View Full Version : Wexford Football Complex
new blue
03/07/2007, 10:06 PM
Having been around to many of the football grounds in Division One I find that we have one of the best. What does this say about the competence, ambition and foresight of those clubs which are around for years - since 37 and further back. No wonder attendances are pathetic.
03/07/2007, 10:20 PM
Having been around to many of the football grounds in Division One I find that we have one of the best. What does this say about the competence, ambition and foresight of those clubs which are around for years - since 37 and further back. No wonder attendances are pathetic.
Give yourself a pat on the back there so fella !! :p
sonofstan
03/07/2007, 10:23 PM
Guess you're just lucky to have one of the few Irish businessmen interested in investing in domestic football (and a greenfield site miles out of town....) it is great, but I'd hate to have to drive out there for matches if i lived in Wexford Town.
03/07/2007, 10:23 PM
I would ask the question will ye be around as long as the others first !
don ramo
03/07/2007, 10:44 PM
i wouldnt boast, you have a big field while everyone else has a ground with terraceing and seats built in, oh and you dont have to pay wages, and as said it is far outside town, that said there is a lot of potential but no point boasting that you have a field, i was there yer first game against us and the wind was dealy even now i shiver thinking of that day,( im assuming weather in the sunny souteast has improved since summer came in) you have a nice set up but it helps when your not in the center of town, ye have the potential to build one of the best grounds in the country were ye are,and best of luck with it
Monkfish
03/07/2007, 11:29 PM
One mans money got you a field in the middle of a wind tunnel, well done!
04/07/2007, 8:26 AM
.............and a poxy wine bar :rolleyes:
atfconline
04/07/2007, 8:30 AM
You don't have this (http://www.since1887.net/Stadium.jpg) though! :p
04/07/2007, 8:31 AM
typical begrudgery.
04/07/2007, 8:39 AM
You don't have this (http://www.since1887.net/Stadium.jpg) though! :p
Next season we'll have very similar. Otherwise I'd agree that the whole complex, while nice, is a bit over hyped. Until an actual permanent stand is in place it'll be little more than an open field with a nice clubhouse and dressing rooms.
Having said that it's the nicest field, clubhouse and dressing rooms in the league :D
Mad Moose
04/07/2007, 9:10 AM
typical begrudgery.
I'm actually very inclined to say the same thing. The lad is happy. Let him be happy and let him boast of it as is his want. Well done to Wexford Youth's. A big step for them entering League of Ireland and good luck to them that they got a passionate football man/property developer to make the dream come through.
I'm sure the journey will have its ups and downs. Its League of Ireland after all.
passerrby
04/07/2007, 9:26 AM
talking out of your arse ..out of ten clubs in the div your ground is somewhere in the middle a long way from been top class
04/07/2007, 9:35 AM
work to begin shortly on Harps new 6,500 seater in stranorlar link:
http://finnharps.openhosts.com/Stadium/05Feb03NewStadium.htm
It shows a sign of commitment when a club builds a new stadium or improves its ground.
Athlone are building a fine ground, step by step, Dundalk have completed a new stand and when full their ground has a special atmosphere (espesially in the shed), , and thats just in the 1st Div, so in all fairness how can you question these clubs "competence, ambition and foresight" ? As said above, the other clubs dont have a millioneir business man backing them and other clubs pay their players.
Im sure that Mr.Wallace has had his investment fully refunded at this stage (if ye are getting crowds of 500+ every week)
04/07/2007, 9:39 AM
typical begrudgery.Paul how many EL grounds have you visited?
Philly
04/07/2007, 10:00 AM
I must say I take exception to the OPs tone. Unfortuantely, not every club is funded by a very wealthy man who can build a stand cheaply and quickly. Many clubs are in a tough situation and it is difficult to show a lot of foresight when you are trying to run a club and pay weekly expenses in the Division One, with low gates, long expensive journeys, and with the execption of Wexford wages. Your post seems to be aimed at other First Division clubs and I haven't come across any club who isn't striving to improve things. Money talks however, and we can't all get things done as aswiftly as your one-man club.
