View Full Version : Rovers 2 Longford 1

MarkyH
30/06/2007, 8:36 PM
Rovers 2 Longford 1
Faz 56 Wexler 19
Raf 65

Good to get a 4th win on the trot. What was the performance like? Was there a decent crowd?

30/06/2007, 9:04 PM
We were **** in the first half and deserved to be 1-0 down, although not helped by some apaling refereeing (again)...Much improved 2nd half and personally feel we were well worth the win...Decent crowd, few complete muppets from Longford, rest of them fair play for singing throughot...

Faz also almost scored one of the best goals i've ever seen! Pity it the bar...:(

SeaniesRedArmy
30/06/2007, 9:11 PM
the half time subistitutions were the difference. Longford were running rings around kelly and manson but foyser and curran were much better

SeaniesRedArmy
30/06/2007, 9:17 PM
Rovers 2 Longford 1
Faz 56 Wexler 19
Raf 65

Good to get a 4th win on the trot. What was the performance like? Was there a decent crowd?

Best crowd of the season apart from the Bohs game. First half performance was very poor, Longford seemed to want it more. Second half was much better and we started to play some sexy football. We played a bit deep after we went ahead but i suppose that can be expected

30/06/2007, 9:25 PM
Very lucky to get the win in the end as it was a very scrappy performance. Manson and Kelly were muck in the first half and Cook made a good move by substituting them. We really need to improve on that against Derry next week. Although, we do seem to play well against good teams so hopefully it will be a big improvement.

Great to see an increase in the crowds aswell, long overdue. Congrats to Michael Toolan for keeping his word on having the turnstiles in place for next home game:rolleyes:.

SeaniesRedArmy
30/06/2007, 9:30 PM
Congrats to Michael Toolan for keeping his word on having the turnstiles in place for next home game:rolleyes:.

I noticed that alright

Sonic
30/06/2007, 9:37 PM
lucky shower of b@stards.

Midgit
30/06/2007, 9:49 PM

Lucky??? I'm surprised the Ref didn't give ye a peno because he gave ye everything else.

****n little drunkn prats rising us during the game they deserved the **** to be kicked into them.

Oh ya..... fair play Toolan for having the turnstiles up in time:mad::rolleyes::mad:

SeaniesRedArmy
30/06/2007, 10:03 PM

bull****e ya ****

Midgit
30/06/2007, 10:19 PM
hahahaha..... look at the pic RTE have put up. Thats not Dick Brush for sure.... http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0630/sligorovers.html Typical RTE :D

30/06/2007, 10:21 PM
hahahaha..... look at the pic RTE have put up. Thats not Dick Brush for sure.... http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0630/sligorovers.html Typical RTE :D

You are being sarcastic?

30/06/2007, 10:21 PM
hahahaha..... look at the pic RTE have put up. Thats not Dick Brush for sure.... http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0630/sligorovers.html Typical RTE :DHahaha, that is Dick Brush. He didn't always have long hair. You probably weren't going to matches back then:p.

Midgit
30/06/2007, 10:23 PM
Is that not tommy? If it is Dick that pic is ancient.... and he didn't play much last year.

:o:o:o

30/06/2007, 10:24 PM
Is that not tommy? If it is Dick that pic is ancient.... and he didn't play much last year.

that's definetely Dick Brush midgit...:o

red rovers
30/06/2007, 10:25 PM

:o:o:o

it is not ancient its from last season

Midgit
30/06/2007, 10:25 PM
:eek::D
My bad..... a moderator can delete them posts their junk:o

30/06/2007, 10:27 PM
If it is Dick that pic is ancient.... and he didn't play much last year.It's from July 2006 by the look of it. I'd prefer if the mod left them up actually, just for the laugh:D.

30/06/2007, 11:19 PM
God, what a pair on the left flank in the first half. Neither good enough to play at this level and we were lucky that Longford didn't leave Mooney in the centre and feed him from that wing in the first half. Lucky overall to get the three points as Longford hit the post at 2 1 but how Curran missed that goal is a complete mystery. Hughes badly missed tonight.
We need to sign a right full because I can't see Seamus Coleman anywhere only in a higher grade of football very soon. As good a young player as I have seen in The Temple for a very long time.
BTW isn't Richard Brush a great man to come out and smother? Knocked two away tonight.

