View Full Version : St Pats V Utd

Tir Oilean
01/06/2007, 8:01 AM
Tony is going for a result tonight which is good to see and he has a full squad to choose from. Methinks O'Flynn and Glynn will be up front again doubt there'll be any changes throughout the pitch tbh. A draw would be great in Richmond Park. But having seen Pats play twice this season (albeit away from Richmond) I dont think they're as good as you might think so they might be there for the taking.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 9:10 AM
I'd say he'll stick with the same 11 as Longford, I haven't been that impressed with Pats either. Alan Kirby was in the stand in Longford the other night, no doubt having a spy on United.
If we can get a good start like the other night theres no reason why we cant pick up another 3 points! COME ON UNITED!

Claret Murph
01/06/2007, 9:18 AM
I would be over the moon with a win but happy with a point right now .
I wish he plays 4-4-2 . I remember a Cork City fan ( may have been Pete ) saying that if you go out for the draw sometimes you may be lucky but on the whole you will get beaten over the course of the season more times than not .
TC go for the win as 3 points could have us above Sligo on Friday night .:)

MyTown
01/06/2007, 10:51 AM
Same ref as last Friday:(

Think some of us might be getting a bit carried away here with the predictions.

Definitely, a lot of the games have been tight - but (sorry for the boring repetition) - the table does not lie.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 11:14 AM
Same ref as last Friday:(

Oh NO !:mad: This guy was terrible last week, worst ref I've seen this season. What's his name again?
Edit: Got it - Anthony Buttimer, gone into my black book!

Tir Oilean
01/06/2007, 11:47 AM
You'd want to give him a straight red from what I heard!

eamo1
01/06/2007, 1:45 PM
so john,ciaran,alan and derek in midfield i guess with lester and cooke on the bench,not bad.
prediction 1-1.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 1:48 PM
Game will be streamed live on www.galwaybayfm.ie from 8pm

Gaillimh Al
01/06/2007, 6:27 PM
Hoping for a draw as I backed it at 11-4. But it will be tough. Pat's form has dipped recently, but if they create as many chances as Longford wasted, chances are we'll be lucky to prevent them scoring at least one. We're due a shock win, though, so you never know.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 7:17 PM
1-0 Pats 29 mins Quigley

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 7:20 PM
1-1 Glynn

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 7:31 PM
1-1 Ht

01/06/2007, 8:00 PM
Russell on for Glynn.

01/06/2007, 8:05 PM
Utd went very close there.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 8:17 PM
2-1 glynn go on

01/06/2007, 8:18 PM
2-1 glynn go onThought Glynn was taken off for Russell?:confused:

01/06/2007, 8:19 PM
RTE definately said he'd gone off!

looping
01/06/2007, 8:19 PM
2-1 glynn go on

2-1 for who??? pats or galway!?

01/06/2007, 8:20 PM
RTE definately said he'd gone off!I know, I heard it too. Maybe RTE's Errortel extends to there radio aswell?:rolleyes:
2-1 for who??? pats or galway!?Galway.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 8:22 PM
foley went off for russell at half time

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 8:24 PM
Glynn has just gone off now for Cooke

01/06/2007, 8:25 PM
How do you mistake Foley for anyone? FFS RTE?

looping
01/06/2007, 8:27 PM
I know, I heard it too. Maybe RTE's Errortel extends to there radio aswell?:rolleyes:Galway.

right sligoman

82' St. Patricks [1 - 2] Galway

29' [1 - 0] M. Quigley

34' [1 - 1] Glynn

75' [1 - 2] Glynn

http://livescore.com/default.dll?page=home

01/06/2007, 8:28 PM
How do you mistake Foley for anyone? FFS RTE?Sure the guy commenting on Shams game has said Bray are playing Sligo Rovers, twice, in two seperate reports. You'd think he'd learn from his mistake, he's at the match ffs.

01/06/2007, 8:39 PM
Some feckin result for GU- jeez if ye don't beat us 8-0 at least ye may as well withdraw from football altogether.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 8:46 PM
What a result, finally we're getting the results our performances have deserved. Glynn could be a future United legend in the making!

01/06/2007, 8:47 PM
I reckon Harps will sign him in July.

looping
01/06/2007, 8:49 PM
how come GU 2 wins are away and not one at home?? someone has an answer?

DonO'Bate
01/06/2007, 9:02 PM
Great result, great goals by Derek Glynn by all accounts. O'Flynn's brawn and Glynn's pace will trouble any defence. Two home games next I think Harps in the Cup and Rovers at home which is live on the TV and with Rovers winning tonight there should be a huge crowd at this match.

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 9:09 PM

3 wins away from home, we have been very unlucky at home in a number of games, hopefully our luck has turned now. Any chance of you coming back to United Looping?

Gaillimh Al
01/06/2007, 9:51 PM
Two cracking goals from Glynn if the report from Errortel is to be believed. Fair play to him, I didn't think he'd do it at this level. Here's hoping for more of the same.

galwaygirl
02/06/2007, 4:02 AM
answer is......
u have 2 b playin 4 the home games.....
bring back our Damo.....

02/06/2007, 10:45 AM
Great performance by UTD last night.
We looked like the team that was Top of the League.Pats goal was totally against the run of play in the 1st place but the 2 crackers from Glynn more than cancelled that faux pas out.
I think all Saints fans will agree we were on Top the whole game and could easily have had one or two more.

