View Full Version : Weekend's latest

Pages : 1 [2]

01/06/2007, 9:00 PM
Pats losing with Cork, Derry and Drogs drawing gives us the chance to go second

Yeah, coz we're a real threat right now :rolleyes:

01/06/2007, 9:01 PM
i think it is one of the poorest premier leagues we have seen in a while in terms of standard.

Agreed

01/06/2007, 9:04 PM
Tonight results shows that there is very little between any team in the league and i think it is one of the poorest premier leagues we have seen in a while in terms of standard.

have to agree. havin crap managers with good squads(doolin) makes it even tighter. wish we could put out a first choice 11 for a few games and u never know where we might finish

oriel
01/06/2007, 9:33 PM
some very surprsing results tonight, u would have got some price on drogs only drawing and pats losing. fair play to galway though, some time to kick start their season - whos the glynn fella, any relation to johnny, fai cup final winning goal fame (91 was it)

first div - honestly didnt see cobh dropping pts and Lim'k losing, but fear not rams and 37`s, you`ll still finish in top 2.

01/06/2007, 9:37 PM
no relation to johnny, oriel. Derek is from claremorris (I think). Scored 30 goals in the mayo league last season. I thought the jump might have been to big for him but if he can keep up his work rate he could do well for us this season.

Gaillimh Al
01/06/2007, 9:48 PM
Matthew Judge scored 2 against Cork, watch out!:rolleyes:

Great comparison alright. Judge an underage international who was with Spurs compared to Glynn who was top scorer in the Mayo junior league 2 seasons running. Finding a 24 year old with no experience who can score goals at this level is not easily done.

01/06/2007, 11:26 PM
UCD now 2-1 up. Shocking decision by the ref I heard.

got a text from the brother to say that UCD player was a mile offside in the lead up to the 2nd goal.

****** 3-1.

ref playing a blinder according to the brother.

Disallowed goal and two blatant handballs in the box turned down by the ref.
Partizan I don't know what exactly you were told but Waterford fans can have no hard feelings over the referee's decisions. We were given two platant penalties and Waterford had a goal disallowed for an obvious foul. Ref got a load of boos at the end from the Waterford fans as well.:rolleyes:

On another note Waterford were terrible. We could have scored 6 or 7 and that sort of scoreline would have been an accurate reflection of the game.

01/06/2007, 11:29 PM
but fear not rams and 37`s, you`ll still finish in top 2.

So Dundalk to finish at best 3rd then?

Drogman.
02/06/2007, 8:54 AM
have to agree. havin crap managers with good squads(doolin)

Agree about the league being poor, but remind me again how many trophies Sligo have won in the past 5 years? :rolleyes:

02/06/2007, 9:05 AM
Agree about the league being poor, but remind me again how many trophies Sligo have won in the past 5 years? :rolleyes:

They'll still have a ground next year all the same.

swano
02/06/2007, 9:09 AM
Doolin is doing a terrible job. Drogs should win the league by 10 points with the squad they have. At least the league doesn't look like it'll be a 2 horse race anymore. Transfer window will be interesting.

Billy Lord
02/06/2007, 9:23 AM
Doolin is doing a terrible job. Drogs should win the league by 10 points with the squad they have. At least the league doesn't look like it'll be a 2 horse race anymore. Transfer window will be interesting.
If Drogheda sign another 426 players they'll be fine.

02/06/2007, 10:43 AM
Great performance by UTD last night.
We looked like the team that was Top of the League.Pats goal was totally against the run of play in the 1st place but the 2 crackers from Glynn more than cancelled that faux pas out.
I think all Saints fans will agree we were on Top the whole game and could easily have had one or two more.

Poor support and atmosphere from Pats i thought considering they're Top of the League.Very friendly up there though.

02/06/2007, 11:31 AM
first div - honestly didnt see cobh dropping pts and Lim'k losing, but fear not rams and 37`s, you`ll still finish in top 2.

I think we should remember this quote ;) can u honestly say that u think Lims r better than Harps? We'll be up in top 3 at the end, u mark my words, and put a few quid on us @ 6/1 wi paddypower to be up there too.

forza
02/06/2007, 12:59 PM
We looked like the team that was Top of the League.Pats goal was totally against the run of play in the 1st place but the 2 crackers from Glynn more than cancelled that faux pas out.
I think all Saints fans will agree we were on Top the whole game and could easily have had one or two more.

