View Full Version : Rovers 4 Cork 1
MarkyH
12/05/2007, 8:34 PM
Great result. Heard Turner had a great game and Judge scored a couple of good goals.
What happened the corkies or was it just a great display by rovers?
Was there a decent crowd there? Ragin I couldn't make it down:(
Kivlehan
12/05/2007, 8:35 PM
Who saw that coming? :)
12/05/2007, 9:00 PM
Great display by us , best of the season by miles , whole team worked for eachother , 2 great goals by Judge especially the 2nd one and a great goal by Chrissy too to kill the game off , ****ing delighted!
SeaniesRedArmy
12/05/2007, 9:05 PM
Great result. Heard Turner had a great game and Judge scored a couple of good goals.
What happened the corkies or was it just a great display by rovers?
Was there a decent crowd there? Ragin I couldn't make it down:(
Poor attendance. Red stand one third full. Turner was unreal as per usual but looked to be carrying a knock when substituted. The difference was that we had a striker to play to. My views on judge have been completely changed. He looks much quicker and has a way better touch than last season. his second goal is one of the bet goals i have seen in the showgrounds. cork barely had a chance except for the consilation
12/05/2007, 9:23 PM
Poor attendance aye, but some craic in the blue stand which was packed i d say...cant believe we won 4-1
12/05/2007, 10:16 PM
Didn't see that coming anyway! ****ing hell:D. Up until we scored all we were doing was hoofball and I thought we were in for another poor performance, how wrong I was:D. Don't think the penalty should have been given as Faz had already lost it. Super performance from all the lads especially Judge, Turner, Hughes, Peers and McKenzie and Coleman. Judge and McKenzie have both really improved on last season in my opinion. Good chance for McMorrow and Gino to have a run out. Good to see Conor back too. Play like that and we really should trash Bray, consistency will be a big test though.
HomeBrewPlease
12/05/2007, 10:22 PM
Poor attendance. Red stand one third full. Turner was unreal as per usual but looked to be carrying a knock when substituted. The difference was that we had a striker to play to. My views on judge have been completely changed. He looks much quicker and has a way better touch than last season. his second goal is one of the bet goals i have seen in the showgrounds. cork barely had a chance except for the consilation
Agree fully with you (apart from your user name). Turner was class. So was Seamie Coleman. Judge was brilliant too, not just the goals even though they were something else. Like yourself I didnt rate the guy at all and to be honest I wasnt sorry that he was gone (he was let go wasnt he?)
But if he can perform like that then he has really improved himself and fair play to him. His two goals were excellent but the last one was just pure genius. Definitely goal of the season. Magic. Like something Thierry Henry would do.
They looked comfortable all might and never looked under pressure or in danger of conceding until they did. (that is the one negative from tonight - the fact they let in again so late in the game even though the game was in the bag)
Have to say. Best game of football I have seen in the Showgrounds in a long long time. When they got the ball down they played some excellent football. We often knock the lads (and justifiably) for some of their performances. Tonight we should give them credit for a magnificent performance. Well done lads
Midgit
12/05/2007, 10:29 PM
Agrre with you totally! Every player played to his full potential exept one...i wont name any names but i am sure you know who he is.
Great win and great buzz about the place. wont be long till the crowds pick up if we preform like that.
12/05/2007, 10:30 PM
lots of positive talk about sligo, and rightly so i guess with a scoreline like that, but any judgements of cork?
12/05/2007, 10:33 PM
any judgements of cork?Not much to say tbh, played well at first but just couldn't be arsed doing anything after going a goal down. Very surprised with Gamble and O'Donovan's performances, considering the reputation they're given.
SeaniesRedArmy
12/05/2007, 10:33 PM
apart from turner, coleman has been our most consistent performer this season. defensively second to none and good going forward too. he has a great future ahead of him. Where did we get that mcmorrow fella from?
Midgit
12/05/2007, 10:34 PM
Youth acadamy.
12/05/2007, 10:35 PM
Where did we get that mcmorrow fella from?He's been in the U-21's for the last couple of seasons. From Sligo town, he's only 21/22. His brother, Ian, played/plays with the Sligo Dairies basketball team.
12/05/2007, 10:35 PM
Agrre with you totally! Every player played to his full potential exept one...i wont name any names but i am sure you know who he is.
