View Full Version : Athlone looking for new manager

atfconline
06/07/2007, 1:09 PM
Details at athlonetownfc.com (http://www.athlonetownfc.com).

carrickharp
06/07/2007, 1:09 PM
Deleated

06/07/2007, 1:11 PM
Hardly surprising given recent events.

Midgit
06/07/2007, 1:44 PM
Hardly surprising given recent events.

Why???

Battery Rover
06/07/2007, 1:58 PM
The reason wouldn't be anything else other than results.

21 points so far and 19 of these have come from playing Shels, Wexford, Kilkenny and Monaghan and we have scored from play in the last 6 matches, that goal being against Wexford Youths on the 25th June. The last 2 league matches against Monaghan and Finn Harps were the two worst performances by an Athlone team I have seen in 34 years supporting them.

It is a results based business and every manager knows that.

All the supporters are wondering now is does Pat Fenlon want a part time job just down the road.

btid1
06/07/2007, 2:37 PM

21 points so far and 19 of these have come from playing Shels, Wexford, Kilkenny and Monaghan and we have scored from play in the last 6 matches, that goal being against Wexford Youths on the 25th June. The last 2 league matches against Monaghan and Finn Harps were the two worst performances by an Athlone team I have seen in 34 years supporting them.

All the supporters are wondering now is does Pat Fenlon want a part time job just down the road.

Its a vast improvement on the performance last season though isnt it!!Another stupid decision by the ATFC board to add to their already long list!

God Athlone fans have a very short memory!

There is more chance of me getting the job than Fenlon being interested!!!!

Battery Rover
06/07/2007, 2:45 PM
Not a vast improvement on last year at all

We ended last season on 44 points. Saturdays match is the half way point and we have only 21 points and that is on a budget probably twice of last season.

Last 3 matches. Monaghan we hadnt a shot on goal, Harps exactly the same and against Rovers in the League Cup we battled well and it was an improvement but had only had one shot on Digger.

MyTown
06/07/2007, 2:52 PM
Thought the end of season signings in November would work out well for you. But it looks as if the lads you took from Galway bombed.

You'll probably look beyond the O'Connor / Frawley / Fortune dynasty now but I can't see nutsy taking it on.

There's bound to be a Stephen Kenny or two in the Leinster area just waiting to prove his credentials.

Good Luck for the rest of the season and be proud of what you achieved with the new ground.

peterc1992
06/07/2007, 2:57 PM
We are 11 points behind limerick(i think) with half the season to go,we have one of the best squads in the division so i fwe play different football with a new manager we could giv it one last push.It would be like a breadth of fresh air!!

btid1
06/07/2007, 3:08 PM
Not a vast improvement on last year at all

We ended last season on 44 points. Saturdays match is the half way point and we have only 21 points and that is on a budget probably twice of last season.

Last 3 matches. Monaghan we hadnt a shot on goal, Harps exactly the same and against Rovers in the League Cup we battled well and it was an improvement but had only had one shot on Digger.

So a decision is made on 3 matches....and they call Bohs fans fickle....Athlone is the new hotseat in EL football.Cant keep a manager for longer than 10 minutes by the looks of it!!

Plus I hardly call losing to a premier team in the quarter finals of the league cup with an 82nd min goal a disaster!

Be interesting to see who you replace him with.I have a sneaking feeling I know who it will be and this guy will want to spend plenty of money.Best of luck providing it!

06/07/2007, 4:43 PM
I think in all fairness, the Athlone board gave O'Connor alot of money and he brought in some very good signings. It just aint working, they look a poor side at present, and with their squad they should be doing better.

06/07/2007, 5:08 PM
How much (roughly) would Lavine be on a week and how many goals/apps has he got?

peterc1992
07/07/2007, 3:35 PM
Its a vast improvement on the performance last season though isnt it!!Another stupid decision by the ATFC board to add to their already long list!

God Athlone fans have a very short memory!

There is more chance of me getting the job than Fenlon being interested!!!!
You obviusly ahvnt seen come of the athlone displays dis season!O'connor was terrible tacticaly,We have a good squad butthe football o'connor playd was terrible!Don't say it was a terrible decision because the whole of athlone was wanting it along with a few of the players.

07/07/2007, 6:21 PM
So a decision is made on 3 matches....and they call Bohs fans fickle....Athlone is the new hotseat in EL football.Cant keep a manager for longer than 10 minutes by the looks of it!!

You haven't a clue what your talking about

The amount of money O'Connor had to spend was obscene when you look at the return on it

I'm shocked he lasted as long as he did

Paddyfield
07/07/2007, 7:06 PM
I bet Tony Mannion will get the job.

He's an Athlone native and recently completed the UEFA Pro Licence.

kdjaC
07/07/2007, 8:53 PM

Ah cool thats how it works, we have a budget probably 8 times your have gotten 3 points from 5 games have gone from top to 2nd, time to sack the manager methinks.

kdjac

07/07/2007, 11:09 PM
Ah cool thats how it works, we have a budget probably 8 times your have gotten 3 points from 5 games have gone from top to 2nd, time to sack the manager methinks.

Premier People Seriously

Athlone are terrible this year

You have no idea

Rumour was Davy Byrne, Darren Young and Colm Heffernan were costing them as much as our squad

Battery Rover
08/07/2007, 4:42 PM
The 4 players named above, McTiernan, Byrne, Heffernan and Young are probably costing more than most teams full budget.

