View Full Version : Monaghan United Goalie Crisis

21/06/2007, 8:56 AM
Monaghan United FC face into Friday’s game against Shelbourne without a goalkeeper. United Number 1 Alvin Rouse sustained a back injury during the FAI Ford Cup match against Derry City last Friday night in the Brandywell and so far he is not responding to treatment. Substitute goalkeeper Darren McQuaid is also ruled out having picked up a knee injury at training last night (Wednesday) and it is feared that it may be a cartilage problem.

United are currently seeking the League’s advice on the matter.

Stephen Finnegan is still out for the Mons with an ongoing knee problem while Steven Feeney and Cian Mackey both await late fitness tests to see if they will make an appearance.

Manager Mick Cooke stated this morning “we are currently in discussions with the League as to what can be done in relation to our goalkeeping problems. Other than that, our squad are in good form and training went well with all players eager to put the Cup defeat behind them.”

“It will be interesting to see how both teams react having both been knocked out of the Cup last weekend” Cooke continued.

21/06/2007, 8:58 AM
Cant believe our 2 goalies are injured! AGHHHHHH

Battery Rover
21/06/2007, 9:14 AM
Steven Feeney and Cian Mackey both await late fitness tests to see if they will make an appearance

Is this still a weekly routine with Stevie Feeney?

21/06/2007, 9:17 AM
Naw he hasnt missed much....unfortunately.

Louth4sam
21/06/2007, 9:23 AM
Alvin Rouse will be a big loss he was very good in both games against us.

Battery Rover
21/06/2007, 9:25 AM
Naw he hasnt missed much....unfortunately.

What have ye done to him? I can't believe he is not doing a job for you up there as he possesses so much natural footballing talent.

Hope we sign him back for next season and that he can get fit. Would be an excellent replacement for Davy Byrne in the centre of the park.

21/06/2007, 9:28 AM
Rouse is a big loss, he is 6 foot 5 after all!

Rover rem "discussions" b4....now I wish you were right!

21/06/2007, 9:58 AM
I said it before and I'll say it again ... ye should have hung on to Tadhg.

21/06/2007, 10:01 AM
have ye no youth team?

monutdfc
21/06/2007, 10:06 AM
What have ye done to him? I can't believe he is not doing a job for you up there as he possesses so much natural footballing talent.
Loads of talent, but desparately unfit and doesn;t appear to give much of a toss.
Watch him give the ball away in the opening 10 seconds here, taking on 2 players on the edge of his own box:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDipBc087PM

monutdfc
21/06/2007, 10:07 AM
have ye no youth team?
Aaron's time to shine?

21/06/2007, 10:10 AM
Rouse is a big loss, he is 6 foot 5 after all!And as mad as a hatter!!

How is banana getting on with ye, playing well?:confused:

21/06/2007, 10:12 AM
We have under 21's but our sub goalie is our U21 goalie too. We do have some young lads but no way would they be experienced enough to step up.

Yeah Aaron McCarey....I know he is only 15 but am sure he would do it! Also Kevin Martin just gone on trials to the U17 Rep of Irl squad but at 15/16 think he is a bit young too!

21/06/2007, 10:13 AM
15? Sure that's about the same age as Shels squad too:D.

21/06/2007, 10:14 AM
And as mad as a hatter!!

How is banana getting on with ye, playing well?:confused:

He is gettin on grand. Was very solid in Derry but just gets his positioning so wrong sometimes that you feel like killing him.

A dead sound guy, if a bit mad, but really really popular. He works with the kids in the mini leagues too and they all love him.

21/06/2007, 10:17 AM
We do have some young lads but no way would they be experienced enough to step up.Better than an empty space surely.

21/06/2007, 10:19 AM
Can't see how the league would have a problem allowing Monaghan sign a keeper on a short term deal in exceptional circumstances. They can't expect 1st division clubs to have 3 goalkeepers on their books

21/06/2007, 10:22 AM
I know that there are discussions ongoing within the club and with the league about this crisis so watch this space. As soon as I know what is happening you lot will.

