View Full Version : Am I mad?

28/05/2007, 10:55 AM
Am considering walking away (although have had threats of being pushed due to my absenteeism last year due to 2 operations on my ankle & a hospital stay for Asthma) from a cushy but boring public service job and going to work in my dream shop with the opportunity of buying it, expanding it and becoming my own boss, getting the chance to follow my dreams and doing healing & working with Angels too.

Do I give up security in a job I hate to take risks of getting what my heart desires? Have a mortgage & kids to consider.

Help!

28/05/2007, 11:03 AM
how much will you enjoy the new post? i mean, sure it'll probably be better than a boring public service job in the short run, but owning a business is a lot of stress, often a 24 hour job and can wear away your enthusiasm fast. while you're still in the boring job, you still have every hour outside that where you can forget it and enjoy your time off.

thats not to say you wont enjoy it and the obvious perks like taking days off and being your own boss are great, but how much would it be putting your existing free time at risk?

and, im trying my hardest to be impersonal and un-sexist sounding, but does your family have another source of income?

28/05/2007, 11:04 AM
Would you not be able to get a year off the public service to see how it goes before committing?

28/05/2007, 11:18 AM
Would you not be able to get a year off the public service to see how it goes before committing?

You can take a year career break from the public service but you can't work in Ireland for that period. So would rule out that option.

It's the age old question of heart versus head. I know in my case head usually wins.:(

28/05/2007, 11:20 AM
I've never looked back, but then I'm not your typical employee type. And it is a lot of hard work, but it doesn't really seem like work when I enjoy it so much, and when it lines my own pocket directly. Course when it wasn't lining my pockets, it was a lot of stress.

IMHO it's a personality thing, you either can do it or you can't. You'll find out pretty quickly if you can't, so it might be worth considering Risteard's approach.

Oh, and yes, you would appear to be mad; at least in general.

28/05/2007, 11:26 AM
You can take a year career break from the public service but you can't work in Ireland for that period. So would rule out that option.

Nothing stopping her setting up a company though. A well known LOI manager is currently ona career break from the civil service that ends in July. He's director of Manager Name Consultants Ltd

28/05/2007, 11:44 AM
Nothing stopping her setting up a company though. A well known LOI manager is currently ona career break from the civil service that ends in July. He's director of Manager Name Consultants Ltd

Handy to know for future reference. Although the Dept of Enterprise, Trade and Employment would collapse without me :p

28/05/2007, 11:50 AM
My job is a contract to contract at the mo, and contract is due for renewal (or not) next week. I may not have a choice come next Wednesday. I am a single mum & the kids dad gives a pittance towards them so the security of their lives lies solely with me.

I am going to discuss it with the person who owns the shop today, and am hoping that she will let me work there for awhile to "test the waters" of the business b4 I commit to it. It is totally a follow my dreams or toe the line situation.

And thanks Adam, as if I needed my insanity confirmed!!

beautifulrock
28/05/2007, 1:51 PM
Go for it Magic, if you work hard at it it will work for you. Maybe not as I found out the original concept. You will be suprised how much energy you have when working for yourself. No regrets thats my motto.......

28/05/2007, 7:02 PM
What do the Angels tell you to do? from experience they are seldom wrong
Don't normally go in for all that tarot and medium stuff but the ma and mrs raptor got into angels a while back and I've done a few card readings and been dumbfounded by the accuracy of them

28/05/2007, 8:48 PM
personally, i dont think you should be asking anyone on here.

But, is it possible to do a both for a while? I mean cushy public service sounds like a 35 hour week? possibly flexible working, could you try working 1 day a week a couple of evenings or something like that, before you make the big lunge. Kids and more importantly a mortgage are a lot to consider.

28/05/2007, 9:07 PM
If you have health issues then setting up your own business is a huge risk. Remember if you need time off for illness or other family members there is no employer (public or private) to pay for your time off.

28/05/2007, 9:11 PM
true, but as a LTD company you can pay into a sick fund ( like private health insurance ) to cover yourself and write it off to tax.

28/05/2007, 9:16 PM
Hey I thought you were Monaghan Uniteds Club Promotions Officer anyway?
Eh, no Risteard.
No?
Where did i get that idea from?

