View Full Version : UCD vs Sligo
21/06/2007, 5:49 PM
I don't think we have enough contradicting directions yet.
Can I at this moment point out that I didn't think Leeson Street was one way?
Upper Leeson Street splits into two one-way sections, but is overall two-way, and I think Lower Leeson Street is two-way, though out of town may be a bus lane only.
21/06/2007, 6:25 PM
Can I at this moment point out that I didn't think Leeson Street was one way?
Upper Leeson Street splits into two one-way sections, but is overall two-way, and I think Lower Leeson Street is two-way, though out of town may be a bus lane only.
Lower Leeson Street only has a bus lane out of town, yes. This rules it out for the purposes mentioned above.
21/06/2007, 6:45 PM
Ye all have me rightly confused now lads, I'll come back later tonight and try to make sense of it:p
21/06/2007, 7:23 PM
Is the road around Merrion square one way? Or can you continue straight over onto Lower Mount street and onto Northumberland Road?
21/06/2007, 7:50 PM
Is the road around Merrion square one way? Or can you continue straight over onto Lower Mount street and onto Northumberland Road?
Merrion Square is two-way. You can go that way, it's the route Angus gave earlier.
Only1Rovers
21/06/2007, 8:17 PM
Glad to hear McWalter is injured, he scored a belter against us last season in Belfield.
21/06/2007, 8:17 PM
head for ballymun, leave the car there and get the dublin bus to the game
21/06/2007, 8:28 PM
Glad to hear McWalter is injured, he scored a belter against us last season in Belfield.
Two belters.
feo's advice is awful. Ballymun is miles away, and there isn't a direct bus route that I know of. If you have to get a bus, get one from town.
21/06/2007, 8:39 PM
Two belters.
feo's advice is awful. Ballymun is miles away, and there isn't a direct bus route that I know of. If you have to get a bus, get one from town.
i was cleary not being serious
21/06/2007, 8:42 PM
Hard to tell sometimes, when you consider the knowledge of Dublin of your average mucker.
Hell, I'm here 23 years, and even I can't tell my way around half the time.
21/06/2007, 9:14 PM
the ballymun part should have given it away
21/06/2007, 9:18 PM
feo's advice is awful. Ballymun is miles away, and there isn't a direct bus route that I know of. If you have to get a bus, get one from town.Sarcasm detector for pineapple. :rolleyes:
*edit* missed that there was another page :)
21/06/2007, 9:20 PM
is sammon in good form? or is beef better?
im so funny
21/06/2007, 9:21 PM
Doubtful for tomorrow. Ate something fishy.
21/06/2007, 9:21 PM
Sligo might be getting Byrned tomorrow. :o
21/06/2007, 9:24 PM
Sammon update - he's now expected to keep his plaice in the team.
21/06/2007, 9:26 PM
we'll catch him anyway
21/06/2007, 9:29 PM
I wouldn't carp on like that.
21/06/2007, 9:33 PM
seriously though. how many has he got this year?
21/06/2007, 9:41 PM
I've actually been given a way from a person that goes to UCD college. It's none of the above mentioned but seems the easiest, may not be quickest but easiest to remember so gonna go that way, thanks anyway guys! Great help.
21/06/2007, 9:43 PM
seriously though. how many has he got this year?He's netted 4.
Bald Student
21/06/2007, 10:21 PM
I've actually been given a way from a person that goes to UCD college. It's none of the above mentioned but seems the easiest, may not be quickest but easiest to remember so gonna go that way, thanks anyway guys! Great help.Let's play a guessing game. Is it to turn right onto the south circular and then turn off in Ranelagh?
Student Mullet
21/06/2007, 10:22 PM
Let's play a guessing game. Is it to turn right onto the south circular and then turn off in Ranelagh?No, he said 'easy to remember' so I'll be to turn off onto the N11.
Bald Student
21/06/2007, 10:23 PM
No, he said 'easy to remember' so I'll be to turn off onto the N11.Don't be an idiot. There's no right turn there, he'd have to go around that silly little triangle thing!
Student Mullet
21/06/2007, 10:24 PM
Don't be an idiot. There's no right turn there, he'd have to go around that silly little triangle thing!Who are you calling an idiot?
21/06/2007, 10:25 PM
No, turn off at Inchicore turnoff and go down by the canal. Keep going and eventually turn right onto N11 to Wexford. Straight road from there.
Bald Student
21/06/2007, 10:25 PM
Who are you calling an idiot?A non-idiot would have extracted that information from my last post.
21/06/2007, 10:32 PM
A non-idiot would have extracted that information from my last post.He's got you there!:D.
Student Mullet
21/06/2007, 10:46 PM
He's got you there!:D.Well I got him here:
No, he said 'easy to remember' so I'll be to turn off onto the N11.
No, turn off at Inchicore turnoff and go down by the canal. Keep going and eventually turn right onto N11 to Wexford. Straight road from there.
Like the saying goes, the proof of the non-idiot pudding is in its eating by the non-idiot after it being served up by a big Bald* idiot.
*You know, he's not even bald! He's got a big mop of hair on him.
Also, that right turn is a bit funny. You have to drive about 20 yards past it and turn right up a slip road.