Newcastle is a fine facility, however it it the product on the pitch that attracts people the most. I think us eircom League fans get overly worked up about facilities. I mean, just look at the crowds the GAA get in places like St Conleths Park Newbridge and so many other GAA county and club grounds. My brother plays GAA and I've been to as good few grounds where there hjave been anything up to 8,000 in grounds that haven't a seat and wouldn't get a First Division Lisence. I'm not saying we as a League shouldn't be motivated to improve facilities, but it's the end product on the pitch that attracts people the most.
04/07/2007, 10:04 AM
Paul how many EL grounds have you visited?
why does that matter, i dont support an El club so its obviouslly not going to be many, my point was that the lad is happy and he gets slated for saying he thinks is ground is the best. Wouldn't it be good to start getting behind other clubs rather than putting them down. Then things might start to prosper.
4 grounds I have watched games in. Been outside terryland and flancare, seen athlone from the outside does that count?!?! :D
04/07/2007, 10:06 AM
define football complex like! Think wexford admire there "complex" too much
lofty9
04/07/2007, 10:15 AM
I was talking to a few Harps guys after they played in Wexford and they said everything about the set up was phenomenal. They also told a brilliant story about Hegarty ripping into Dolan for walking into the changing rooms after the game. A "who the feck do you think you are... and as for the 3,000 people you let down in Derry ya bufoon" rant.
04/07/2007, 10:23 AM
I was talking to a few Harps guys after they played in Wexford and they said everything about the set up was phenomenal. They also told a brilliant story about Hegarty ripping into Dolan for walking into the changing rooms after the game. A "who the feck do you think you are... and as for the 3,000 people you let down in Derry ya bufoon" rant.
:p Higsy is a legand.
No1 is doubting wexford have an outstanding complex, BUT what annoys me is people claiming other clubs have no ambition and foresight. If we all had the choice we would have stadia with 40k plus capacity with crowds to fill them, its foresight thats makes us build grounds to cater for 6,500 to 10k crowds and ambition is to fill them.
04/07/2007, 10:28 AM
:p Higsy is a legand.
No1 is doubting wexford have an outstanding complex, BUT what annoys me is people claiming other clubs have no ambition and foresight. If we all had the choice we would have stadia with 40k plus capacity with crowds to fill them, its foresight thats makes us build grounds to cater for 6,500 to 10k crowds and ambition is to fill them.
Correct
04/07/2007, 10:36 AM
What does this say about the competence, ambition and foresight of those clubs which are around for years - since 37 and further back. No wonder attendances are pathetic.
A thinly veiled swipe at the other new boys to the league? :) Nice to see a new rivalry developing there.
Monkfish
04/07/2007, 11:15 AM
A thinly veiled swipe at the other new boys to the league? :) Nice to see a new rivalry developing there.
We knew they were bitter when i discovered the amount of graffiti their 'fans' left in the toilets around Jackman Park a few weeks ago. Wait til my spray can gets hold of your empty, soul-less, yuppy bar!
greenandwhite
04/07/2007, 11:20 AM
We knew they were bitter when i discovered the amount of graffiti their 'fans' left in the toilets around Jackman Park a few weeks ago. Wait til my spray can gets hold of your empty, soul-less, yuppy bar!
of all the teams to come to jackman they were the only ones to cause damage and scribble all over the place
and a complex is usually described as more than nice dressing rooms we had to q for 30 mins to get a burger in wexford and the jacks were from a building site. as well as being sent to stand in the grass at the far side of the field so give us all a break and let everyone get on with improving at their own pace
L37Ultra
04/07/2007, 2:35 PM
Are you mad? I was there two weeks ago for the cup replay!! It has to be the worst ground in Ireland and ive been to all!! Ok maybe Jackman Park isnt the best in terms of facilities etc... but the Wexford Complex is just depressing, and it has no character or anything and it is in the middle of no-where. it reminded me of a local GAA pitch !!Real football fans dont come to matches cause of the facilities!! :rolleyes:!! Wexford youths is just full of yuppys who come out for an evenings entertainment provided by Wallace and Co..!! Ur fooling yourselves, what are top-class facilities without passion and atmosphere..
