View Full Version : The Official Derry Rovers Hoolie Not Much Happened Thread

Frankfurt Hoop
15/05/2007, 1:43 AM
Great match and great atmos at tonight's game. Fair play to the Derry fans as usual.

Nothing outrageous happened, I'm bored to report. Except a bunch of skangers tried to rob the engine from the Hoops Supporters Club bus. In advance of any ferocious rebuttals from enraged Derry wordsmiths, Rovers fans are happy to accept that the local disaffected youth involved were not at the match. In fact it's pretty difficult to be at a match and rob the engine out of bus that's parked 500m away at the same time. So let's get that out of the way.

Why they didn't just rob the bus and take the engine out later escapes me. And after they'd misappropriated the engine from the bus, how were they going to get it out of the car park? Maybe on shopping trolleys?

15/05/2007, 1:47 AM
Great match and great atmos at tonight's game. Fair play to the Derry fans as usual.

Nothing outrageous happened, I'm bored to report. Except a bunch of skangers tried to rob the engine from the Hoops Supporters Club bus. In advance of any ferocious rebuttals from enraged Derry wordsmiths, Rovers fans are happy to accept that the local disaffected youth involved were not at the match. In fact it's pretty difficult to be at a match and rob the engine out of bus that's parked 500m away at the same time. So let's get that out of the way.

Why they didn't just rob the bus and take the engine out later escapes me. And after they'd misappropriated the engine from the bus, how were they going to get it out of the car park? Maybe on shopping trolleys?

You sure it wasn't the wheels that came off Rovers tonight, not the engine....? :D

15/05/2007, 4:58 AM

sounds like you could teach them where theyre going wrong? :cool:

15/05/2007, 9:07 AM
a bit more imaginative than robbing the bus surely would there be a market for used bus engines???

If you steal enough of them, there'll be people looking for replacements.

rebs23
15/05/2007, 9:22 AM
It's absolutely outrageous that such an incident should occur to a great bunch of travelling supporters who sang their heart out for the team for the entire 90 minutes and brought the biggest away support to Derry in well over 100 years.
I am going to immediately contact the Derry Tourist Office (as LOI Supporter of course) to complain that visiting buses are no longer safe and that measures must be taken by the stewards and police to ensure the safe passage of buses to and from Derry.
Just because some flash hallions from the South come up to Derry with their brand new 3000cc engines does not justify some local toe rag trying to rob them.
Hasn't anyone thought of the mini buses!

15/05/2007, 9:27 AM
You sure it wasn't the wheels that came off Rovers tonight, not the engine....? :D

Yet another fan tries to deflect away from the problem

Derry obviously has a major problem with engine stealing steve! Rather than have a go at Rovers maybe you should sort your own problems out!!!

15/05/2007, 9:41 AM
This is the start of the fightback Dubs!

We are sick and tired of having our poor Nordie vehicles robbed on our trips to Dublin (not to mention taking 10 years after we came into the LoI to realise that you weren't actually obliged to pay the auld fella in the flat cap to "mind yer car").

15/05/2007, 10:42 AM
Rumour is that the hoods involved were actually looking to take the engine from the Rovers team.

Then someone told them we already signed Pat McCourt 2 years ago, so they had to console themselves with the bus engine instead.....

We should have just hijacked and burned it for tradition's sake...... ;)

CharlesThompson
15/05/2007, 10:44 AM
Well far be it for me to intrude on this abysmal attempt of Rovers SCUM [sic] to garner sympathy from the greater support of the eircom League of Ireland pupulous, but this would never have happened if in fact you did not bring the bus with you in the first place.

There are numerous options you could have chosen for the purpose of transporting your fanbase into northern Ireland to see the match. Bringing a bus with you was obviously an incitement on your part to the Derry youth in the first instance but then leaving the bus unaccompanied for the duration of the proceedings at the Brandywell Stadium was always going to be like a red rag to a bull under the circumstances.

Trying to blame our innocent northern compatriots in this way by inciting them to remove the engine from your bus is obviously a (poor) attempt at deflecting from the inappropriate and despicable chanting and singing by the core support in green and white hoops who travelled up to the Brandwell appropriated in the name of Shamrock Rovers and it has to stop.

Chants like "Rovers (clap clap clap) Rovers (clap clap clap)" and other such abberations are clearly not acceptable in this day and age and no amount of engine robbing or bus molestation should take away from the seriousness of the issue.

And trying to paper over the utter contempt your players have of scoring into open goals by running into each other and falling to the ground, with blaming bystanders in the general Bogside area of common thievery of bus engines is only fit to be ignored and seen for what it actually is, i.e. deflecting critisism in a most abhorrent way.

