Jeebus
22/06/2007, 9:48 AM
for the actions of our fans and stewards???:eek:

How many times is that now we've been fined

Ucd and bohs bottles 1000euro
Shams players fighting 1000euro
this latest one 1000euro

what else am i missing??

Where did you see that Rory? Did is say for what exactly??

22/06/2007, 9:54 AM
What happened?
Abuse of Connor?

Midgit
22/06/2007, 10:38 AM
Maybe we should all organise something to pay the club back all the money its lost through fines. Maybe an extra poker night for all Sligo Rovers fans in say a pub...... the Strand bar strandhill i know have a big poker room out back and host a poker night every thursday with local lads. They do not use it for raising money although(winner takes all). As far as i know the strand let them have the room for free and they make all their money from the drinks. Something like this does not take much organising as it would only involve something like 40 - 50 people. And about 5 night could be organised over the summer.

If 40 - 50 people came paying £25 for a buy in at the start that in its own is £1,000. And with buy backs (some people can have as many as 4 buy backs at 10 - 15euro each) into the game as well as top ups which are 10euro, (which everybody always gets at the break) an extra £700 can be made on a good night.

All of this means say £400 for first...... £200 for second..... £100 for third..... and forth and fifth get in free to the next weeks game. Meaning around a £900 - £1,000 profit. This could be a good idea for the Trust also.

redrov2005
22/06/2007, 11:15 AM
I'm a bit confused by all this fines for throwing stuff. Of course its wrong, but how do you prove who threw it. Just because something might be thrown from where Rovers fans are gathered doesn't mean it was definitely thrown by a Rovers fan.

Surely the club should have some comeback in the case of mistaken identity.

I mean what's to stop me standing near a group of away fans or indeed mingling with Derry fans and throwing something so that their club could be fined ?

Just to be clear, i am not defending the actions of idiots its just that i think there is a lack of proof in it. For example if something is thrown from say around half down the Jinks stand who is to blame the home crowd or the visiting fans who might be also close to where the object was thrown?

Redzer
22/06/2007, 12:18 PM
The fine is for what happened at half time, outside the away dressing room.

22/06/2007, 12:20 PM
sure thats a walkway, are we not entitled to be there in our own ground?

22/06/2007, 12:26 PM
sure thats a walkway, are we not entitled to be there in our own ground?
In fairness you did more than "be there". Probably would have got away with a warning if it wasn't for past offences I say.

neutrino
22/06/2007, 12:47 PM
In fairness you did more than "be there". Probably would have got away with a warning if it wasn't for past offences I say.

jays on a forum of pseudo names can u not post more info than "be there" for those of us not in the know !! i'm aware of an incident at the bohs game but not outside the dressing room

this fines this is ridiculous !! for a club with no money it's shambolic.

Bottle throwers need to be named and shamed our own event controller needs to quit or be made to quit.

22/06/2007, 1:07 PM
This is a ****ing joke. The FAI can not fine a club because fans were standing in an area, where they are perfectly entitled to stand, and chanting songs. We should go further about this, the FAI are out to kill atmosphere at games. Incompetent bunch of idiots!:mad:

22/06/2007, 1:58 PM
The Steward bit was warranted but I don't understand what your fans are supposed to have done.

dublinred
22/06/2007, 2:13 PM
The Steward bit was warranted but I don't understand what your fans are supposed to have done.
Sang songs about Sean Connor, if the FAI get away with this one it will set some precidient all their Christmas's would be paid for as they could use this at any time to get a few quid for the jolly coffers.

akearins
22/06/2007, 2:34 PM
These fines are ridiculous,Do the FAI not realise that LOI clubs are all struggling financially..so what do they do in their wisdom.FINE clubs money they do not have.

Being fined for chanting songs outside the Bohs dressing room, I have some doubts if thast what it was for.
If it was Bohs fans encroaching onto the pitch, then surely it should be Bohs who are fined.Any Dublin club will tell you some of the fans that may travel to away games are sometimes banned fom the home ground, so why should we be punished for their actions.

