View Full Version : Pat Scully - Whats the story???????
Guts&Glory
26/06/2007, 12:56 PM
Is this guy the most delusional blinkered manager the League has ever seen?
He claimed a Rovers player (Faz)pushed the Shams defender for Rovers third Goal in the cup.
Then after the Galway game he claimed they had enough chances to win the game and Galway only had two chances.
Tahnk God for Paul Osam for his excellent and fair handed observations on the game as he put scully straight on the Faz goal.
Mulligan took Scully up on his chances comment on Eircom League Weekly last night saying that Galway had a good few chances and more than were shown in the highlights. Anyone who saw the game live Friday night would agree with Mulligan.
Scully needs to get a bit of reality into his comments such as Gareth Cronin last night or Cookie for example after the UCD game. Even Seanie last night said Bohs didnt play well enough to win!!!
ciaraa
26/06/2007, 1:02 PM
Scully is like that after every match. Shams are always the best team even if they lose heavily having created no chances. I wouldnt take anything he ever says seriously becasue basically he is full of waffle but seems to be a decent manager so I doubt many hoops fans care.
26/06/2007, 1:11 PM
In fairness though they did have enough chances to win the game against Galway. I saw it live and I don't think that can be in dispute.
However I do believe he is the most delusional blinkered manager the League has ever seen.
Even a stopped clock gives the right time twice a day.
26/06/2007, 1:25 PM
As opposed to the spoofer Connor?
Nothing he has said has been in anyway delusional. Firstly why would the Rovers player crash into our keeper if he wasnt at least nudged?
Secondly we should have won in Galway.
Get a grip on reality? From a sligo fan?:D
The never ending stream of verbal diarrhoea from the last poster makes his comments invalid.
Obsessed as usual.
26/06/2007, 1:31 PM
The never ending stream of verbal diarrhoea from the last poster makes his comments invalid.
:rolleyes: Yeah, sure, I wish I was as intelligent as you.
Anyway if this is the case you mustn't have deserved to beat Galway after all! :rolleyes:
In all fairness Scully comments after the Sligo game were completely mental. There was a collision between keeper and defender- it happens sometimes. Scully decides to go on a massive rant and attacks everyone and makes himself sound like he's got several screws loose and is very bitter over the result in the process.
In fairness though, most managers are mental- ours is absolutely barking to be honest.
John MC Donnell
Stu Byrne
RRS Rico
Scully
Connor
Makes interviews all the more entertaining tbh :)
kdjac
26/06/2007, 1:37 PM
You wish alright. Use all the smilies you want. Anybody can compare our posts and come to the logical conclusion.
To clarify GH our player was nudged into our keeper. Interview any manager or player straight after the final whistle when there's a controversial decision and watch what happens in fairness.
26/06/2007, 1:38 PM
A great manager.
I wonder would he have had any interest in the Derry job had he been approached.
26/06/2007, 1:40 PM
You wish alright. Use all the smilies you want. Anybody can compare our posts and come to the logical conclusion.
I see you are as deluded as your manager.
26/06/2007, 1:47 PM
I see you are as deluded as your manager.
Whatever you say. Our club deals in reality. You're the big club. Who's delusional now?
Scully quite happy where he is.
26/06/2007, 1:58 PM
There was no push/nudge. Yer player didn't stop in time and ran into yer keeper. He's going to be ok. Get over it!
26/06/2007, 2:00 PM
There was no push/nudge. Yer player didn't stop in time and ran into yer keeper. He's going to be ok. Get over it!
Well over it. Deserved to get beaten on the day no question. It was a nudge simple as that. The video is widely available.
What is "yer"?
26/06/2007, 2:02 PM
Our club deals in reality.
I don't even need to argue with you. If this is what you believe you've proved my point!
26/06/2007, 2:03 PM
Well over it. Deserved to get beaten on the day no question. It was a nudge simple as that. The video is widely available.
What is "yer"?
KOHYes it is widely available, I suggest you look at it again, a few times. Scully and fans of Shamrock are the only ones who claim there was a push so it's obvious you're not over it yet.
"Yer" is the Sligo version of "youz" which ye Dubs use.
26/06/2007, 2:08 PM
What fan of what club started this thread?
Well over it like I said just you're seeing what you want. Why would our player crash into our keeper? No such club as shamrock son.
Scully is like that after every match. Shams are always the best team even if they lose heavily having created no chances.
I'm not Scully's biggest fan, but have you read his comments after the Waterford game?
Scully and fans of Shamrock are the only ones who claim there was a push so it's obvious you're not over it yet.
Not once have I said it was a push. Some of us still think it was a push.
I watched that video over and over again, and it looks to me like a straight ahead accident- defender and keeper watching the ball. Any tiny push probably made zero difference as far as I can see. No one is trying to claim the defender deliberatley ran into the keeper. Scully's reaction was totally over the top IMO.
It's all good craic though!