Great win and great buzz about the place. wont be long till the crowds pick up if we preform like that.
no who?
12/05/2007, 10:38 PM
no who?Presuming Manson?
SeaniesRedArmy
12/05/2007, 10:40 PM
Of course it would have to be mansen. He pulled out of 50-50 balls and turned back any time he had the ball. Very poor. Don't think he is up to much at all.
Raf was good left back.
12/05/2007, 10:47 PM
Magnificent performance. Completely out of the blue. Even before we scored I thought we were just as good as Cork and that we were playing the ball intelligently to Matthew Judge and Murray was finding him unplayable. Terrific goals but above all great attitude. I must confess that I backed Cork at 11/10 as I could not see anyway we would live with them. Arrah feck it, I never liked the house anyway - Ladbrokes is welcome to it!
Turner legend and we kept the ball beautifully until Conor came on and began spilling it ? Want to watch himself - hard to change that midfield.
Happiest crowd leaving the Showgrounds for a long time and all I can say is well done, lads and keep it up.
We may be away for the next two weeks but guess who's coming to town the week after that ????????!!!!!!!!!!!!
12/05/2007, 10:51 PM
We may be away for the next two weeks but guess who's coming to town the week after that ????????!!!!!!!!!!!!The Magic Mons?
12/05/2007, 11:19 PM
A man of the match display from Chris Turner put the brakes on Cork City's recent rival as Sligo put in their best performance of the season at the Showgrounds.
The Northern Ireland under-21 international midfielder negated Cork's Joe Gamble in midfield before setting-up Matt Judge to side foot Sligo in front on 36 minutes.
Cork keeper Michael Devine then pulled down Fahrudin Kuduzovic from Turner's through ball on 44 minutes. Turner sent Devine the wrong way from the spot.
It got better for Sligo within two minutes of the second half when Turner brust through from Judge's pass to outfox Cork skipper Dan Murray and shoot past Devine.
Cork were all over the place and Devine had to make a superb finger tip save from Kuduzovic's shot after great work down he right by Stephen Manson just minutes later.
The lively Judge then completed the rout on 71 minutes with a brilliant solo goal.
Having charged down Darragh Ryan's clearance, the big striker back-heeled another defender before cutting inside a second to curl a left foot shot past Devine.
Substitute Daren Murphy got Cork's consolation goal a minute into stoppage time from Roy O'Donovan's cross.
Source (http://www.eveningecho.ie/news/bstory.asp?j=252993115&p=z5z99393x&n=252994001).
Bravo
12/05/2007, 11:39 PM
Lads in fairness, what a result, CORK didn’t play poor, they were beaten by a better side, we were exquisite! They are a far better side than pats (& they beat us 4-0), they just got us on a good night! & it goes to show we aren’t far of the mark, …
4 great goals incl the peno, 100% credit to faz for that, he won it well ( i HAD A CLASS VIEW)!!!
Me, being a stunch republican & given the week that’s in it! I’ll forgive the cork fans with the linfield scarf’s 4 shouting for Aberdeen today & I also want to say.............. TURNER is class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (the big hunn!!)
The biggest downer to tonight was that the 3 goals are contenders for goal of the season, & they came in the same game, so we ave to choose between them!!
Bo11ix.
I am _p155ed______
RT that’s your fault.
But a performance & result like this makes it all worth while,
All our friends in the west take heart!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-)
KEEP THE FAITH
Lads in fairness, what a result
red bellied
13/05/2007, 12:06 AM
Turner was the player of the match to night, never gave up for the second goal, buried them penalty as well. Well as for Judges second goal, I was trying to interact all night in the pub, wouldnt be the greatest fan but has to be ONE OF THE BEST EVER GOALS IN THE SHOWGROUNDS.
red bellied
13/05/2007, 12:30 AM
Sligo put dent in Cork's revival
12/05/2007 - 9:35:31 PM
Sligo Rovers 4 Cork City 1
A man of the match display from Chris Turner put the brakes on Cork City's recent rival as Sligo put in their best performance of the season at the Showgrounds.
The Northern Ireland under-21 international midfielder negated Cork's Joe Gamble in midfield before setting-up Matt Judge to side foot Sligo in front on 36 minutes.