28/05/2007, 9:22 PM
true, but as a LTD company you can pay into a sick fund ( like private health insurance ) to cover yourself and write it off to tax.

Maybe that is true but when you are sick you just call your employer whereas not so easy when responsibility fot your own business.

beautifulrock
29/05/2007, 8:08 AM
Maybe that is true but when you are sick you just call your employer whereas not so easy when responsibility fot your own business.

And PHI has a "waiting period" before you can claim, ok for long term illness but for the short one weekers will not pay out.

29/05/2007, 8:19 AM
I think we're going to have to see if you float Magicme! If you are lighter than a duck we have to burn you at the stake! :D

29/05/2007, 8:39 AM
Go for it hon, if you believe in doing it. Even if it all goes bad, you are resourceful enough to start again quickly, and the energy boost from donig something positive in your life should reflect on the kids too.

First
29/05/2007, 9:12 AM
personally, i dont think you should be asking anyone on here.
Kids and more importantly a mortgage are a lot to consider.

POS you hardly meant this.:confused:

29/05/2007, 9:20 AM
Hey I thought you were Monaghan Uniteds Club Promotions Officer anyway?
Eh, no Risteard.
No?
Where did i get that idea from?

First Division licenced clubs dont get full time CPO's so have been working on it as a volunteer just like do the media officer work as a volunteer.

As for my health issues, tbh I think alot of it comes from the fact that I am not happy in my job. Being happy at your work and more positive about life in general leads to a healthier you. Also my little sister & my mum have both said that they would love to work in there anytime I have to go away (CPO meetings once a month!) or am ill. So I know I would be covered, mite not have much money but would b able to keep the shop open.

Block, the Angels have been guiding me in this direction. I have decided it is what I need to do & intend doing it but I just wonder if now is the right time. I spoke with the lady who owns the shop yesterday and she wasnt as positive about my idea to work there part-time (for feck all money) but I am trusting that the Angels will guide her too.

My cushy job is part-time as it is 9-1pm each day and flexitime is being introduced next week (but still would have to work 10-12 at least every day) but I just dont feel happy here anymore and I know that it is only fear that is holding me back.

Paul - I know what you mean, but I dont want to talk to my friends about it just yet but there are so many people on here with valuable experiences that I felt that I could pick brains.

Partisan - my name elsewhere is Witchie......I practise Wicca....am a veggie so cant believe am saying this.....bring on the Stake! :D

29/05/2007, 9:25 AM
First, Your kids are more important obviouslly and come first, but from a financial point of view your mortgage will be more pressing in terms of cost than say your kids i.e. kids can wait to get something ( like runners etc ) your mortgage has to be paid on a given date end of ( that was for dodge ;) )
I prolly should have written that more clearly :)

29/05/2007, 10:02 AM
Yeah I know Paul. I am lucky to have a small Mortgage tho & a rich daddy so if I do have difficulties I know I will be bailed out. I dont want to do that obviously but the very worst case scenario for me would be having to sell my house & move into my parents basement granny flat with the kids. I would hate that tho and would work my butt off to make sure that doesnt happen. I know if I was struggling financially I could find bar work at nites too and am setting up a therapy room in my house to do some work from home as an extra money earner. I am not scared of hard work but know in my heart I will only bust my ass for something I love.

29/05/2007, 10:18 AM
it seems like ye have your mind made up then magicme.;) Good luck. :)

Not being funny but knowing that you have someone to help out ( financially mainly ), is a big big incentive to go with what you feel rather than what you feel you need to do.

29/05/2007, 10:27 AM
Yeah its a security blanket but I dont want to use it. I have my mind made up but its now in the hands of others I suppose. When I do go into the business I will expect you all to come buy or order online (will be expanding onto net!) your candles, oils, crystals etc from me! ;) Will be the perfect place for gifts you know coz the jewellery is exquisite & so are the unusual ornaments etc. :D

29/05/2007, 10:34 AM
do any of those oils make your hair grow back?! if so ill be your number one customer magicme!!!! :D

If you are expanding on the net, oscommerce is fierce easy to use ( setup is a little more tricky ), but anyone IT savy would be able do it for you and more importantly its free so all you pay for is domain registration and hosting. But thats a long way down the line yet!

