View Full Version : That new D4 accent

06/06/2007, 9:15 AM
Over the last few years there is a new accent, taught no doubt by elocution teachers, where "house" is pronounced "hi-se", "out" is now "eye-te" and "roundabout" is "rounda-bite". Lorraine Keane is one of leading exponents of this vernacular as is that one with Mark Cagney on TV3 in the morning. Every new reporter/presenter now for TV3 or RTE have this yuppie accent and it is driving me to distraction. Apparently a country accent or a Dublin accent is now passe and uncool and you have to talk as if you're from a mansion in Dalkey.

Give me "Moooyycul" McMullen anyday of the week to this pretentious cr*p.

anto1208
06/06/2007, 9:36 AM
I guess they realise the dublin accient sounds like a homeless cat being scrope across a blackboard to most people and had to get rid of it .

I still get shivers going on holidays and waking up to hear "wa ar yous bleeedin sayen " ( which means pardon me could you repeat that please )

Its just a tiny bit worse than the fake limerick scumbag accient " cumere lu" ?

( come here please )

06/06/2007, 11:28 AM
:eek: Surely no one could sound more pretentious than Michael McMullan

Give me "Moooyycul" McMullen anyday of the week to this pretentious cr*p.

06/06/2007, 11:46 AM
is that the fella who goes " this is michael mcmullan reporting for todayfm sport and weather next or something...." in an english accent?

06/06/2007, 11:50 AM
is that the fella who goes " this is michael mcmullan reporting for todayfm sport and weather next or something...." in an english accent?Yes, Moyyycull McMooollon.

06/06/2007, 12:58 PM
is that the fella who goes " this is michael mcmullan reporting for todayfm sport and weather next or something...." in an english accent?

Jesus I despise that ****!

The d4 accent isn't really new though is it?

06/06/2007, 1:00 PM
The d4 accent isn't really new though is it?
No but it's not really a D4 accent anymore as you hear it almost anywhere on the southside.

06/06/2007, 1:01 PM
ya i do too dodge, but do ye know which i despise more that inchicore ballyfaro accent :D :P only messin.

Its just when someone said moooyculll it stood out straight away and I only hear todayFM about 4 times a year, but that stupid accent sticks out a mile. I thought to be honest he had come from an english radio station.

No but it's not really a D4 accent anymore as you hear it almost anywhere on the southside.

No, you are right, its a cross between a mid-atlantic and mid-irish sea accent, some sort of depraved hybrid nasal singing.

06/06/2007, 1:08 PM
Its just when someone said moooyculll it stood out straight away and I only hear todayFM about 4 times a year, but that stupid accent sticks out a mile. I thought to be honest he had come from an english radio station.

First time I heard it I thought it was a parody of a DJ in a Smashey-n-Nicey kinda way

06/06/2007, 1:15 PM
I don't think Moykle Mockmullin is representative of a particular accent as such, he's just a drawling buffoon who knows nothing about sport.

Equally, the Lorraine Keane accent is more typical of northside girls who've just started secondary school and are trying to soften their vowels in order to sound like their friends. It's a preliminary stage on the road to developing a neutral accent, it's just that LK hasn't progressed beyond it yet...

06/06/2007, 2:11 PM
Lorraine Keane AA roadwatch.

Reminds me of school a poor girl with the same name ( though she might have prounouced it kane ) who anytime she would say something it got followed by "lorraine keane AA roadwatch", and then sometimes when things were quiet it would just be blurted out from anyone in the class....or if anything about weather or roads was introduced into the class etc......poor girl couldn't say anything without being ridiculed. :D

06/06/2007, 2:22 PM
AA Roadwatch are so bad I am sure the girls must have to change their names before they are hired. None of them seem to have what would be termed 'ordinary' names.

06/06/2007, 2:27 PM
I thought I was alone in my hatred for that gimp from Today FM. He represets everything that is wrong with some sports fans in this country.

Roadend
06/06/2007, 2:28 PM
I don't think Moykle Mockmullin is representative of a particular accent as such, he's just a drawling buffoon who knows nothing about sport.

Speaking of drawling buffoons, that Jacqui Hurley one that does the little sports segment after the Simpsons of a monday evening on RTE2. Never has a more clueless person ever attempted to talk about something they clearly know nothing about. I can't begin to explain my rage when she appears on the screen. I suppose I could always turn over.

06/06/2007, 4:51 PM
It's even spread to the upper classes here and the D4 wannabes. :(

It's really infuriating to hear. I had a girlfriend with one before and it wrecked my head. It's a horribly sharp attack of the senses.

06/06/2007, 5:00 PM
There are definitely elecution lessons involved here. Words like "house" and "out" are particularly susceptible to the Dublin accent so they go to elecution lessons and end up as "heiss" and "ite" as in "roundabite". It's an epidemic of huge proportions. It's everywhere. It's doing my head in. I am going ite of my mind.