Cork keeper Michael Devine then pulled down Fahrudin Kuduzovic from Turner's through ball on 44 minutes. Turner sent Devine the wrong way from the spot.
It got better for Sligo within two minutes of the second half when Turner brust through from Judge's pass to outfox Cork skipper Dan Murray and shoot past Devine.
Cork were all over the place and Devine had to make a superb finger tip save from Kuduzovic's shot after great work down he right by Stephen Manson just minutes later.
The lively Judge then completed the rout on 71 minutes with a brilliant solo goal.
Having charged down Darragh Ryan's clearance, the big striker back-heeled another defender before cutting inside a second to curl a left foot shot past Devine.
Substitute Daren Murphy got Cork's consolation goal a minute into stoppage time from Roy O'Donovan's cross.
FRONT | PREVIOUS
News: Breaking News | World News | Sport News | Entertainment News
Services: Horoscopes | Lotto Results | Weather | Family Notices | Sports Fixtures | Echoes of the Past
Community: Local Information | Cork Diary
Newspaper: Contact Us | Media Pack | Editorial Team | Free Ads
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Info
© Echo Publications (Cork) Limited, City Quarter, Cork. Registered in Ireland: 344279.
13/05/2007, 12:35 AM
I already posted that red bellied, page 1.
Da Real Rover
13/05/2007, 2:13 PM
What a game, unbelieveable. Such a buzz at the game, havent seen anything like that for a while. After being so completely disheartened at Harps, with thw worst defeat of the season we follow it up with the best victory of the season. Its true what they say about us, that when we come to our lowest ebb, our greatest moments then come.
Cork didnt show at all, didnt perform did even make an effort. Above all if i were a cork fan that made the trip that woud be my main complaint, no commitment or effort from the cork players.
By the way, Matty Judge is a legend, was chatting to him after the game, sound bloke.
Only1Rovers
13/05/2007, 5:05 PM
Couldn't believe the result, couldn't make it to sligo for the game, first game I've missed in weeks. Gutted and Delighted all at once.
Dunno lads, but for all of the complementing of the players, there has been little mention of the Cookie Monster. Surly he had a large roll to play in the turn around from the defeat to Harps. I was at the game in Finn Park, and I hadn't seen such a disorganised display from a Rovers side in years (wasn't at the semi-final replay in Derry).
Well done Paul and the team and Chrissy (legend) and thanks,
In the words of The Automatic - sort of...
'What's that coming over the hill,
It's the monster,
The Cookie Monster!!!!!!!!!
Was there a camera at the game? Please say there was...
Was up last night. Rather forget the result but had a grand chat with some Sligo lads in Foleys beforehand.
Well deserved on yer part
13/05/2007, 5:35 PM
Please say there was...
'there was'
not sure if there was a camera
Only1Rovers
13/05/2007, 5:37 PM
not sure if there was a camera
If there wasn't thats summit the club should really get sorted. :mad:
There was an announcement on the PA after the game that you could see all the goals again monday on EL weekly so I presume there was.
not that il be watching
Only1Rovers
13/05/2007, 5:43 PM
There was an announcement on the PA after the game that you could see all the goals again monday on EL weekly so I presume there was.
not that il be watching
Nice one micls, thanks.
DonalE
13/05/2007, 6:12 PM
Where did we get that mcmorrow fella from?
He signed from Strand Celtic about 2 months ago, was with Rovers before a few years back in the under age setup, signed originally by DOR I think. Usually plays in the middle of the park but think he may have played at right back a few times in his previous spell.
13/05/2007, 8:59 PM
Was there a camera at the game? Please say there was...
there was, the cookie monster was being interviewed as i left the ground, so hopefully marajudge will get his moment in the sun:)
13/05/2007, 9:18 PM
there was, the cookie monster was being interviewed as i left the ground, so hopefully marajudge will get his moment in the sun:)
they'll probably just say how bad cork were and not how good we were.
and we'll stuggle or something. i think they just recorded one show at the start of the year and edited in the weeks goals in between the comments, same sh*t over and over and over again
13/05/2007, 9:19 PM
i mentioned it in that survey thing.. elw is really a disgrace and does the league no justice
13/05/2007, 9:20 PM
what survey thing?