Good night! :wheresthesmiliesgone:

lofty9
15/05/2007, 11:03 AM
i just cant picture it really was there many involved

Just the one engine.............;)

15/05/2007, 11:05 AM
i just cant picture it really was there many involved

No - just the one engine....

15/05/2007, 11:06 AM
Just the one engine.............;)

Bar-steward - yee beat me to it......! :)

lofty9
15/05/2007, 11:08 AM
Bar-steward - yee beat me to it......! :)

:D I was going to say great minds and all that, but we're not from Cork!

15/05/2007, 11:17 AM
:D I was going to say great minds and all that, but we're not from Cork!

Hence why 'great minds' would've been appropriate...... :D

15/05/2007, 11:18 AM
i asked for that really :D did nutsy offer to repair the engine

No - all the tools were in the away part of the ground....! (ba-boom)

Thank you ladies and gentlemen - I'm here all week.... :D

15/05/2007, 11:19 AM
i asked for that really :D did nutsy offer to repair the engine

I think it's time for the engine to take a long hard look at itself. It hasn't been firing on all cylinders this season. :mad:

Frankfurt Hoop
15/05/2007, 12:07 PM
And trying to paper over the utter contempt your players have of scoring into open goals by running into each other and falling to the ground, with blaming bystanders in the general Bogside area of common thievery of bus engines...

C'mon on, Charles. It's a well documented fact that footballers run into each other and fall over in front of open goals when the local tracksuited are trying to half-inch the engine out of their supporters bus. Losing 0-1 away is the invariable result of the despair that players often feel as the result of such outrages. It's about time Scully got his act together and started pointing his finger in the right direction after matches. The "small club from Dublin" chant also upset players and was extremely unhelpful to our cause. One word - disgraceful.

On a happier note, Ian Paisley is hardly a wet week in power and he's already doing a great job. If Enda Kenny wants to win the election he should sign the Reverend P up as party leader immediately. I got eight cans of Stella and and two large Snickers bars for 12 Euro in a pub in Omagh last night. There's a contract we could all sign up to. :)

15/05/2007, 12:10 PM
Exclusive picture of the crime (http://www.davespages.co.uk/pics/mycar/noengine.jpg)

15/05/2007, 1:20 PM
Exclusive picture of the crime (http://www.davespages.co.uk/pics/mycar/noengine.jpg)

Despicable. We don't want this in society and we certainly don't want it in the game, Pat.

Aaron
15/05/2007, 1:49 PM
I found "Ian Paisley's Red & White Army" rather funny!!!:D :D

monkey magic
16/05/2007, 6:19 PM
outrageous, despicable, a scar on the league, im getting really tired of the scum that clings on to this league:mad:

*cough* may have a home for that engine*cough*

16/05/2007, 8:04 PM
I heard they found the engine burnt out in the middle of a field that night

Got to be an inside job I'm afraid.

Where is the srfcthief nowadays?

Frankfurt Hoop
16/05/2007, 10:10 PM
Not much has been seen of srfcthief in recent times. As the country's traffic gridlock problem increases his heroic, single-handed effort at solving it probably consumes more of his time than ever.

It couldn't have been him though. He wouldn't be seen dead in a tracksuit and his normal MO is to destroy vehicles after he's robbed them.

Nice try at trying to deflect all the blame back onto Shamrock Rovers, a Réiteoir, but no cigar this time.

16/05/2007, 10:40 PM
darnit - foiled again - I would have gotten away with it if it wasn't for those pesky Rovers fans

Erstwhile Bóz
18/05/2007, 8:48 AM
What was the (impeccably observed, fair play) minute's silence for?

swano
18/05/2007, 9:24 AM
No idea. Didn't hear an announcement at all.

dcfc_1928
18/05/2007, 10:00 AM
The minutes silence was in memory of Stephanie Devine - a Derry City supporter and daughter of former City player and player-manager Doug Wood (I think he played for & managed Athlone Town as well) - who passed away in the Foyle Hospice the previous day.

BohsFans
19/05/2007, 7:37 PM
http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?p=118530#118530

:eek: :rolleyes:

:p

Dyl10
20/05/2007, 1:15 PM
No - all the tools were in the away part of the ground....! (ba-boom)

Thank you ladies and gentlemen - I'm here all week.... :D

:D :D I got a good chuckle out of that

HulaHoop
20/05/2007, 3:53 PM
http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?p=118530#118530

:D :D :D

21/05/2007, 7:18 PM
bless their little cotton school socks... :D

Jaime
23/05/2007, 4:27 PM
Where is the srfcthief nowadays?
Someone stole him and burnt him in a field.

