View Full Version : Tonights Latest
BohsFans
24/06/2007, 11:03 PM
Valur look very poor from those clips. Cork will probably win by a bigger margin at home.
Hammarby beat Klaksvik 1-0 and Cork will be playing the winner of that tie. Another Swedish team in Europe.:)
Only 1-0? That team are from the Faroe's I think! :eek:
24/06/2007, 11:07 PM
Gefle are/were 2nd division Swedish side.
Nope, top flight. They won the Fair Play last season, which you can only do from the top flight. They finished ninth last year, immediately behind Goteborg, Malmo and Djurgarden, all of whom have been beaten by Cork City (though Goteborg still went through).
Only 1-0? That team are from the Faroe's I think! :eek:
They are, yeah. Faroese results are improving though - B36 knocked out an Icelandic side last year and only lost to a Danish side either by one goal or on away goals. The league's a pretty good standard too, although they play on astro. Would expect Cork still to win, and indeed Hammarby, but they're not the worst league in Europe.
BohsFans
24/06/2007, 11:21 PM
Llanelli of Wales lost 3-1 to Vetra today, who were hammered by Shels in the same competition last season.
Platini at that game for some reason!:eek:
25/06/2007, 8:40 AM
Heard Monaghan are in dire need of a keeper..... theres some talent lads!!!
Thanks Midgit but we got sorted! If we wanted a keeper that dodgy we would just put me in goals.
now that would be worth the admission !!!!! :D
25/06/2007, 8:58 AM
Terry, you know that all you have to do is ask and will willingly step into goals for Mons against Galway just so that Johnny Lester would be running towards me instead of away from me! (with a terrified look on his face!)
hehehe, poor john is struggling to run in any direction lately, you would have a good chance of "tackling" him now !!!
25/06/2007, 9:11 AM
Ummmmm thank you for making Monday more bareable, day dreams of tackling Lester.
love ya Terry!
25/06/2007, 9:32 AM
Nope, top flight. They won the Fair Play last season, which you can only do from the top flight. They finished ninth last year, immediately behind Goteborg, Malmo and Djurgarden, all of whom have been beaten by Cork City (though Goteborg still went through).
Gefle haven't played many seasons in the top flight but were in Allsvenskan when the played Llanelli. They play their home league matches on a plastic pitch and a lot of opposition coaches have been complaining that this is giving them an unfair advantage. Because of UEFA rules about plastic pitches and seating, they were forced to play their home match against Llanelli in Stockholm, which is a good two hour train journey from their home ground.
There was quite a long article in a Swedish football magazine that catalogued Gefle's away match in Wales. Basically Gefle attributed their loss against Llanelli because Llanelli were swearing and shouting abuse all the way through the match. And because Gefle's players are quiet and pleasant young lads they just could not cope with this. (This is no joke)
They are, yeah. Faroese results are improving though - B36 knocked out an Icelandic side last year and only lost to a Danish side either by one goal or on away goals. The league's a pretty good standard too, although they play on astro. Would expect Cork still to win, and indeed Hammarby, but they're not the worst league in Europe.
In fairness, they had all their outfield players lodged in their own penalty box throughout the match with Hammarby ;)
I am not optimistic this season from the coefficients point of view.
League is obviously doomed that Cork aren't in proper European competitions
Just for the record Hacken are in the UEFA Cup this year (fair play place) and are currently in the Swedish second tier. Personally hoping Pats get them
25/06/2007, 10:01 AM
Just for the record Hacken are in the UEFA Cup this year (fair play place) and are currently in the Swedish second tier. Personally hoping Pats get them
Häcken are quite useful and have a number of decent players, I personally wouldn't rate them as the weakest seeded team. A team from their division (Superettan) went three rounds in the UEFA Cup last season.
25/06/2007, 10:17 AM
Are they the weakest of the Swedish sides though? Would've thought so
I was thinking of them in terms of trip and advancement. We may well beat the Lithuanian sides but I don't really want ot have to go there
Soper
25/06/2007, 10:22 AM
We're at a weird stage with the coefficient points. Due to the terrible one or two seasons (my minds gone blank at the moment), the league could afford to have an 'okay' season points wise, as it would still be a big improvement on the poor scores that they would be replacing. I do think that Pats and Drogheda will be alright though, as long as they don't get impossible draws. Derry concern me, however I haven't 'seen' them play recently, so I can't really pass judgement.
25/06/2007, 10:32 AM
Are they the weakest of the Swedish sides though? Would've thought so
I was thinking of them in terms of trip and advancement. We may well beat the Lithuanian sides but I don't really want ot have to go there
They are the weakest Swedish side although both AIK and Helsingborg are really struggling to find form atm. I say the Lithuanian teams are weaker than Häcken but in terms of travel Häcken is obviously a better draw. There won't be much atmosphere at the away Häcken match though - Häcken have no fans.
