View Full Version : Ireland-Bolivia Match Thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3

26/05/2007, 9:52 PM
Full time yet?

kingeric
26/05/2007, 9:58 PM
Stokes has shown nothing in these two games to match the hype. Just went on a run & only when he had no other option left passed the ball but move was dead.

Murphy looks much better than Stokes & just had two chances.

He was just named MOTM-shows how much you know.

himself, o halloran and henderson impressed me the most.

DeNiro
26/05/2007, 10:04 PM
Would take O'Halloran and Potter into the main squad. Potter may be an eventual successor to Carsely, but he's more talented than him. He's a good passer. O'Halloran looks very assured, he's surely a better option than JLloyd Samuel at Villa.

dr_peepee
26/05/2007, 10:11 PM
Samual's not at Villa anymore... He moved to Bolton the other day.. Hopefully he gets his place in the first team!!

Paddy Garcia
26/05/2007, 10:12 PM
Overall a poor performance.

Colgan: Did not command his area
Henderson: Quite a few excellent saves
O‘Halloran: Looks to have great potential
The defense: Very Poor
Potter: Good first half, weak second. Some way to go to challenge for a starting place. One of the best on the night though.
O'Brien: A few useful crosses, but given the space he was allowed should have done better. Way off international class.
Stokes: Again great potential
Murphy: Very strong performace when he came on, one of the few positives.
Gamble: Hopeless, let the home based fans on this site down. A lesson to lay off the college kid.
Hunt: Confirmed his place as an impact player late (very) on in the game. Just realised how much we will miss Duff.

Paddy Garcia
26/05/2007, 10:29 PM
O yeah, the midfield was perfect for Garvan to show what he could offer.

I thought this was a poor decision before the first game, but after tonight (did not see game 1) it defies belief.

Soper
26/05/2007, 10:34 PM
I didn't think Gamble was hopeless..that implies that there was a huge difference of performance between him and the rest. Stokes didn't impress me, but he is young and has potential of some sort. I don't think O'Brien is any good. Murphys looked good too, and Long, and Potter. O'Halloran is still to early to comment on.

DeNiro
26/05/2007, 10:36 PM
I didn't think Gamble was hopeless..that implies that there was a huge difference of performance between him and the rest. Stokes didn't impress me, but he is young and has potential of some sort. I don't think O'Brien is any good. Murphys looked good too, and Long, and Potter. O'Halloran is still to early to comment on.

That's an understatement. His inclusion defies logic. We're not all wrong about him. Then Whelan more or less said he was his man of the match, must be blind. Murphy looks to have transformed himself - the Keane factor must be at play. Stokes has huge potential but next year will make or break him I think.

Soper
26/05/2007, 10:39 PM
O'Brien just runs and runs. There is nothing else, no end product.

Certainly shows how having a well placed agent can help.

26/05/2007, 11:04 PM
Colgan was seriously dodgy with saving the ball. Couple of times he stopped it but dropped it again. If that was against an actual good team then we may have got punished for that. Have to say, I watched the 90 minutes and I barely even noticed Gamble was playing. A real disappointment. But at the same time, he wasn't the only one. Overall, a poor performance.
Pic6:D (http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/photo?slug=getty-fbl-ger-cup-final-stuttgart-nuremberg_4_43_36_pm&prov=getty)When I seen the grin I knew a woman was going to be in the picture:D.

Soper
26/05/2007, 11:06 PM
Man, that piercing had to hurt

27/05/2007, 12:27 AM
Henderson came out with the goalkeeping honours, one superb save. If only he was in that form against the Czechs.
Can't make much of that game, it looked hot out there.
O'Brien wasn't any worse than many of the others, it's just you know he hasn't much more to offer, no way should he be in the next squad.
I was actually dissapointed with KK, I would have expected much more from him in midfield. You notice O'Halloran and Murphy easy enough.
Murphy has the gait of Cascarino in the way he puts himself but without the heading ability at present.

27/05/2007, 1:01 AM
Watched the delayed coverage on RTE 2.