06/06/2007, 5:49 PM
Speaking of drawling buffoons, that Jacqui Hurley one that does the little sports segment after the Simpsons of a monday evening on RTE2. Never has a more clueless person ever attempted to talk about something they clearly know nothing about. I can't begin to explain my rage when she appears on the screen. I suppose I could always turn over.
Just googled her name to find a photo so I knew who you meant. I don't think I've ever seen the show, but http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=3481492

06/06/2007, 6:10 PM
It would be churlish not to mention Conor MockNamora (son of Limerick and DJ Mickey Mac) in a thread like this. His fake accent and references to Cunny Kenningham, Denny Mehphy and the likes even managed to convince the BBC that he was English. :eek:

The thread title is incorrect as the Lorraine Keane AA Roadwatch accent is actually that old "D4" accent, more properly a "Dort" accent which was always more of a class/wannabee class thing than a regional accent. Even many country lasses adopted this accent. Both Keane and the Ireland AM woman are in their 30s and weren't quite the originators of this accent so it's far from a new thing.

Speaking of Lorraine Keane - I saw her the other day presenting a show that appeared to be called "SEXPO":confused: Hardly an appropriate name for daytime television?

The new D4 accent that is really beneath contempt is that spoken by young ones today who think they're part of some friggin' OC Super Sweet Real Laguna Beach show. Never heard of that Bebo woman in the previous link but OHMIGOD, I bet she TOTALLY has that accent.

kdjaC
06/06/2007, 6:17 PM
I still get shivers going on holidays and waking up to hear "wa ar yous bleeedin sayen " ( which means pardon me could you repeat that please )

You go to Dublin on your holidays? :eek:

kdjac

06/06/2007, 9:35 PM
Its just a tiny bit worse than the fake limerick scumbag accient " cumere lu" ?

( come here please )

But that's moderno-reductionist fake Limerick scumbag.

Expressive-middle-nonfake Limerick Scumbag which reached it's Xenith in the late '80's was a far richer vernacular. A classic example would be

"He-ur handbag gi's two-bob illuh" Translation: "Greetings citizen whom I'm pre-supposing to be a homosexual ...would you by any chance have some spare change?"

07/06/2007, 8:59 AM
And of course not forgetting Rhyll Nugent of "Glory glory Munster" fame. Apart from the fact that he is a cr*p commentator, his alecadoo accent drives me mental. At least it's rugby which is famous for its Hurray Henrys and the presenter Tom McGuirk and indeed George Hook all speak as if they were born in the posh part of Buckingham Palace.

The question is now in the media to get on do you have to speak with no hint of an Irish accent, which is a bit ironic bearing in mind the dis dat dese and dose spoken by the Taoiseach :rolleyes:

Erstwhile Bóz
07/06/2007, 9:46 AM
At least the recent trend for Australian newsreaders on the radio and TV3 seems to have ended. (Bethan Kilfoil's days may be numbered, too.)

The weirdest thing you'll hear in the media is the former Workers' Party chap who is RnaG's political editor; he speaks Galway Irish in a weird English accent. Doesn't pronounce the -r- at the end of words, and all that.

Although he might have a speech impediment, come to think of it. Never heard him speak English. In which case it's sad.

07/06/2007, 10:05 AM
The girl doing that ad for getting peoples old mobile phones has a terribly grating D4 accent :(
Oh God save me , Susan McFadden on Today FM now

Wolfie
07/06/2007, 12:48 PM
The thread title is incorrect as the Lorraine Keane AA Roadwatch accent is actually that old "D4" accent, more properly a "Dort" accent which was always more of a class/wannabee class thing than a regional accent. Even many country lasses adopted this accent. Both Keane and the Ireland AM woman are in their 30s and weren't quite the originators of this accent so it's far from a new thing.

Speaking of Lorraine Keane - I saw her the other day presenting a show that appeared to be called "SEXPO":confused: Hardly an appropriate name for daytime television?

The new D4 accent that is really beneath contempt is that spoken by young ones today who think they're part of some friggin' OC Super Sweet Real Laguna Beach show. Never heard of that Bebo woman in the previous link but OHMIGOD, I bet she TOTALLY has that accent.

The above was my take on it as well. There's at least two of the "affected" D4 accents.

The "Dort" accent has been around for a couple of generations. I remember reading that there's a school of thought that the children of, or indeed, the originators childrens children - have begun to speak in this accent without "affecting" it. The accent has actually taken hold!!! Loike Gear!!!

The "OC Super Sweet Real Laguna Beach Show" accent - its so vile sounding it must exist.

