View Full Version : Jackman Park Development

thomas72
10/05/2007, 1:31 PM
old keeper whats the latest on jackman as regarding seats etc etc??

what do limerick37 hope to have the ground looking like before the start of next season??

Old keeper
10/05/2007, 10:24 PM
old keeper whats the latest on jackman as regarding seats etc etc??

what do limerick37 hope to have the ground looking like before the start of next season??

Hi Thomas

Plans will be on display from next month

4tothefloor
16/05/2007, 11:56 PM
Hopefully it'll be a decent development and not one of those GAA-esque shed stands

17/05/2007, 7:31 AM
Hopefully it'll be a decent development and not one of those GAA-esque shed stands

Ah yes the GAA stands......we'll get Whelans to do it, "shur didnt they do my slatted unit"? A nice barn with every view restrictied, a hill of muck lightly coated in concrete (by whelans) each step one to two inches in height ala st Annes :rolleyes: (shur we'll fit four steps in there) and the our argos ights can be moved to......hegertys! :)

17/05/2007, 10:50 AM
Great to be able to talk about any sort of a stand going up...even a lego one...after the last 23 years endured by this city concerning senior soccer....:ball:

manalishi
17/05/2007, 3:06 PM
Ah yes the GAA stands......we'll get Whelans to do it, "shur didnt they do my slatted unit"? A nice barn with every view restrictied, a hill of muck lightly coated in concrete (by whelans) each step one to two inches in height ala st Annes :rolleyes: (shur we'll fit four steps in there) and the our argos ights can be moved to......hegertys! :)

Help me here .Whats a GAAesque stand???

17/05/2007, 3:16 PM

The Mackey stand outside

ie $hite

4tothefloor
18/05/2007, 11:41 AM
If cows watched field sports, you would build them one

18/05/2007, 11:48 AM
We didnt do that coz the cows were outside of our ground boundaries.

4tothefloor
18/05/2007, 11:53 AM
We didnt do that coz the cows were outside of our ground boundaries.
Yea but ye still count them as part of the official attendence don't ye? :p

18/05/2007, 11:59 AM
No....and certainly not able to anymore since they have been banished and are in the process of being replaced by a housing estate.

GIP Mons Cows.

JoeyFantastic
15/06/2007, 7:28 PM
Well, we're half way through the next month (ref Old Keeper's post), anyone seen the plans yet?

Old-Keeper, I think you posted last summer that the terrace of 3 story houses facing the People's Park was due to be knocked, has there been any further development on this?

Good luck with the plans, great to see the steps forward being taken.

Old keeper
15/06/2007, 11:13 PM
Well, we're half way through the next month (ref Old Keeper's post), anyone seen the plans yet?

Old-Keeper, I think you posted last summer that the terrace of 3 story houses facing the People's Park was due to be knocked, has there been any further development on this?

Good luck with the plans, great to see the steps forward being taken.

Hi Joey

We are a bit behind on the plans, due to the number of games being played in the park, this has also delayed the work as we have not had a break in games for almost 5 weeks now. Sunday sees the last junior game of the season in the MJC Final between Pike and Balla so there should be some movement after that.

declan hide
17/06/2007, 8:22 PM
are there plans to put in a pathway around the back of the clubhouse for fans leaving from the farside of the ground at full time?

atfconline
17/06/2007, 8:27 PM
are there plans to put in a pathway around the back of the clubhouse for fans leaving from the farside of the ground at full time?

Or some lighting?

17/06/2007, 8:32 PM
Or some lighting?

Could always maybe go around the otherside until then??

atfconline
17/06/2007, 8:36 PM
Around the front of the club house, or around the other end of the pitch?

17/06/2007, 8:40 PM
Around the front of the club house, or around the other end of the pitch?

Around the other end of the pitch

Or wait for the players to go off and walk in front of the clubhouse

I just think the club should be cut a little slack with regards to ground improvements for a few months at least

atfconline
17/06/2007, 8:55 PM
Makes little odds to me really, I was just following up the query of a Limerick fan. :) That said, sticking a floodlight onto the back of the clubhouse, if that area is going to be open to fans, would hardly be considered as a major ground development. It should be in the clubs's own interest to make sure people aren't falling there.

17/06/2007, 8:57 PM
It should be in the clubs's own interest to make sure people aren't falling there.

Ah but that would imply some sort of owners liability :p

declan hide
17/06/2007, 10:03 PM
Around the other end of the pitch

Or wait for the players to go off and walk in front of the clubhouse

I just think the club should be cut a little slack with regards to ground improvements for a few months at least

maybe we shouldnt go over that side?:rolleyes:

maybe the players should wait til we've passed by? :)

its something i just wanted to point out. i'm sure the club are aware of it.
how hard is it to install a concrete footpath? i reckon its something that needs to be top of their minor ground improvements list.

17/06/2007, 10:37 PM
maybe we shouldnt go over that side?

maybe the players should wait til we've passed by? :)

its something i just wanted to point out. i'm sure the club are aware of it.
how hard is it to install a concrete footpath? i reckon its something that needs to be top of their minor ground improvements list.