Poor support and atmosphere from Pats i thought considering they're Top of the League.Very friendly up there though.

You could have had 5 imo.

We were disgraceful.

And we're always friendly well to Galway anyway ;)

http://www.stpatsfc.com/watch_video.php?id=65 Highlights

oriel
02/06/2007, 4:46 PM
I think we should remember this quote ;) can u honestly say that u think Lims r better than Harps? We'll be up in top 3 at the end, u mark my words, and put a few quid on us @ 6/1 wi paddypower to be up there too.

typo - i meant to say i`m expecting Cobh + Limerick to finish in the top 3, ie to make play offs.

At start of season i fully expected harps to challenge us for automatic promotion, they still have a chance with the play off as there 20 + games left, but for my money they have dropped far too many points at home

kdjaC
02/06/2007, 5:21 PM
Could have been so much more, thankfully only 2. Completley outplayed no complaints losing to a side that beats you playing like that.

Summer shopping sprees should be fun, players need to join up asap to get used to their new teams altho none can play till july.

kdjac

Leejo
02/06/2007, 8:15 PM
Sligo 1 (Judge)
Bohs 1 (Rossiter pen)

kdjaC
02/06/2007, 8:55 PM
2-1 sligo

Guillem be on tv later asking if anyone actually wants to win it, only Rovers won this week but sadly wont be able to compete with the others additions in the next few weeks.

Cork Healy Farrelly + few quid from gamble and roy sales.
Bohs have to get rid but will sign someone prolly a left winger.
Pats jaysus everyone we signing everyone!!!!! most likly jason Byrne, Barry Quinn and Owen Morrison.
Derry a keeper and a manager.
Drogs Robbie corner flag loving Doyle 7 strikers might be enough.
Rovers????? No money to spend but Scully gets the best out of players and i reckon they be short with 1 injury.

At this stage still think its Drogs title to lose and the longer we stay on top the less we will fall, top 4 and SSC has and will do me for this season. But hey Top of the league at the break and top scorers hehheehhe

kdjac

02/06/2007, 9:42 PM
ahh that was nice. the most thrilling 90 minutes i've ever witnessed in my life

02/06/2007, 9:45 PM
ahh that was nice. the most thrilling 90 minutes i've ever witnessed in my life
amen to that..

lets hope there all back in 5 weeks time :D

Aaron
02/06/2007, 10:29 PM
2-1 sligo

Guillem be on tv later asking if anyone actually wants to win it, only Rovers won this week but sadly wont be able to compete with the others additions in the next few weeks.

Cork Healy Farrelly + few quid from gamble and roy sales.
Bohs have to get rid but will sign someone prolly a left winger.
Pats jaysus everyone we signing everyone!!!!! most likly jason Byrne, Barry Quinn and Owen Morrison.
Derry a keeper and a manager.
Drogs Robbie corner flag loving Doyle 7 strikers might be enough.
Rovers????? No money to spend but Scully gets the best out of players and i reckon they be short with 1 injury.

At this stage still think its Drogs title to lose and the longer we stay on top the less we will fall, top 4 and SSC has and will do me for this season. But hey Top of the league at the break and top scorers hehheehhe

kdjac

We also need a creative midfielder and a striker who will score. Martyn might be returning so that'll sort out the midfield option and we're after Sammy Morrow

kdjaC
02/06/2007, 10:34 PM
We also need a creative midfielder and a striker who will score. Martyn might be returning so that'll sort out the midfield option and we're after Sammy Morrow

Farren and McHugh will and can score and of course the legend Peter Hynes :D

Prolly more the service that needs working on. Owen Morrison is semingly between us and you lot. Dunno anything about him whether he a home boy or a money boy.

kdjac

Aaron
02/06/2007, 11:35 PM
Farren and McHugh will and can score and of course the legend Peter Hynes :D

Prolly more the service that needs working on. Owen Morrison is semingly between us and you lot. Dunno anything about him whether he a home boy or a money boy.

kdjac

Farren needs a few to get him going, hopefully his goal last night will get him started. McHugh dosnt seem to be a goalscorer since coming. It could be something to do with him being played up top by Harps but with us he drops back more and links play, a bit like Gary Beckett. Hynes is simply a target man, no more.