I felt that this was a little disappointing after the result on wednesday, where the team, especially the midfield showed much more willingness to work together. The performance tonight was disjointed, although this can be down to the number of changes in the side.
I had hoped that the early goal would settle the side a bit, Bolivia had already showed some nice touches on the ball and appeared a bit naive in defence. Long had already shown a willingness to shoot on sight, and took his goal well. An excellent cross from Alan O'Brien despatched off the keeper's hand. You could argue the goalie should have done better, but they all count.
Unfortunately the lead lasted less than 90 seconds, some sharp Bolivia play led to a shot that was not well cleared, and the ball fell luckily for the full back to ghost past Potter, make space in the area and shoot past Colgan.
The first half was a mix of long shots from Bolivia and attempt from Ireland to release Long with long passes, bypassing midfield completely. What was needed here was leadership from the senior players, especially the captain Kilbane. In goals, Nicky Colgan could be heard barking orders to the inexperienced defence. The Bolivian defence had already been shown to buckle under pressure, but the team was having problems keeping possession and were unable to work the ball up the pitch. In contrast, the Bolivians were smart in possession, similar to Chile at Lansdowne last year.
Kelly was having a nightmare in the unfamiliar left full berth, Bennett and Murphy were repeatedly making saving tackles, and O'Cearuill looked the most comfortable, despite also being played out of position at right full. Bolivia's attacks seemed to come from the right and through the middle, with O'Cearuill ably dealing with anything coming down their left.
With the introduction of the naturally left footed O'Halloran at half time, the defending improved. O'Halloran also pushed forward, and made several telling crosses. Also introduced were Doyle and Murphy, for Long and Gamble, adding a physical presence to the 11 that was missing.
Murphy in particular played the target man well and could be another option up front in future.
Stokes started up front and had arguably the best chance of the first half, neatly chipping the keeper when played through and just clearing the crossbar. Following Murphy's introduction, he was moved to the right wing. He definitely has skill and is well able to run, dribble with the ball and shoot, bringing the best out of the Bolivian keeper with a series of long range attempts, but needs to learn when to distribute the ball better.
As more players were introduced on both sides the game inevitably petered out and finished a draw, although it could easily have finished 5 apiece, both goals leading a charmed life at times.

With the tour finishing unbeaten, there are several positives to be taken from it
Potter as a central midfielder
O'Halloran at left full
O'Cearuill in defence
Colin Doyle getting his first cap and performing well
Long getting his first goal
Hunt as an able deputy on the left
Bennett could be an option at centre half in the coming season
And Staunton has surely learned a few things:
Stephen Kelly unfortunately cannot play left full
Alan O'Brien has pace and some control, but cannot cross at pace, he needs time and space to do it. I'd actually like to see him tried out as a Connolly-style striker (at club level obviously)

The team is still short of leaders
Overall, I feel it was a worthwhile exercise, and doubtless there are some players in the senior side who will feel their squad position may be under threat (Douglas, for example)

BobbySands
27/05/2007, 1:18 AM
Living in Boston I can attest to the fact that temperature wise today was a scorcher (90's) so it may have had an effect.

timmy mallet
27/05/2007, 1:21 AM
O'Halloran at left full
O'Cearuill in defence
Bennett could be an option at centre half in the coming season

None of these lads are going to be anywhere near first team football next season - and even if Bennet is, it won't be in the Prem. They are good young footballers (-Bennet) but it will be a long time before they are decent internationals.

Long getting his first goal

Terrible defending and even worse goalkeeping, he will get eaten up in the premiership and international level.

Hunt as an able deputy on the left

'Able' is about all he is, w/o Duff we are fu**ed.

Alan O'Brien ... I'd actually like to see him tried out as a Connolly-style striker (at club level obviously)

Too many WKD's tonight, lad.

While I think it's been a worthwhile trip, I don't think it tells us a whole lot we didn't already know. Kevin Doyle is quality, Stokes will be very good and Potter and O'Halloran did well, but I don't think will cut it at this level.

kingdom hoop
27/05/2007, 3:02 AM
None of these lads are going to be anywhere near first team football next season - and even if Bennet is, it won't be in the Prem.