21/06/2007, 10:53 PM
Also, that right turn is a bit funny. You have to drive about 20 yards past it and turn right up a slip road.Is that the turn from Grand Parade onto Sussex Road/Upper Leeson?
Bald Student
21/06/2007, 11:00 PM
Is that the turn from Grand Parade onto Sussex Road/Upper Leeson?I think so, the one at leeson street bridge from the canal to the N11. You have to drive up what's called Sussex Terrace here:
http://maps.google.co.uk/?ie=UTF8&om=1&ll=53.33161,-6.251296&spn=0.003332,0.008669&z=17
21/06/2007, 11:07 PM
I think so, the one at leeson street bridge from the canal to the N11. You have to drive up what's called Sussex Terrace here:
http://maps.google.co.uk/?ie=UTF8&om=1&ll=53.33161,-6.251296&spn=0.003332,0.008669&z=17That's the turn I'm taking alright. So you can't turn right at the first junction, why's that? Bit odd no?
Bald Student
21/06/2007, 11:49 PM
So you can't turn right at the first junction, why's that? Bit odd no?Welcome to Dublin.
To make it even more complicated, Peter Gabriel is playing Marlay Park this evening.
Now, leaving aside the fact that we need to seriously question anybody going to that drivel, there will be big crowds and I think that the M50 route that was being touted around would be jammers with concert traffic.
It might make sense to get to Heuston and go through the city.
Aberdonian Stu
22/06/2007, 10:58 AM
This show's why Angus is an idiot. Peter Gabriel isn't the big attraction. Crowded House are. Sadly I won't be pulling pints at it and instead will attend the game.
Incidentally there is a bus that goes direct from Ballymun to Belfield. The 11. Some would argue it goes to Glasnevin not Ballyer.
Angus
22/06/2007, 11:32 AM
Idiot ?
Bit harsh. I admit I am not close to which of those MOR acts are the bigger puller but does that imply "idiot" ?
Out of touch ? Yes. Old git ? yes. Idiot ? Not sure but happy to discuss
22/06/2007, 11:54 AM
This thread is the most ridiculous I've ever read. 89 posts and almsot all of them are about directions or dodgy fish/salmon jokes.
dublinred
22/06/2007, 11:57 AM
Is McWalter the big guy who ran the show in midfield last year ?
22/06/2007, 11:59 AM
I don't think he is who you're thinking of. He got 2 goals in the 3-0 win.
22/06/2007, 12:22 PM
i think that's Sammon
Aberdonian Stu
22/06/2007, 12:24 PM
Idiot ?
Bit harsh. I admit I am not close to which of those MOR acts are the bigger puller but does that imply "idiot" ?
Out of touch ? Yes. Old git ? yes. Idiot ? Not sure but happy to discuss
Obviously you missed the entire part of the thread where the Bald and Mulleted one argued over idiocy which I thought I was clearly referring to.
22/06/2007, 12:24 PM
i think that's Sammon
No not Sammon, he's the bald striker.
londonred if it's the game in the Showgrounds you're thinking of it's Finn, who is injured tonight.
22/06/2007, 12:26 PM
i think that's SammonSammon's a striker. At a guess, you might be thinking of Tony McDonnell. Is this (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/57/P7011852.jpeg) him (on the right ;))?
22/06/2007, 12:27 PM
Obviously you missed the entire part of the thread where the Bald and Mulleted one argued over idiocy which I thought I was clearly referring to.Not too clear, sorry.
Angus
22/06/2007, 12:32 PM
Obviously you missed the entire part of the thread where the Bald and Mulleted one argued over idiocy which I thought I was clearly referring to.
Ah, it all makes sense. Add "slow" to "old" and "out of touch"
dublinred
22/06/2007, 1:51 PM
Sammon's a striker. At a guess, you might be thinking of Tony McDonnell. Is this (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/57/P7011852.jpeg) him (on the right ;))?
Think its him he was about a foot taller than everone else he had a great game in the 3 0 at belfield last year.
22/06/2007, 2:35 PM
Think its him he was about a foot taller than everone else he had a great game in the 3 0 at belfield last year.
He'll be playing. Watch out.;)
22/06/2007, 11:57 PM
I assume it's Tony Mac.
23/06/2007, 12:06 AM
The preview is a bit late but:
From eleven-a-side (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=28156):
Mahon wants consistency
Despite only losing one match in their last 13 outings, UCD manager Pete Mahon is eager to see more consistency in his side as they prepare to face in-form Sligo Rovers at Belfield tonight.
The students eased into the FAI Cup third round following a comfortable 4-0 win over non-league side Salthill Devon in their last outing, and Mahon wants to maintain that kink of form.
“One week we’re good and the next we’re bad but, to everyone’s credit, we’ve been very good in the last few weeks,” said Mahon. “I thought our game against Bray last month would be the acid test and it proved to be the case.
“We were 10 games unbeaten going into that clash and never played as we can. But our reaction since then has been brilliant and we’ve put in two good displays against Salthill and Waterford.”
UCD are still without Ronan Finn and Pat McWalter, however Paul Crowley returns after suspension. Sligo are expected to name the same side that defeated Shamrock Rovers last weekend.
23/06/2007, 9:49 AM
You can't get consistency from kids.... as Alan Hansen might say....