13/05/2007, 9:21 PM
club promotion survey...handed mine to sinčad before the match...
EbVFC7aUBDY
13/05/2007, 9:29 PM
where did ye get them?
13/05/2007, 9:38 PM
eh your man noel mooney was handing them out
14/05/2007, 12:23 AM
Who the feck scored the City goal?
I've seen it attributed to Billy Woods, John O'Flynn and Darren Murphy?
14/05/2007, 12:33 AM
Murphy
Claret Murph
14/05/2007, 6:49 AM
I was in total shock when I saw the result , but saying that I have to tip my hat to Sligo a fantastic result for you boys .
14/05/2007, 7:54 AM
Who the feck scored the City goal?
I've seen it attributed to Billy Woods, John O'Flynn and Darren Murphy?
It was Billy.
I had the misfortune to be at the debacle and he was the best City player by far even though he only played for the last half hour.
Fivesilver
14/05/2007, 9:00 AM
Magnificent performance overall. One thing that stood out for me was the speed which which Rovers moved from defending to attacking. Even while we were playing well last year, I was always frustrated with McNamara (in particular) and Burns's tendency to spend half the day releasing the ball. The move that led to the penalty was a perfect example.
I thought Coleman had a terrific game and pushed Turner hard for man of the match - hard to believe he's so young. Judge and Faz got through a huge amount of work keeping the Cork defnders from getting forward the way they like to.
The passing of the ball through midfield was also very impressive, and would have been better if it weren't for a few bobbles (memo: SORT THE PITCH OUT).
Tommy did everything he had to do (which wasn't an awful lot) very well. Dick might be a better shot-stopper, but Tommy looked very confident under the high ball.
A couple of things that were less than satisfying, if you can be hyper-critical after such a result:
Manson - full of effort, and looks like he has the makings of a good player, but he has to learn to play with his head up and use possession more quickly.
Foyser - we all know his only shortcoming, and surely he knows it himself. He's not that old, and while he won't get back to England at this stage, he's throwing away the chance to be one of the top players in the LOI. At the moment, he's in danger of going, in the space of a year and a half, from being our outstanding player to being the weakest link. If we strengthen the squad, I reckon his place is far from safe.
Only1Rovers
14/05/2007, 10:14 AM
Foyser - we all know his only shortcoming, and surely he knows it himself. He's not that old, and while he won't get back to England at this stage, he's throwing away the chance to be one of the top players in the LOI. At the moment, he's in danger of going, in the space of a year and a half, from being our outstanding player to being the weakest link. If we strengthen the squad, I reckon his place is far from safe.
He has the sweetest left foot in the league. When he gets his pass right he can be deadly at releasing players up the wing or playing the striker through from deep.
I hope the Cookie monster helps Keith sort himself out...
showgies
14/05/2007, 10:16 AM
I think our three goals from open play are all worthy to be in the goals of the month on Eircom Weekly. Let’s hope the coverage tonight does the lads justice.
I think we all have to admit that we went to the Showgies on Saturday night expecting the worse and at best hoping for a draw. The performance was clearly one of the best in a long long time.
I thought one of the key moves of the game was made from our Manager, when he switched Raff & Foy within the first 5 minutes to stifle the threat of O’Donovan. This switch worked well, particularly as O’Donovan got himself booked for mouthing at the Linesman, clearly frustrated. This could be the start of a new position for Raff.
Also key was the return of Peers to centre half. It is no coincidence that the games where we leaked goals were the games minus Peers.
The last time we turned on new floodlightts we scored 4 and the season began to turn around…………
Roll on eircom weekly tonight and Bray
14/05/2007, 12:41 PM
Risteard, is that bit at the bottom of your post about Rico ?
The only way Foy will lose the extra pounds he needs to is through his diet and eating habits. Training alone will not get rid of them.
When is the last time we beat Cork?
red bellied
14/05/2007, 3:47 PM
Beat them down in Cork the season we got relegated, two one I think it ended up.
There was a major gamble on Cork around the town, the bookies made a fortune.
14/05/2007, 3:49 PM
one fella had €3,000 on them i heard.....
14/05/2007, 6:11 PM
Beat them down in Cork the season we got relegated, two one I think it ended up.
There was a major gamble on Cork around the town, the bookies made a fortune.
i lost money..anyone else