View Full Version : Hypocritical Geldof?

16/05/2007, 12:32 PM
Anyone else think he's being a bit of a hypocritical arsehole here (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gored----geldof-blasts-former-american-vicepresident-over-global-warming-gigs-677494.html)?

endabob1
16/05/2007, 12:45 PM
Someone stealing his halo :D

RogerMilla
16/05/2007, 12:47 PM
no i think he has a point alright , pity he wouldnt get on board and maybe help out though, he has identified things that could be done , maybe he coudl pitch in

16/05/2007, 12:49 PM
Time for Geldof to get off the stage.

Not sure why he criticising others efforts. Global Warming probably in the public awareness phase like Live Aid was about famine all those years ago.

BobbySands
16/05/2007, 12:58 PM
I kind of agree with Sir Bobby. These concerts are pointless. Just another excuse for these pampered imbeciles to show the world how kind they are. It is however a bit rich coming from Sir Bobby as he invented the medium. As far as I know World hunger is still a problem.

anto1208
16/05/2007, 1:01 PM
thats wizards for you :rolleyes:

16/05/2007, 1:08 PM
[Geldof] accused Gore of doing little more than organising a worldwide musical extravaganza to state the obvious

:eek: I can see why Bob would have a problem with this.

I hope they're a success. But why is he actually organising them?

To make us aware of poverty? Everybody's known about that problem for years. We are all f***ing conscious of global poverty.

16/05/2007, 1:11 PM
Geldof quite simply is a *****

16/05/2007, 1:47 PM
joesoap, thought exactly the same as you when i read that. he is such a gobsheen just like that fella bono too. total hypocrite, oh nooaaa i meaaan you knooow like roight, someone is actually going to do something bigger than me thats just not fair.

16/05/2007, 2:30 PM
The fact that Bob Geldof is a hypocrite surprises anyone?? :eek:

Look at his brood of brats going around falling out of bars and straight under the nearest man

How much of his personal fortune goes on the black babies. Surely he should be over in Africa doing charity work rather than spouting out his arse anytime somebody waves a microphone at it

An absolute carbuncle on the arse of society, he should be blasted into space

The only thing Sir (Sweet Jesus) Bob cares about on this planet is himself

16/05/2007, 3:55 PM
I don't get the hypocrite angle.
I suspect that Geldorf sees little point in it as well as an issue with the name.
He does not BLAST GORE.
The headline screams Bob Blasts Gore
The only quotes from Bob are
"I hope they're a success. But why is he [Gore] actually organising them?
"To make us aware of the greenhouse effect? Everybody's known about that problem for years. We are all f***ing conscious of global warming."

Live Earth doesn't have a final goal. I would only organise this if I could go on stage and announce concrete environmental measures from the American presidential candidates, Congress or major corporations. They haven't got those guarantees. So it's just an enormous pop concert." Geldof added that he was irked by the choice of name for this summer's benefit gigs, which has led to a slew of unsolicited inquiries to his office from people who thought they were organising it.

16/05/2007, 5:52 PM

Criticising someone for organising an awareness concert that is just a thinly veiled excuse for celebrities to pat themselves on the back....come on it's pretty obvious

16/05/2007, 11:46 PM
I have no grounds to be cynical about what Geldof did. Just look at what has been achieved. The Live Aid thing was about cash for projects, overseen by a trust which kept going for 20+ years. That's a real achievement. I can imagine he gave a lot of time to it. Many NGO's were helped enormously and used the cash for good benifit. I'd assume that Geldof knows about these things more than most.
I don't know what this (rip off) Live Earth gig is really about but it sounds very airy fairy to me.
Maybe Geldof should have reversed a lifelong habit and shut up but I can see where he has good reason this time.
Al fxcking Gore, we're truely fecked now.

17/05/2007, 1:15 AM
I'd assume that Geldof knows about these things more than most.

See theres the problem with humanity, assuming someone else is the expert and has everything in hand.

17/05/2007, 1:09 PM
Geldof quite simply is a *****

That's an astute observation. Based on what?

The guy would have every right to feel a franchise of sorts had been breached with the appropriation of the the term LIVE in Gores Live Earth.

He's also welcome to his opinion that the thing has no solid end goal.