Something has to change , I mean thats €3000 in fines from us alone that would probably cover 10-12 away coaches.

Where does this money go to after clubs pay up?

22/06/2007, 2:37 PM
I think this is what the fine is for. That's outside the Bohs' dressing room I think.
1-bHCMdWGZw

Only1Rovers
22/06/2007, 4:41 PM
I think this is what the fine is for. That's outside the Bohs' dressing room I think.

HARSH!:o

22/06/2007, 10:26 PM
HARSH!:o

I would have no personal problem with that but its obvious that the powers that be do. In their eyes thats a similar offence to a mass pitch invasion. Having said that after the moral indignation showered on us because two or three lads encroached on the pitch to celebrate a goal I have little sympathy.

Is it true O.D. has finally been relieved of his duties?

BohsFans
23/06/2007, 1:36 AM
1-bHCMdWGZw

not just for that.

The club put in a complaint to the FAI, re: your event controller.

Deserved for that!

sligored
23/06/2007, 11:15 AM
i hear that we are due another fine because one sligo fan went on the pitch in the cup game v shams.
i suppose the only option now is to ban for life anyone singing or shouting loudly in the showgrounds. its the only answer.
fai pr**ks

1 9 2 8
23/06/2007, 11:27 AM
not just for that.

The club put in a complaint to the FAI, re: your event controller.

Deserved for that!

So we get a €1000 fine for one steward putting his fist in the air and our supporters singing at halftime while Bohs get nothing for one of their stewards physically assaulting one of our supporters and numerous other occasions for their supporters acting the ****

**** the FAI:mad:

23/06/2007, 11:30 AM
I'm a bit confused by all this fines for throwing stuff. Of course its wrong, but how do you prove who threw it. Just because something might be thrown from where Rovers fans are gathered doesn't mean it was definitely thrown by a Rovers fan.
In fairness, you were shown exactly who threw bottles against us and nothing was done.

SeaniesRedArmy
23/06/2007, 12:28 PM
In fairness, you were shown exactly who threw bottles against us and nothing was done.

but ye were the ones who threw the bottle in the first place

23/06/2007, 12:41 PM
but ye were the ones who threw the bottle in the first placeWhat? Were you at the game at all?:confused:. One of our 'fans' threw a bottle. The club know who it was but as stu pointed out, nothing was done.

Soper
23/06/2007, 1:25 PM
That is a stupidly high fine for an Eircom League club to get. I think the FAI are being silly on this.

Midgit
23/06/2007, 2:39 PM
i hear that we are due another fine because one sligo fan went on the pitch in the cup game v shams.
i suppose the only option now is to ban for life anyone singing or shouting loudly in the showgrounds. its the only answer.
fai pr**ks

I seen that happen!!!! But all he did literally was place his two feet over the wall/hoardings touch the pitch and the second he realised what he was doing he jumped imediatly back over and apolligised sincerily.
It was the shams stewards reaction that made it worse. Nobody would have notice(as he barly went on the pitch) but they wouldnt leave it be and they repremanded him. [now a bit of common sense was needed in this case by some of the stewards just to let it fly over]
Now if the FAI fine us £1000 for that i will be sending a message to them in complaint.

23/06/2007, 3:19 PM
I seen that happen!!!! But all he did literally was place his two feet over the wall/hoardings touch the pitch and the second he realised what he was doing he jumped imediatly back over and apolligised sincerily.So he didn't realise he was hopping across the fence and onto the pitch until he had it done?:confused:
Now if the FAI fine us £1000 for that i will be sending a message to them in complaint.It's the FAI, they don't care or even respond to complaints!