Why did Martin O'Neill not allow O'Halloran to stay out on loan at Wycombe? Why did Steve Coppell buy Alan Bennet? Why did Arsene Wenger have Joe O'Cearuill on the bench against Portsmouth a few weeks ago? No need for being both unrealistic and negative in the same sentence. At least if one is unrealistic let the proclomation be hopeful, especially in this silly season. :)

onceahoop
27/05/2007, 8:33 AM
Tought O'Halloran looked the business. In the Ecuador matc.h in the first 20 minutes Kelly gave it the hoof about 6 times and didn't come near finding a team mate. The team last night looked tired near the end. Even Hunt wasn't his usual self when he came on. BTW Kilbane gave Hunt the Captains armband when coming off and he gave it to Potter.

27/05/2007, 8:51 AM
:D doubtcha joey gamble boy! :)

wheres that clown gone that thought he was there to make up numbers?

sorry but he is
Gamble will never make it, as far as doing it in England goes, he is useless

27/05/2007, 9:02 AM
Overall a poor performance.

Colgan: Did not command his area
Henderson: Quite a few excellent saves
O‘Halloran: Looks to have great potential
The defense: Very Poor
Potter: Good first half, weak second. Some way to go to challenge for a starting place. One of the best on the night though.
O'Brien: A few useful crosses, but given the space he was allowed should have done better. Way off international class.
Stokes: Again great potential
Murphy: Very strong performace when he came on, one of the few positives.
Gamble: Hopeless, let the home based fans on this site down. A lesson to lay off the college kid.
Hunt: Confirmed his place as an impact player late (very) on in the game. Just realised how much we will miss Duff.

pretty much how i called it as well
except, i though colgan did command his area very well, constantly shouting and roaring at his backline, who were pi ss poor
i thought bennett did alright, potter was good in the first half, o brien is useless and cant cross a simple ball, i already know how bad gamble is, murphy was good whenhe came on, and stokes did alright and was unlucky not to score
kelly was no good at the back, kept getting skinned, and kilbane had his usual poor match performance
a good match to watch but both defences were very bad, but the pitch looked dire and it was a friendly

27/05/2007, 10:19 AM
I thought the lads did well.

The defence was not helped by the fact that our CM was as leaky as a burst water main. We still need a ball winner with composure - hopefully S Reid recovers fully from his bad injury and can do a job for us next season. I wouldn't classify him as a holding MF player but he has a decent engine and a very good passer of the ball.

O'Halloran impressed once again. Hopefully he breaks into Villa first team next season and stays there. Henderson made some brilliant saves and shows Ireland don't need Paddy Kenny as a number 2/3/4.

Murphy looks the business as well. All in all I'm optimistic for our future - most of these lads will be playing in the PL next season and will only improve.

Dr. Ogba
27/05/2007, 10:21 AM
Stokes ran with his head down at times just a slid a pass out to Hunt at one stage instead did not look up to see him. I thought O'Brien was not bad i thought he put it a few decent crosses. That lad Gleeson or however you spell his name from Wolves could be one for the future but overall i thought there were very few young lads that i found myself saying wow he looks good and will make it for sure, bar O‘Halloran who i think we will be seeing more of.

yeah I agree with you on this, I think Stokes has the potential to be one of the most frustrating players I've ever watched (the new Robbie Keane anyone?)...he did the same thing in the u19s game against Germany, held on to it far too long instead of playing it simple...
Hopefully Keane can get the same out of him as with Murphy who I thought looked quite impressive when he came on..

Also what was Babb on about saying Gleeson was attracting interest from Barcelona :eek: was that a p!ss take along the lines of Gary Breen to Barcelona 2002? :D

27/05/2007, 10:49 AM

Why was he played on the right? Why, when stan wanted to change things around, did he just tell joe to push up? The lad is a defensive midfielder and spent most of the half he got playing off the strikers. ridiculous by stan, if he was going to do that he called up the wrong cork city player. I mean, roy o'donovan plays up front and on the wing for city, he must have been bemused as to why his teammate was representing ireland in his position.

i agree that joe didnt acquit himself as well as he could have but to base him on a half of football out of position in a nothing match is hardly fair. as usual i guess, it'll take him moving to england and playing in position there for a few weeks before the "experts" on the international scene here start talking him up.