29/05/2007, 10:35 AM
Dam rite its long way down the line yet! I could massage your head and send growth vibes into your scalp if you like! (sorry have a bald head fetish!)

29/05/2007, 10:39 AM
Good luck with it Magic. You know who to call when you expand onto the net, right? ;)

29/05/2007, 10:41 AM
You know who to call

I'm thinking Ghostbusters.

29/05/2007, 10:57 AM
bohs i like the image.

ya you do don't ye Magicme --> http://www.oscommerce.com/ :D

Im always up for a massage too!! :D

29/05/2007, 11:00 AM
ha ha.....since it will be working with spirits & such Ghostbusters mite be needed alright!

Thanks Adam. Of course I will come to you, do u accept payment in mini buddah statues???

stann
29/05/2007, 1:02 PM
Missed this before Magicme, but if you want my tuppence here goes:
First off, have a good, dispassionate look at how viable the business is. You know the way I think about such things, but you have to look past what you like about the shop to what's profitable about it. If you really think there's a long-term business there then the next problem is...
...time. You're used to having plenty of it to indulge your, em, fetish for the Mons. :D Are you happy to have far less time for the club or have it encroach upon your family time?
They'd be two of my biggest doubts. I know you'd rather not use it, but the fact that you'll not be pinning your entire future on this is a huge plus point though. And like Bluebeard I know you're resourceful and smart enough to cope with whatever swerves you get thrown along the way.
So if you're not happy now, and are convinced this is what you want to do, and the numbers can add up, then go for your life girl! You won't want to be kicking yourself in five years time for not doing it. Sort your pension and a health scheme out first though! :D

carrickharp
29/05/2007, 1:13 PM
Best of luck with it from me as well really, really hope all goes well for you, it is my plan the next job I have it will be my own bussiness (in Donegal) as I have been working since I was 16 (about 10 diffrent kinds of work some awful some good) this is somthing that WILL happen just waiting for an opening!

anto1208
29/05/2007, 1:34 PM
Am i right in saying your opening a angel card shop ? While you should follow your dreams i cant agree with this , Your basically going to con stupid people out of there money . While not illegal it is wrong . But there is money in it just look at IRISH PSYCHICS LIVE , Tarot reading , fortune tellers , truth sayers & star signs there is massive amount of money to be made from this non-science .

29/05/2007, 2:43 PM
No its not an Angel Card shop as such Anto. I suppose the best way (altho I hate this term) to describe it as a "new age" shop or "hippy" shop or as my son refers to it a "freaky" shop.

It sells all sorts of stuff to help you to meditate and relax and seek guidance from the Angels. Am not getting into a whole theological debate about it but I do believe they are there and when you tune into them magic can happen so what is wrong with helping people to tune in?

Above and beyond that tho the shop also sells groovy clothes (yeah I used the word groovy!!) scented candles, incense & some beautiful ornaments & jewellery. My full on dream is to expand that shop with a little area for tea (herbal of course!) & organic foods and treatment rooms (massage, reiki, angel cards etc) in the back so that you can have all in one shop.

Stann, I haven't forgotten about my mons work in all this, I would have time between customers to do my media work, website, phone calls etc and would just ensure that my sister or my mum worked so I could go to games! Since I broke my ankle I have eased myself out of some areas of the club to concentrate on the things that matter most to me.

Dublinharp, you will do it if you are determined. You have to believe it to achieve it is what they say.

29/05/2007, 2:53 PM
If yer job was driving you to illness then there was no deecision to be made.
Best of luck with it.

29/05/2007, 3:09 PM
Risteard, is baldness an illness then?! I think I should leave mine too.....:D

29/05/2007, 3:10 PM
Im starting to believe the answer is 'yes' :)

stann
29/05/2007, 4:00 PM
Stann, I haven't forgotten about my mons work in all this, I would have time between customers to do my media work, website, phone calls etc and would just ensure that my sister or my mum worked so I could go to games! Since I broke my ankle I have eased myself out of some areas of the club to concentrate on the things that matter most to me.