25/06/2007, 10:40 AM
Derry look to be in poor form but are seeded so could get a nice draw.
Pats and Drogs aren't seeded and neither team firing on all cylinders. A few weekes to the games though and both sides likely to add players in the transfer window
League is obviously doomed that Cork aren't in proper European competitions.
More to do with Derry Citys poor form & the fact they don't have a manager. I know they are seeded but still some shocking trips into the far reaches of former USSR countries.
IF by some strange reason Cork City were to progress to the Uefa qualifiers it would be bad for the coefficients as then divided by 4.
25/06/2007, 11:05 AM
Unless Cork actually wona couple of points...
Steve Bruce
25/06/2007, 11:24 AM
Could be worse. You could have had Dungannon and Glentoran representing your country.
Although with Linfield being unseeded, we could get a really tough draw. Would take a Slovenian side though, they are certainly beatable. If only Linfield had put the 2 penalties away last season we would have played Red Star.
For Linfield I would love to get Derry City. I see them as the easiest of the seeded teams.
25/06/2007, 12:10 PM
Could be worse. You could have had Dungannon and Glentoran representing your country.
Although with Linfield being unseeded, we could get a really tough draw. Would take a Slovenian side though, they are certainly beatable. If only Linfield had put the 2 penalties away last season we would have played Red Star.
For Linfield I would love to get Derry City. I see them as the easiest of the seeded teams.How many of your team have booked holidays for the European games this season?
BohsFans
25/06/2007, 1:05 PM
For Linfield I would love to get Derry City. I see them as the easiest of the seeded teams.
Very rich coming from a team who's players take holidays during the European campaign.
Slovenian's beatable by you? You were well beaten in Belfast by them last season.
Steve Bruce
25/06/2007, 2:30 PM
How many of your team have booked holidays for the European games this season?
As far as I know, we have a full squad this year.
Steve Bruce
25/06/2007, 2:34 PM
Very rich coming from a team who's players take holidays during the European campaign.
Slovenian's beatable by you? You were well beaten in Belfast by them last season.
Where you at the match? I presume not, therefore you haven't got a clue.
We missed a lot of guilt edged chances and we also missed 2 penalties(over the 2 legs, if they where scored we would have went through).
If we got a Slovenian side this year, we would be confident of going through. They are no great shakes.
Can I ask, what did I actually say to get your back up? (going by the 'very rich' comment)
BrayUnknowns
25/06/2007, 2:48 PM
Slightly biased there....
O'Neill had the best chance of the game, your keeper made as many saves as Ryan. Probably swayed by the fact all your chances came in the last 20 minutes
Kirby deserved to go but it was for retaliation (when the ref missed the original smack). Brennan shaped to hit your man but didn't even raise his arms
now who's being biased :D
The header that came off the bar was Pat's best chance. Ryan had a stormer for Pats, pulled off quality saves from Dunphy (twice), Duggan, O'Shea and Fox. Delaney missed 2 free headers from inside the 6 yard box and and O'Shea missed a sitter from the edge of the 6 yard as well. Anto Murphy also cleared off the pats line in the last few minutes. Think our keeper made good 2/3 saves, one from O'Neill and a great save from a Fahey free kick.
There was no original smack, he held his arms out to stop Kirby running any further, the same thing every centre half in the country does week in week out, Kirby went to the ground, ref played on, Kirby retalated by stamping on the back of Deans calf as they were running out. Brennan IMO was lucky, he was on a a booking at the time of his little bust up, as the 2 players were on the ground he got up faster and and pushed our player with his hands and knee at the same time pushing our player back to the ground. But he was never going to send 2 Pats players off playing against Bray.
On another note, what was up with Johnnie Mc after the game ? he absolutely lost his head with the Pats fans in the red seats !
BohsFans
25/06/2007, 2:49 PM
Where you at the match? I presume not, therefore you haven't got a clue.
I watched the highlights on TV actually. To prove I did, they scored a Matt LeTisser esq free kick.
Can I ask, what did I actually say to get your back up? (going by the 'very rich' comment)
You gave out about Dungannon and Glentoran, as if your in a position to preach, when your team doesn't even take Europe seriously.
Steve Bruce
25/06/2007, 3:00 PM
I watched the highlights on TV actually. To prove I did, they scored a Matt LeTisser esq free kick.
You gave out about Dungannon and Glentoran, as if your in a position to preach, when your team doesn't even take Europe seriously.
We have been the last few years. It got to a point where Linfield/IL didn't believe they could qualify, so didn't try. Then Glentoran qualified and then Linfield qualified so now we take it seriously. My point originally was at least your league has a decent chance, we have no chance of getting decent co-efficients and like it or not Linfield are the most likely in IL football to be able to boost the co-efficients of IL football.