07/06/2007, 5:08 PM
It would be churlish not to mention Conor MockNamora (son of Limerick and DJ Mickey Mac) in a thread like this. His fake accent and references to Cunny Kenningham, Denny Mehphy and the likes even managed to convince the BBC that he was English. :eek:
I was always convinced that he was an Englishman who had Irish parents. I really can't believe he grew up in Limerick. Terry Wogan is not that bad and he's been living in England for a lot longer.

08/06/2007, 10:07 AM
Looks like we are all in agreement on this, which is good for a change
that Macmilliam or whatever is a right pain alright
and Ryle Nugent, how did he get a job on RTE, he is very bad at comentating

Since I have returned home from a few years out of the country i have to say i find the dart accent isnt as prelevant as it used to be, or am i totally wrong?

08/06/2007, 10:12 AM
Since I have returned home from a few years out of the country i have to say i find the dart accent isnt as prelevant as it used to be, or am i totally wrong?
Like, totally.

08/06/2007, 10:25 AM
Think Bob Geldof was the prime suspect in spreading that D4 Dort Accent.

Of course there is also a Cork version, which can be heard down in Mon-ten-ottty

08/06/2007, 6:54 PM

Watch TV3 and listen to the accents: especially the women. The D4 accent is all over the shop.

Wolfie
20/02/2008, 12:41 PM
Anyone heard those "Accountancy Solutions" ads on the radio at the moment?

Like totally, D4, Roight? Gear.

citizenerased
21/02/2008, 12:23 PM
its not so much the traditional d4 accent, it is more the new dublin californian accent spoken by the OC generation, usually birds speak it, rugar huggars and the like

21/02/2008, 12:27 PM
its not so much the traditional d4 accent, it is more the new dublin californian accent spoken by the OC generation, usually birds speak it, rugar huggars and the like
Thats the one, the D4/American accent that is THE most irritating accent I have ever heard. I'm a culchie, I dont try to hide the fact but girls from here coming home at the weekends with the "O.M.G, wall I was like totally roight" statements make me soooo frickin mad

21/02/2008, 12:56 PM
And now the Gerry Ryan show in the morning is being advertised by a man with an American accent :confused: Are we ashamed of our own accents and have to look up to foreign or invented D4 accents?

Beavis
21/02/2008, 12:58 PM
There are definitely elecution lessons involved here. Words like "house" and "out" are particularly susceptible to the Dublin accent so they go to elecution lessons and end up as "heiss" and "ite" as in "roundabite". It's an epidemic of huge proportions. It's everywhere. It's doing my head in. I am going ite of my mind.

They tried to soften Jason Sherlock's accent when he was doing that 'Rapid' sports show on RTE. You could see he was constantly trying to restrain himself.Think he's forgotten all he's been taught now though. His co-presenter on that show was gone so over the top on elocution that she nearly ate her own face.

"OC Super Sweet Real Laguna Beach Show"
Ha ha that needs to become an officially recognised(and widely resented) accent....
and social class!

kingdom hoop
21/02/2008, 1:22 PM
Are we ashamed of our own accents and have to look up to foreign or invented D4 accents?

You'd wonder alright wouldn't you. Though accent changes can often be subconscious I feel, and very much subject to how those around you speak - making the propagation of these awful twangs all the more worrying! - and also by what you aspire to; so if you watch Laguna Beach etc then there's a good chance you'll succumb.

As a little aside, I did a bit of travelling last year and on two separate occasions was told, by an Australian and Swede, that Irish accents are their favourites in the world. All hope is not lost!

22/02/2008, 12:57 PM
Thats the one, the D4/American accent that is THE most irritating accent I have ever heard. I'm a culchie, I dont try to hide the fact but girls from here coming home at the weekends with the "O.M.G, wall I was like totally roight" statements make me soooo frickin mad

Its in Portarlington too. Not cool. Loike.

lofty9
22/02/2008, 2:29 PM
I thought I was alone in my hatred for that gimp from Today FM. He represets everything that is wrong with some sports fans in this country.

100% on the button.

Has anyone seen the buffoon on Setanta, I think it's a GAA show?

22/02/2008, 2:49 PM
Watch TV3 and listen to the accents: especially the women. The D4 accent is all over the shop.

...in D24. :confused:

22/02/2008, 3:16 PM
Anyone see Annie Mac on BBC. Jeez has both a fake D4 AND a fake posh london accent. Weirdo

13/03/2008, 4:59 PM
Anyone see Annie Mac on BBC. Jeez has both a fake D4 AND a fake posh london accent. Weirdo

I hear what you mean :D

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/mainframe.shtml?http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/radio1_aod.shtml?radio1/anniemac_sat

michaelguineys
13/03/2008, 8:53 PM

Ya she is one muppet alright! Hasnt a clue
As for that Moooyycul McMullen fella......sweet jesus.
And don't get me started on Lorraine keane or that Sinead Desmond one or that fcukin GIMP Ryle Nugent. "Glory Glory Munster"
Did you ever hear such ****e in all your life? Ghoul