View Full Version : GUFC v Shamrock Rovers
Just saw the goals on the internet.The second goal was down to people not tracking back and picking up the loose player ( the one who crossed the ball.Everyone on the team should have been defending from the front back for the last 10 mins and this didnt happen.
Tir Oilean
25/06/2007, 9:54 AM
Where did you see them gufct can you post a link?
theres one on the gufcnet site but if you just go into the tg4 main site go into sport and sacar beo. I made a mistake earlier it was Shane Treacy who came on for Kieran and Both Russeler and Cookie were injured so I cant see who can blame Tony for the changes as we were down to the bare bones.
corbyeire
25/06/2007, 2:13 PM
Just saw the goals on the internet.The second goal was down to people not tracking back and picking up the loose player ( the one who crossed the ball.Everyone on the team should have been defending from the front back for the last 10 mins and this didnt happen.
most of our goals conceeded are like that - people like barry and dob - running half way between man and ball - feigning a jump - as the ball is crossed past them - for a goal (true the boys in the box should be winning headers - but why bother for the whole game and then fart around for the last 10 mins :confused:)
dont know where i read it - but its something like - 7 games out of 14 with goals conceeded in the last 5 minuets
gufcfan
25/06/2007, 11:25 PM
Some pics from the pub, sorry guys!
http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbum.jsp?MemberId=380859000&PhotoNbr=1&PhotoAlbumId=4788407649
26/06/2007, 2:11 AM
Then, dare i say it, it might be time for the board to consider their options with the manager.
If he doesn't trust players he chose to offer pro contracts, then he has fundamentaly failed in his job, imho.
As far as i can see we are playing no better than when Stephen Lally got the push.
Tactics are rubbish. Some of the players we are paying should not be let next nor near a shirt again.
There's more managerial patience in D7. :rolleyes:
Obviously winning promotion, getting points in Cork and winning at Pats in his first season up, is not enough to keep a boss in his first major managerial role, according to some of ye.
Promoted teams do struggle in the top division, as it stands you are 13 points clear of bottom spot, and have a manager who gets results. Yeah, you're out of the cup, but then again so are we. Are we callling for Pat Scully's head?? No.
I hear Longford have something to worry about.
Tir Oilean
26/06/2007, 7:33 AM
Good post My post its good to get an outside opinion of our situation and in fairness despite some of our doubts we are not in as bad a situation as some.
gilberto_eire
26/06/2007, 1:45 PM
Obviously winning promotion, getting points in Cork and winning at Pats in his first season up, is not enough to keep a boss in his first major managerial role, according to some of ye.
Promoted teams do struggle in the top division, as it stands you are 13 points clear of bottom spot, and have a manager who gets results. Yeah, you're out of the cup, but then again so are we. Are we callling for Pat Scully's head?? No.
ooh give over you make it sound so great, ye'r 4th ffs thats why ye'r not calling for his head..... ya we won in richmond but we only drew in cork what about losing to waterford, drawing at home to longford etc.... so what if ye'r out of cup too the differance is a poor 1st division team put us out after we were cruising at home 2-0 up!.
you dont have to sturuggle when ye come up as ye proved yourselves!!:rolleyes:
26/06/2007, 2:16 PM
if ye'r out of cup too the differance is a poor 1st division team put us out after we were cruising at home 2-0 up!
Yis lost on penos, we lost at home after 90 minutes. :o
Dont worry my post Gilberto is never happy and is very much in the minority with his views.
Once the dissappointment of conceeding the late goal was gone the last night any realistic supporter was more than happy with the point. Just because I dont slag off the Manager and the Players doesnt mean I think everything is perfect but id feel a lot happier about our future and the club going forward than I would have in anytime of the clubs history.
There is no one who has been at the coalface over the last 10 years going to sit on our laurels as we all have seen how close we came to extinction before but GUFC is a work in progress and we have the right people involved to make sure that success will eventually come.
One thing though if you think we have 1500 regular supporters you havent as good an insight as you seem to think you have.
gilberto_eire
26/06/2007, 4:08 PM
Dont worry my post Gilberto is never happy and is very much in the minority with his views.
ya right!!... your living in a dream world if you think that unfortunetly, you GUFCT are the one in the minority view that everything is fine, the way you view things i wouldnt let you coach an under-10 team, you know so little!!.
were the biggest underachievers in the country so i can see how you have this mentality from years gone by.
dont you not think its time we didnt accept been second best and just competing??... maybe not the way you go on, but dont be having a go at the ppl who want what a city like galway deserves.
you' be more accustomed to following KK or Monaghan the way you talk!
galwayhoop
26/06/2007, 4:15 PM
we won promotion off the field - nothing to do with TC as we finished in 3rd spot, a league position achieved prior to his arrival i might add.
yes we got good results away to pats and cork but are still to register a home win.
we are 13 points clear of bottom by virtue of longford being deducted 10 points.
we were told that going full time would reap major rewards but are yet to see the fruits of this (loosing so many late goals should be reduced by being full time as you would expect better stamina and concentration levels and you would expect set-pieces to be much more fruitful. you might also expect the team to play something approaching attractive football (or even to try and keep the ball) as opposed to clearing the decks at every given opportunity). this opens the door to the question of had we maintained part-time status would we have been able to attract a higher caliber of player? we currently have a full-time squad which has some very average players in it, so the question should be asked.
i'm not calling for the managers head, far from it, but i don't agree with the 'full faith in TC' comments that are continuiously spouted here. are we all supposed to follow TC blidly or can we not question things that we disagree with? the difference between bandwagon jumpers and supporters is usually knowledge of the game. i am not able to sit here and say all is well, granted we are not the worst off, but this season is not shaping up as the roaring success that some people on here would have you believe.
as this is a forumboard people are entitled to their opinions and those who disagree with the 'maroon tinted glasses' view should not be attacked for pointing out some valid points.
:ball:
gloryglorygufc
26/06/2007, 5:12 PM
we won promotion off the field - nothing to do with TC as we finished in 3rd spot, a league position achieved prior to his arrival i might add.
yes we got good results away to pats and cork but are still to register a home win.
we are 13 points clear of bottom by virtue of longford being deducted 10 points.
we were told that going full time would reap major rewards but are yet to see the fruits of this (loosing so many late goals should be reduced by being full time as you would expect better stamina and concentration levels and you would expect set-pieces to be much more fruitful. you might also expect the team to play something approaching attractive football (or even to try and keep the ball) as opposed to clearing the decks at every given opportunity). this opens the door to the question of had we maintained part-time status would we have been able to attract a higher caliber of player? we currently have a full-time squad which has some very average players in it, so the question should be asked.
i'm not calling for the managers head, far from it, but i don't agree with the 'full faith in TC' comments that are continuiously spouted here. are we all supposed to follow TC blidly or can we not question things that we disagree with? the difference between bandwagon jumpers and supporters is usually knowledge of the game. i am not able to sit here and say all is well, granted we are not the worst off, but this season is not shaping up as the roaring success that some people on here would have you believe.
as this is a forumboard people are entitled to their opinions and those who disagree with the 'maroon tinted glasses' view should not be attacked for pointing out some valid points.
Well said that man.
Patrick Dunne
26/06/2007, 5:18 PM
If we all took the attitude of, and behaved like, some of the posters
here, sitting around giving out, and writing to papers, the club would have gone out of existence in 1978.
gilberto_eire
26/06/2007, 5:24 PM
thank you for your support.... after all its only GUFCT who attacks ppl who criticises ppl for talking like this but claims otherwise!!
thread closed. gone way off topic again lads !!! quit the ****, everyone else that reads here are sick to death of ye all.....