging this thread off-topic when we already have a thread about the Gah team on this Rovers forum already?
Shiba
10/07/2007, 10:41 PM
No, I'm proud of being Irish. Don't have to like a silly Irish sport to prove it though. btw, why are you dragging this thread off-topic when we already have a thread about the Gah team on this Rovers forum already?
Boredom and just that I can.Also that your just predictable in all your threads.Ah just wanted to give ya warning relly that gaa team be there and we all know how much u dislike BOgball.
On the Galway looking forward to it and a improved display on Derry.Any new signings in yet.
11/07/2007, 11:55 AM
Sligoman it will be painful for you der on Saturday night,Gaa Team meant to be guests of Honour
should be fun :p
11/07/2007, 4:25 PM
seen galway last night. slightly improved but not by much. we should beat them easy enough if peers is back
11/07/2007, 4:28 PM
i think we shud just go where we were against Bohs
11/07/2007, 4:32 PM
i think we shud just go where we were against Bohs
no because we can't be hard, and we can't hear the opposition fans either....blue stand is grand i think, your closer to the pitch too...
11/07/2007, 4:38 PM
no because we can't be hard, and we can't hear the opposition fans either....blue stand is grand i think, your closer to the pitch too...
do you wanna beatin?? ah no i suppose your right, closer to sligoman aswell
11/07/2007, 4:46 PM
in particular i reckon seamie&cash could slaughter galway down their left. kearney made sh*te of wesley last night and reilly&derek are just awful
11/07/2007, 5:36 PM
Cretaro will eat Reilly alive on Saturday night if he starts.
I guarantee that if Sligo score it will have something to do with Reilly.Our 3rd choice left back and it shows.I'm sure Cook and Raf took notice of that last night.I expect alot of yere play to be focused on our left wing.
11/07/2007, 5:49 PM
Cretaro will eat Reilly alive on Saturday night if he starts.I guarantee that if Sligo score it will have something to do with Reilly.Our 3rd choice left back and it shows.I'm sure Cook and Raf took notice of that last night.I expect alot of yere play to be focused on our left wing.
if u think raf would do reilly wait till u see how good seamie&cash are. was that glynn's worst game for galway?not sayin he isn't good but he was extremely quiet last night. nootimeer is quality. what's the story with rogers kick outs and clearances??he could have cost ye a cupla more goals with them
11/07/2007, 6:00 PM
That was Glynn's "worst" game yes.Can't remember the last time he didn't score.He had 2 great chances last night and made a mess of them.Nootimer is quality and would make most teams in this league.
Rodgers is hot and cold but in fairness he's been relatively solid all year bar alot of hairy kick outs.
It will be a tough game for us and one that we could quite easily lose....but on the road we've been strong this year and pass it alot better.I predict goals on Saturday....not sure who'll win though.
any word from you sligo locals on whats up with peers and if he will feature on saturday?
11/07/2007, 10:54 PM
he just has lots of problems with the back of his legs, calves and hamstrings. gets cramp every game he plays almost and they think its stemming from a back problem. havn't heard if he will play on saturday yet or not
That was Glynn's "worst" game yes.Can't remember the last time he didn't score.
I can :)
Kelly was pretty poor against Longford
He didnt feature against Derry - was he injured or just dropped?
12/07/2007, 1:50 PM
he was left out but dont be to hard on him. i thought he did well against shams and UCD away, many people wouldnt have seen them games
12/07/2007, 1:59 PM
many people wouldnt have seen them gamesand those who did mightn't agree;). Hoofed it a lot, would much rather Foy starting in place of him. Would still like Kelly to be at club just as back up though.
I saw both shams and ucd away and Kelly was fine in both games
Looked solid and reliable actually - used the ball ok - hit it long sometimes but most of the time there want much showing for him short
It was only vs longford he was exposed - John Martin had the beating of him everytime and he also allowed mooney drift off behind him a few times
12/07/2007, 8:50 PM
I saw both shams and ucd away and Kelly was fine in both games
Looked solid and reliable actually - used the ball ok - hit it long sometimes but most of the time there want much showing for him short
It was only vs longford he was exposed - John Martin had the beating of him everytime and he also allowed mooney drift off behind him a few times
everyone has an off night
Rovers fan
12/07/2007, 10:50 PM
will any of the new signings be in the squad?
12/07/2007, 11:38 PM
Boyd and ventre will be
13/07/2007, 11:37 PM
How many will Galway bring? I am expecting them to bring very big support for this.They've a 42 seater bus full so it'll all depend on how many drive up in addition to that.
13/07/2007, 11:46 PM
What? Explosives? :pNo just drunken fans and flares;)
Patrick Dunne
14/07/2007, 6:25 AM
United fans don't do away games, we're too middle class for that kind
of silly carry-on.
I would estimate that at most 150 United supporters will travel.
Midgit
14/07/2007, 7:43 AM
Any news on Peersie? What are the papers saying? Is he fit or not?
14/07/2007, 11:13 AM
Peers is fit to play.
Rovers fan
14/07/2007, 5:21 PM
hopefully there will be a good crowd and atmosphere. im going for rovers to win 2-1, judge to get the winner:cool:
red rovers
14/07/2007, 6:13 PM
match preview http://rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0714/sligogalway.html
Rovers fan
14/07/2007, 9:17 PM
two points dropped, no doubt about. not enough effort shown at all. curran isnt a winger. ventre looks very good. why wasnt manson's name on the programme?:confused:
14/07/2007, 10:14 PM
Galway deserved the point. Complete lack of effort for the most part. I thought Curran did well enough actually. I hope we turn this "form" around next week!
14/07/2007, 10:27 PM
Scrappy game, but it could have went either way. If we'd gone on and got the second game over but it was clear if we didnt score they were always going to equalise.
Anyway, it's ok because we are the champions of Connacht! And we have a cup to prove it!;)
Rovers fan
14/07/2007, 10:43 PM
thought the midfield were fairly non existent. peers had a great game at the back as did coleman as per usual. it was clear galway posed an attacking threat but the rovers defense coughed up very few chances. sligoman can i just ask, why wasnt the fella who ran onto the pitch kicked out? he had already stood there for about 2 mins annoying the rovers fans.
14/07/2007, 11:00 PM
Who scored the Galway goal? Rovers site says Murphy and Aertel says Glynn. 2 scrappy goals tonight either way
sligoman can i just ask, why wasnt the fella who ran onto the pitch kicked out? he had already stood there for about 2 mins annoying the rovers fans.No idea, twas not my decision or else he would have been gone, the guards obviously didn't think too much of it either as they saw him.
Rovers fan
14/07/2007, 11:01 PM
what happened after the galway goal? somebody said ogrady decked somebody, didnt see it myself but the galway players were clearly annoyed
Midgit
15/07/2007, 6:43 AM
No Commitment shown by the players at all last night. Disappionting really.
O'Grady non-existant, Boyd i feel may come in and take his place for the next game.
Ventre played well, he was solid and may turn out to be a good signing.
Peers = A ROCK. Nothing got past him all night.
Could hear Cousins giving his team talk after the game. He was so annoyed at their prefomance and was giving out about how they played. He mention Derek O'Brien and he said they gave him no support when he was on the ball or something of the like.b Although i would have loved to hear Cookie's. He would have given them a rolocking. 2 pionts droped.
red metal
15/07/2007, 7:33 AM
Iv been going to the showgrounds a long time and never seen a more one sided first half.We should have been a least 2 up before half time.To much football in the final third of the pitch.O Gardy and hughes went missing in the second half thought the new left full was soild enough.Will get better with games.But all in all you would have to say 2 points dropped.:(
Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 9:50 AM
Iv been going to the showgrounds a long time and never seen a more one sided first half..:(
really:confused:. thought we slightly shaded it but they definitely started to come into it towards the end of the first half. very little in the way of clear cut chances