Footsoldier
04/07/2007, 2:38 PM
Eh, we don't have a "ground" yet. What we have, as has been said above, is a field 3 miles from town. It's a brilliant playing surface alright, but the facilities for the fans are non-existant at the moment. I know Wallace has plans for a stand but let's wait until it's built and we have individual, heated, cinema-style seats before we lambast everybody else for their lack of ambition and foresight :D
I think other clubs are doing a brilliant job of upgrading their grounds. Take a look at the grounds update thread and you'll see what's going on throughout the whole league.
04/07/2007, 4:26 PM
Nice to see a new rivalry developing there.
Rivalry?? :D
With that go nowhere shower of bog stompers??
Their fans (Who are dropping off like so many nits in Mick Wallaces hair) haven't the first fcukin clue about football for the large part
Their supporting is of the stamp your feet but don't leave your seat variety
They play the worst brand of football you will ever see
Anyone who feels the need to write things in another clubs toilets is a retard.
Limerick has a long (and in the most part proud) tradition in senior football
Wexford has a long tradition in incest and failed revolution
BTW Worst thread ever. "Look at us and our shiny ground". Maybe we could all club together and get them Another gold star for their jersey :rolleyes:
I've never been so can't comment.
However when I saw the thread title I thought it was a description of the style of football Wexford play. I was all looking forward to a Dolan quote about enthusiastic young players from the grassroots playing complex football, showing everyone what the league should be all about and building a template for glorious era where flowing complex football is played and admired not only the length and breadth of our island but also worldwide !!!
I'm disappointed now :(
04/07/2007, 5:50 PM
The 1st time i saw youths play, i thought thay played good football and were a breath of fresh air. I havent seen them lately but by all accounts they seem to have abandoned their good football when things are gettin tough for them.
04/07/2007, 6:52 PM
Rivalry?? :D
With that go nowhere shower of bog stompers??
Their fans (Who are dropping off like so many nits in Mick Wallaces hair) haven't the first fcukin clue about football for the large part
Their supporting is of the stamp your feet but don't leave your seat variety
They play the worst brand of football you will ever see
Anyone who feels the need to write things in another clubs toilets is a retard.
Limerick has a long (and in the most part proud) tradition in senior football
Like I said, it's heating up nicely :)
new blue
04/07/2007, 7:23 PM
In some places there is nowhere to park and nowhere to sit - our parish GAA ground is about three times better!! Not good for my pinstriped suit and Louis Copeland coat! Hard to understand why a world brand is labouring in such dire circumstances - about 50 years behind the rest of the world. As Holmes said "when you have eliminated the impossible whatever remains, however improbable, must be the case" i.e lack of professional approach.
(PS I enjoyed my trip to Limerick.)
05/07/2007, 8:45 AM
BTW Worst thread ever. "Look at us and our shiny ground". Maybe we could all club together and get them Another gold star for their jersey :rolleyes:
I take offence to the reference to failed revolution. The rest is pretty true. Hence my need to move to Dublin and go out with a Tallafornia girl. :D
The next star should be in place for the new season. We are All Ireland winners again you know! ;)
Footsoldier
05/07/2007, 9:38 AM
Yeah, there are a huge amount of cross-eyed, nine-toed albinos here alright, but that's what we get for breeding with the welsh!!
new blue
05/07/2007, 10:37 PM
"Wexford has a long tradition in incest and failed revolution"
Does stabbing a member of your family count as incest?
