View Full Version : Record transfer fees

Steve Bruce
31/05/2007, 1:30 PM
I'm bored in work today so anyway.

What is the highest transfer fee paid by a LOI club?

What is the highest transfer fee received by a LOI club

What is the highest amount of transfer money spent in one season by one club and also by the league as a whole.

Linfields highest spent on one player is £55,000(€80,798.80) for Glenn Ferguson. We also spent 50k(€73,453.46) on Paul McGhee from Wimbledon. Tony Gorman cost 35k(€51,417.42).

There are many more examples I could give for Linfield.

31/05/2007, 1:33 PM
Highest recieved I'd imagine was Bennet Cork to Reading. What was the fee €450 grand or something like that? Highest paid? Was that Zayed Bray to Drogs?

Steve Bruce
31/05/2007, 1:40 PM
Highest recieved I'd imagine was Bennet Cork to Reading. What was the fee €450 grand or something like that? Highest paid? Was that Zayed Bray to Drogs?

450:eek:

That's £306,316. Not bad.

One sale like that would bring Linfield back into the black. Although we'll be back in the black by the next AGM anyways.

31/05/2007, 1:53 PM
Bennett was £260k.- http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,2010408,00.html

31/05/2007, 2:10 PM
Bennett was £260k.- http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,2010408,00.html

Ah must just have been the usual Cork exagerated figure that I heard. Or maybe the deal has a potential value of 4 something?

31/05/2007, 2:20 PM

Plus the 25K add on for his first cap, another 25k after 10 apps and 20% sell on fee.

€525,000 was turned down from Hull City for Roy O'Donovan in January

31/05/2007, 2:28 PM
Highest paid is either Shane Barrett's or Zayed's transfer to Drogs. I'm guessing here but I'd imagine both were around 50K.

Highest received is Bennett's transfer to Reading. Ciaran Martyn's and Roy O'Donavan's imminent transfers will, most likely, be higher than the Bennett transfer sum.

Djurgården reportedly offered Shels e600,000 for Jason Byrne not too long ago.

31/05/2007, 2:31 PM
Interesting quote from Our chairman in the papers Today:

No club likes to lose good players and we are no different. I want to keep roy until the end of the season and beyond that if possible. We intend offering him a new contract. As for Joe well until the chairman hears directly about the interest then it is merely speculation. In any case the whole league is gone beyond those days when €500,000 was seen as a top offer. It is time for us to talk millions. Thats my policy

Love hearing that!

BrayUnknowns
31/05/2007, 2:31 PM
We got 80k for Zayed plus sell on clasues etc...

31/05/2007, 2:33 PM
We got 80k for Zayed plus sell on clasues etc...

That must be the top one so.

BohsFans
31/05/2007, 2:34 PM
Specking of transfer fees, Keely actually made a good point on el weekly a couple of weeks ago regarding Longford and the transfer fees they've received over the years.

Can anyone put a figure/name all the players involved?

31/05/2007, 2:47 PM
Ah must just have been the usual Cork exagerated figure that I heard. Or maybe the deal has a potential value of 4 something?

the transfer value has/was never been announced, all figures have just been newspaper speculation. the echo printed 450k one day so that was taken as gospel, for some reason.

Steve Bruce
31/05/2007, 2:47 PM
Plus the 25K add on for his first cap, another 25k after 10 apps and 20% sell on fee.

€525,000 was turned down from Hull City for Roy O'Donovan in January

That is a great offer and I'm suprized it has been turned down. I cannot see a bigger offer coming in for him. But if there is fair play.

31/05/2007, 2:49 PM
That is a great offer and I'm suprized it has been turned down. I cannot see a bigger offer coming in for him. But if there is fair play.

if we're going on newspaper talk, one paper reported spurs as willing to pay E900k to get him before celtic do.

31/05/2007, 2:58 PM
Interesting quote from Our chairman in the papers Today:

Love hearing that!

