View Full Version : Bertie the Coward

22/05/2007, 8:49 AM
To add to the sins he has committed in the past, Bertie Ahern has shown his true colours, he is yellow!

He was due to do a walkabout in Monaghan Town yesterday as part of his whirlwind tour of Ireland. He arrived in Monaghan and went to the local girls Secondary School where his Monaghan candidate is vice principle (she may have vices but being in FF I doubt she has principals!) and he spoke to the students there. He didnt talk about politics but rather about the Beatles and how many "love"s there are in Love Me Do!

While he was "entertaining" the impressionable young minds of my alma mater a crowd of people had gathered in the Diamond in Monaghan to protest at their attitude to Monaghan General Hospital. Bertie abandoned his walkabout and hightailed it out of Monaghan. Coward.

This is further proof of how he sees the people of my town/county, we are not worthy.

I had to go collect my son from school and as I was walking to meet him Bertie & his entourage drove past. His window was open and I let him know what I thought of him.

God I am still angry!!!!!

All the other parties running in Monaghan have signed and gotten their leaders to sign a contract to improve Monaghan Hospital but FF refused to sign up. 17 people in the last few years would still be alive if Monaghan Hospital was on full functionality like it should be. I myself would not be here if it hadnt been for Monaghan Hospital and I wanted to ask Bertie if he would look after my kids should I die from an Asthma attack because he is trying to close my hospital.

Sorry about the above rant, am just raging!

22/05/2007, 9:15 AM
You should be running for election yourself Magicme!

22/05/2007, 9:18 AM
I havent the feckin time!!!

No have faith in my Barrister and Green Party candidate Vincent P Martin to kick some ass. When I was in 6th class my teacher told my mum that I was the next Margaret Thatcher! :eek: So am scared to let my political side out of the bag too much!

22/05/2007, 10:10 AM
Leader of the country in too-busy-to-talk-to-angry-minds-made-up-culchies shocker!

22/05/2007, 10:17 AM
Ha. Yeah but he expects us to vote for his colleagues. Thats not the way to do business.

For years we have been treated so shabbily its beyond me how he would have the gaul to ask us to re-elect him and his cronies.

22/05/2007, 10:36 AM
For years we have been treated so shabbily its beyond me how he would have the gaul to ask us to re-elect him and his cronies.Which one, Asterix or Obelix (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaul)?

Sorry, I'm cruel.

22/05/2007, 10:40 AM
Obollock more like if we are talkin bout Bertie!

Yeah damahsta...my spelling gets worse in direct proportion to my anger!

22/05/2007, 10:46 AM
To add to the sins he has committed in the past, Bertie Ahern has shown his true colours, he is yellow!

He was due to do a walkabout in Monaghan Town yesterday as part of his whirlwind tour of Ireland. He arrived in Monaghan and went to the local girls Secondary School where his Monaghan candidate is vice principle (she may have vices but being in FF I doubt she has principals!) and he spoke to the students there. He didnt talk about politics but rather about the Beatles and how many "love"s there are in Love Me Do!

While he was "entertaining" the impressionable young minds of my alma mater a crowd of people had gathered in the Diamond in Monaghan to protest at their attitude to Monaghan General Hospital. Bertie abandoned his walkabout and hightailed it out of Monaghan. Coward.

This is further proof of how he sees the people of my town/county, we are not worthy.

Sorry about the above rant, am just raging!

typical bertie, but the sad thing is that FF will probably get a seat there as well
democracy? my as s , if you vote for FF then you dont deserve a vote IMHO

22/05/2007, 11:07 AM
They are guaranteed one seat anyway as the Ceann Chomlaire (sp????????) Dr Rory O'Hanlon is automatically re-elected. That brings the 5 seat Cavan Monaghan Constituency down to a 4 seat competition. Caomhighin O'Caolain (SF) will be returned and probably Seymour Crawford (FG) will be returned. FF will prob get the other 2 seats. Its just such a joke.

22/05/2007, 11:23 AM
typical bertie, but the sad thing is that FF will probably get a seat there as well
democracy? my as s , if you vote for FF then you dont deserve a vote IMHO

delicious irony

monutdfc
22/05/2007, 11:35 AM
Magic, do you think Vincent P Martin has a chance? He polled well as an independent last time round. Add those who voted green last time round and that's 2 or 3 thousand 1st prefs. Has he the momentum to build on that?

My vote is in Dublin now, otherwise he'd get my vote too.
My brother has been disenfranchised, else he'd get his vote as well: although he is a full-time student in the UK, he's a postgraduate and only undergraduates get a postal vote.

