View Full Version : England Out

04/03/2003, 5:01 PM
England out (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport3/cwc2003/hi/newsid_2810000/newsid_2818400/2818465.stm) of the World Cup for another sport they "invented"

04/03/2003, 5:03 PM
Actually quite amazing the amount of more established Cricket teams that went out;
The West Indies, South Africa and England are all out.

Its actually a decent enough sport to watch once you get the rules.

Shed End John
04/03/2003, 5:04 PM
Originally posted by pete
England out (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport3/cwc2003/hi/newsid_2810000/newsid_2818400/2818465.stm) of the World Cup for another sport they "invented"

As if we give a s***e about fooking cricket!!

04/03/2003, 5:35 PM
There have been some excellent matches so far.
Cricket is a great game when played by the Aussies, Windies etc.
Its only English cricket thats really boring.
As for
"As if we give a s***e about fooking cricket!!"
Well who gives a sh*te about mudf*cking, but it doesn't stop you!

04/03/2003, 5:36 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
Rugby is only a sport so rich overweight people can say they play games too.

I'd have to disagree Conor, it is actually only an excuse for Pres boys to get hot and sweaty and be close to each other. Scrumage me boll!x ... fluppin' fagg0ts

04/03/2003, 6:13 PM
And you don't see Goerge Hook's face during a cricket game...
lol
That fact alone makes cricket better than egg chasing!:D

Ref
04/03/2003, 6:20 PM
i can't wait to see what SEJ has to say about all the rugby bashing. :D :D

Ref
04/03/2003, 6:26 PM
let me be the first to say it

RUGBY OUT!!

:D :D :D :D

05/03/2003, 8:52 AM
And then they tell you about what a great working class game it is in Limerick.

Not a rugby fan myself but it is very popular in Limerick. Saying that the whole Munster (we're not good enough so we'll combine our teams) lark is having a horrid effect on the game. The clubs are struggling and as a result their underage set-ups are suffering. To say it's working class is a bit misleading though. The only sports they play in the really big sprawling working class estates are football and joyriding with a tiny bit of GAA thrown in for good measure. Rugby is generally followed and played by those who have eked their way to the status of lower-middle class off the back of hard labour in addition to the usual brigade of snob-school tossers.

Real ale Madrid
05/03/2003, 9:05 AM
We should have a poll, Rugby or Cricket?:p

btw I thought england were unlucky because they had to forfeit one of thier games.

Ireland to win on sat.

05/03/2003, 9:10 AM
Originally posted by Real ale Madrid
Ireland to win on sat.
yeah dont think rangers are playing that well recently like :)

Real ale Madrid
05/03/2003, 9:18 AM
Originally posted by James
yeah dont think rangers are playing that well recently like :)

Scottish Football? Now thats boring.:o :)

05/03/2003, 9:36 AM
Cricket shares the same garrison, British sport origins
You mean unlike football!?! :rolleyes:

Ref
05/03/2003, 9:41 AM
football is not of British origins.

it's italian.

isn't it?

joe
05/03/2003, 9:42 AM
thought it was chinese, like everything in the world :D

Ref
05/03/2003, 9:45 AM
yeah i was gonna say that but c'mon football isn't really something you'd think started in China!!

Dricky
05/03/2003, 9:49 AM
Cricket, screw the game it's a place to go bushin' if you look at all the fans that follow cricket most of them have a few Dutch Golds in their hands to them it's an excuse to go on the ****, something else the english aren't that good at.

05/03/2003, 10:04 AM
Scottish Football? Now thats boring.:o :) Now there's something we can all agree on. :D

Shed End John
05/03/2003, 10:15 AM
Originally posted by oddboy
As for
"As if we give a s***e about fooking cricket!!"
Well who gives a sh*te about mudf*cking, but it doesn't stop you!

Me and about 40,000-60,000 other people around this province, you thick, ignorant b***ox!!!:mad:

Conor, as for your cheap ill-informed snipes. Rugby is anything but a game only for the rich and ANY look at a game on your TV set at all will prove just how much fitter rugby players are compared to their soccer counterparts.

Shed End John
05/03/2003, 10:19 AM
And the fans in cricket are a lot better.

And you don't see Goerge Hook's face during a cricket game...

You've obviously NEVER seen the Munster fans so. If you had you wouldn't have dreamed of saying something so stupid.

Have to agree with Real Ale Madrid, Ireland to beat Les Bleus on Saturday, by about 5-10 points I'd say.