L37Ultra
06/07/2007, 12:20 AM
:confused::confused: No
Depends on what you stab them with ... :eek:
WexDec
06/07/2007, 10:39 AM
L M F A O
Footsoldier
06/07/2007, 12:24 PM
Brilliant!:D
L37Ultra
06/07/2007, 1:03 PM
Not brilliant, just a sad sterotypical view of a Wexford yuppy!!
cheifo
06/07/2007, 1:46 PM
So Limerick fans lets get this straight, Wexford people are a bunch of bogger
yuppies prone to incest.I am trying to picture such a person in my mind and its confusing.:confused::D
06/07/2007, 1:55 PM
So Limerick fans lets get this straight, Wexford people are a bunch of bogger
yuppies prone to incest.I am trying to picture such a person in my mind and its confusing.:confused::D
Think Carlos Tevez and you'd be close to what the women are like anway...
No please don't turn the lights back on.. noooooooooooooooooooooooo..... :D
new blue
06/07/2007, 11:02 PM
So that's it - we can't win any games because the lights are off ( if you see my point)
wexfordseagull
08/07/2007, 11:42 AM
i have spoken to most of our supporters who went to limerick,this was mainly adults,and none of them saw any graffitti on any toilet walls,i would like to see evidence of this and not just your word on this board with nothing to back it up.as for us being yuppy's what are you on,or is there just a tinge of jealousy coming in there.so what if our football isn't great this season it will improve in time,just like our complex will in 2/3 years judge us then and not after 4 months.as for threatening to graffitti our ground i will happily call the gardai myself and have you arrested for criminal damage.
new blue
08/07/2007, 6:56 PM
I was in Limerick too and all this graffiti business is a load of bull - a terminological inexactitude - which one resorts to when under pressure!!
08/07/2007, 6:57 PM
i have spoken to most of our supporters who went to limerick,this was mainly adults,and none of them saw any graffitti on any toilet walls,i would like to see evidence of this and not just your word on this board with nothing to back it up..
Why would we make it up??
Seems so implausible civilised adults scribbling on walls. Oh wait........................
as for us being yuppy's what are you on,
That was a stupid comment whoever said it
or is there just a tinge of jealousy coming in there.
Not quite as stupid as that one though :D
so what if our football isn't great this season it will improve in time,
Are you sure?? Why??
just like our complex will in 2/3 years judge us then and not after 4 months.
So the point of this thread was??...........
as for threatening to graffitti our ground i will happily call the gardai myself and have you arrested for criminal damage
Ooh, that's scary. Shur if one of the lads did do it, you'd have no proof, only the word on this board blah, blah, etc, etc.........:rolleyes:
08/07/2007, 11:14 PM
Are you sure?? Why??
Wexford won the U-18 title again this year. Previously many of the players left as there was no eL team in Wexford. Now that there is many will stay put in Wexford.
WexDec
09/07/2007, 5:26 PM
Exactly !
A reasoned response amidst yuppie, artistic (!), incestuous, revolutionary, retarded, bogger support accusations. Sounds like Wexford support is complex in itself :D
10/07/2007, 7:35 PM
Wexford won the U-18 title again this year. Previously many of the players left as there was no eL team in Wexford. Now that there is many will stay put in Wexford.
Except for the really good ones who might just go somewhere that they are paid??
U-18 Has little or nothing to do with success at senior level
Monkfish
10/07/2007, 7:48 PM
Wine bar = yuppys
No graffiti before Wexford game.
After wexford game, Graffiti simular to this: AB
+
BC
+
DE
+
FG
UP WEXFORD YA!
**** YE ALL
In fairness i wouldnt expect any adult to admit they were reponsible for this.
Its not even proper graffiti, its a childish scrawl, it goes well with the way you speak (Drawl)
new blue
10/07/2007, 9:44 PM
Only someone of your superior intelligence could come up with such sophisticated graffiti !! You must have been up all night!
Monkfish
10/07/2007, 11:55 PM
Only someone of your superior intelligence could come up with such sophisticated graffiti !! You must have been up all night!
No, just took a **** in the toilet after you lot!