View Full Version : Rovers Vs. Galway United
Only1Rovers
15/07/2007, 10:34 AM
Iv been going to the showgrounds a long time and never seen a more one sided first half.We should have been a least 2 up before half time.(
Don't know what game you were watching Metal? We were the better side, in the first half but but not by much.
Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 11:24 AM
Don't know what game you were watching Metal? We were the better side, in the first half but but not by much.
exactly what i was thinking myself
1 9 2 8
15/07/2007, 12:06 PM
, why wasnt the fella who ran onto the pitch kicked out? he had already stood there for about 2 mins annoying the rovers fans.
In England he would get a 3 year stadium ban for that
15/07/2007, 12:12 PM
Lads in fairness, yes he should have been kicked out but some of our own fans don't help the situation either.
Was great to see Peers back made a big difference defense wise a huge influence on the team.Alot of fingers pointing at the midfield Gary Curran of the Pace particularily in second half.I think Judge will want get his head up a bit more holding on to the ball too long doesn't pass it enough.Can't figure out what Mc kenzie and Brush were doing in the lead up to the Galway goal.Was impressed with Ventre didnt see enough of Boyd to form an opinion.Faz seem very fustrate leaving the pitch.Again Coleman a class act,best I've seen in years!One thing do How was Charles not booked persistant fouling alnite.While on that subject Linesman on Jinks ave side very poor all game.
Overall a diappointing result but having said that the reactions of the fans and players said it all! We were disappointed ,they overjoyed with the result shows our expectations and theirs we've come a long way since the beginning of the season.Long may it continue!
Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 1:14 PM
Overall a diappointing result but having said that the reactions of the fans and players said it all! We were disappointed ,they overjoyed with the result shows our expectations and theirs we've come a long way since the beginning of the season.Long may it continue!
that was more to do with the fact that they got a late equaliser
showgies
15/07/2007, 1:30 PM
Dispite not playing well, we should have been at least 2 up at half time. Although I don't think O'grady, Hughes, Faz or Judge played particuarly badly, I think they certainly were a little off what what they have been producing this season. In particular, Faz's and Judges's touch was poor.
Their goal came from an indecisive Brushie. He really should have come and collected that ball that McKensie was scream at him to do so.
Just like the waterford game this was 2 points well and truely dropped.
I agree that Charles should ahave been booked as early as the first half.
The best piece of play in the game was the brilliant free kick involving Foy, Judge and Faz. Only for a brilliant tackle this would have been another contender for goal of the month.
It may do but I'd like to think we'd have more to offer on the pitch they had.They have brought in a number of players since I seen them last at the beginning of the season they really havent improved much.where as our team has change since then and we are down to bear bones at the moment they never looked like beating us.
Latcheko
15/07/2007, 2:26 PM
what happened after the galway goal? somebody said ogrady decked somebody, didnt see it myself but the galway players were clearly annoyed
He gave Alan Murphy a bit of a shove but Murphy's reaction may have been a little exaggerated.
Regarding the game I thought we were cat almighty but ye weren't much better and a draw was a fair result. ****e match, best forgotten.
15/07/2007, 3:28 PM
Spot on,fair play.
Rovers celebrated like they won the Cup in Terryland when they scored late in Terryland.We haven't scored late all season so you can maybe understand why we were overjoyed at the final whistle.
If it was in Tland and ye scored late it would have been the exact same.
Great trip,good laugh.Big enough Galway crowd and a hefty Sligo support to.
Hope Ollie Davey enjoyed his reception aswell.Thug.
red metal
15/07/2007, 5:10 PM
Thats what i mean we were on top and should have been a least 2 up at half time!Well i dont know what game you were watching Galway had 1 chance.and we had about 4.watch the highlight tomorrow on eircom weekly if they show it that is!
1 9 2 8
15/07/2007, 5:19 PM
Whats the story with Cash?
Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 5:49 PM
Thats what i mean we were on top and should have been a least 2 up at half time!Well i dont know what game you were watching Galway had 1 chance.and we had about 4.watch the highlight tomorrow on eircom weekly if they show it that is!
4 chances isnt that much in 90 mins and only 2 of them were clear cut. fair result imo, we got what we deserved for the effort given
red metal
15/07/2007, 5:59 PM
4 chances isnt that much in 90 mins and only 2 of them were clear cut. fair result imo, we got what we deserved for the effort given
4 good chance in the first half!we were the better team. With a bit more balls they would have been dead and buried by half time.They Galway are a poor side and we should won that game easy.But your right we got what we deserved for the effort given.These are the game we need to be picking up points in!