DocRovers
01/07/2007, 8:41 AM
Hughes a vital player for us - covers so much ground & does basic stuff brilliantly. I think he is much better in the middle than on the right. When does his contract expire??? Sign him up quick!!

Midgit
01/07/2007, 9:10 AM
We need to sign a right full because I can't see Seamus Coleman anywhere only in a higher grade of football very soon. As good a young player as I have seen in The Temple for a very long time.

But if we want to win cups or get into europe (which is capable in 1-2 years). We need to keep our best players.

If we can bring in some talent in the transfer window and not lose any of our best players i fancy us to have a very good cup run as well.

Redie
01/07/2007, 10:51 AM
BTW isn't Richard Brush a great man to come out and smother? Knocked two away tonight.

He is not getting the credit he deserves. He has been responsible for winning us at least 4 points already this season (last night and Bhos match). he also seems to still have a knee injury.
Have to say Longford were by no means the worst team to come to the showgrounds this year. fought hard and played some good football.

01/07/2007, 11:39 AM
crackin game to watch. pity about the result. I want to apologise for the conduct of certain supporters i gave out like **** to them they will never change. huge crowd at the game good banter per norm with opposin supporters except for certain indiviuals and one of them got escorted out of the ground when ye scored for the peno.

yet again we made the runnin but had nothin to show for it. a draw was the fair result. sickened with mooneys header second game in a row that he has hit the post. his confidence is very low. Ian wexler was man of the match he had the best game for us since he joined us from the us.

its not meant to be thats my last visit to the showgrounds in a while as a town supporter. best of luck for the rest of the season. If we dont win the cup I want ye to win it for us as theres an excellent relationship between both clubs.

roversman
01/07/2007, 1:42 PM
fair play to cook for making the changes,great to see he not afraid to make switches which a lot of our last bunch of managers couldnt make.

Ballagh Red
01/07/2007, 1:55 PM
Coleman is worth the admission money on his own.We could stick him out on the left wing and he'd still do more damage than Manson.Great to see a decent crowd and some sexy football in the second half. How many of our players did that muppet book last nite?

red bellied
01/07/2007, 4:31 PM
Dont know why Cookie persists with Kelly, he spends more time on his arse than anything else. Rovers were alot better second half when the changes were made. Clinical finish from Judge for the disallowed goal. Great header from Raf, it was a fair distance out as well.

SeaniesRedArmy
01/07/2007, 4:40 PM
Bar Flannery Raf is probably our best player in the air. for his size he is unbelievable. He is also very passionate and appreciates the crowd which is nice to see.Hes definitely a fans favourite

roversman
01/07/2007, 5:18 PM
where was flannery last 2 games

01/07/2007, 9:23 PM
flannerys gone from what ive heard

02/07/2007, 11:52 AM
midget, theres hanging on to your best players and then theres being realistic....coleman will have to go,he realy is the best talent to come out of the showgrounds in a LONG time....speak to any of the lads on the team and they'll tell u,without doubt hes the best player at the club..even last night after the game a few of them were saying that...hope we get good money for hinm tho, and follow on fees :D
We should be looking to hang on to our best players I think and not have this "won't hold him back" attitude , If Seamus does go we should be looking to get as high a fee and clauses as we can

Darco Ooragnak
02/07/2007, 11:28 PM
Highlights (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=716436#post716436)

02/07/2007, 11:55 PM
Currans miss was shocking on further inspection...i mean, good christ, how did he not hit it in?

SeaniesRedArmy
03/07/2007, 12:07 AM
also on inspection faz's effort was even better. if it had gone in it would have been goal of the month for a rovers player 2 months in a row

neutrino
03/07/2007, 7:53 AM
Highlights (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=716436#post716436)

fare play Darco !! excellent stuff. Faz shows what he can do when he has the confidence to. He's really going well as are the rest of the team. Great result again from the boys. hopefully we can now go and get something in derry!

Redzer
03/07/2007, 9:44 AM
Currans miss was shocking on further inspection...i mean, good christ, how did he not hit it in?

He did the same in Inchicore:(