As for the rest of the team, gamble wasn't exactly sticking out like a sore thumb in playing poorly. They hadn't trained the day before and it showed. Stokes wasted far too much and looked like a bluffer half the time, jumping around but not actually creating much. Alan O'Brien was fast but his performance was saved by long converting his best (arguably only) use of the ball all night. Defence again looked suspect but it will if they go into a game never having played together and with no training together. I thought steven kelly did well but we knew about him, and bennett did the better out of the centre backs, although murphy was a big improvement on bruce.

long up front frustrates me. he very much has the potential to be great but if he wastes chances like trying to meg the keeper one-on-one, it will harm his game. hopefully he'll learn from it as he's very young.

27/05/2007, 11:25 AM
i agree that joe didnt acquit himself as well as he could have but to base him on a half of football out of position in a nothing match is hardly fair.

If we are to judge other players on a few minutes then its fair to judge Gamble by the same standards.

Gamble did not have a good game. I think the heat & the fact he played in two unfamiliar roles affect his game.

O'Brien may have laid on a perfect cross for Longs goal but you can see he is raw & inexperienced. He does not track back & does not look up i.e. he will always run the line & cross so defenders will figure that out quickly. He may have potential but needs a season or two of first team football before ready for International football.

Stokes can impress with some runs but he also raw & relatively unproven at any decent level of football. He has not played that much for Sunderland since his high profile move. He needs to learn when to pass the ball.

I think Colin Doyle will become backup to Given if he can stay in the Birmingham first team. O'Halloran did well coming forward but looked naive in defence. Without bias i think Bennet did very well considering he had to play with so many different players - he is however currently 5th choice at Reading so will be difficult to break into their team.

I think the only other players that will make move to full strength senior squad are Potter & Daryl Murphy.

cavan_fan
27/05/2007, 12:20 PM
i agree that joe didnt acquit himself as well as he could have but to base him on a half of football out of position in a nothing match is hardly fair. as usual i guess, it'll take him moving to england and playing in position there for a few weeks before the "experts" on the international scene here start talking him up.

Anyone else think that if Gamble had played the pass for Long's goal, we'd be hearing fom cetain people how he has to start in the Autumn and it vindicated the entire LOI. Gamble is not going to get many chances and needed to impress. Thats tough but realistic.

27/05/2007, 12:57 PM
Anyone else think that if Gamble had played the pass for Long's goal, we'd be hearing fom cetain people how he has to start in the Autumn and it vindicated the entire LOI. Gamble is not going to get many chances and needed to impress. Thats tough but realistic.

i disagree i'd have called it a poor game out of position even if he had supplied the cross, but, succinctly please, why should he get any less chances than alan o'brien?

27/05/2007, 1:48 PM

Think only Corkies would be claiming that but agree he missed a huge oppurtunity.

bohsRap
27/05/2007, 2:27 PM
In goals, Nicky Colgan could be heard barking orders to the inexperienced defence.

I heard him too. Sounded like he just wanted his defenders to balloon the ball up forward, which would explain why we aimlessly drilled the ball forward only to be scooped up by the opposing defenders or keeper.

On another note Alan O'Brien is muck. Good pace but just kicks the ball in to the box without looking up. Totally useless and shouldn't be called up again unless he develops a decent left foot.

