View Full Version : 19 years ago today
14/06/2007, 10:40 AM
Dirty Dancing.
PaulB
14/06/2007, 11:46 AM
[QUOTE=macdermesser;703370]Its an interesting contention .. but I think U2 making it to number one in the US (when that was a big thing), Stephen Roche doing the treble .. maybe even Eamonn Coughlan's grin at the superpower of Russia and then legging it to the line in Helsinki in 85 all sowed the seeds of a new confidence in being Irish after all the negativity from the British press and the Troubles. Stuttgart certainly was the cream on the cake.
There have been 3 great sporting events i can remember, one was 88, and the other 2 you mention above, although I though Helsinki and coughlan was 83, reason i rememeber is i was in the pheonix park at the time at the u2, big country, eurythmics, simple mins gig, some line up now that i look back. he used to be great at the indoors in the US also, especially at Madison square gardens..
87 was great for the cylcing, the tour de france, and then the world chanpionships, when it looked like kelly had it sown up, and then roche came through at the death, great days. Also steve collins beating benn and chris eubank was brilliant, but we're way off topic now.
14/06/2007, 12:12 PM
Indeed we are. Like a bad dose of John Waters-itis.
At least I get to be the first person to say 'Zeitgeist'. :confused:
:cool:
Wolfie
14/06/2007, 12:18 PM
Indeed we are. Like a bad dose of John Waters-itis.
At least I get to be the first person to say 'Zeitgeist'. :confused:
:cool:
Did Zeitgeist get a game for Germany in Euro 88?
14/06/2007, 12:28 PM
Did Zeitgeist get a game for Germany in Euro 88?
Nah ...dropped by Hindsight. The right players are ALWAYS picked by that guy.
14/06/2007, 12:31 PM
After Whelan hit the bar Nial Quinn was inches (less even) away from making it 2-0, an inswinging cross from the left that only barely missed Shilton's far post. Quiinn dived at it and must have missed by only a hair's breadth. Any touch, even a fraction of a glance would have put it in. I think!
Wolfie
14/06/2007, 12:41 PM
After Whelan hit the bar Nial Quinn was inches (less even) away from making it 2-0, an inswinging cross from the left that only barely missed Shilton's far post. Quiinn dived at it and must have missed by only a hair's breadth. Any touch, even a fraction of a glance would have put it in. I think!
Correct. Remember it distinctly. Another move involving Whelan and Stapleton put Houghton through just before half time. It was blocked for a corner if memory serves.
Quinn's other contribution that day was, in the dying seconds, to allow the ball soar wide out of play away from our goal and adopt an arms out-stretched "Aeroplane" pose often adopted by kids in the school yard - to indicate - "the balls gone wide!!!!!!!!".
Surprised noones mentioned the Mick Byrne roar to the crowd before the game "WE'LL DO DEM FOR YEZ TODAY".
14/06/2007, 1:23 PM
I'm gonna have to get a copy of this game on DVD. Shame I'll probably never see the likes of this again. I hope Stan proves me wrong......
cavan_fan
14/06/2007, 3:25 PM
Its an interesting contention .. but I think U2 making it to number one in the US (when that was a big thing), Stephen Roche doing the treble .. maybe even Eamonn Coughlan's grin at the superpower of Russia and then legging it to the line in Helsinki in 85 all sowed the seeds of a new confidence in being Irish after all the negativity from the British press and the Troubles. Stuttgart certainly was the cream on the cake.
I remember watching it when I should have been studying for the Inter cert, and when Houghton scored my mother ran into the room and saw myself and by brother hysterically screaming and hugging each other for no good reason. She thought we were fighting again. We both got a clatter, not that we felt anything. :-)
I think the importance is increased in hindsight. I don't think 88 was anywhere near as big a deal as '90 and I think that's because '88 created the interest outside football fans.
Anyway surely Riverdance begat the Celtic Tiger!
cavan_fan
14/06/2007, 3:31 PM
By the way surprised no-one has commented that we have a chance of commemorating the 20th anniversary with a game against Austria in Vienna in Euro2008!, or in the evening match in Klagenfurt. I can just see someone in years to come commemorating our victory against Germany by having the username Klagenfurt08
http://www.uefa.com/multimediafiles/download/competitions/euro/360459_download.pdf
14/06/2007, 3:39 PM
Is Hepititis not an adult form of Jaundice.Hepititis is the condition, jaundice is one of the symptoms.