Also I think you know as well as I do, Highlights are hardly indicative of the actual match. I can assure you Linfield where a match for the Slovenian side, we just didn't have lady luck on our side this time.
25/06/2007, 5:09 PM
There's actually a bit in passing about them in the current When Saturday Comes. They were relegated last year* in a play off against Bromma, a team who'd never been in the top flight before, who had average gates of about 1100 but who field something like 276 youth sides.
* - if you win the Fair Play and go down, you can still get into Europe, as with Ipswich, but if you win the Second Division Fair Play and go up, you can't, as with UCD a couple of years back.
25/06/2007, 7:27 PM
If we got a Slovenian side this year, we would be confident of going through. They are no great shakes.
Don't get too cocky. The SNL is miles ahead of the IL in terms of standard.
Dr.Nightdub
25/06/2007, 8:40 PM
On another note, what was up with Johnnie Mc after the game ? he absolutely lost his head with the Pats fans in the red seats !
Quite the opposite. It was on the lines of "At least youse support the team not like those moaners over there." Paraphrased for family viewing.
25/06/2007, 8:42 PM
1-0 Bohs against Waterford.
25/06/2007, 8:43 PM
1-0 Bohs against Waterford.http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=711331&postcount=18
CuanaD
25/06/2007, 10:00 PM
We missed a lot of guilt edged chances and we . . . .
Had to mention - its GILT(as in gilded/gold) not guilt
but missing guilt-edged chances makes a lot of sense ;)
Jeebus
25/06/2007, 11:19 PM
Exact same as dmanetc said. He got the ball ten yards inside our half with no one near him. He would have been offside but it was our own two defenders flicked the ball on to him. Took it well, but hardly magic.
Ahem *cough* :D
Darco Ooragnak
25/06/2007, 11:42 PM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=9_5-ISFV66I
Steve Bruce
26/06/2007, 9:11 AM
I'm not being Cocky. I am basing my views on Linfield playing the then top side in Slovenia. Who played at a good standard, but definately beatable. Linfield where unlucky last season, I think with the experience of last season would help us get through, as we now know we have nothing to fear from the Slovenians.
I'm not saying we are a dead cert, I am saying it is a winnable tie. Hardly a cocky attitude.:rolleyes:
Steve Bruce
26/06/2007, 9:12 AM
Had to mention - its GILT(as in gilded/gold) not guilt
but missing guilt-edged chances makes a lot of sense ;)
Oh, your one of them sorts:rolleyes:
coislaoi
26/06/2007, 9:36 AM
Oh, your one of them sorts:rolleyes:
While we are at it - it's you're rather than "your"!!!:p
Steve Bruce
26/06/2007, 9:50 AM
While we are at it - it's you're rather than "your"!!!:p
Fair enough
Fair enough
How about finishing the sentance with a full stop? :D
26/06/2007, 10:31 AM
I disagree. It's been quite poor since Will Ferrell left.
26/06/2007, 10:39 AM
The defender was on the line.
It was easy.
(b) I'd have scored from there, with the nearest defender ten yards behind me.
Some great players sitting in the stand at Belfield - does Pete Mahon know:confused: :D
This is further proof, after the vicious assault witnessed by Shamrock fans in the cup game, that eyewitness accounts from supporters cannot be trusted. Or maybe that's just when Sligo are playing? I know when they played Pats they were the dirtiest shower of hoofers I've ever seen...;)
26/06/2007, 10:58 AM
Jesus what difference does it make, on the line, a few yards off it, still easy.
26/06/2007, 6:31 PM
OK, two yards inside his own half. But my point still stands - it was hardly a magical goal. He had no defender within ten yards of him. Though evidently Jerry the Saint spotted a mystery UCD player...?
(b) I'd have scored from there, with the nearest defender ten yards behind me.
Some great players sitting in the stand at Belfield - does Pete Mahon know
This is further proof, after the vicious assault witnessed by Shamrock fans in the cup game, that eyewitness accounts from supporters cannot be trusted.
Drogheda 1 up according to footiefox
26/06/2007, 7:06 PM
Shels 0-1 Cobh.
Aaron McEniff og in the first minute.
Wouldn't have happened if he were still at Belfield. :)
Harps 1-0 Kildare. Absolute screamer from Brown.
26/06/2007, 7:34 PM
Shels 1-1 Cobh - Leech
Kilkenny 1-0 Wexford (penalty)
Supersaint
26/06/2007, 7:40 PM
drogheda 3-1 up scored just before half time
26/06/2007, 7:40 PM
Longford 0-1 Cork. Farewell goal from O'Donovan?