View Full Version : UCD vs Sligo

18/06/2007, 11:14 PM
Almost full team to pick from, just Finn, McWalter and King out injured. I think we'll win this one, won't be 3-0 again though. It will be a close match, I'd say we'll win 2-1.

19/06/2007, 12:13 AM
a dedicated man

19/06/2007, 12:16 AM
Lads strange question here but anybody know if that hotel out beside you has ATR ? And what are they like in there for showing racing do you know ?
Not sure. I have it with normal NTL digital so presumably they will have it. There's 2 or 3 tvs so I'm sure they will show it on at least one of them if you ask.

Angus
19/06/2007, 7:42 AM
Go on then, give us the tip !

I suspect that even if the hotel does not have it you will get it up in Kiely's Mount Merrion, 10 minutes walk up the hill

19/06/2007, 10:23 AM
Forgive my ignorance, but what's ATR?

19/06/2007, 11:07 AM
http://www.attheraces.com/ ?

19/06/2007, 12:17 PM
Yeah.

19/06/2007, 6:08 PM
Odds for the game (http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_event_by_markets&category=SOCCER&ev_class_id=49&chosen_ev_id=883612&disp_cat_id=):

UCD- 10/11
Draw- 11/5
Sligo- 13/5

You'd probably get better odds if you shop around.

19/06/2007, 7:42 PM
You can get 3/1 on Sligo. http://www.oddschecker.com/football/european-leagues/other-leagues/ireland/eircom-premier-division/ucd-v-sligo-rovers

I'm surprised we're that strong favourites.

19/06/2007, 8:45 PM
You can get 3/1 on Sligo. http://www.oddschecker.com/football/european-leagues/other-leagues/ireland/eircom-premier-division/ucd-v-sligo-rovers

I'm surprised we're that strong favourites.

Sligo have a poxy record in Belfield Park that's why :D

19/06/2007, 8:47 PM
Sligo have a poxy record in Belfield Park that's why :DThey had a poxy record in the Showgrounds too until they beat us earlier this year.

19/06/2007, 8:54 PM
How many years is it since we beat you in Belfield?

19/06/2007, 9:25 PM
How many years is it since we beat you in Belfield?Stop trying to reverse jinx yourselves. :)

19/06/2007, 10:17 PM
25 if you don't count the League Cup.

20/06/2007, 6:57 AM
25 if you don't count the League Cup.

Was that League Cup game in 1985/86 Stu?

20/06/2007, 4:27 PM
You can get us at evens with William Hill (http://www.willhill.com/iibs/EN/buildcoupon.asp?couponchoice=FB1593233&aff=doddscheck).

This week (http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=add_to_bet&category=SOCCER&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_883612=L16418536_33_1_HC_BIDX_T%7C%7C_EW1_3_3&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&ev_id=883612&goalscorer883612=16418493&correctscore883612=16402089&evident=) is the week.;)

20/06/2007, 5:58 PM
Was that League Cup game in 1985/86 Stu?
1986/87.

20/06/2007, 6:01 PM
How long are ye in the league itself?

20/06/2007, 6:03 PM

21/06/2007, 12:23 AM
how much is it in?

21/06/2007, 10:23 AM
Is there definite parking at the ground?

21/06/2007, 10:43 AM
how much is it in?
€15 adults, €8 student. I think you'll need a student card, kids are U-12.

Yeah there's parking at the ground. Do you know where the Foster's Avenue entrance is? Go in there and head towards the right. There's parking up ahead on the right. The field that you'll have to walk across is a bit muddy so you might have to walk around it to avoid getting covered in ****.

http://stigonline.com/league/directions.htm##21

21/06/2007, 1:20 PM
http://stigonline.com/images/directions.jpg
At the places marked with a white P on a blue background. Also, a little around the dashed path between Belfield Park and Foster Avenue.