I was 11 and remember it well, the weather was hot in Ireland too (by our own standards). My dad let a roar out of him when the ball hit the net, flew off the sofa and ran out the patio doors up the garden.
Haven't seen him since.........
14/06/2007, 4:37 PM
I wonder were the patio doors closed at the time?
14/06/2007, 4:50 PM
I wonder were the patio doors closed at the time?Given his state of delirium I doubt he would've noticed or slowed him much.
17/06/2007, 3:57 AM
Was it not 2.06 Irish time? If not, the routine text messages around the world at 2.06pm every 12th June among my network of mates needs to be amended.
It was a 2.30ko over here. The evening games started at 7.15 our time.
Claret Murph
17/06/2007, 10:16 AM
AHHHH YES
I remember it so well I was backpacking at the time in south east asia and decided to head for Malaysia so I could watch the football ( malays are mad about football ) I saw the game in the Cameron highlands with about 9 other Malaysians never forget it fantastic very late evening indeed .
One other game still springs to mind was the Germany v Holland game I was with two Dutch girls and a few Germans watching the game and after the final whistle the two girls burst out crying , all I said to them was that I know what it is like to beat the old enemy ...... they just noded
18/06/2007, 12:00 PM
One other game still springs to mind was the Germany v Holland game I was with two Dutch girls and a few Germans watching the game and after the final whistle the two girls burst out crying , all I said to them was that I know what it is like to beat the old enemy ...... they just noded
was that the begining of a beatiful relationship...threesome ;) i hope it was and you used it to your full advantage :D
Wolfie
18/06/2007, 12:05 PM
AHHHH YES
I remember it so well I was backpacking at the time in south east asia and decided to head for Malaysia so I could watch the football ( malays are mad about football ) I saw the game in the Cameron highlands with about 9 other Malaysians never forget it fantastic very late evening indeed .
What's Noding? Some sort of Lesbo move I wager...............
Fergie's Son
18/06/2007, 4:24 PM
Incredibly day. I think the Houghton skit is very funny. Fair play to him for doing it.
Italia '90 was certainly bigger though. The city just shut down for the tournament. The vibe that summer was amazing, something I'll never forget.
As for the Celtic Tiger, well the seeds were sown by the IDA in the 80's and then really took hold in the mid-90's. Things life river dance did help but then so did having so many high-tech roll-outs in Ireland (cell phones etc.) so we could all feel cutting edge.
19/06/2007, 9:55 AM
how did river-dance help by attracting people to ireland by thinking we are actually good at something other than drinking.
actually on the thing of drinking that reminds me of a scene from beerfest.
19/06/2007, 10:12 AM
Incredibly day. I think the Houghton skit is very funny. Fair play to him for doing it.
Italia '90 was certainly bigger though. The city just shut down for the tournament. The vibe that summer was amazing, something I'll never forget.
As for the Celtic Tiger, well the seeds were sown by the IDA in the 80's and then really took hold in the mid-90's. Things life river dance did help but then so did having so many high-tech roll-outs in Ireland (cell phones etc.) so we could all feel cutting edge.
Italia90 was bigger because the whole country was involved but for me nothing will top Stuttgart. We have played far better and beaten far better teams but it was still our first time in a major finals.
The country was a basket case in the 80's with talk of defaulting on our national debt. It was also known at the time although not yet proven that certain peope were creaming off millions. The success of our football team did give the country a huge confidence boost. A lot of the Celtic Tiger was built on confidence. So yes I think our national team did contribute.
RogerMilla
20/06/2007, 11:24 AM
i think the national team contributed massively to the celtic tiger , people were taking our team seriously and in the same way taking our people seriously , things like EU presidency , eurovision wins , tour de france and an interest in our culture and traditional music all contributed to us being treated with respect on foreign shores.