22/05/2007, 11:53 AM
I dont know. A few people I have talked to are giving him their 1st pref. There is very much a desire for change in the town because of the Hospital but the silly feckers will prob still vote FF in.

I reckon if Vincent went and hugged all the females in the county (like he did me yesterday!) he would win hands down! He is a really charming bloke but that aside, he is a very intelligent and hard working guy who has done alot for the county in the last few years in his Co. Council capacity. I really hope he can do it.

22/05/2007, 11:58 AM
I really hope he can do it.Would he be worth betting yer house on? He's 16-1 for a seat at the moment.

22/05/2007, 12:02 PM
Its terrible to be criticising the man of the people so much.

22/05/2007, 12:06 PM
yeah Pete. Such a great man. Letting people die because they want to close a hospital is a great way of being a man of the people.

Yup you have convinced me now Pete, Bertie's cronies are getting my vote now. Thank you for pointing out the error of my ways!

22/05/2007, 12:28 PM
Leader of the country in too-busy-to-talk-to-angry-minds-made-up-culchies shocker!

My thoughts exactly

Do you honestly think Bertie gives a monkeys what you think above in Monaghan??

I bet you'll return a Fianna Failer too.

And as I'm sick of saying, if you "people" want access to a hospital move a bit closer to civilisation. End of. :p

democracy? my as s , if you vote for FF then you dont deserve a vote IMHOBRILLIANT :D :D

yeah Pete. Such a great man. Letting people die because they want to close a hospital is a great way of being a man of the people.

Yup you have convinced me now Pete, Bertie's cronies are getting my vote now. Thank you for pointing out the error of my ways!

Looks like you need a sarcasm detector to go with that new breast screening unit ;)

FF will prob get the other 2 seats.

Therein lies your problem :rolleyes:

I reckon if Vincent went and hugged all the females in the county (like he did me yesterday!) he would win hands down! He is a really charming bloke but that aside, he is a very intelligent and hard working guy who has done alot for the county in the last few years in his Co. Council capacity. I really hope he can do it.I can't believe you give out about Bertie and in the same breath talk up a chancer of a Green Party candidate. He gives good hugs and he's charming?!?! WOWZA!!

I mean the Greens FFS :rolleyes:

MODS: Sorry about the multiple posting, this thread, she is like an onion to me :)

22/05/2007, 12:39 PM
Leader of the country in too-busy-to-talk-to-angry-minds-made-up-culchies shocker!Culchie calling other culchies, culchies shocker.

22/05/2007, 2:14 PM
Yeah I do think that the leader of the country should give a dam about all the people in the country.

The tongue in cheek smilie wasnt working. I stated he was charming but that is not my reason for voting for him. Having worked closely with the guy for years I know the calibre of the green candidate and I know he will do his dam best for me and at the end of the day thats what matters. ME!

Ha the sarcasm detector could sit beside all the other nice shiny machinery in the hospital....oh wait there isnt any, its all been shipped off to Cavan.

I know the problem is that the thick *******s around here will vote the Fat Feckers back in but does that mean that I cant give out about it? I will b using my vote to try and make a difference, its not my fault if the stupid f**kers around me dont.

Greens will not have enough power to do anything on their own but I think that we need their voices combining with whoever does get in to bring a more stable approach to our everyday lives.

22/05/2007, 2:54 PM
Can't wait to see an alternative government yet again messing up hospitals/not building infrastructure/wasting money...wonder who everybody across the country will give out to then..? Of course the alternative won't speed away at the first sign of angry people like nasty Bertie..

22/05/2007, 3:03 PM
Yeah I do think that the leader of the country should give a dam about all the people in the country.

He doesn't though. Nor will he ever, regardless of who it is

Ha the sarcasm detector could sit beside all the other nice shiny machinery in the hospital....oh wait there isnt any, its all been shipped off to Cavan.

How far is Cavan from Monaghan? What's the population?

I will b using my vote to try and make a difference, its not my fault if the stupid f**kers around me dont.

By voting Green?? Come on now

Greens will not have enough power to do anything on their own but I think that we need their voices combining with whoever does get in to bring a more stable approach to our everyday lives

The Greens having lots of power would be a disaster

Aldini98
22/05/2007, 3:29 PM
Bertie is truely the idiots Taoiseach.

Hes got my vote.