Criticising someone for organising an awareness concert that is just a thinly veiled excuse for celebrities to pat themselves on the back....come on it's pretty obvious Live Aid actually raised cash -and no small amount of it -to help people.

The fact that Bob Geldof is a hypocrite surprises anyone??

Look at his brood of brats going around falling out of bars and straight under the nearest man

How much of his personal fortune goes on the black babies. Surely he should be over in Africa doing charity work rather than spouting out his arse anytime somebody waves a microphone at it

An absolute carbuncle on the arse of society, he should be blasted into space

The only thing Sir (Sweet Jesus) Bob cares about on this planet is himself Hand LTID the gong for pettiest post ever. :mad:

1. It's none of your fcuking business what his kids get up to -and the man himself might reasonably argue it's scarcely any of his anymore either.

2. How much of YOUR personal fortune went on (outdated 1960's terminology alert!!!) "black babies"?
Did you ever even attempt to do that which was within your gift to do to help them? That's all Geldof ever claims to have done.

You don't hear him giving out either that in the process he ****ed away a perfectly good career as a professional musician. You might've heard a couple of his tunes once upon a time. He was a bit handy that way.

3. A Carbuncle? If so I dunno where that leaves the rest of us ...lower than carbuncle for the most part I'd say.:rolleyes:

17/05/2007, 2:05 PM
Live Aid actually raised cash -and no small amount of it -to help people.

but did it make any real difference?

http://www.rte.ie/farawayupclose/

Ceirtlis
17/05/2007, 2:38 PM
Time for Geldof to get off the stage.

Not sure why he criticising others efforts. Global Warming probably in the public awareness phase like Live Aid was about famine all those years ago.

Agree with ya here, global warming is going to be a very big issue in the next 20-30 and the general public probably have more of a chance of influencing it than they ever had of changing starvation and poverty. The money raised from these concerts is tiny when ya look at the bigger picture. The government budget of Ireland for this year is €60 billion the likes of these concerts will only raise a few hundred million.

17/05/2007, 3:01 PM
Hand LTID the gong for pettiest post ever. :mad:

Ya myself and Bob have it in for one another years...........

1. It's none of your fcuking business what his kids get up to -and the man himself might reasonably argue it's scarcely any of his anymore either.

Fair Enough, as much as I dislike them that was a lil out of line

Cheerfully withdrawn

2. How much of YOUR personal fortune went on

At the time of Live Aid I was but an itch in my fathers sack I'm afraid

(outdated 1960's terminology alert!!!) "black babies"?

A terminology which I of course used because I find the whole thing just a little patronising towards African countries

Did you ever even attempt to do that which was within your gift to do to help them?

Genuinely not my problem.

It shouldn't be up to us to dig the Third World out of a hole, responsibility for that should rest with the former colonial powers IMO.

That's all Geldof ever claims to have done

And he's so quiet about it too. Why, you'd hardly even know he'd been involved without people like yourself around to tell us..........

You don't hear him giving out either that in the process he ****ed away a perfectly good career as a professional musician. You might've heard a couple of his tunes once upon a time. He was a bit handy that way.

Have only heard a couple of Boomtown Rats songs, bit before my time, not a fan tbh. Somehow I doubt International acclaim and a knighthood beckoned :rolleyes:

3. A Carbuncle? If so I dunno where that leaves the rest of us ...lower than carbuncle for the most part I'd say.

Right..........

The guy would have every right to feel a franchise of sorts had been breached with the appropriation of the the term LIVE in Gores Live Earth.

I passed a Pub but an hour ago which was advertising LIVE Music this weekend

Jesus someone tell Sir Bob :rolleyes:

Live Aid actually raised cash -and no small amount of it -to help people.

Made a huge difference

Why I can't think of one bad thing that has happened in Ethiopia since

What was the solid end goal of Live Aid??

Has it been achieved??

If it hasn't aside from sniping at Al Gore to get in the papers what's Sir Bob doing about it??

17/05/2007, 3:40 PM
Genuinely not my problem.
...good thing everyone else didn't think like yourself and Maggie.

It shouldn't be up to us to dig the Third World out of a hole, responsibility for that should rest with the former colonial powers IMO.
...well yeah. Meanwhile people who could be saved were (and are) dying ...what do you do? tick-tock-tick-tock-tick-tock.

And he's so quiet about it too. Why, you'd hardly even know he'd been involved without people like yourself around to tell us..........
??