Ruairi
05/03/2003, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by Shed End John
look at a game on your TV set at all will prove just how much fitter rugby players are compared to their soccer counterparts.

yeah, those big fat bastids who can hardly draw breath, let alone run, are a dead give away

05/03/2003, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by Ref
football is not of British origins.

it's italian.

isn't it?

Well football as we know it was started in England AFAIK, but that kinda missed the point.... People are slagging Rugby for being a Brit game, but football was known as the garrison game wasn't it?

Cricket and Rugby, as with baseball and American Football, are good to watch once you know and understand the rules.....

Shed End John
05/03/2003, 10:25 AM
Originally posted by Macy
People are slagging Rugby for being a Brit game, but football was known as the garrison game wasn't it?

Cricket and Rugby, as with baseball and American Football, are good to watch once you know and understand the rules.....

Yes, it was.
Thanks for giving me a measure of support in my views, Macy.

Ruairi, you just better be fit yourself on Saturday night, never mind your totally inaccurate views on rugby!!:D

Ruairi
05/03/2003, 10:29 AM
So you're denying the presence of big fat bastids playing rugby?

Shed End John
05/03/2003, 10:31 AM
Originally posted by Ruairi
So you're denying the presence of big fat bastids playing rugby?

At anything approaching a decent level ie Interprovincial, Celtic League, Heineken Cup, International, YES!! Players simply can't afford to carry extra weight. It's much too demanding a game for that.

Real ale Madrid
05/03/2003, 10:35 AM
2 points

I think people are deliberatly trying to wind up SEJ:eek: :p

And baseball is the most boring sport imagineable and I understand the rules

Ireland to beat France by 3pts methinks.

05/03/2003, 10:41 AM
I think people are deliberatly trying to wind up SEJ:eek: :p No $hit!

And baseball is the most boring sport imagineable and I understand the rules Yeah it is apalling, the worst is the commentaters going on about some guys ERD average and his record breaking FHT and all this $hite without saying (or even hinting) what any of that means.

Ireland to beat France by 3pts methinks. I'd say if we beat them it'll be by 10+ but I'm not as confident as most people seem to be that we will.

Dricky
05/03/2003, 10:44 AM
And baseball is the most boring sport imagineable and I understand the rules

I couldn't agree more the Americans destroyed Rounders.
There was nothing wrong with Rounders fun easy rules and a good laugh.

Baseball, rounder's illegitimate offspring that should out been keep in a secret place out of harm, just like G W Bush really

05/03/2003, 10:45 AM
Oh they're a lot fitter alright. Yerra go on. Players like Martin Johnson are just thugs in tracksuits and would be laughed off a GAA county team. Ah GAA, the only sport more boring than baseball!

Shed End John
05/03/2003, 10:46 AM
Ah yes, I can see it now, Shane Byrne nutmegging Carlos, chipping it to Peter Clohessy who dances around Lizarazu, and sends in a low cross met by the diving header of Frankie Sheahan, who beats Nesta to put the ball past Buffon.

And I'd like to see ANY one of the soccer players listed above go on to a rugby pitch and take just ONE bone-crunching tackle from a top rugby player. Sweet Jesus, the soccer player would never get up off the ground again, and rugby players may have to take 20+ such tackles in a match.

05/03/2003, 10:54 AM
ah lads dont knock basball till you've seen it 1st hand
saw a NY yankees V Boston red sox game
40,000 mad screaming passionate bostonians .. win 8-7 with 9th inning run ( with the kinda cork v kerry, munster football final feel to it, in terms of rivalry / good natured slagging and banter between the fans.. grab yourself a few hotdogs a few coors lite or maybe a soda :D *realises he has been brainwashed* )

again i think like someone else mentioned earlier, once you understand all the rules fully then alot of 'boring' sports are watchable including baseball

Ruairi
05/03/2003, 10:57 AM
And I'd like to see ANY one of the soccer players listed above go on to a rugby pitch and take just ONE bone-crunching tackle from a top rugby player

For "top rugby player" read "fat bastid"

05/03/2003, 11:08 AM
Brian O'Driscoll and Robinson, the Sale winger, are fit.
Conor cuming out of the closet? :eek: :)

Dricky
05/03/2003, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by Macy
Conor cuming out of the closet? :eek: :)

Nah Macy, it's not the closet its his dreams it happens in.

:D :D

05/03/2003, 11:39 AM
I didn't actually think anyone here would have watched the Cricket World Cup bar games england losing in although i have caught a bit o cricket just to see Enmgalnd lose myself before...

Ignoring the sporting merits but isn't watching England lose a good enough reason to watch Cricket?

Apparently Brian O'Driscoll is a bit of a smoker so debatable how fit he really is...