As for Owen Morrison, we were after him last season but Kenny didnt think he was good enough, i'd say if we dont come in for him, he'll go to you lot. He's a good player and iof we do make an offer for him, the lure of a homecoming might just win his signature over Pat's. He's not someone we need at the minute though

03/06/2007, 12:38 PM
. McHugh dosnt seem to be a goalscorer since coming. It could be something to do with him being played up top by Harps but with us he drops back more and links play, a bit like Gary Beckett. .

we'll take him back then :p He needs to be right up top, given a full season up top he will score 15-20 goals easily. I think ye need sum1 to get McCourt and shake him up, one of the most talented footballers in LOI.
Ye not as bad at the back as bein made out, only Pats, Bohs and Sham Rovers conceded less. But on the other hand only, Bray, Waterford and Longford have scored less. Strange for a team that scored freely last season.

swano
03/06/2007, 12:43 PM
We've let a few go from the wage bill so we should be able to bring in 1 or 2 players who are on frees. We could do with Eric McGuill and Shiels getting fit at some stage too.

Aaron
03/06/2007, 1:35 PM
we'll take him back then He needs to be right up top, given a full season up top he will score 15-20 goals easily. I think ye need sum1 to get McCourt and shake him up, one of the most talented footballers in LOI.
Ye not as bad at the back as bein made out, only Pats, Bohs and Sham Rovers conceded less. But on the other hand only, Bray, Waterford and Longford have scored less. Strange for a team that scored freely last season.

Our problem is we need a creative midfielder, with martyn away there is no-one yo make the runs he did. McCafferty isnt being given a chance, Higgins is poor at the min, so midfield is our problem. McHugh has adapted well to the Gary Beckett roll, maybe a ready made replacement when Beckett leaves at the end of the season

We've let a few go from the wage bill so we should be able to bring in 1 or 2 players who are on frees. We could do with Eric McGuill and Shiels getting fit at some stage too.

Who have you let go, apart from kelleher and Colbert?

swano
03/06/2007, 2:05 PM
Our problem is we need a creative midfielder, with martyn away there is no-one yo make the runs he did. McCafferty isnt being given a chance, Higgins is poor at the min, so midfield is our problem. McHugh has adapted well to the Gary Beckett roll, maybe a ready made replacement when Beckett leaves at the end of the season

Who have you let go, apart from kelleher and Colbert?

Stephen Maher. Rumours that another could be on his way too. Should free up enough money for a player or two.
Either way I'm not too bothered as we've a young and improving team. Too soon for a real title challenge though.

Aaron
03/06/2007, 2:10 PM
So you have basically released those who you signed bar Barrett and O'Brien??? You have a good young side but i think you need a little experience in there to help also

swano
03/06/2007, 2:19 PM
We still have Ferguson too and he provides experience. If we somehow got into europe it would be an amazing season. Scully is doing an excellent job and if we keep the core of this team together we can only get better.

green army
03/06/2007, 3:51 PM

Agreed. two great goals.

03/06/2007, 4:32 PM
Yep, Pats were awful on Friday. No complaints at all. Two good finishes (though I thought O'Flynn was fouling Darragh Maguire before the second goal). Galway looked very useful and if they keep playing like that should move up the league. Shocking Pats crowd at the match too, as was mentioned earlier. The only blessing is that no-one really took advantage of the slip. Hopefully it was just a one off. Maybe this year the break will do us good. The league definitely looks more competitive this year, with more teams taking points off the top four. Whether this means the top teams are poorer, or the rest have improved, is open to debate I suppose. Either way, it looks like making for a good title race.

Dr.Nightdub
04/06/2007, 2:35 PM
Biggest revelations so far have been us and Rovers. A few astute signings and a change to 3-5-2 have worked wonders for us, got to say Johnny Mc is having his best season yet. Transfer window will make a huge difference to us I reckon and all we've been wanting for months is to still be in contention come the window. UCD and Galway games show we've still got awful frailties that may cost us.

Similarly, Scully is doing an incredible job with a young, inexperienced (at Premier level) squad at Rovers. Injuries / suspensions could count against them later on, not sure if they have the squad to cope with that and as their board is very sensibly intent on staying in the black rather than spending their way to top three, I can't see them going higher than where they are.

In fact, I can't see the top 4 changing much beyond what's currently there - the team with the best attack (us), the biggest squad (Drogheda) and the best defence (Bohs and Rovers).