What? the guy is consistent and persistent so now he's a shameless self promoter?

Have only heard a couple of Boomtown Rats songs, bit before my time, not a fan tbh. Somehow I doubt International acclaim and a knighthood beckoned :rolleyes:

International acclaim? The Rats were fcukin HUGE. No.1s all over the place ...huge tours ...the whole deal. Now your personal taste in music, nor mine, is neither at issue or of interest here. The guys career as a musician suffered severely because he dedicated time and effort to trying to improve things for some of the most vulnerable of the vulnerable.

I passed a Pub but an hour ago which was advertising LIVE Music this weekend

Jesus someone tell Sir Bob :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: ...can I take you're indulging in the trite to mean you're not contesting that Gore has sailed close to the wind in his appropriation of the LIVE tag in the naming of his event?

Made a huge difference

Why I can't think of one bad thing that has happened in Ethiopia since
I suspect there's a good few Ethiopians who think it made a huge difference to them. But they're not your problem sure...

What was the solid end goal of Live Aid??
Has it been achieved??
...to save as many lives as possible and give as many people as possible a better future. It was never claimed that it could or would make all right with the world. But it sure as sh1t made a real difference to many people who were imminently dead as doornails if it hadn't happened.

If it hasn't aside from sniping at Al Gore to get in the papers what's Sir Bob doing about it?? He wasn't sniping at anyone to get in the papers so far as I can see. Though if he has some issues with Gore I could forgive him for remembering that this guy was number 2 in an administration that would only countenance pitifully small debt cancelation (and that only to administrations that towed Washingtons line) and even more pertinent -would only consider emission reductions so small as to be meaningless and pointless.

17/05/2007, 3:42 PM
That's an astute observation. Based on what?

Based on the fact that I think he talks ****, his band were ****e and Live 8

What franchise exactly? Using the word live to promote global concerts? Or making celebrity friends by having them pretend they give two ****s about the World on a global stage? Either way boo ****ing hoo

As I am to mine that the more recent Live 8 was a glorified way to boost record sales of the artists on show and a thinly veiled 'aren't we great' moment for all the right on morons left in the entertainment industry, Madonna's 'act' being the most sickening, followed by Pete Doherty being on stage for some reason, closely followed by Sir Bob taking the stage to perform songs that no-one has given a toss about in manys a year.

Furthermore on the Live 8 point, given that this was the more recent and appalling of the Knight's crimes, would it have harmed the message much to stick some of the quality African artists that are out there on the bill so that they might get a revenue boost that would actually have been used in said random African countries? According to Sir Bob that would have been against what Live 8 was trying to do, which says a lot about how far Geldof's values have slipped since the 80s

stann
17/05/2007, 3:51 PM

There's no hypocrisy here, just a load of too-cool-for-school uber-cynics that can't (more likely won't) see the man has a point.

LiveAid raised a shedload of money, 150 million all told. Did it make a difference? No, probably. So is that a reason for never doing it? Course not.
Live8 got promises from the G8 nations regarding 3rd World debt, promises that were reneged upon subsequently, that was Geldof's fault too I suppose.
LiveEarth has no goals, nothing that can be said to be the aim of the series of concerts, that to me is all Saint Bob is saying. I fancy he's right, 'cos he'd know.

See theres the problem with humanity, assuming someone else is the expert and has everything in hand.

Maybe assuming someone who's had something to do with the matter in question knows a bit about it, as opposed to a motley bunch of no-mark footie fans (include meself in that) and semi-literate studes who of course know f*cking everything! :D

17/05/2007, 4:11 PM
LiveAid raised a shedload of money, 150 million all told. Did it make a difference?

A pittance of what the top ten selling atrists who performed could have, and could still donate, forgive me for not liking being criticised for not given enough of the little money I have to the worlds poor by some **** sitting in his mansion

Live8 got promises from the G8 nations regarding 3rd World debt, promises that were reneged upon subsequently, that was Geldof's fault too I suppose.

Spare me. It was his fault for pretending to the masses that all Live8 could have ever gotten off G8 was a couple of soundbytes

17/05/2007, 4:24 PM
...good thing everyone else didn't think like yourself and Maggie.