Calcio Jack
22/05/2007, 3:30 PM
Anyone see Brian Cowan o0n Q&A's last night, aside from grunting like some kind of slavering animal ,he gave a very interesting answer when questioned as to whether FF would accept support from SF. He said that whilst they wouldn't enter into coalition with them or negoiate in any way with SF, he declared that on the 14th of June when the Dail resumes, FF will be nominating Bertie for the role of Taoisceach and if he was elected due to votes from SF, FF would be happy to operate as a minority Government propped up by SF....

So a vote for FF is in effect a vote to allow SF into power..... or put it another way Cowan's reply was yet another classic example of FF cute hoorism.... " we won't go into goverment with FF but if the Dail decides to elect bertie as Taoisceach we'll abide by that..."

PS... is there a moratorium after today on posts relating to the election ?

beautifulrock
22/05/2007, 3:34 PM
PS... is there a moratorium after today on posts relating to the election ?

I hope so, as we seem to be rehashing the same arguments over and over. Like the run up itself it started off interesting but is now getting boring. Infact, yesterday on every occasion I visited the forum there were more people visitng the rubbish section than current affairs :confused: says it all really.

22/05/2007, 3:54 PM
So a vote for FF is in effect a vote to allow SF into power..... or put it another way Cowan's reply was yet another classic example of FF cute hoorism.... " we won't go into goverment with FF but if the Dail decides to elect bertie as Taoisceach we'll abide by that..."

That parliamentary democracy hey? It'll be the death of us yet. :rolleyes:

23/05/2007, 8:04 AM
He doesn't though. Nor will he ever, regardless of who it is

I agree they prob wont give a **** but that doesnt mean that I should stop asking and expecting them to. If we do we may as well roll over and die or move to Limerick.

Cavan is a bigger town and is 45 mins by ambulance from hospital to hospital(apparently but when my very sick son was being transfered there on a Saturday night it took longer) over very bumpy winding roads. I prob wouldnt mind Cavan being the hospital for the region if it could cope with both counties. It just cant and the more sensible thing to do is to have 2 hospitals. People in Monaghan can be looked after in Monaghan hospital unless it is very serious and then transfer them to which ever hospital they need to be treated in. We need an A&E that is open 24 hours. With heart attacks and bad road accidents the first half hour is a matter of life and death and if they have to be taken from the back end of Knockatallon or Carrickroe to Cavan they will be dead on arrival.

I told you my reasons for voting Green. He is the one candidate I have total confidence in to do a good job in my area and I would like to see the Greens in there with whoever is elected to mix it up a bit and bring some new ideas for the running of our country. They wont have "lots of power" if they are the 3rd wheel but they may just have enough environmental savvy to stop us from destroying our country and the planet.

23/05/2007, 9:36 AM
They wont have "lots of power" if they are the 3rd wheel but they may just have enough environmental savvy to stop us from destroying our country and the planet.
like they did in galway? no thanks

23/05/2007, 10:53 AM
I hope so, as we seem to be rehashing the same arguments over and over.

Right so, lets rehash some new arguments then.

I say that the winners of this election all get an all-expenses paid two week to Basra, and are obliged to wear George Bush is Great T-Shirts, and wear American flag bandanas.

Then, after the Iraqi insurregnt types sort out our biggest problem, (and simultaneously giving the "Liberation Force" a couple of weeks off), we can sort out politics in Ireland for once and for all.

Every week day evening for 3 months from 19h to 21h, and then at 21h30 to 22h, we should have a new reality tv show on RTE called "Who wants to be a Minis-taire!" (the exclamation mark and the deliberate misspelling are key to the success of the show). It will be presented by David Hanley from Morning Ireland and Caroline Morahan from the back of celebrity beyond.

Each night, a different department is tackled (i.e. one a fortnight), and members of the general public (carefully screened to ensure that we get the zaniest, most fun candidates) have to prove their worth by undertaking a number of tasks, such as kissing babies, lying about scandals, attending GAA games and football matches in Scotland and England, attending the funerals of club footed butchers who were rumoured to beat their wives, telling people that a white paper would be due in the Autumn, attending the opeings of supermarkets, ringing people to have potholes filled in on a temporary basis, and talking to Ryan Tubridy about their love for paella.

They are then grilled by the panel, comprising of former minister Maire Geoghan Quinn, politically controversial writer, wit and racconteur Eoghan Harris, and celebrity fat pain-in-the-arse Brendan O'Connor. After they select their two losers, the public can vote during the news and we can then have the results afterwards.