05/03/2003, 11:51 AM
Me and about 40,000-60,000 other people around this province, you thick, ignorant b***ox!!!:mad:

Spoken like a true no-neck, bullet-headed, mud-wallowing boor.
Fair play to yah...:rolleyes:

Shed End John
05/03/2003, 1:02 PM
Originally posted by Ruairi
For "top rugby player" read "fat bastid"

I dare you to go up to Will Greenwood or Brian O'Driscoll and say that.
Conor, Peter Clohessey, albeit a more than capable one, was a relic from the days of amatuerism. That said he was hardly fat/unfit. The trend since professionalism, however, has been towards players becoming increasingly fitter. No way would they last an 80 minute game otherwise.
Oddboy, you are odd and continue to display extreme ignorance on the subject of rugby, I would suggest you stick to talking about something you have a clue of.

Rant finished.:D

05/03/2003, 1:07 PM
Anyway, what did SEJ say about players being so fit because they could tackle? Tackle? I've yet to see fitness defined by a tackle count. I must have missed the Jane Fonda Tackle Yourself Fit Workout video, or perhaps the Elle McPherson Thinner Through Tackling Routine.

Remember Peter Clohessy, he could tackle all day, and you should have seen him tackle a dinner, but still no advertisement for fitness I'm afraid. In fact, until he played in Oz he prided his boozing routine despite playing International and Interprovincial.

Weight and stature isn't necessarily a good indicator of fitness.... You could be a fat bastid and still be fit.... Also there's different types of fitness - aerobic and anaerobic.... A body builder has a high anaerobic fitness level, but more than likely I could out run him....

That's the last I'll say of the Rugby, as I don't want to be tagged as any kindred spirit of SEJ... Basically I'd watch most sports...

Originally posted by Pete
I didn't actually think anyone here would have watched the Cricket World Cup bar games england losing in although i have caught a bit o cricket just to see Enmgalnd lose myself before...

Actually I would sit down and watch a full 5 day test match, and used to go to the odd Lancs games, but obv one day matches are better.... Infact cricket is the one sport I don't mind England doing well in....

05/03/2003, 1:08 PM
Rant finished.:D That'll be the day.:D

05/03/2003, 1:08 PM
The fiancee is a member of this board. I'll send her after ye.

Hmmmmm :D

05/03/2003, 1:51 PM

Oddboy, you are odd and continue to display extreme ignorance on the subject of rugby, I would suggest you stick to talking about something you have a clue of.

While I am, and I say this with great pride, entirely ignorant of rugby, you, on the other hand, simply display extreme ignorance.
As for suggesting "that I stick to talking about something I have a clue of", if you were to follow your own advice, all your posts would simply consist of namecalling of other posters....;)

05/03/2003, 1:55 PM
lmao fair play oddboy thats post has put a smile back on my face and a warm nice warm fuzzy feeling inside, a feeling you normally get when you've eaten a nice warm bowl of porridge on a cold cold winters morn. :D

joe
05/03/2003, 2:34 PM
speaking of coming out of the closet

grab yourself a few coors lite

05/03/2003, 2:42 PM
and whether that be sharon, caroline or the other one andrea is your own choice :D

joe
05/03/2003, 2:52 PM
what about jim?

05/03/2003, 4:43 PM
Remember Peter Clohessy, he could tackle all day, and you should have seen him tackle a dinner!

lol:D

I wonder do the egg chasers eat a lot of eggs. I mean surely if they're chasing an egg they're going to catch it at some stage and presumably they would then eat it. Just pondering as to whether this contributes to their rather large posteriors?:D

05/03/2003, 9:10 PM
lmao fair play oddboy thats post has put a smile back on my face and a warm nice warm fuzzy feeling inside, a feeling you normally get when you've eaten a nice warm bowl of porridge on a cold cold winters morn. :D
Eh.....(fidgits nervously)...yes....eh..thanks....I think.....:o :D

Shed End John
06/03/2003, 10:31 AM
[B...SEJ, I will save you the effort. You should know by know from various nights in PJs that I overplay the rugby line to wind you up. [/B]

Conor, would I take the slagging in anything other than the spirit it's intended?? Hence the fact that it's all a bit of a laugh in your case, and something less so with oddboy's pathetically ignorant ramblings.:)

Ref
06/03/2003, 10:35 AM
Originally posted by SCOTTY II
Ok the post wouldnt be right until Scoooooty sez something stupid/contradicting/anti-james/or something promoting a website eh?

well you said it Scooty. :p

Shed End John
06/03/2003, 10:42 AM
Originally posted by Ref
well you said it Scooty. :p

:D :D :D :D