26/06/2007, 2:16 PM
Why would our player crash into our keeper? No such club as shamrock son.Because he was running at speed and didn't see it happening in time to stop. Why would our player push him and risk conceding a free kick when he was in a great chance to take the lead? Shamrock fans(or just NY Hoop) delusional:rolleyes:
OhNoYouDidn't
26/06/2007, 2:18 PM
Scully is like that after every match. Shams are always the best team even if they lose heavily having created no chances. .
But thats never happened under scully. :ball: thats the point.
Faz pushed him, he didnt deny it after the game. The ire was directed at the ref who clearly should have stopped the game.
We were by far the better team in Galway, all the papers said so the next day.
What is the point to all this? Manager builds his side up shocker?:rolleyes:
It always comes back to Rovers bashing with you minnows.
26/06/2007, 2:19 PM
Because he was running at speed and didn't see it happening in time to stop. Why would our player push him and risk conceding a free kick when he was in a great chance to take the lead? Shamrock fans(or just NY Hoop) delusional:rolleyes:
Ah that great word again!
IMO not a push but a nudge. Time for your part time fans to get over it really.
Tir Oilean
26/06/2007, 2:22 PM
After his interview at Terryland McGeever and MacDonncha both agreed he was being a bit mad saying they should ave won it. I have to agree that they had the chances to do it and in fairness most managers will talk up their team one way or the other. Dont think SRFC team members would have been too happy had he said "our finishing was crap (which it was)until the goal so a draw is fair result" it wouldve been a kick in the nuts for them. However Derek Glynn was brutally honest in what he had to say about his own team.
26/06/2007, 2:32 PM
Scully is always ranting about how Shamrock never get the credit they deserve. Considering he thinks they deserve more credit than AC Milan, Man United and Real Madrid combined, he's never going to be happy with any praise they do get.
hoops1
26/06/2007, 2:34 PM
Rovers should have won in Galway. Deserved to lose against Sligo.
Scully is one of the best managers in the league and doing a great job on limited resources.
26/06/2007, 2:44 PM
Rovers should have won in Galway. Deserved to lose against Sligo.
Scully is one of the best managers in the league and doing a great job on limited resources.Nobody is doubting his managerial ability, just his after match comments. Sometimes he needs to accept his side weren't good enough and not try to make excuses and/or blame someone else.
26/06/2007, 2:45 PM
Ah that great word again!
To be honest - the use of the word "obsessed" is as retarded as the use of the word "delusional".
Anyway - as I have been accused by some (mostly schoolkids supporters of the First Division Demoted Club with the dodgy floodlights) of over moderating and samesuch I'll leave you lot to continue like a load of bald men fighting over a comb.
Carry on...
OhNoYouDidn't
26/06/2007, 2:48 PM
Nobody is doubting his managerial ability, just his after match comments. Sometimes he needs to accept his side weren't good enough and not try to make excuses and/or blame someone else.
do you think the referee should have stopped the game for Baz's injury as per directives?
he should have and scully was right to complain. regardless of pushes or nudges, the game should have immediatly been halted to allow treatment for a serious spinal injury. it took the paramedics 18 minuites to stabalise him ffs. thats scully's problem and he is entitled to speak up about it. he never said the sligs didnt deserve their win.
hoops1
26/06/2007, 2:50 PM
In every after match interview
Doolin - goes on about his huge injury list
Mc Donnell - gives out about his teams or the oppositons fans
O Connor - says Bohs dont get enough credit
Scully - says we deserved/ should have won
Nutsy - gives out about the refs
Rico - gives out about the oppositon getting all players behind the ball
They all have there little gripes
But who really cares once they do the job
26/06/2007, 3:02 PM
do you think the referee should have stopped the game for Baz's injury as per directives?
But to be fair the ball was in the back of the net within 1 or 2 seconds of the injury happening.......nobody (except the keeper of course) knew there was an injury until after the goal had been scored. By the time the ref even noticed that the keeper was down, that ball was in the net.
Ref couldnt have stopped it.
No such club as shamrock son.
I've never heard of them either. Are they Japanese ?:confused:
26/06/2007, 10:57 PM
No such club as shamrock son.
I've never heard of them either. Are they Japanese ?:confused:
I heard that famous Hollywood star Colin Farrell is a Shamrock Son. Is this true:confused:
new blue
26/06/2007, 11:13 PM
Is he a dangerous Son of S(h)am?
BohsFans
27/06/2007, 12:24 AM
Philo hates him as well.
I heard that famous Hollywood star Colin Farrell is a Shamrock Son. Is this true:confused:
His dad played for us so not sure if that qualifies him as a fan
Farrell has a Hoops SC membership! Looks out for results but I wouldn't exactly call him a fan.
Dr.Nightdub
27/06/2007, 9:41 PM
Swano, you and I both know Hoops SC will take anyone to bump up their numbers. ;)
Paddyfield
27/06/2007, 10:01 PM
Nobody is doubting his managerial ability, just his after match comments. Sometimes he needs to accept his side weren't good enough and not try to make excuses and/or blame someone else.