Sam Savic
23/06/2007, 3:26 PM
I seen that happen!!!! But all he did literally was place his two feet over the wall/hoardings touch the pitch and the second he realised what he was doing he jumped imediatly back over and apolligised sincerily.
It was the shams stewards reaction that made it worse. Nobody would have notice(as he barly went on the pitch) but they wouldnt leave it be and they repremanded him. [now a bit of common sense was needed in this case by some of the stewards just to let it fly over]
Now if the FAI fine us £1000 for that i will be sending a message to them in complaint.

He got about 2 yards onto the pitch and was apprehended by the stewards. Who knows how far he would have gone if he wasn't stopped. The fool was ejected by the Gardai and rightly so.
In the league game between the same two sides, a bottle was thrown onto the pitch by one of your fans. It wasn't observed by the FAI delegate and therefore, your club got away with a fine. It was mentioned on this forum that it was known who threw it. Your club will keep getting fined for these things.

BohsFans
23/06/2007, 6:36 PM
you seem to be the only club in the league at the moment making excuses for incidents that happen involving your fans.
Do something about it and you'll stop getting fined.

The statement with threats of life bans by your chairman doesn't seem to have worked.

BohsFans
23/06/2007, 6:45 PM
So we get a €1000 fine for one steward putting his fist in the air

Maybe that'll stop him from doing it again 1928!

Bohs get nothing for one of their stewards physically assaulting one of our supporters and numerous other occasions for their supporters acting the ****

Do you really want to re-open that debate? Just to set the record straight no assault took place and the stewards have the Guards to back them up on that.
Is there a mod on this board? That statement is libelous.

23/06/2007, 7:10 PM
When ye're stewards came down to the showgrounds they thought they owned the place. i think one of them is on this and they should have also seen the bohs fans try to damage the fences splitting them and the few rovers fans in the other half of the jinks stand. and when they scored that night a couple of them entered the pitch. did anything happen for either of those cases?
seen when our fan went across the wall last week, in fairness the minute he went on he must have realised how stupid it was....he quickly ran back over the wall but he was ejected. thats the rules really. he wouldn't have caused harm but rules are rules.
we were doing nothing wrong outside the dressing room IMO, and we were asked by the FAI official to return to our seats, we did immediatly without fuss.
annoyed me seeing the bohs stewards beside connor thinking they owned the place when they were down, even the lad doing interviews for bohs website i think, or bohs tv was telling our stewards to tell the fans who were remaining behind after the game in the standto leave. 'we get the fans to leave immediatly', ye should also he said. becuase connor wasn't coming out to do his interivew. just felt they had a bit of cheek

BohsFans
23/06/2007, 8:23 PM
annoyed me seeing the bohs stewards beside connor thinking they owned the place when they were down

So they thought that by standing beside their manager.
Grow up and accept your punishment.:rolleyes:

24/06/2007, 11:03 AM
ridicoulous...a fine for being passionate....

25/06/2007, 10:57 AM
I think the Bohs fine is crazy, theer is nothing to say you can't chant in a particular area of the ground ? Anybody think that we may be getting a raw deal from the fai for speaking out against summer football ?
Is there any more to this? It seems an odd fine for what was in that video.

25/06/2007, 11:15 AM
Is there any more to this? It seems an odd fine for what was in that video.

No that's basically it...

25/06/2007, 11:34 AM
No that's basically it...

And your head of security's behaviour, which was not "putting his fist in the air" as someone tried to make out as if in celebration, it was millimeters from the face of one of our fans. He also walked towards us giving us the fingers. Fully deserved the fine.

neutrino
25/06/2007, 12:50 PM
And your head of security's behaviour, which was not "putting his fist in the air" as someone tried to make out as if in celebration, it was millimeters from the face of one of our fans. He also walked towards us giving us the fingers. Fully deserved the fine.

yeah appalling behaviour. embarassing as a sligo rovers fan. even our stewards dont like this guy.there was no incident until he incited the bohs fan. a disgrace, but sure what'll be done by our club. nothing.