21/06/2007, 1:24 PM
http://stigonline.com/images/directions.jpg
At the places marked with a white P on a blue background. Also, a little around the dashed path between Belfield Park and Foster Avenue.I presume the entrance from Fosters Avenue is for cars and not just pedestrians?

21/06/2007, 1:29 PM
I presume the entrance from Fosters Avenue is for cars and not just pedestrians?
Correct. Other paths (from deeper in the campus) are pedestrian only.

21/06/2007, 1:33 PM
Anyone care to give me directions to Belfield from Heuston Station? Is by Lansdowne road the best?

21/06/2007, 1:36 PM
Anyone care to give me directions to Belfield from Heuston Station?
East along the quays to O'Connell bridge, turn right, follow the outside of Trinity counter-clockwise, turn down Kildare street, clockwise around Stephen's Green to Leeson Street (3rd exit), then straight out the N11 until you pass the Belfield flyover (first flyover on the dual carriageway). Next right is Foster's Avenue.

Angus
21/06/2007, 1:38 PM
Dude - Google map it

Get down the quays, across OConnell Bridge on to the southside, around by Trinity, head past Merrion Square, to Ballsbridge.

Turn right just before the RDS up a mile, turn left at the big crossroads at Donnybrook garage and Fosters Avenue is a right turn about 3 miles from there

21/06/2007, 1:43 PM
East along the quays to O'Connell bridge, turn right, follow the outside of Trinity counter-clockwise, turn down Kildare street, clockwise around Stephen's Green to Leeson Street (3rd exit), then straight out the N11 until you pass the Belfield flyover (first flyover on the dual carriageway). Next right is Foster's Avenue.Cheers John. None of them are one way streets are they? I can go back the same way like?:confused:

Which way is best way, John's or Angus's?

21/06/2007, 1:46 PM
Angus' seem the best.

21/06/2007, 1:47 PM
Cheers John. None of them are one way streets are they? I can go back the same way like?:confused:

Which way is best way, John's or Angus's?
Angus' is better - forgot Leeson st. is one way! This is what happens when you cycle.

A lot of the streets off of Stephen's green are one way, but you can generally just get the next one down and you're grand.

The quays are 1 way too - north of the liffey is east-bound, south is west-bound.

Btw, are you on foot here? You mentioned coming from Heuston. If that's the case, public transport is easier again - LUAS to O'Connell st., walk south to Stephen's green, 46A to Belfield.

21/06/2007, 1:47 PM
A few of them are one way streets. Just follow the signs for city centre when you turn left off Foster's Avenue and you'll be laughing.

Shouldn't be more than 25 minutes driving from O'Connell Bridge to Belfield

21/06/2007, 1:50 PM
A few of them are one way streets. Just follow the signs for city centre when you turn left off Foster's Avenue and you'll be laughing.

Shouldn't be more than 25 minutes driving from O'Connell Bridge to Belfield
Absolutely. Ironically, about 15 mins on a bicycle. :)

21/06/2007, 1:54 PM
Btw, are you on foot here? You mentioned coming from Heuston. If that's the case, public transport is easier again - LUAS to O'Connell st., walk south to Stephen's green, 46A to Belfield.No, just said from Heuston station as that's the side I'll be coming into Dublin from. In relation to one way streets, I suppose I could turn a blind eye and pretend I didn't realise as "I'm from the country";) Bloody tourists!:D

21/06/2007, 1:55 PM
€15 adults, €8 student. I think you'll need a student card, kids are U-12.

http://stigonline.com/league/directions.htm##21

so its €15 if i dont have a card?

21/06/2007, 2:05 PM
No, just said from Heuston station as that's the side I'll be coming into Dublin from.
It would be a lot handier for you if you stayed on the M50 for longer. Take the second exit after the NBA Arena, stay on the road that's parallell to the M50. You'll come to a rounabout- go left. Keep going until you get to the Goat pub- take a right. Keep going and Belfield Park will eventually be on your left.:)

so its €15 if i dont have a card?
Yeah but if you say you're 15 (if you can get away with that) they'll have to let you in for the student price because you have to be in school when you're 15 or something like that.