Nail on the head Sligoman.
Scully is a focused and motivated manager and, dare I say it, would be top of the League if he had Bohs' resources. But who am I to stir the sh!t? What if Sean Connor was manager of Shamrocks? Now that would really stir it.
This thread is about Scully's comments to the media. He likes to stir it and spin it. He does it well.
28/06/2007, 7:52 AM
Scully is a focused and motivated manager and, dare I say it, would be top of the League if he had Bohs' resources.
I think its fairly pointless to speculate on the likes of this. Some managers can do a good job with little or no resources but when it comes to having a budget and a team of star players they don't get on so well. Look at Pete Mahon, doing a fine job at UCD but couldn't cut it with big club. Would Scully have the mentality to manage a big club. Only time will tell as I'm sure if he continues to get results he'll get the chance to make the step up at some stage.
28/06/2007, 8:01 AM
Would Scully have the mentality to manage a big club.
Surely you mean THE BIG CLUB.:D
hoops1
28/06/2007, 8:34 AM
I think its fairly pointless to speculate on the likes of this. Some managers can do a good job with little or no resources but when it comes to having a budget and a team of star players they don't get on so well. Look at Pete Mahon, doing a fine job at UCD but couldn't cut it with big club. Would Scully have the mentality to manage a big club. Only time will tell as I'm sure if he continues to get results he'll get the chance to make the step up at some stage.
Ye maybe after the revolution
28/06/2007, 9:29 AM
Ye maybe after the revolution
Obviously football after the revolution will suit his managerial style.
Another ****ing pathetic thread.
Scully's done a super job with limited resources at Rovers and like every manager in the whole world, takes his chance in the after match interview to have a little moan. I've heard him lash his players out of it before so he's obviously not delusional.
NY Hoop, seriously, you have to relax on the Shamrock thing. I use it more than most but can you not see we're only doing it to wind you up? if you keep mentioning it everytime you see it, you're just encouraging us. Let it go.
Sligo fans, why do you take every thing said in the media to heart. So ****ing what if Scully claimed there was a push. So ****ing what if Paul osam doesn't think you're the best team in the world.
BohsPartisan, I thought you (and other Bohs fan) would've learned your lesson regarding the whol Big Club thing, In a tiny league in europe you're not in the top two and you're averaging about 2,000 people at home games.
I'm not closing this thread but any more petty **** and it will be. Can nobody post here without resorting to childish namecalling
28/06/2007, 10:22 AM
BohsPartisan, I thought you (and other Bohs fan) would've learned your lesson regarding the whol Big Club thing, In a tiny league in europe you're not in the top two and you're averaging about 2,000 people at home games.
My last post was clearly tongue in cheek.
28/06/2007, 10:33 AM
I know, but you know you're going to get a reaction either way.
DecBoh
28/06/2007, 11:21 AM
In every after match interview
O Connor - says Bohs dont get enough credit
Is Turly back :confused:
Calcio Jack
28/06/2007, 12:24 PM
Another ****ing pathetic thread.
Scully's done a super job with limited resources at Rovers and like every manager in the whole world, takes his chance in the after match interview to have a little moan. I've heard him lash his players out of it before so he's obviously not delusional.
NY Hoop, seriously, you have to relax on the Shamrock thing. I use it more than most but can you not see we're only doing it to wind you up? if you keep mentioning it everytime you see it, you're just encouraging us. Let it go.
Sligo fans, why do you take every thing said in the media to heart. So ****ing what if Scully claimed there was a push. So ****ing what if Paul osam doesn't think you're the best team in the world.
I'm not closing this thread but any more petty **** and it will be. Can nobody post here without resorting to childish namecalling
Down with this sort of post... much too logical for your average Footie.ie contributor...sure everone knows we're all paranoid...you have to be to enjoy supporting a team in the 'nuthouse' aka the eircom League
28/06/2007, 3:29 PM
Scully obviously does have the mentality to manage at the highest level. Time of the month dodge?:D
Pete Mahon is more than capable of managing any club in this league as is Stephen Kenny but they were both hounded out at Dalymount.
29/06/2007, 1:00 AM
Shamrocks.
No such club as "Shamrocks" son.
29/06/2007, 7:55 AM
Scully obviously does have the mentality to manage at the highest level. Time of the month dodge?:D
Pete Mahon is more than capable of managing any club in this league as is Stephen Kenny but they were both hounded out at Dalymount.
Like Roddy Collins and Liam Buckley at Rovers?
Calcio Jack
29/06/2007, 9:22 AM
Like Roddy Collins and Liam Buckley at Rovers?
Collins wasn't hounded out as you put , he was suspended for gross deriliction of his duties and rightly so.
Buckley was indeed hounded out not by the fans but by the previous gang of muppets/board whose gross incompetence in all matters almost killed the club