27/05/2007, 3:40 PM
I can barely remember the match tbh. Hopefully Martin O'Neill was watching anyway as we could really do with a left back. I'm not a fan of playing Stokes as a number 10 or on the wing. Play him as an out and out striker and he'll get you goals. At Falkirk he was their main striker with Gow playing off him and Latapy the creater. At Celtic park he was really disciplined. He just stayed up front and didn't have to drop deep. Watching him drop deep is just frustrating.

theworm2345
27/05/2007, 3:42 PM
I don't think anyone who played yesterday (besides Kilbane) should start or even really be on the bench (maybe Potter or Kelly) in the fall. I can think if 4 or 5 strikers I'd rather have than Long or Stokes (in 2007 at least, maybe in a few years...) and Colgan should probably be behind Kenny

timmy mallet
27/05/2007, 4:02 PM
Why did Martin O'Neill not allow O'Halloran to stay out on loan at Wycombe? Why did Steve Coppell buy Alan Bennet?

Did O'Neil bring him back in January and play him in the first team? Did he **** , why did he bring him back, brains?

You would have thought that with Reading safe from relegation since January that Bennet might have got a run, not a chance.

27/05/2007, 4:05 PM
You would have thought that with Reading safe from relegation since January that Bennet might have got a run, not a chance.you don't just give central defenders "a run". I think benno may have been a bit busy winning the Premier League Reserve Championship.

timmy mallet
27/05/2007, 4:11 PM
you don't just give central defenders "a run". I think benno may have been a bit busy winning the Premier League Reserve Championship.

You joking, lad? If he thought he was any use he would have played towards the end of the season. You're not busy winning a reserve league, Coppell said he didn't want to go into Europe and was gonna play his reserve team in the league, he didn't go that far but he gave a lot of fringe players a chance and there was no sign of Bennet.

Soper
27/05/2007, 4:12 PM
Anyone else think that some of the Ireland players looked like they had taken part in the Boston version of 'Harry Ramsdens Challenge'?

27/05/2007, 4:15 PM
You joking, lad? If he thought he was any use he would have played towards the end of the season. You're not busy winning a reserve league, Coppell said he didn't want to go into Europe and was gonna play his reserve team in the league, he didn't go that far but he gave a lot of fringe players a chance and there was no sign of Bennet.

As I said, you don't just swap around central defenders for a laugh in any league, let alone the premiership. Which, then, do you think is more likely: bennett to be a regular at some point next year, or bennett to be unceremoniously turfed back to ireland as he's not exactly a youths player?

27/05/2007, 4:15 PM
you don't just give central defenders "a run". I think benno may have been a bit busy winning the Premier League Reserve Championship.

I think Coppell had said he wanted Bennet to settle in this season & challenge for 1st team next season. Reading were trying to finish as high up the Premiership as they could as it is worth a lot of money. I did not see too many fringe players playing unless due to injuries...

With a good pre season Bennet could step up to 3rd choice instead of Bikey.

timmy mallet
27/05/2007, 4:18 PM
As I said, you don't just swap around central defenders for a laugh in any league, let alone the premiership. Which, then, do you think is more likely: bennett to be a regular at some point next year, or bennett to be unceremoniously turfed back to ireland as he's not exactly a youths player?

If Coppell thought he was up to the standard he would have played him by now, especially with the way Reading's season went and the comments he was making about Europe. He was swappin his team around weekley, did Bennet even make a squad?

kingdom hoop
27/05/2007, 4:38 PM
Did O'Neil bring him back in January and play him in the first team? Did he **** , why did he bring him back, brains?

I'm not sure what you're getting at but I do appreciate the brains compliment, thank you. :) Anyway, O'Neill denied him the chance to play in the secong leg of the League Cup semi-final. Why would he have done that if he didn't value O'Halloran, see him as not far off the team, pinky?

On a more salient level, I think O'Halloran has the makings of a fine player, he just needs to appreciate when to make the easy pass, but that is sure to come with more experience. I think you're wrong about Bennet too, he came in during his off-season so that explains a lot. Ingamarsson played every minute of the season so there can't have been too much shuffling of the pack towards the close. And if you are giving guys games towards the end you give it to the player who's been around all season not some fella who came in at January.

timmy mallet
27/05/2007, 4:50 PM
I think you're wrong about Bennet too, he came in during his off-season so that explains a lot. And if you are giving guys games towards the end you give it to the player who's been around all season not some fella who came in at January.