21/06/2007, 2:18 PM
What street is the goat pub on? I'm using google maps to try and find it. Also, where you say to stay on M50, do you mean turn right as if heading to Bray, the roundabout where theres construction on at the moment?

Angus
21/06/2007, 2:23 PM
Goat Pub is on Lower Kilmacud Road, to the West of UCD and Stillorgan

If on the M50, come off at the Templeogue / Spawell exit and follow signs for the car ferry - the car ferry signs bring you down Fosters Avenue

21/06/2007, 2:26 PM
What street is the goat pub on? I'm using google maps to try and find it. Corner of Taney Road and Goatstown Road here (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=dublin&ie=UTF8&ll=53.2929,-6.226416&spn=0.018674,0.041027&z=15&om=1).

21/06/2007, 2:27 PM
Yeah but if you say you're 15 (if you can get away with that) they'll have to let you in for the student price because you have to be in school when you're 15 or something like that.

i wont have €15 so they can take what there given

21/06/2007, 2:28 PM
What street is the goat pub on? I'm using google maps to try and find it. Also, where you say to stay on M50, do you mean turn right as if heading to Bray, the roundabout where theres construction on at the moment?
The Goat is on the junction of Kilmacud road and Taney Road. Yeah go southbound towards Bray. It's exit 13 off the M50, which is signposted for Rathfarnham, Ballinteer and somewhere else.

Here's (http://maps.google.com/maps?t=h&om=1&msa=0&msid=103364556364327612976.000001134e9ebbd346e55&ie=UTF8&ll=53.268755,-6.248217&spn=0.021405,0.056992&z=14) the link to where you would go off the M50.

21/06/2007, 2:30 PM
for Rathfarnham, Ballinteer and somewhere else.
Dundrum.

21/06/2007, 2:35 PM
Surely coming from Sligo you wouldn't on the M50 in the first place? You'd have to get on at Lucan (which is a pain in the hole at the moment). Just as quick going into town and taking the directions posted earlier

21/06/2007, 2:39 PM
go up pearse road, turn left at the carraroe round-about, head straight to the retail park...turn left and go to the far left corner, and invest in a sat nav

21/06/2007, 2:47 PM
Surely coming from Sligo you wouldn't on the M50 in the first place? You'd have to get on at Lucan (which is a pain in the hole at the moment). Just as quick going into town and taking the directions posted earlier
That's a lot slower surely. Distance wise it seems just as long. Much handier being on the motorway going faster and avoiding traffic and one-way streets in town.

go up pearse road, turn left at the carraroe round-about, head straight to the retail park...turn left and go to the far left corner, and invest in a sat nav

Anybody at all want to talk about the match?

Bald Student
21/06/2007, 2:57 PM
I don't think we have enough contradicting directions yet.

21/06/2007, 3:10 PM
hope its a better spectical than when we played ye earlier in the season. would take the same result obviously. we're coming into form and UCD are doing well also, will be very tight, could be failry boring but lets hope not

21/06/2007, 3:13 PM
I don't think we have enough contradicting directions yet.
We could just offer a ballistic trajectory, but I'm not sure of the unladen airspeed of a Sligo fan.

21/06/2007, 3:16 PM
We could just offer a ballistic trajectory, but I'm not sure of the unladen airspeed of a Sligo fan.

say that in plain english so i understand?
ballistic trajectory :confused:
unladen :confused: :confused:

21/06/2007, 3:24 PM
say that in plain english so i understand?
ballistic trajectory :confused:
unladen :confused: :confused:
Ballistics: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballistics
Trajectory: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trajectory
Unladen: http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Monty_Python_and_the_Holy_Grail#English_Castle and http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Monty_Python_and_the_Holy_Grail#The_Bridge_of_Deat h (http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Monty_Python_and_the_Holy_Grail#The__Bridge_of_Dea th)