Comparing me to Thatcher :rolleyes:

...well yeah. Meanwhile people who could be saved were (and are) dying ...what do you do? tick-tock-tick-tock-tick-tock.

S oy ou agree it should be up to the colonial powers. That's grand so

What? the guy is consistent and persistent so now he's a shameless self promoter?

Yes and an Ar$ehole to boot

International acclaim? The Rats were fcukin HUGE. No.1s all over the place ...huge tours ...the whole deal. Now your personal taste in music, nor mine, is neither at issue or of interest here. The guys career as a musician suffered severely because he dedicated time and effort to trying to improve things for some of the most vulnerable of the vulnerable.

I'm 21 had no idea find it surprising tbh

I still don't think a knighthood and a sainthood were in the offing

:rolleyes: ...can I take you're indulging in the trite to mean you're not contesting that Gore has sailed close to the wind in his appropriation of the LIVE tag in the naming of his event?

Imagine describing a LIVE Music event as LIVE, the mind boggles

I suspect there's a good few Ethiopians who think it made a huge difference to them.

And I suspect that Ethiopia is still a $hithole and Sir Bob is still a rather wealthy ex-musician, maybe we're both right??

...to save as many lives as possible and give as many people as possible a better future. It was never claimed that it could or would make all right with the world.

Awwwww, that's actually really lovely

But it sure as sh1t made a real difference to many people who were imminently dead as doornails if it hadn't happened.

I refer you to my earlier point about large swathes of the Third World still being $hitholes

He wasn't sniping at anyone to get in the papers so far as I can see. Though if he has some issues with Gore I could forgive him for remembering that this guy was number 2 in an administration that would only countenance pitifully small debt cancelation (and that only to administrations that towed Washingtons line)

An administration I can remember Sir Bob constantly and loudly criticising at every single available oppurtunity......

and even more pertinent -would only consider emission reductions so small as to be meaningless and pointless

That is fair enough

Based on the fact that I think he talks ****, his band were ****e and Live 8

What franchise exactly? Using the word live to promote global concerts? Or making celebrity friends by having them pretend they give two ****s about the World on a global stage? Either way boo ****ing hoo

As I am to mine that the more recent Live 8 was a glorified way to boost record sales of the artists on show and a thinly veiled 'aren't we great' moment for all the right on morons left in the entertainment industry, Madonna's 'act' being the most sickening, followed by Pete Doherty being on stage for some reason, closely followed by Sir Bob taking the stage to perform songs that no-one has given a toss about in manys a year.

Furthermore on the Live 8 point, given that this was the more recent and appalling of the Knight's crimes, would it have harmed the message much to stick some of the quality African artists that are out there on the bill so that they might get a revenue boost that would actually have been used in said random African countries? According to Sir Bob that would have been against what Live 8 was trying to do, which says a lot about how far Geldof's values have slipped since the 80s

Got tired of writing so...... What he said :)

stann
17/05/2007, 4:30 PM
A pittance of what the top ten selling atrists who performed could have, and could still donate, forgive me for not liking being criticised for not given enough of the little money I have to the worlds poor by some **** sitting in his mansion

I never said anything about you liking it one way or the other. I don't much like it meself as it goes, particularly Bono's brand of it, but it's immaterial.
LiveAid raised 150M that would not have been raised without LiveAid. The fact that this money has not wiped out world poverty, as has been mentioned before, or the fact that other people have more money they don't need as you're saying here, does not change this one iota.

Spare me. It was his fault for pretending to the masses that all Live8 could have ever gotten off G8 was a couple of soundbytes

Spare you! Jesus I'm terribly sorry to have put you through that! :D If my posts are such a trial to you put me on ignore.
I thought it was a good attempt, it might have had good consequences, and might still if enough people with a bit of clout keep reminding the goverments in question of their craven flip-flopping.

anto1208
17/05/2007, 4:30 PM
[QUOTE=Lim till i die;687940]

And I suspect that Ethiopia is still a $hithole and Sir Bob is still a rather wealthy ex-musician, maybe we're both right??

[QUOTE]

Ethiopia is a beautifull country

17/05/2007, 4:31 PM
LiveAid raised a shedload of money, 150 million all told.

150 million!! That's almost as much as Madonnas worth

Did it make a difference? No, probably.

Thank You

So is that a reason for never doing it? Course not.