Off season by a few of weeks, can imagine his fitness would have returned relatively quickly - We think Coppell wants him for next season but I just thought he may have played him near the end to see how he faired.

27/05/2007, 4:51 PM
Off season by a few of weeks, can imagine his fitness would have returned relatively quickly
Bennett had not trained in 2 months when he first joined Reading.

timmy mallet
27/05/2007, 4:52 PM
Bennett had not trained in 2 months when he first joined Reading.

He'd of been grand by the end of January

theworm2345
27/05/2007, 5:49 PM
Anyone know the attendance and referee of yesterday's match?

carloz
27/05/2007, 6:19 PM

You would have thought that with Reading safe from relegation since January that Bennet might have got a run, not a chance.

O'Neill brought him back as cover as he felt it might have been needed after January. Supposedly O'Neill rates him highly.
And didnt Bennett join Reading having not played a game fro the previous 2 months. Reading probably, quite rightly, wanted to get him fit and accustomed to the place. He was never going to break into the team during last season. he WILL get an opportunity next season

timmy mallet
27/05/2007, 6:24 PM
O'Neill brought him back as cover as he felt it might have been needed after January. Supposedly O'Neill rates him highly.
And didnt Bennett join Reading having not played a game fro the previous 2 months. Reading probably, quite rightly, wanted to get him fit and accustomed to the place. He was never going to break into the team during last season. he WILL get an opportunity next season

We'll see... don't hold too much hope for Bennet, but O'Halloran looks very good.

27/05/2007, 7:40 PM
Anyone know the attendance and referee of yesterday's match?

said about 20,000 on RTE
dont know the REf but he was good

27/05/2007, 10:23 PM

O'Neill does raste him very highly indeed, and he was supposed to be lined up for a few appearances at the end but unfortunatly for him Villa strung together a few good results, he made the squad on numerous occasions and hopefuly we will be seein more of him on t.v next year!! I have to say i was also very impressed Bennett who says he cant improve by alot in the next year at doyles rate. he has the potential IMO.

lionelhutz
28/05/2007, 11:33 AM
Ok so lads, judging by the performances in the two games, who do ye think will be in the squad for the september qualifiers??

Obviously Doyle, Kilbane, Hunt, Kelly and probably Long will be in the squad. I think Murphy (Daryl) looks a more complete striker than Stokes (who does have a great strike of the ball) so I'd have him in with Doyle, Long and Keane as the four strikers.

I don't think any of the other defenders did themselves any favours wit their performances - maybe with the exception of o'holloran. It might be too soon for potter - especially if the two reids are back playing regularly.

Do ye think anyone else is worth a place?

28/05/2007, 11:38 AM
Colin Doyle in instead of Colgan.

28/05/2007, 11:46 AM
All being fit apart from Duff
this would be my squad of 23

Given
Henderson
Colgan

Finnan
O'Brien
McShane
O'Shea
Dunne
O'Halloran
Kelly S
Carr

Reid A
Reid S
Kilbane
Carsley
Miller
McGeady
Potter
Hunt

Keane
Doyle
Long
Keogh
Stokes

Billsthoughts
28/05/2007, 11:50 AM
I didnt think Colin Doyle was anything special. Henderson played a lot better(altho I assume you are talking about a third choice goalie so it doesnt really matter much.)
Kevin Doyle should be a deffo starter in every game he is available.
Hunt should be in for his workrate alone but dont be surprised if he loses the ball a lot.
Stokes looks very good. hopefully will learn as he gets more experienced.
Daryl Murphy looks good enough to be very close to the starting 11(imo).
Shane Long looked good as well.
Of the others I thought Bennet looked ok. Would be good to see if he gets a run with Reading next season. Potter should also be in the squad as back up in midfield were we are fairly thin on options.
Everyone else didnt really stand out much but I wouldnt discount anyone on the back of these two games.

another question would be who in the current team would you be looking to replace?

28/05/2007, 11:57 AM
I wouldn't have Long in the squad. It's clear that he has potential but he's not ready yet IMO. Hopefully he will start more games for Reading next year.