20/06/2007, 12:24 PM
I got this game on DVD from some bloke on ebay a few years ago
got the same dvd from some lad on ebay. has the itv panel and commentry followed by some dubious looking 1980s film for a few mins at the end!
still looking for ussr '88 game if anyone knows where to get?
cavan_fan
21/06/2007, 10:09 AM
Also looking for Cyprus '06 for my collection, have never seen it, is it good?
21/06/2007, 12:25 PM
got the same dvd from some lad on ebay. has the itv panel and commentry followed by some dubious looking 1980s film for a few mins at the end!
I have the Soviet game both on tape (might be Betamax :o) but also the highlights on an Official VHS tape which was brought out after the tournament. I'll check.
RogerMilla
21/06/2007, 12:27 PM
Also looking for Cyprus '06 for my collection, have never seen it, is it good?
goals galore , you'll love it
Wolfie
21/06/2007, 12:42 PM
I've the RTE coverage of the England and Russia game on VHS which I'm hoping to get converted to DVD soon. Not exactly flawless picture quality but passable.
There's an added bonus on the Russia tape of highlights of Holland v England when Holland demolished England 3 - 1.
Hosted by Bill O'Herlihy and pundits were John Giles (still hanging on to the black hair at that stage) and Don Givens.
Will get a few copies made. Nostalgia is all we have at the minute!!!
21/06/2007, 1:56 PM
Nostalgia is all we have at the minute!!!
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.
21/06/2007, 2:48 PM
Nostalgia is all we have at the minute!!!
Nonsense, I've got plenty of misplaced hope.
Noelys Guitar
21/06/2007, 3:26 PM
I have an ever growing number of straws in my grasp!
Wolfie
21/06/2007, 3:37 PM
That's the spirit - the glass is half full, dammit!!
Bring on the Czech's, Damn their eyes!!!
CHAAAAAAAAAARGE!!!!!
RogerMilla
21/06/2007, 3:56 PM
bring on the slovaks and czechs and this time next year we'll be reminiscing about our hit and run job in eastern europe !!
Noelys Guitar
21/06/2007, 5:10 PM
If we get to 2008 it would surpass anything we have done before IMO. We probably have to pick up 7 points away but might get away with picking up 5 (Czechs imploding). Win all 3 home games. Sounds daunting. Christ it is daunting. But I just have this feeling that we can somehow pull it off.
21/06/2007, 5:23 PM
If we get to 2008 it would surpass anything we have done before IMO. We probably have to pick up 7 points away but might get away with picking up 5 (Czechs imploding). Win all 3 home games. Sounds daunting. Christ it is daunting. But I just have this feeling that we can somehow pull it off.
We have 2 home games left. If we win them both, which I think we should, I'd say 5 points away from home would do it. 3 draws might even be enough.
Noelys Guitar
21/06/2007, 7:06 PM
We have 2 home games left. If we win them both, which I think we should, I'd say 5 points away from home would do it. 3 draws might even be enough.
Had completely forgotten the San Marino home match! See. Another 3 points added. It gets easier by the minute.
Paddy Garcia
21/06/2007, 7:09 PM
Had completely forgotten the San Marino home match! See. Another 3 points added. It gets easier by the minute.
You need to substitute Germany for San Marino - we have played them at home already
22/06/2007, 1:46 AM
We don't have San Marino at home, we beat them 5-0 at home last November. Our only "easy" home game left is Cyprus on the 17th October, that's the wednesday after the Germany game.
gilberto_eire
22/06/2007, 2:03 AM
It was 19 years today that Ray Houghton put the ball in the English net.
an absolute to*ser, would any true irish person do this??.... you can tell where he's really see's himself frm by what he done here.... i know it was a joke but what kind of ''irishman'' goes onto a sketch and makes a mockery of his country??.... ill tell ya what one who has no respect for the flag!!
http://youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M
22/06/2007, 7:28 AM
an absolute to*ser, would any true irish person do this??.... you can tell where he's really see's himself frm by what he done here.... i know it was a joke but what kind of ''irishman'' goes onto a sketch and makes a mockery of his country??.... ill tell ya what one who has no respect for the flag!!
Lighten up - sur eit was in terrible taste but Fantasy Football was like that.
Ray Hoguhton was a hero for his country and not just for the 2 crucial goals v England and Italy but for his general play and commitment.