Indeed. There's pats on the back to be had, self righteous speeches to give and contacts to be made

Live8 got promises from the G8 nations regarding 3rd World debt,

LMAO

promises that were reneged upon subsequently

Surprise, surprise

that was Geldof's fault too I suppose.

Of course it wasn't

17/05/2007, 4:32 PM
Ethiopia is a beautifull country

For the dim witted among you I was referring to the poverty stricken masses rather then the scenery :rolleyes:

stann
17/05/2007, 4:34 PM
Not getting into it with you LTID, partly because it's no use as you plainly are never wrong, but mainly as this was a particularly wankerish thing to say.

17/05/2007, 5:16 PM
Not getting into it with you LTID, partly because it's no use as you plainly are never wrong, but mainly as this was a particularly wankerish thing to say.

It's a genuinely lovely sentiment and one that no one would disagree with

D'uh :rolleyes:

But why not get all of these showbiz contacts to donate some of their vast fortunes, maybe even without a shed load of publicity??

Ordinary people have lots of problems of their own without being lectured to by rock stars

17/05/2007, 6:09 PM
Comparing me to Thatcher :rolleyes:

I refer you to my earlier point about large swathes of the Third World still being $hitholes

An administration I can remember Sir Bob constantly and loudly criticising at every single available oppurtunity......

That is fair enough

Got tired of writing so...... What he said :)

That's that settled then -Live Aid/Band Aid wasn't worth doing because saving -probably a few million lives -is too high a price to pay for making megastars out of U2, Madonna and ...who else? ... Sting maybe ...oh and re-launching Queen in America.

stann
17/05/2007, 6:26 PM
It's a genuinely lovely sentiment and one that no one would disagree with

D'uh :rolleyes:

But why not get all of these showbiz contacts to donate some of their vast fortunes, maybe even without a shed load of publicity??

Ordinary people have lots of problems of their own without being lectured to by rock stars

Thought there was a touch of sarcasm in that initial bit but if that's what you were saying there then cheerfully withdrawn.
Not disagreeing with your last two lines either, not at all.
But the item that kicked the thread off was Sir Bob making a couple of (IMO valid) points to Al Gore and the LiveEarth organisers, not ordinary people. All I'm saying is that, whatever you think about the private motivations of the acts involved, LiveAid, and to a lesser extent Live8, had points to them, and targets to aim at.
LiveAid to raise a shedload of cash and raise awareness. Which it did.
Live8 to browbeat (for want of a better word) the G8 nations into initiating debt relief measures, which they've since gone back on.
LiveEarth, and the similarity in the name is not a coincidence, doesn't seem to have an actual point, except to raise awareness of climate problems that people know about anyway.

Not defending Geldof personally either, if you don't like the chap you don't like him. Just seems to me that trashing what he did with LiveAid because Madonna is worth more than they raised there is more than a bit unfair.

17/05/2007, 6:43 PM
You managed to garner that:

That's that settled then -Live Aid/Band Aid wasn't worth doing because saving -probably a few million lives -is too high a price to pay for making megastars out of U2, Madonna and ...who else? ... Sting maybe ...oh and re-launching Queen in America.

From that:

Originally Posted by Lim till i die
Comparing me to Thatcher

That is fair enough

Got tired of writing so...... What he said

Sweet Jesus :rolleyes:

Also those megastars you mentioned - Probably would have made it without simultaneously patronising two continents ;)

Also, is that the same Queen that toured Apartheid South Africa?? Wasn't Mercury a bit iffy politically?? (Based on a vague memory, will happily withdraw if wrong)

17/05/2007, 6:47 PM
Thought there was a touch of sarcasm in that initial bit but if that's what you were saying there then cheerfully withdrawn.
Not disagreeing with your last two lines either, not at all.

Was being sarcastic if I'm honest but because I question the motivations involved rather than because of any hatred I may have for Africans (BTW, just to clarify, I don't) :)

Not defending Geldof personally either, if you don't like the chap you don't like him. Just seems to me that trashing what he did with LiveAid because Madonna is worth more than they raised there is more than a bit unfair

Again see the last two lines of the post you quoted

17/05/2007, 10:27 PM
None of this answers the question of what business is it of Geldof to stick his 2 cents in on Live Earth? Would he have appreciated Al Gore saying Live 8 was going to be a waste of time?