View Full Version : Who do you want in FAI Cup?

Paddyfield
30/05/2007, 9:39 PM
Who do you want in FAI Cup?

I's love an away trip to Athlone. They are in a new ground and there is a great history between both Clubs.

Second choice would be Shels at home especially now that Dermo Keely is boss. D'ya remember when he was on charge of Kildare and he squared up with Tony Mannion? Gufct had to wrestle Dermo to stop him attacking Mannion.

Draw for Cup is on RTE One at 6.30 pm on Thursday.

30/05/2007, 9:47 PM
Galway United at Terryland would be nice :)

GuisaSaigon
30/05/2007, 9:57 PM
Dundalk! bring on Maxi!

gilberto_eire
30/05/2007, 9:57 PM

i seem to be the only one with ya in wanting any kind of home game!!

30/05/2007, 10:47 PM
Wexford away.

Wouldn't be up for the usual bedlam that ensues at an ATFC v GUFC match.
Limerick-despite their dying hatred and obsession of us would still be a boring draw.
Dundalk would be on a Thursday if it was away and i've no doubt it would be their Cup Final so we'd probably lose.

A nice "easy" draw.....non League side away.As long as we qualify really.Hopefully we can avoid the Drogs/Pats etc.

30/05/2007, 11:00 PM
Limerick-despite their dying hatred and obsession of us would still be a boring draw.

Nice to see the clubs are moving towards reconciliation. Still, it was fun to watch while it lasted :)

eamo1
30/05/2007, 11:48 PM
a nice easy home draw just so we at least get past the first round and might go on a run in the competition.you just know its gonna be Dundalk though.

Claret Murph
31/05/2007, 6:21 AM
I will take anyone at home , PATS would be good . Hey if you are going to win it you have to beat the best .

gufcfan
31/05/2007, 7:16 AM
Dundalk! bring on Maxi!

F**k no! Im not going near Dundalk!

Its too soon. Do we have an escort from the Garda Shichawna?

Tir Oilean
31/05/2007, 8:21 AM
I want Shhhligo Rovers at home so we can pay them back for the season opener. I think we would actually turn up this time around. I'd like the club to get a Cup run because the income i'm sure is vital and twud boost league attendances afterwards too.

galwayhoop
31/05/2007, 8:43 AM
a cup run will boost crowds. keep interest high.

a home draw in the cup is always a massive advantage.

if you draw a weaker team then you have more chance of progression.

therefore, a lower division team (either first div or non-league) and at home is my preference.

MyTown
31/05/2007, 9:32 AM
Jeez lads, I don't know who the so called weaker teams are. Didn't Salthill beat us in a "meaningless" midweeker not too long ago?

(in my experience those who describe friendlies as meaningless are usually on the losing side)

For the income generated I'm hoping for Sligo or Shamrock Rovers at home.

The Sligo threads are full of how disappointing their home gates are this season, but boy do they love coming to Galway in numbers?:o

galwayhoop
31/05/2007, 9:48 AM
Jeez lads, I don't know who the so called weaker teams are. Didn't Salthill beat us in a "meaningless" midweeker not too long ago?

i would be happy with any of the following teams, especially if we were at home:
Athlone Town
Finn Harps
Kildare County
Kilkenny City
Monaghan United
Shelbourne
Wexford Youths
Celbridge Town
Cherry Orchard
Douglas Hall
Fanad United
Malahide United
Phoenix F.C.
St. John Bosco
St. Mochtas
Salthill Devon
Tolka Rovers

maybe salthill did beat us in a 'meaningless' friendly (about 2 months ago) but our season was just starting and they were at the 'business end' of their season. all of the junior/intermediate teams seasons will have been finished for at least a month (some a lot longer) by the time the cup weekend rolls around and you would think that would reduce their performance levels to a large degree.

if we can't consider the above 1st division teams as weaker than ourselves then we seriously need to ask some questions regarding full-time football etc.

Sunny Jim
31/05/2007, 10:07 AM
Any Premier Division team. At home.

corbyeire
31/05/2007, 10:58 AM
a cup run - will be crucial to fill the new stand - if the punters start to stay away like they did the last day against bohs

so home draw - against a first division team - to kick start it

galwayhoop
31/05/2007, 12:48 PM
so home draw - against a first division team - to kick start it

wait and see and we probably draw drogheda away ...... i will be crossing my fingers for a 1st div/junior/intermediate team and at home. and the same in the next round!!!! then at least we will have momentium - and interest from non-regulars.

you can't overestimate just how important that good old winning mentantility is!