I thought a draw was a fair enough result also - however if Sligo had won I dont think Galway woould have considered themselves too unlucky
Faz and Judge werent what they have been of late - they didnt have bad games as such but they have both set themselves high standards in the last while so a drop off was going to happen sooner or later
Judge was still a threat mind you - was always looking to play people in with clever balls but maybe failed with the simpler balls at times - Faz was out of the game for long periods
I know everyone has been positive about Ventre but I disagree v strongly - I thought he was poor - I know it was his first game so he needs longer to settle in but if he doesnt improve from yesterday then playing him at left back ahead of Kelly isnt an option
Having said that
- Ventre was playing at left back and that can be tough for a right footed player
- he doesnt seem at all at all comfortable with his left foot
- coming back on to his right foot slowed down a couple of moves that had potential
- he is obviously more used to playing at centre back
- On the two occasions he was taken on , he was comfortabley beat and Galway got a dangerous cut back ball in to the box that could have cost sligo dear
- he went over the top with a two footed tackle around the half way line and was very lucky not to be booked, another referee could easily have over reacted and shown him red
- he repeatedly looked for offside from the left back position with his hand raised etc after stepping up, nothing wrong with this per say but on the majority of occasions the other 3 defenders were not even entertaining the idea of stepping up or looking for offside
- he wasnt caught out positionally
Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 6:51 PM
I
- he went over the top with a two footed tackle around the half way line and was very lucky not to be booked, another referee could easily have over reacted and shown him red
didnt think it merited a card, there was nobody near the ball at the time
15/07/2007, 7:22 PM
Then there was also Charles obvious pass back to Rodgers which nothing was given for!
Ballagh Red
15/07/2007, 8:59 PM
Thought we should have had a penalty just before they broke up the pitch and equalised.We seem to overplay the ball around the box.Great when it comes of like against UCD but it'd be good to see a bit more shooting on sight.A draw was a fair result last nite
Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 10:10 PM
Thought we should have had a penalty just before they broke up the pitch and equalised.We seem to overplay the ball around the box.Great when it comes of like against UCD but it'd be good to see a bit more shooting on sight.A draw was a fair result last nite
ya faz and judge especially overplaying. faz had a c;ear shooting chance on the edge of the box and tried a one two instead of shooting. there were 2 50/50 penalty calls imo
kkontour
15/07/2007, 10:23 PM
think the peno would have been harsh, thought judge handled the ball as much as the galway lad.
Only1Rovers
16/07/2007, 10:29 AM
yea Hughes didn't have one of his best games, but cant criticize the guy, he gives his all.
Ventre is not a left back, I think he let too many crosses get by him into the box.
16/07/2007, 10:33 AM
Ventre is not a left back, I think he let too many crosses get by him into the box.No he's a CB apparently. Was playing out of position and did very well imo. Although Cook did say he can play any position across the back.
Rovers fan
16/07/2007, 2:15 PM
I presume cook is going to play him at left back, otherwise he wouldnt have dropped kelly to the u-21s. its obvious he doesnt rate foyser as a ledt back, probably after he got skinned a few times at bray and caught for pace
showgies
16/07/2007, 3:09 PM
I presume cook is going to play him at left back, otherwise he wouldnt have dropped kelly to the u-21s. its obvious he doesnt rate foyser as a ledt back, probably after he got skinned a few times at bray and caught for pace
I don't think Cook rates Foy full stop otherwise he would have made the logical subsitution of moving Cretaro to right wing when Cash was injured and played Foy on the left.
Only1Rovers
16/07/2007, 3:17 PM
I heard Kelly has left the senior set-up of his own accord - playing u-21.
pixiehead
16/07/2007, 4:43 PM
Where did the 2 Neo Nazis fans go to. I enjoyed laughinging at them the last time i was in the SG :D
Darco Ooragnak
16/07/2007, 11:34 PM
TV3 Highlights (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=725603#post725603)
16/07/2007, 11:56 PM
Where did the 2 Neo Nazis fans go to. I enjoyed laughinging at them the last time i was in the SG :D
what was that again?
rusheenrover
17/07/2007, 11:30 AM
Thanks Darco. Your efforts to put the highlights on the website are much appreciated.:ball:
Redzer
17/07/2007, 2:21 PM
They usually turn up for cup games. I havn't seen them for a while. The last time they showed up a few stewards kept them company;)
Tir Oilean
17/07/2007, 2:32 PM
what was that again?
Last season there were 2 Nazi skinheads at the railway end of the ground. They were from Tobercurry according to their flag. one of them threw a punch at a man sitting in our section of the stand at halftime and they were subsequently thrown out by the gardai. They were true freaks in fairness! Dont reckon they were part of yere main supporters tho never seen them in Terryland or in yere shed when I used to go up when I lived in Sligo.