The final will consist of three final candidates. After the last person is knocked out in the conventional way, the three will have the following fortnight to "do something" on a topical subject in that brief that will be picked from a hat by Bryan Dobson live on air. Noted lobbyists will be in the studio audience and will make a comment on what they are going to look for during the week. The person who gets least media exposure and backhanders will be eliminated and from the remaining two, the winner will be voted for by the general public. The winner gets a six month contract, so the whole thing starts again on TV in three months.

I reckon it would dramatically improve exposure to politics in Ireland, and certainly would do no harm.

23/05/2007, 11:08 AM
delicious irony

yeah but are the clinically insane allowed to vote these days?! (that was the point, which i thought was obvious;))

23/05/2007, 11:10 AM
Totally agree Bluebeard.

Calcio Jack
23/05/2007, 11:16 AM
That parliamentary democracy hey? It'll be the death of us yet. :rolleyes:

I guess one man's 'cute hoorism' is another's 'parliamentary democracy' ...come on the Blue Shirts:D

monutdfc
23/05/2007, 11:25 AM

I know an ambulance driver who has told me of several lives he could have saved only he had to drive to Cavan or Drogheda with critical cases. Have you heard of the 'Golden Hour' - ie the hour after a heart attack or road traffic accident that is the most important?

You have to respect magicme's right to an opinion.
You state your opinion as if it were fact.
How would it be a disaster, and why?

Global Warming could be a much, much greater disaster. Maybe not for you and me, but for our children.
Global Warming is the hot political issue in the UK, with the Conservatives and Labour trying to out-green each other. It hasn't even been on the radar in the election here.

monutdfc
23/05/2007, 11:26 AM
How do I nominate Bluebeard for POTM?
Very funny!

23/05/2007, 12:11 PM
Totally agree Bluebeard.

I still reckon your version of Bears on the Run is ratings gold though.

23/05/2007, 2:03 PM
I still reckon your version of Bears on the Run is ratings gold though.

I reckon it just shows the sick state of my mind!

23/05/2007, 2:38 PM
like they did in galway? no thanks

Spot on.

You state your opinion as if it were fact.
How would it be a disaster, and why

The Greens in this country have shown that they're good for nothing except bitching and they're not particularly good at that either

Green Parties the world over have also shown themselves to be toadying turncoats of no real principle

Anyone who thinks they would act as some kind of watchdog as a junior partner in government (Hmm, where did I hear that before) is naive at best

Global Warming could be a much, much greater disaster. Maybe not for you and me, but for our children.

Yes and of course the Green Party are the ONLY PARTY IN THE WORLD who can do anything about it.............

It hasn't even been on the radar in the election here.

Another prime example of the Greens being just a bit crap??

monutdfc
23/05/2007, 4:15 PM
Yes and of course the Green Party are the ONLY PARTY IN THE WORLD who can do anything about it.............

They are the only party in this election that have put forward any kind of policies in this regard.
Neither of the 2 main oarties have paid more than lip service.

Another prime example of the Greens being just a bit crap??
My view is (i) the Irish people don't care and/or (ii) the media have allowed the main parties, esp FF, to determine the election agenda from start to finish (once Bertie's house got out of the way)
For example, it was not raised as an issue in the leaders' debate.

23/05/2007, 4:22 PM
They are the only party in this election that have put forward any kind of policies in this regard.

Maybe in your constituency they are.

monutdfc
23/05/2007, 4:31 PM
Maybe in your constituency they are.

(I) I should edit my post:
they are the only party in my consituency who have put forward any kind of policies in this regard beyond lip service
(II) there is no Socialist Party candidate in my constituency

23/05/2007, 6:47 PM
Bertie is truely the idiots Taoiseach.A corrupt gombeen man for a corrupt gombeen electorate.

It's "idiot's" btw. Possessive noun. Irony rocks.

23/05/2007, 7:48 PM
A corrupt gombeen man for a corrupt gombeen electorate.

It's "idiot's" btw. Possessive noun. Irony rocks.

adamI would have thought "idiots' " myself.

23/05/2007, 7:59 PM
I would have thought "idiots' " myself.

Unless there is only one idiot.

23/05/2007, 8:08 PM
Well, if you're referrring to a group of idiots, then I guess so. An odd way to go about it, although undeniably accurate!

23/05/2007, 8:56 PM
Unless there is only one idiot.What are the chances of that? :D

Student Mullet
23/05/2007, 9:51 PM
Unless there is only one idiot.Or if you're looking from the idiot's point of view. The same way George Hook is the thinking man's Eamon Dunphy, not the thinking men's Eamon Dunphy.