It is hard for smaller clubs like ourselves when we get hit by injuries like this. I know Drogs had their problems but they had a massive squad to help cover them. We have a small squad of Senior players and then our U21's, who despite a great season last year are just not ready for the First Division.

21/06/2007, 10:48 AM
Can't see how the league would have a problem allowing Monaghan sign a keeper on a short term deal in exceptional circumstances. They can't expect 1st division clubs to have 3 goalkeepers on their books

Just been told that we have some options available to us if we are given the go ahead to sign them temporarily.

21/06/2007, 11:01 AM
Just been told that we have some options available to us if we are given the go ahead to sign them temporarily.If one of them is Mark Cobey, stay away!

21/06/2007, 11:05 AM
Will pass that info on! Thanks Sligoman!

21/06/2007, 11:09 AM
We had a similar problem last season and had to play one of our best outfield players in goal...Tommy Barrett, simply because he was the only one with a bit of keeper experience.

At the other end of the spectrum, not so long ago, we were struggling so bad to field a team that one of our keepers Jimmy Fyffe had to play as a makeshift striker...

Aaaahh the good old days.

Battery Rover
21/06/2007, 11:14 AM
Rover rem "discussions" b4....now I wish you were right!

The big part of that discussion was the word "FITNESS".

MyTown
21/06/2007, 11:16 AM
If one of them is Mark Cobey, stay away!

He is part of the U21s management team here in Galway. The fixtures have just been published on the website and preparations for the new season are building up a bit of momentum, so I don't think you'll be hearing from him.

21/06/2007, 11:28 AM
The big part of that discussion was the word "FITNESS".

But I'm begging!!!

21/06/2007, 11:47 AM
Throw the mon ladies keeper on.

21/06/2007, 11:48 AM
Throw the mon ladies keeper on.Or just stick a goalie jersey on Magicme?:D

21/06/2007, 12:03 PM
Ha, I wont be at the game, have choosen Crowded House over watchin the Mons. First time (bar oxegen or away on hols) that I will voluntarily miss a game in years!

Battery Rover
21/06/2007, 12:08 PM
Ha, I wont be at the game, have choosen Crowded House over watchin the Mons. First time (bar oxegen or away on hols) that I will voluntarily miss a game in years!

Sunshiner:p

21/06/2007, 12:12 PM
Yup! Total lack of committment on my part. Have been given my marching orders by the club too.

21/06/2007, 12:13 PM
Hope we sign him back for next season and that he can get fit. Would be an excellent replacement for Davy Byrne in the centre of the park.

Where's Davy going?

21/06/2007, 12:16 PM
Yup! Total lack of committment on my part. Have been given my marching orders by the club too.
Really?
You get sacked by work aswell?
How're the shop plans coming along?

Battery Rover
21/06/2007, 12:17 PM
Where's Davy going?

Not going anywhere but we need cover for him as he is back to his most combative best:D

21/06/2007, 4:05 PM
Really?
You get sacked by work aswell?
How're the shop plans coming along?

Still have my job and in negotiations about the shop but have other things in the pipeline too.

Anyway the club dont really sack Volunteers!

21/06/2007, 5:49 PM
Monaghan United FC have been handed a lifeline on their goalkeeping situation as substitute and u21 goalie Darren McQuaid may be fit to play despite sustaining a knee injury in last night's training session. McQuaid will undergo a fitness test tomorrow.

Marco
21/06/2007, 9:43 PM
Monaghan United FC have been handed a lifeline on their goalkeeping situation as substitute and u21 goalie Darren McQuaid may be fit to play despite sustaining a knee injury in last night's training session. McQuaid will undergo a fitness test tomorrow.

Hey Magic how life up there, don't depend on the Lge to sort out the keeper as ur only allowed sign a replacement during the transfer window, we had the same problem. Who will mind the kids!!!:eek: C ya on the 30th! bring ur brolly:p

21/06/2007, 11:51 PM
have other things in the pipeline too.
*continues citing any hint of sexual innuendo from female posters*
Tee hee hee.

Your a sick sick man!

But I like it!