23/05/2007, 5:45 PM
Someone stole him and burnt him in a field.

The ironing is delicious!:)

24/05/2007, 10:04 AM
Since hoolie is in the thread title I may as well point out that both Shels and Rovers have come together to install CCTV which cost €30,000. Shels are also looking in to the possibility of using travel cards. The system will cost in the region of €4,000.

24/05/2007, 10:13 AM
€4,000 for travel cards!?!?!

24/05/2007, 10:21 AM

Shels players will be paid in travel cards for the rest of the season.

24/05/2007, 10:25 AM

That'd work out at about €400 per Shels away fan !

Madness - it'd be cheaper to just pay them to stay at home...

24/05/2007, 10:35 AM

Yup, that's what Andy Byrne said at the meeting on Tuesday evening. They are looking into getting sponsorship to sustain it. Personally I can't see them coming into use.

Flares are worth a €100 fine and smoke cannisters €500. Shels are cracking down big time on BD.

The club are employing at least 15 guards for every home game and 15 stewards. Supposedly 2 riot vans at every home game. IMO a bit OTT, however, two dangerous weapons were confiscated at the Bohs LC game. A six inch knife and a 15 year old girl was found carrying a knuckle duster

24/05/2007, 10:57 AM
...and a 15 year old girl was found carrying a knuckle duster

That was just for the bus ride home...! Poor wee dote might not have made it back alive now....

Shels are doing the right thing here, tbh. It's still very early days in the whole hooligans/schooligans things in the LOI. If clubs can nip it in the bud, make it very difficult for those who might want to get involved, and take a lot of the fun out of it for them, then there's a good chance they'll just go back to drinking on street corners and harassing passers by instead.....

24/05/2007, 11:07 AM
Was on the bus on the way back into Cork city centre last Friday night and there was a few young Cork lads (14ish) talking. Of the little I could make out of their conversation through my poor understanding of the Cork dialect it seemed they thought the clothes the bohs fans wore were "class" (I presume they meant the casuals) and they were going to try and get some and make an away trip to Dublin and have a fight with whatever "firm" would take them on. They were debating as to which game to go to. The preference was for Bohs or Rovers but Pats or Shels!!! were also mentioned. They agreed not to travel to see Cork play Dublin City :eek: !!! as they don't have many fans! (understandable seing as how they don't exist anymore I suppose). This gives a snapshot of the mentality of the average schoolie I suppose. :rolleyes:

24/05/2007, 11:11 AM
They are all ebay experts at this stage too with a few of them bidding all the time on the latest 'gear'. For those that can't afford the real stuff, they go to Meath Street for the fakes :D they'll probably see Sean Conner there too :p;)

24/05/2007, 11:13 AM
they'll probably see Sean Conner there too :p;)

Thats a bit upmarket for SC!

24/05/2007, 11:22 AM
A few Rovers schoolies arranged a meet up with the Pats bebo warriors at last Mondays game. Rovers lads left at ht to go to meeting place, abd the Pats lads followed but when told by the stewards that anyone leaving at half time would not be allowed re-entry they decided to stay and watch the football. :D

We must hold the world record for yellow and grey hooped jumpers and grey tracksuit bottoms... (Although the other Dublin clubs could dispute that)

24/05/2007, 11:27 AM
..........fake diamond studs and gay spikey blond hair..........

BohsFans
24/05/2007, 4:05 PM
You were ripped off, our CCTV only cost €20,000. :p

As far as I know we were the first league club with it, do any other clubs have CCTV?

24/05/2007, 4:11 PM

But the plan is that the system in Tolka will actually work. ;)

24/05/2007, 4:25 PM

As far as I know we were the first league club with it, do any other clubs have CCTV?

Do any other club have such an annoying group of schooligans that they had to set-up a Gardai chaperoned creche on matchday for unaccompanied minors....? :D

BohsFans
24/05/2007, 5:15 PM
Do any other club have such an annoying group of schooligans that they had to set-up a Gardai chaperoned creche on matchday for unaccompanied minors....? :D

thing is we got it in way b4 the skooligans were even around and our extends to underneath the stand and into the lane way.

25/05/2007, 10:38 AM

SSSSHHHHHHHSSSS Ollie told them it was 30K ;):D

25/05/2007, 12:19 PM
SSSSHHHHHHHSSSS Ollie told them it was 30K ;):DDid he pay for it in coins? :D