The most Cork can do is catch up on Rovers but they seem to be hanging an awful lot on having Healy and Farrelly available, whereas I think their problem is up front - O'Donovan has scored half their goals and looks a good bet to move in the summer. Think they've left too much ground to do more than challenge for 4th at this stage.

Derry, UCD and Sligo are all capable of messing up other teams' aspirations, but that's the most they'll do.

Assuming us and Bohs spend during the window and Drogheda remain content with getting their squad back to full availability, I reckon it'll be 1-2-3 from that. Still Drogheda's to lose, as they're more used to challenging for silverware, so my guess is Drogheda-us-Bohs come November.

swano
04/06/2007, 3:31 PM
Biggest revelations so far have been us and Rovers. A few astute signings and a change to 3-5-2 have worked wonders for us, got to say Johnny Mc is having his best season yet. Transfer window will make a huge difference to us I reckon and all we've been wanting for months is to still be in contention come the window. UCD and Galway games show we've still got awful frailties that may cost us.

Similarly, Scully is doing an incredible job with a young, inexperienced (at Premier level) squad at Rovers. Injuries / suspensions could count against them later on, not sure if they have the squad to cope with that and as their board is very sensibly intent on staying in the black rather than spending their way to top three, I can't see them going higher than where they are.

In fact, I can't see the top 4 changing much beyond what's currently there - the team with the best attack (us), the biggest squad (Drogheda) and the best defence (Bohs and Rovers).

The most Cork can do is catch up on Rovers but they seem to be hanging an awful lot on having Healy and Farrelly available, whereas I think their problem is up front - O'Donovan has scored half their goals and looks a good bet to move in the summer. Think they've left too much ground to do more than challenge for 4th at this stage.

Derry, UCD and Sligo are all capable of messing up other teams' aspirations, but that's the most they'll do.

Assuming us and Bohs spend during the window and Drogheda remain content with getting their squad back to full availability, I reckon it'll be 1-2-3 from that. Still Drogheda's to lose, as they're more used to challenging for silverware, so my guess is Drogheda-us-Bohs come November.

Think it's too early to be putting Derry alongside the likes of Sligo. They've had a very bad start but still have much more quality in their team than the other teams in mid table. Letting Martyn go seems like a crazy decision although he may be back(?) and Farren will should find form at some stage.

05/06/2007, 2:00 AM
The most Cork can do is catch up on Rovers.
The most we can do is gain 3 points?:confused:
Come on.
'Catching up' with 3rd place Bohs atm would consist of winning our game in hand.

I take your point about up front being the problem.
The two lads would want to get over England or else get over to England.

05/06/2007, 1:17 PM
If Pats can get their strongest XI out most of the time I think they will go on to win the league. However that is extremely unlikely. It all depends on what sort of cover they bring in during the transfer window.

Drogs defence not as solid as last year but that's down to them being slightly more adventurous and thus scoring more. However now with Fabio injured it will be back to 10 men behind the ball when 1-0 up tactic. Despite all their quality I can't see them winning the league. 1 win in their last 6 has slipped under the radar also.

Bohs are solid and effective albeit awful to watch. Only problem is that they are effectively playing a man down when Fenn is on the pitch as ball doesn't go to his feet so he drops too deep. Their away form is a major stumbling block to them winning the league.

I think Cork will be exposed as not being much when O'Donovan leaves in July. They are very reliant on his goals. If Gamble also leaves that could see them slip outside the top half, unless signings are made. Farrelly and Healy won't have much of an effect IMO.

Rovers are well organised, concdede very little and can play ball and have Purcell to put the ball away. I expect them to push into the top 3. I wouldn't be surprised to see an all Dubs top 2 either.

swano
05/06/2007, 2:51 PM
If Pats can get their strongest XI out most of the time I think they will go on to win the league. However that is extremely unlikely. It all depends on what sort of cover they bring in during the transfer window.

Drogs defence not as solid as last year but that's down to them being slightly more adventurous and thus scoring more. However now with Fabio injured it will be back to 10 men behind the ball when 1-0 up tactic. Despite all their quality I can't see them winning the league. 1 win in their last 6 has slipped under the radar also.

Drogs should have Dan Connor and Gavin back soon enough which means out with the Finnish flapper. Shelly to right back and Lynch out too. If that happens their defence should be a lot better.