Marco, will b bringing winter coats if weather stays like this never mind brolly! Kids will b grand, Chairman is gonna look after them!
I think you can temporarily sign a non-league keeper was told that last nite & read it in the Star this morning so it must be true!

21/06/2007, 11:56 PM
If one of them is Mark Cobey, stay away!

well away

Battery Rover
22/06/2007, 10:46 PM
Monaghan 4 Shelbourne 0:eek:

After a result like that you should become a Crowded House groupie and attend their gigs every match night:):p

Eagle
22/06/2007, 10:47 PM
Hard luck Magicme you missed a great game from a Mons perspective. I'm an Armagh City fan, but was up for the first time since the Dundalk win last season. 4-0 over the Eircom League Champs - what a result! Willie Doyle put Monaghan one up with about 25 minutes gone, the impressive Meenan then scored with a fine strike, whilst Farrell added to the lead just before the break. Then Meenan added with the fourth. Credit however must go to the 150 or so Shels fans who sang their hearts out from start to finish. They were poor, especially in defence whilst Meenan and Farrell were Mons best players on the night IMO. The keeper looked dodgy enough, but didn't have too much to do.

Dave77
23/06/2007, 11:29 AM
Mons could have had no keeper last night, we were woeful, a joke defensively, inept in midfield and an attack that moaned and moaned and when that didnt work they tried well moaning some more. shels fans got it right when 'we are shels' changed to 'we are s*!t'.

Fair play to Mons but we were so bad it was unbelievable.

23/06/2007, 12:06 PM
See ye next year Dave! :o

23/06/2007, 12:19 PM
Meenan played a whole game without getting sent off- wow!

Eagle
23/06/2007, 12:40 PM
Where's he from? He did get booked btw!

23/06/2007, 1:03 PM
He's from Dublin with family from the Northwest. Was with Harps last year- considered talented but a total head-case with a very poor attitude at times.

Never really broke into the first team with Harps.

Eagle
23/06/2007, 1:44 PM
Right from the off he looked good and was the MoM in my opinion. Farrell was good, but could be better with a bit more work rate.

23/06/2007, 3:30 PM
Monaghan 4 Shelbourne 0:eek:

After a result like that you should become a Crowded House groupie and attend their gigs every match night:):p

Ha ha...I know, got a text from one of our committee members saying I was barred from home games and that I should try supporting Dundalk instead!

We will win Tuesday again coz of my 3rd time in hospital under anesthetic when we play you on a Tuesday.....remember what happend the last 2 tuesdays???

Hard luck Magicme you missed a great game from a Mons perspective. I'm an Armagh City fan, but was up for the first time since the Dundalk win last season. 4-0 over the Eircom League Champs - what a result! Willie Doyle put Monaghan one up with about 25 minutes gone, the impressive Meenan then scored with a fine strike, whilst Farrell added to the lead just before the break. Then Meenan added with the fourth. Credit however must go to the 150 or so Shels fans who sang their hearts out from start to finish. They were poor, especially in defence whilst Meenan and Farrell were Mons best players on the night IMO. The keeper looked dodgy enough, but didn't have too much to do.

My son and a few of our committee were keeping me up to date and I was singing my heart out and dancing to CH and was sooooo excited bout us winning! My son said that bout the Shels fans, fair play, I hear they were a credit to the club.

Mons could have had no keeper last night, we were woeful, a joke defensively, inept in midfield and an attack that moaned and moaned and when that didnt work they tried well moaning some more. shels fans got it right when 'we are shels' changed to 'we are s*!t'.

Fair play to Mons but we were so bad it was unbelievable.

thanks Dave, you lot are welcome up here for a beating anytime!

He's from Dublin with family from the Northwest. Was with Harps last year- considered talented but a total head-case with a very poor attitude at times.

Never really broke into the first team with Harps.

Yeah had heard that bout him but bar one sending off (ironically in his first game and against Shels) he has been pretty well behaved here. He seems to get on with his team mates well and Mick Cooke is good with dealing with "bad boys" so hopefully Meenan will be a real asset to the club.

Apparently last nite he showed why he has made the Northern Ireland U21 team with some class shown throughout the game.