Mc T and Byrne both excellent players but the jury is still out on the other two.

Dont know our actual budget but it would be on par or even greater than Harps and Dundalk. The money is there though we arent spending more than we have.

It just wasn't happening with Mickey we were playing 5 across the middle to stop teams playing and trying to live of scraps up front.

No committee discussion on who we they are going to approach for the job yet but there are a few names doing the rounds as usual

Battery Rover
08/07/2007, 7:00 PM
Be interesting to see who you replace him with.I have a sneaking feeling I know who it will be and this guy will want to spend plenty of money.Best of luck providing it!

Can we hear your sneaking feeling?

08/07/2007, 7:19 PM
who else wins things by spending big except fenlon! I think Paddyfeild was right with Tony Mannion.

08/07/2007, 7:20 PM
who else wins things by spending big except fenlon!

No one said anything about winning things

May I suggest Roderick Collins :p

Battery Rover
08/07/2007, 7:30 PM
Lim go and wash your mouth out.

A decision like that would nearly have me supporting Longford:eek:

Paddyfield
08/07/2007, 7:54 PM
May I suggest Roderick Collins :p

I'd love to Roddy back in management... so long as it is not as boss at Galway United. He's one of these characters that people love to hate.

I just like a good laugh.

08/07/2007, 8:05 PM
I'd love to Roddy back in management... so long as it is not as boss at Galway United. He's one of these characters that people love to hate.

Precisely

I think everyone would love the guy back in the dugout - As long as it's the opposition one

Go On Athlone, for the craic, this seasons a write off anyway :)

OhNoYouDidn't
08/07/2007, 8:31 PM
to be fair, Athlone fans have been giving out about O'Connor for a while.

There seems to be an awful atmosphere there with the Cootes boys being banned. The good vibes on the back of the stadium havent lasted very long.

greenandwhite
08/07/2007, 8:32 PM
o connor was the guy that told moran he was over the hill, and went and paid over the odds for players who he cant get to perform. moran is a true gentleman and should never have been kicked out of athlone. he would make a good manager imo

Larry 'da' Wyse
08/07/2007, 9:13 PM
Sorry to see ATFC sacking another manager. Mickey was manager of us in the college in 1991. Great laugh. The George Best of the Town. Pity he wasn't up to the job second time around but the club seem to go through managers at a shocking rate. Haven't a clue who should get the job but hope it works out.

What is Rod de Kors doing for a few bob these days?

Battery Rover
08/07/2007, 9:36 PM
What is Rod de Kors doing for a few bob these days?

Not sure but he was down in Athlone for the first match in the new ground and still loves the Town. Still a great man for the beer as well and we also introduced Magicme to him:D along with other greats like Barry Murphy, Val Keenan and Frank Darby

atfconline
08/07/2007, 9:58 PM
Lim go and wash your mouth out.

A decision like that would nearly have me supporting Longford:eek:

Wash your mouth out!! Looks like they need every cent they can get though, was over there the other night and they seemed to have pawned off their electronic subs board!

Battery Rover
08/07/2007, 10:04 PM
Wash your mouth out!! Looks like they need every cent they can get though, was over there the other night and they seemed to have pawned off their electronic subs board!

Notice the word nearly atfconline. Nothing would make me stoop that low:D

btid1
09/07/2007, 9:52 AM
Dont know our actual budget but it would be on par or even greater than Harps and Dundalk. The money is there though we arent spending more than we have.

No committee discussion on who we they are going to approach for the job yet but there are a few names doing the rounds as usual

I dont believe for a minute your budget is on par with Dundalk.Look at the names in their squad.These lads are all ex-premier players and would not leave that for a big wage cut.

Unfortunately cant give you a heads up on my sneaking feeling as my source would probably cut my head off but needless to say some people on here may not be happy with it and they will want to spend money.

It a fair point made by Kdjac however.Where is the loyalty to managers gone?A bad spell nowadays and their job is realistically on the line.Its a sad reflection on boards and fans in this country.But my point remains on the number of managers Athlone have had in the last 10 years.More than most I would think (Bohs included).This is a reflection on the board of ATFC and no one else.They appoint and fire and they are clearly getting it wrong time and again!!

09/07/2007, 10:00 AM
'' We are the brothers Malone, we come from the town of Athlone, and to all the ladies we show our shillelaghs.....'' anyone know the rest? A fellow student from Athlone taught me those two lines....

I remember when Athlone played in Europe every 2-3 seasons or so I even remember them when winning two League titles. Larry Be Wyse and Turly is Magic... you have the basis of a wonderful new stadium it's already a vast improvement on the one where those words were graffitied .
If you can add another stand to the present one by the end of the year regardless of what happens on the field, this season won't have been a disaster. Getting the fundamentals right off the field is more important than ever in this day and age.

As regards a manager there's a few out of work ones at present. But the ante has been raised by licencing and if they don't have the pro licence there could be problems playing at a higher level when you eventually do get promoted.

Battery Rover
09/07/2007, 10:12 AM
As regards a manager there's a few out of work ones at present. But the ante has been raised by licencing and if they don't have the pro licence there could be problems playing at a higher level when you eventually do get promoted.

Don't think that comes into effect until 2010. As long as you have UEFA B at the moment you can manage so they would have two years to complete the A and the Pro licence

09/07/2007, 10:48 AM
Tom Symmonds reckons he can convince a certain person to take the job :D