Poor support and atmosphere from Pats i thought considering they're Top of the League.Very friendly up there though.

It was also a pity that we had our smallest away support of the season aswell.Tops 70...maybe 60.
Hopefully this result will get us back from the 1500's into the 2000+ mark again for Harps and Rovers.

Buller
02/06/2007, 1:11 PM
Great result, great goals by Derek Glynn by all accounts. O'Flynn's brawn and Glynn's pace will trouble any defence. Two home games next I think Harps in the Cup and Rovers at home which is live on the TV and with Rovers winning tonight there should be a huge crowd at this match.

its a shame that new stand wont be ready in time!

pixiehead
02/06/2007, 2:07 PM
Well Done to United and Derek Glynn From All In the Mayo Maroons :)
Although He might not be too Happy that Mark McCadden in the Star said He was from Castlebar ( and not Claremorris) :D

MyTown
02/06/2007, 2:18 PM
Congrats to Tony & the lads. Brilliant stuff and long overdue for the effort put in.

The table made for sweet viewing since about 10.30 last night, even if its only for a few hours.

And today's Irish Times featured a report by Emett Malone AND a photograph of Derek Glynn............

I think I need a lie down............

MyTown
02/06/2007, 2:20 PM
Some feckin result for GU- jeez if ye don't beat us 8-0 at least ye may as well withdraw from football altogether.

Trust Harps to start getting their act together with the prospect of a trip to Galway. Must've been the ban on Hegarty that did it for them, but Gethins amongst the goals, albeit a peno makes it odds on he'll nick one in Terryland.

02/06/2007, 3:26 PM
We've been starting to get it together for a while now, hopefully Hegarty has learned the knack of cup runs from his time with Kenny.

Hegarty is suspended for the match at Terryland though.

Losing Chris Breen is a big blow to us as he was our main creative strength recently. That said Gethins and Parkhouse seem to be improving with every game and with confidence high I reckon we'll make a right game of it.

Patrick Dunne
02/06/2007, 3:50 PM
Is Breen gone back to Shamrock Rovers ?

One would hope that there will be 2,000 punters in Terryland for this match.

02/06/2007, 3:55 PM
No- he's going to Australia for a year. Typical that he finally got into goalscoring form just before he was due to go. Still, O Loughlin will do well on the right if he's given the chance I think.

kdjaC
02/06/2007, 8:15 PM
http://www.stpatsfc.com/watch_video.php?id=65

2 crackin goals but tbh the highlights pretty much sum up the game, glad it was only 2.

kdjac

eamo1
02/06/2007, 11:46 PM
was dying to see them on e.l weekly but ive just seen them there and they were 2 quality goals.the link is greatly appreciated,cheers.

gufcfan
03/06/2007, 2:08 AM
Just lookin at the highlights there and glynn's 1st was pure class. great move initially but he had a lot of work to do all the same.

Fair play derek

gufcfan
03/06/2007, 2:12 AM
Whats with the sountrack?

"Ive been asleep,
I need to wake up,
Noooooow,
Doo doo doo."

Was that intentional self mocking, or what????

Claret Murph
03/06/2007, 5:36 AM
I would be over the moon with a win but happy with a point right now .
I wish he plays 4-4-2 . I remember a Cork City fan ( may have been Pete ) saying that if you go out for the draw sometimes you may be lucky but on the whole you will get beaten over the course of the season more times than not .
TC go for the win as 3 points could have us above Sligo on Friday night .:)

FIRST IRISHMAN IN SPACE .
Sorry lads for not commenting about Friday's result any sooner as I only have just got back from the moon , not many United fans up there but I did see a half a banner left by one which said "never send a boy on a" I will only have to guess what the rest of it was .
No but a fantastic result .
NO FEAR , NO FEAR , NO FEAR to whoever we play ,onward and very much upward .:)

Tir Oilean
04/06/2007, 10:22 AM
FIRST IRISHMAN IN SPACE .
Sorry lads for not commenting about Friday's result any sooner as I only have just got back from the moon , not many United fans up there but I did see a half a banner left by one which said "never send a boy on a" I will only have to guess what the rest of it was .
No but a fantastic result .
NO FEAR , NO FEAR , NO FEAR to whoever we play ,onward and very much upward .:)

Drunken POTM!!!!:):D

Tir Oilean
04/06/2007, 11:00 AM
Just watched the goals there (thanks for the link btw) Absolutely effin class! I had my doubts about signing him but he showed his class there. If he can keep lamping them in like that he'll push for top scorer. He has only started 3 games and has 4 Quigley is on top with 9 but afaik he started most of Pats games this season. Great individual efforts he had quite a bit to do once he got the ball. If he gets tracked by a UK team in time he shouldn't let go for less than a million!!

Paddyfield
04/06/2007, 7:10 PM
If he gets tracked by a UK team in time he shouldn't let go for less than a million!!

Drunken POTM 2

Tir Oilean
04/06/2007, 8:52 PM
Drunken POTM 2

Unfortunately not! Maybe the wishful POTM!

Claret Murph
05/06/2007, 6:21 AM
Hang on lads , can someone tell what a POMT ! is please and a drunken one at that .