Probably worded that wrong, that was the lesser part of the point, but 'tis good to know. :) No was just thinking you might have been surprised by how your free time is eaten away is all, your home time I mean. But as you've lessened your workload there anyway that's less of an issue.
The plan sounds nice though, really hope it all works out as you hope, though it will turn you into an awful hippy I'm afraid, no way around that! :eek: :D

29/05/2007, 4:08 PM
I am an awful hippy anyway....

PEACE AND LOVE MAN!

Wolfie
29/05/2007, 4:20 PM
It sells all sorts of stuff to help you to meditate and relax and seek guidance from the Angels.

Best of luck with that, Magicme.

It might be worth tuning in and checking if the above mentioned Angels have a Career Guidance Department!!

29/05/2007, 4:27 PM
Can I've a job Magicme? I can be your skivvy(sp?):D.

29/05/2007, 6:14 PM
Best of luck with that, Magicme.

It might be worth tuning in and checking if the above mentioned Angels have a Career Guidance Department!!

Believe me I have and this is defo the direction I need to go in but whether it pans out right for me now or not is another question!

And Sligoman I would have absolutely no use for u! :p

anto1208
29/05/2007, 9:44 PM
No its not an Angel Card shop as such Anto. I suppose the best way (altho I hate this term) to describe it as a "new age" shop or "hippy" shop or as my son refers to it a "freaky" shop.

It sells all sorts of stuff to help you to meditate and relax and seek guidance from the Angels. Am not getting into a whole theological debate about it but I do believe they are there and when you tune into them magic can happen so what is wrong with helping people to tune in?

I totally understand that
Go for it, as they say live the dream you only get one life , if you dont enjoy every minute of the day then your doing something wrong .

Paddyfield
29/05/2007, 10:10 PM
Running a shop also means...
Loads of boring paperwork
Working more hours at Christmas
Working on pi$$ing wet Tuesdays in November
...and scorching hot Saturdays in August
Depending on staff who will text you at 9.01am " sick all nite, must b flu, sorry" (although your mate saw her in a nightclub gargeling tequilla at 2am).

Also, who will mind your kids when they are home on school holidays or if you need time off to follow the Mons in the Champions League 2009?

Other than that Magicme, follow your dreams. Do it. Don't have regrets. Just make sure that there is a market for your product and that you are prepared for a hard slog.

There's a shop similar to the one you talk of in Galway on Quay Street. The woman who owns it only wears purple clothes, drives a purple car and, yes, she lives in a bright purple house. (it's on Dalysfort Road in Salthill for anyone who is in the area).

TO ANSWER YOUR ORIGINAL QUESTION....
Yes, you are mad!

29/05/2007, 10:27 PM
or if you need time off to follow the Mons in the Champions League 2009?
Shes a wiccan, not the messiah

30/05/2007, 9:37 AM
Shes a wiccan, not the messiah

Surely you mean:

She's not the messiah, she's a very naughty Wiccan!

31/05/2007, 8:01 AM
Ha ha bluebeard how right are u!

Yeah Paddy am aware of that stuff and tbh doing the paperwork wont b too bad coz as its not exactly Brown Thomas I wont be busy non stop so will b able to do it during my working day instead of eating into family time. I wont have staff as such for a long long time anyways and my sister & mum are willing to step into the breach if needs be.

School holidays have always been a bit of a problem, but again my sister & mum do most of the minding. As for champions league.......ha!

I have always wanted a purple car and bought a purple Rover a few years ago & had nothing but trouble with it!

Thanks for all the help lads! Will know soon if it is for me or not.

31/05/2007, 8:15 AM
Yeah Paddy am aware of that stuff and tbh doing the paperwork wont b too bad coz as its not exactly Brown Thomas I wont be busy non stop so will b able to do it during my working day instead of eating into family time.

You'd never know, the market for "freaky" in Monaghan could go through the roof any time now making you a billionaire. Then you could be the Mons sugar mammy. You could be the stony grey Delia!

31/05/2007, 8:28 AM
That Mr Partisan is the plan....am gonna bewitch the town with my spells & make them all buy loads and loads of stuff off and me and all become Mons fans. We will have the strongest fanbase in the league and all the money of Chelsea!

03/06/2007, 6:22 PM
Best of look with it I'll defo pop in on my next trip through monaghan