Gaillimh Al
31/05/2007, 6:05 PM
I want Finn Harps at home, to get revenge for the semi-final defeat inflicted a few years back. Constant chanting by 20 or so people of "Come on the Harps".

Wonderful

31/05/2007, 6:07 PM
full list

Longford v Celbridge Town
Fanad United v St John Bosco
Dundalk v Athlone
Limerick 37 v Wexford Youths
Phoenix v St Pat's
Salthill Devon v UCD
Bray v St Mochta's
Kildare County v Kilkenny City
Tolka Rovers v Waterford United
Derry City v Monaghan United
Galway United v Finn Harps
Douglas Hall v Cobh Ramblers
Shamrock Rovers v Sligo Rovers
Drogheda United v Bohemians
Malahide United v Cherry Orchard
Shelbourne v Cork City

GuisaSaigon
31/05/2007, 7:18 PM

You've got your wish!
Not a bad draw for us, Harps will probably bring a few down, Home draw should bring in a few quid and we should be good enough to take ye.Salthill have UCDD at home, will they play it in Drom or Terryland?

31/05/2007, 7:21 PM
Sweet. Looking forward to this already. :)

corbyeire
31/05/2007, 8:57 PM
You've got your wish!
Not a bad draw for us, Harps will probably bring a few down, Home draw should bring in a few quid and we should be good enough to take ye.Salthill have UCDD at home, will they play it in Drom or Terryland?

we all know about UCDs massive travelling support :D

KoemansCC
01/06/2007, 1:24 AM
I want Finn Harps at home, to get revenge for the semi-final defeat inflicted a few years back. Constant chanting by 20 or so people of "Come on the Harps".

Wonderful

Your wish is granted...........

Tir Oilean
01/06/2007, 7:52 AM
United to win 2-1 with Gethins to score for Harps....... you just know its goin to happen it always does when a player returns to take on his former club! Good draw for us and an extra couple of quid for the coffers too.

fbtn
01/06/2007, 8:06 AM
Does anyone know if this will this be played on the Friday or the Saturday?

Tir Oilean
01/06/2007, 8:20 AM
Does anyone know if this will this be played on the Friday or the Saturday?

Friday night is soccer night in Galway so you'll need a half day off work!!!! There'll be a party in Fox's before and after the game as per usual I would imagine.

fbtn
01/06/2007, 8:28 AM
Friday night is soccer night in Galway so you'll need a half day off work!!!! There'll be a party in Fox's before and after the game as per usual I would imagine.

Nice one. We should bring a half decent crowd I'd imagine.

I'm going to that Arctic Monkeys gig in Dublin on the Saturday....anyone going to it via Galway? Would the best way to travel be by train?

Looking forward to this game. Alway good away trip in Galway.

Tir Oilean
01/06/2007, 8:49 AM
Ya the away fans seem to be comin to galway in good numbers this season. The Cup game should add to the Galway gang in the pub too. Train will be the handiest I reckon. If you get a lock in you could just walk to the train station in the morn!

GuisaSaigon
01/06/2007, 9:04 AM
Nice one. We should bring a half decent crowd I'd imagine.

I'm going to that Arctic Monkeys gig in Dublin on the Saturday....anyone going to it via Galway? Would the best way to travel be by train?

(unless you want to fly)Train is the quickest It's about €40-45, citylink bus is the cheapest i think its around €17 www.citylink.ie

01/06/2007, 9:27 AM
Citylink is a fine service, I'd go with that.

galwayhoop
01/06/2007, 11:32 AM
Citylink is a fine service, I'd go with that.

if you do make sure you get the 'express' bus though. the other one stops at every corner from here to dublin and takes about 11 hours

scotsbeer
01/06/2007, 12:19 PM

very happy chappy i would say. enjoy the trip but you wont win

fbtn
01/06/2007, 1:36 PM
Cheers lads.

Brilliant option - flight at 8.00AM Saturday morning for just €61.99 - 45 minutes from Galway to Dublin. Quality!

Hopefully I can the Friday off now.

Paddyfield
01/06/2007, 9:28 PM
Cheers lads.

Brilliant option - flight at 8.00AM Saturday morning for just €61.99 - 45 minutes from Galway to Dublin. Quality!

Hopefully I can the Friday off now.

...and add on the seven hours to get from the Dublin Airport to city centre :mad: