View Full Version : Tonight's latest- 18/5/07
Niall
18/05/2007, 11:27 PM
If it wasn't bad enough we had a few toe rags masquerading as Waterford fans get on the pitch at the end to goad the home support. Muppets
And the majority of rovers fans confronting the Gardai who were trying to seal off their access to WUFC support on the way out were what exactly?
harpskid
19/05/2007, 12:00 AM
Shels v Harps has been called off. :mad:
stann
19/05/2007, 12:02 AM
Shels are due to play Harps in Tolka tomorrow night :confused:
Not any more.
Was talking tonight to the assessor fella due for that game and he got a text that it has been cancelled too.
kdjaC
19/05/2007, 12:02 AM
And the majority of rovers fans confronting the Gardai who were trying to seal off their access to WUFC support on the way out were what exactly?
Good people being nice and preventing a foot.ie thread.
Rovers have been asked/told to vacate the main stand that they prefer, the pitch has claimed players, the floodlights are now seemingly lethal. When will the madness end :eek:
kdjac
Billy Lord
19/05/2007, 12:31 AM
The stewards guided Rovers' fans out via the Ballybough (Waterford) end due to the potential danger of the floodlight pylon falling at the opposite Drumcondra end. They were ****ed-off but to claim they were gagging for a few Suiresiders is really streching it. When they eventually passed, they passed peacefully.
Any chance of you slagging the idiot Waterford fans who went on the pitch goading Rovers' fans? I thought you lot were smarter than that. Thankfully only a handful of idiot Rovers' kids returned the compliment (hands in the air at a safe distance, etc) and nothing happened. Not even handbags.
Mental Man
19/05/2007, 12:55 AM
The stewards guided Rovers' fans out via the Ballybough (Waterford) end due to the potential danger of the floodlight pylon falling at the opposite Drumcondra end. They were ****ed-off but to claim they were gagging for a few Suiresiders is really streching it. When they eventually passed, they passed peacefully.
Any chance of you slagging the idiot Waterford fans who went on the pitch goading Rovers' fans? I thought you lot were smarter than that. Thankfully only a handful of idiot Rovers' kids returned the compliment (hands in the air at a safe distance, etc) and nothing happened. Not even handbags.
John, just to let you know the 2 lads who were so-called blues fans were arrested outside the ground, they released them into our custody, i personally made an official complaint to the Gardai about the lads, they got on the bus and are now OFFICIALLY BANNED FOREVER from coming to away games,i asked the gardai what will happen to them and he said the Waterford gardai will prosectute them .
Its not fair to decent blues supporters who travel up and down the length of the country and to have this ****e fired at them by so-called supporters
We are going to have a special meeting of the supporters club next week to discuss what happened tonight.
Hope this clears up a few things?
Cheers.
Billy Lord
19/05/2007, 2:07 AM
It would be a positive if the lads realised and accepted they were out of order, copped on, and remained Waterford United fans rather than finding themselves persona non grata and then just gave up supporting your club. No one's perfect, etc. They need guidance. If they show that they can become genuine fans and enjoy the buzz the rest of enjoy they deserve a second chance.
Bring them to up me next time around and I'll talk their ears off about Rovers and Waterford!
OhNoYouDidn't
19/05/2007, 2:34 AM
being evacuated!!!!
as BL and MM said no harm, the cops lagged the waterford lads because of what was happening at the time, not because it was serious.
19/05/2007, 3:51 AM
Exact same pylon beside the turnstiles.
The floodlight padding that caught fire in the 2002 City v Rovers cup final was pitch-side - i.e nowhere near the turnstiles. So not sure where you got this from...? :confused:
Ok.....
Pylon in front of Section A of the main stand in 2002:
http://www.rte.ie/news/2002/1027/firetolka.jpg
And is the far left pylon of this picture
http://www.peenvogel.nl/04042006.jpg
That floodlight pylon is the one that was swaying.
19/05/2007, 7:55 AM
Our next 2 home games against Cork and Bray are also in serious danger of not been played, well not at Tolka anyway, as after tonight, there is a chance of the ground being closed indefinitely.
Of course Shels' game v Harps is off as well. But Shels have a back-up ground in Whitehall, for emergency use.
half_full
19/05/2007, 9:20 AM
If it wasn't bad enough we had a few toe rags masquerading as Waterford fans get on the pitch at the end to goad the home support. Muppets
those fools HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH OUR CLUB, id say none of them could even tell you where the RSC is never mind actually going to a match there.
harpskid
19/05/2007, 9:33 AM
The floodlight padding that caught fire in the 2002 City v Rovers cup final was pitch-side - i.e nowhere near the turnstiles. So not sure where you got this from...? :confused:
The NEAREST one to the turnstiles then... :rolleyes:
Buile Shuibhne
19/05/2007, 9:35 AM
Good people being nice and preventing a foot.ie thread.
Rovers have been asked/told to vacate the main stand that they prefer, the pitch has claimed players, the floodlights are now seemingly lethal. When will the madness end :eek:
kdjac
Shamrock Rovers / FAI made their own decision to put Rovers fans in the Riverside stand and away fans in the main stand for all Rovers home game.
What players have been 'claimed' by the pitch?
One pylon suffered storm damage and will be repaired / replaced.
19/05/2007, 10:01 AM
We played them in the LC a few weeks ago, the lights came on at the start of the game and went off straight away.
About 15/20 mins. into the game several announcements were made, now I've heard them before, "if there's a doctor please come to the dressing room" etc, but never, "If there's an electrician in the the ground please come over and fix our floodlights"
It appears when paying into Tolka these days you have to a) bring your tools with you or b) do some freebee nixers during the game.:rolleyes:
The ground is a shambles, half the advertising hoardings from the front of the stand have blown down, the away fans toilets aren't fit for animals, at the front row of the Riverside stand there are steal bolts coming out of the concrete (very dangerous) and the floodlights aren't even secured properly.
And if they didn't make that announcement for the electrician what could the officials do :confused: . The game would have been abandoned and you'd be moaning even more! :rolleyes:
19/05/2007, 10:25 AM
Dalymount is little better than Tolka. The Supermarket end has not seen fans since 2001, the Connacht Street end is dangerous, and only sees our fans once a season. The school end is rarely used. At least the lights stay up, and they've been there longer than the ones in Tolka.
Erstwhile Bóz
19/05/2007, 10:45 AM
Dalymount is little better than Tolka.
Do you really believe that?
Niall
19/05/2007, 11:06 AM
BL, it goes without saying what most sensible people think of this element. I personally have never seen them before and it was suggested on a WUFC forum that there was an element like this heading to the match. Unfortunatley SRFC seem to attract the worst element from every club to attend matches when they play which is unfortunate cause all clubs look forward to Rovers matches. It has to be said though that looking at the behaviour of some of your fans on the way out of the ground that a significant minority (I withdraw the comment "majority" used in an earlier post which wasn't appropriate) that they have some sort of notions of being akin to the ICC or something of that sort which is pretty juvinille
hoopy
19/05/2007, 11:42 AM
those fools HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH OUR CLUB, id say none of them could even tell you where the RSC is never mind actually going to a match there.
Agree, hence my use of the word 'masquerading'
BohsFans
19/05/2007, 7:29 PM
Dalymount is little better than Tolka. The Supermarket end has not seen fans since 2001, the Connacht Street end is dangerous, and only sees our fans once a season. The school end is rarely used. At least the lights stay up, and they've been there longer than the ones in Tolka.
The Tramway End is closed and has been since '01, we all know that.
Connaught Street is used far more than once a season. So far Aberdeen, Drogs and the scum have been over there this season, ie Cat. A games.
The school end is open every match.
BohsFans
19/05/2007, 8:15 PM
Longford Town 0-0 Derry City
O'Halloran s/o 79'
19/05/2007, 8:36 PM
Longford Town 0-0 Derry City
O'Halloran s/o 79'
come on town, punish ratboy
thomas
19/05/2007, 9:48 PM
It has to be said though that looking at the behaviour of some of your fans on the way out of the ground that a significant minority (I withdraw the comment "majority" used in an earlier post which wasn't appropriate) that they have some sort of notions of being akin to the ICC or something of that sort which is pretty juvinille
This is complete rubbish, our fans behaviour was excellent. A few verbals on leaving the ground is hardly ICC-esque behaviour.
Frankfurt Hoop
19/05/2007, 10:32 PM
just to let you know the 2 lads etc.
Thanks and fair play for that. SRFC tries to create the most relaxed situation possible for visiting fans. I suppose that will just have to change.
What Niall posted was rubbish. As Thomas said, it was expected verbals. Absolutely nothing more. It's goody two-shoes Rovers these days. If those mongs had done that two years ago the outcome would have been somewhat unpleasant.
BTW, the amount of cameras in Tolka is unreal. If the bacons or WUFC want to follow anything up they should ring our office on Monday.
Frankfurt Hoop
19/05/2007, 10:55 PM
And for the hordes of Waterford fans who got lost, or whatever, and didn't make it to the game the gorey details are here:
http://www.mediafire.com/?c0ennyeosxx
ASFAIK the replayed game will be a fiver in with a free programme and a voucher for free Twinky Bars :eek:
19/05/2007, 10:58 PM
Derry are rubbish and that is saying something. Gardai sent to their dressing room at half time. Team Spirit in abundance.
19/05/2007, 11:03 PM
Was at the Longford/Derry game tonight. Longford deserved 3 points, as RonnieB said, Derry are rubbish! Complete turnaround on last season.
19/05/2007, 11:09 PM
Derry are rubbish and that is saying something. Gardai sent to their dressing room at half time. Team Spirit in abundance.
Interesting. Any more on this?
Billy Lord
19/05/2007, 11:28 PM
Niall: a few Waterford fans tried it on pitchside and some Hoops (stupidly) reacted without anything actually happening, so no harm was done. Big deal. Posturing is what it was and if that's all we have to deal with we're doing okay.
We haven't had trouble at a home game for years and long may that continue. Kids shouting and waving their hands is just nonsense, and if that's all we have to concern us then we've nothing to worry about. Once we keep a lid on it, of course. Give me bravura over bother any day.
19/05/2007, 11:29 PM
It was such a poor performance that I saw a Derry fan puking outside Supermacs in Carrick On Shannon. He just couldn't stomach the performance...or else the beer:D.
Aaron
19/05/2007, 11:37 PM
What happened?
19/05/2007, 11:41 PM
What happened?I've no idea what happened inside the dressing room but I do know Rogers was having a right go at McCallion(also referee and officials) just before half time...maybe boiled over in dressing room?
Aaron
19/05/2007, 11:45 PM
Did O'Halloran deserve to go? Was Higgins miss bad?
19/05/2007, 11:53 PM
Did O'Halloran deserve to go? Was Higgins miss bad?tbh, I didn't see O'Halloran's first booking but the second was deserved. Not sure which guy Higgins is but if it's the guy who had a header late on then I thought he could have done better with it yeah. Great opportunity to grab the points at the end but just headered it right at the keeper.
20/05/2007, 2:27 PM
No wonder the floodlights in Dalymount sway side to side
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/8923/irlande2se.jpg
:D :D
20/05/2007, 2:33 PM
:D :D
interesting terracing concept, based on the german model i believe!
d13bohs
20/05/2007, 2:41 PM
Even with those fat gits climbing up on the floodlight pylons in Dalyer, they are still standing. A few rovers fans fart in the general direction of the floodlights in Tolka and they sway uncontrollably!:D Enjoy your next few 'home' games in Whitehall :cool:
20/05/2007, 3:01 PM
Enjoy your next few 'home' games in Whitehall :cool:
Sorry to burst your bubble, but check out the third last post.
http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?t=8562&start=15
Anyway, wonder mind a few games in Whitehall, the closer to the pitch the better :cool:
21/05/2007, 4:05 PM
Only a matter of time though.
22/05/2007, 12:46 PM
Sorry to burst your bubble, but check out the third last post.
http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?t=8562&start=15
Do people still believe stuff he says?
22/05/2007, 2:09 PM
Do people still believe stuff he says?
Well, according to Keely last night on eLW it was fixed by Saturday night...........
22/05/2007, 2:34 PM
Well, according to Keely last night on eLW it was fixed by Saturday night...........
He also said that he was glad the game was called off because Shels aren't worth getting killed over.
Meanwhile Oso failed miserably to supress his glee. :D