Plenty of people have made a mockery of our country like the politicans cremaing off tens of millions of our money when unemployment was at 16% and emigration even higher. Not to mentio nthe gobsh$%es who elected them.
22/06/2007, 10:32 AM
Lighten up - sur eit was in terrible taste but Fantasy Football was like that.
Ray Hoguhton was a hero for his country and not just for the 2 crucial goals v England and Italy but for his general play and commitment.
Plenty of people have made a mockery of our country like the politicans cremaing off tens of millions of our money when unemployment was at 16% and emigration even higher. Not to mentio nthe gobsh$%es who elected them.
There was war when it was originally broadcast, several people on the forum (including myself) complained to Ofcom about it.
22/06/2007, 10:38 AM
Another Houghton goal was very nearly crucial: the equaliser in Brussels.
23/06/2007, 7:23 AM
I'm a true Irish person ...and I thought it was priceless. :cool:
Fair play Ray!
gilberto_eire
23/06/2007, 6:48 PM
I'm a true Irish person ...and I thought it was priceless. :cool:
Fair play Ray!
ok whatever about ya thinking it was funny to say ''fair play'' is indicating that he done a good thing when in reality it wasnt!!
23/06/2007, 6:55 PM
ok whatever about ya thinking it was funny to say ''fair play'' is indicating that he done a good thing when in reality it wasnt!!
Why should it be a bad thing to laugh at ourselves??? ...or to have anyone else have a laugh on us every once in a while???
I said fair play to him because it showed he's capable of differentiating between a harmless slagging and disrespectful abuse. It showed he wasn't up his own hole and that he could laugh a little at himself.
Though I'll be seeing him in that Jean Butler get up in my nightmares!:eek:
25/06/2007, 9:24 AM
It is stage Irish stuff with the usual digs about him not being "Irish". He dresses up as a Leprechaun and then as a terrorist :rolleyes:
It's not us "laughing at ourselves". This was a UK programme whose audience was primarily football fans, many ill educated, who would have had their preconceived ideas of Ireland and the Irish (and Jack's team) reinforced by the ridicule. Sure, I thought it was funny but I thought Houghton, my favourite player of the Charlton years, let himself and his country down by conforming to the stereotype image of the Irish by some in the UK. If the sketch had been thought up by Bernard Manning, I wouldn't have been surprised.
I prefer to remember Razor as the best player to wear the green during the Charlton years. The human dynamo, not the buffoon of a comic and racist sketch.
25/06/2007, 9:32 AM
It is stage Irish stuff with the usual digs about him not being "Irish". He dresses up as a Leprechaun and then as a terrorist :rolleyes:
It's not us "laughing at ourselves". This was a UK programme whose audience was primarily football fans, many ill educated, who would have had their preconceived ideas of Ireland and the Irish (and Jack's team) reinforced by the ridicule. Sure, I thought it was funny but I thought Houghton, my favourite player of the Charlton years, let himself and his country down by conforming to the stereotype image of the Irish by some in the UK. If the sketch had been thought up by Bernard Manning, I wouldn't have been surprised.
I prefer to remember Razor as the best player to wear the green during the Charlton years. The human dynamo, not the buffoon of a comic and racist sketch.
Oh will you dry your eyes:D
25/06/2007, 9:44 AM
IIRC the guy who was dressed as the gunman was the producer of the show, who was from Dublin.
25/06/2007, 10:45 AM
skinner is not anti-irish either he always said he loved to see ireland do well....and more importantly he has great respect for shane macgown and genuniely likes him. :D
25/06/2007, 11:04 AM
skinner is not anti-irish either he always said he loved to see ireland do well....and more importantly he has great respect for shane macgown and genuniely likes him. :D
Dunno about that, he nearly had a heart failure when Dermot O'Leary told him he didn't support England, he only supported Ireland
25/06/2007, 12:00 PM
All that was missing from the sketch were a few pigs being driven through a parlour :rolleyes:
25/06/2007, 12:24 PM
All that was missing from the sketch were a few pigs being driven through a parlour :rolleyes:
...or a couple of lads shovelling tar!! They could've put them in our old Orange away shirt.