Nearly spat out my tea reading that.
I suppose he's right to talk the talk but Gamble will go for an undisclosed fee, probably about €600,000.

noby
31/05/2007, 3:49 PM
the transfer value has/was never been announced, all figures have just been newspaper speculation.

Couldn't you say that about most transfer fees? No one discloses the actual contract details.

31/05/2007, 3:50 PM
450:eek:

That's £306,316. Not bad.

One sale like that would bring Linfield back into the black. Although we'll be back in the black by the next AGM anyways.

How did Linfield get into the red?

31/05/2007, 3:53 PM
Couldn't you say that about most transfer fees? No one discloses the actual contract details.

in most cases, the transfer fee is stated in the official press release. there was a specific clause in bennett's transfer that the fee would not be disclosed.

Steve Bruce
31/05/2007, 4:01 PM
How did Linfield get into the red?

In the early to mid 90s we spent in excess of 3 - 400k+ sterling on players and paid huge wages(1k+)

Then with the Kop stand we had to pay 50% of 4,000,000 for the Kop stand a stand that we are still paying off the loan on.(although many people who know nothing about Linfield, will argue the IFA paid for it, they are wrong)

So it was an accumalation of things. We have made around half a million profit in the last 3 years, so our debt is going down rightly.

31/05/2007, 4:13 PM
LOI clubs don't like to release the figures received for foreign transfers as it allows them some leeway when negotiating with clubs for the next player they sell. If the UK club knows you sold player for 150k then they will start bid for next player at that number.

Cork City record is 350k euro for Alan Bennet. Even with his contract about to expire soon I think reasonable chance of Roy O'Donovan going for 500k+ A day doe snot go by when no new rumour added to the saga.

I think Shels paid Bray 70k punts for Jason Byrne.

31/05/2007, 4:22 PM
I think Shels paid Bray 70k punts for Jason Byrne.

The Euro was in by the time Byrne went to Shels.

03/06/2007, 11:45 AM
We have made around half a million profit in the last 3 years, so our debt is going down rightly.

:eek: How did ye manage to do that? Do ye get a share of the international gates?

Aaron
03/06/2007, 11:52 AM
Should Ciaran Martyn's transfer to Fredriksad go through, we will receive €500,000 for him, we also receive €160,000 for his loan deal, although talk ios he hasnt impressed over there and they may not sign him permanently

bray boy
03/06/2007, 12:18 PM
whered all that money we got from zayed go???

04/06/2007, 7:40 PM
whered all that money we got from zayed go???

I would have to give myself an Infraction if I answered that. :(

kdjaC
04/06/2007, 8:00 PM
The temp stand?

kdjac

04/06/2007, 8:20 PM
Specking of transfer fees, Keely actually made a good point on el weekly a couple of weeks ago regarding Longford and the transfer fees they've received over the years.
The fees Longford received?

They sold players to Drogheda and Shelbourne and had a hoor of a time getting the money off them (if they ever did). That would partly answer your question. Can't think of many more than that though.

UCD's record sale was broken last week - reportedly £40,000 (about E60k) for Gary Dicker to Stockport, and we're hoping to get double that for Quigley. Our record fee in real terms is still the £30k for Joe Hanrahan to Manchester United in 1985, about E200k now.

Don't think we've ever paid a significant amount for a player.

04/06/2007, 8:24 PM
I would have to give myself an Infraction if I answered that. :(

LOL

Steve Bruce
05/06/2007, 1:14 PM
So is Glenn Ferguson the dearest player bought by local club then both North and South?

Steve Bruce
05/06/2007, 1:14 PM
:eek: How did ye manage to do that? Do ye get a share of the international gates?

We get 15% of all International money including advertising boards, tv money, gate receipts and programme sales.

forza
05/06/2007, 5:25 PM
Dessie Byrne went for quite a bit Pats-Wimbledon cant remember how much