Don't think you'll see much of an improvement for people over that side because if they're planning to build a stand there it'll be closed off anyway :confused:

Nevermind, Oldkeeper will answer I suppose :)

Old keeper
17/06/2007, 11:09 PM
Don't think you'll see much of an improvement for people over that side because if they're planning to build a stand there it'll be closed off anyway :confused:

Nevermind, Oldkeeper will answer I suppose :)

Hi

There will be improvements to the access around the club house over the next few weeks

17/06/2007, 11:14 PM
Hi

There will be improvements to the access around the club house over the next few weeks

Much Obliged :)

thomas72
18/06/2007, 1:26 PM
Hi Joey

We are a bit behind on the plans, due to the number of games being played in the park, this has also delayed the work as we have not had a break in games for almost 5 weeks now. Sunday sees the last junior game of the season in the MJC Final between Pike and Balla so there should be some movement after that.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: behind the dugouts looks awful again at least cut the grass make it some bit decent. forgive me but limerick have been promised a 8,000 stadium before why should the supporters believe they will get it this time???

4tothefloor
18/06/2007, 1:28 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: behind the dugouts looks awful again at least cut the grass make it some bit decent
Yea the grass needs to be cut, they said it's being done next week. If it isn't I doubt the lads will be putting flags up there anymore :ball:

L37Ultra
18/06/2007, 1:38 PM
because old keeper is more reliable than dd and fr J

and he is a legend :D

the hoops
18/06/2007, 1:43 PM
lads at the mjc cup game yesterday thought it was a disgrace charging the kids 1euro for crisps shop is very dear and the toilets are a joke you wudnt let a dog go in them.plus for safety ye should put the signs back futher to the wall and the new lights put some padding around them the players will get hurt if they hit them

L37Ultra
18/06/2007, 1:55 PM
lads at the mjc cup game yesterday thought it was a disgrace charging the kids 1euro for crisps shop is very dear and the toilets are a joke you wudnt let a dog go in them.plus for safety ye should put the signs back futher to the wall and the new lights put some padding around them the players will get hurt if they hit them

well said :D!! But fair play 2 old keeper and the club for everything they have done so far!!

Old keeper
18/06/2007, 4:12 PM

Hi Hoops,

Thanks for the feedback, I dont think the prices charged at the shop were excessive as the cost of items in the shop are usually the same as the prices outside the ground and this is the first time it has been mentioned. I will look into what the cost of individual items were and ensure they are charged at the RRP there are usually free items given with crisps such as mini bars etc but I will see if this was done on the day.

The signs are over 2 meters back from the line this is in excess of the safety requirements for UEFA grounds and we can only comply. One could say the same in relation to the wall or the dugouts. we are complying with all safety requirements and will get to the other areas as soon as possible. The MJC was the third game in 3 days in the ground and the toilets were cleaned on the saturday but there was a game on sat evening so with the best will in the world there were going to be issues with cleaning of the ground for the sunday morning. I think the people who gave of their time freely did a good job in getting the place looking resonable for the MJC.

Lastly if you know anyone who would like to support the efforts of a growing band of volunteers who clean and maintain the ground please let the club know.

Again thanks for the feedback and I hope your questions are answered

Old keeper
18/06/2007, 4:16 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: behind the dugouts looks awful again at least cut the grass make it some bit decent. forgive me but limerick have been promised a 8,000 stadium before why should the supporters believe they will get it this time???

Hi Thomas

This time YOU have an opportunity to get involved and make sure it happens, You can see how things are done via the supporters club rep on the board, You own the club so that is the difference.

Monkfish
18/06/2007, 4:47 PM
Iv offered my services regarding the grass up there, anyone else available say in the week before the Shels game? if its been raining on Friday i aint going up to that wall unless i get a pair of rushers!!

L37Ultra
18/06/2007, 5:01 PM
Iv offered my services regarding the grass up there, anyone else available say in the week before the Shels game? if its been raining on Friday i aint going up to that wall unless i get a pair of rushers!!

ill gladly help :)

declan hide
18/06/2007, 5:41 PM

the problem here is that kids shouldnt be eating crisps at 11.30 in the morning.

JoeyFantastic
18/06/2007, 5:59 PM
Thanks again for the quick reply Old Keeper, there's really a sense that the club is moving forward again, long may it continue.

18/06/2007, 7:00 PM
lads at the mjc cup game yesterday thought it was a disgrace charging the kids 1euro for crisps shop is very dear

I charged adults one euro too. I paid 90 cent in a spar for them last week, i usually throw in some lollies or try and make packs like a cream egg and a capri sun for 1:50 (if the kids have it, or if they come close) I didnt have to get up out of bed the morning after being best man at a wedding and open the shop for two teams i have no interest in but i did.

JoeyFantastic
18/06/2007, 9:12 PM
I charged adults one euro too. I paid 90 cent in a spar for them last week, i usually throw in some lollies or try and make packs like a cream egg and a capri sun for 1:50 (if the kids have it, or if they come close) I didnt have to get up out of bed the morning after being best man at a wedding and open the shop for two teams i have no interest in but i did.

First of all, fair play for opening the shop but secondly, surely there's cheaper ways to stock a shop than to run down to Spar to buy what you intend to sell? I'm not knocking you, but surely it could save both you and the fans some money?

4tothefloor
18/06/2007, 9:29 PM
First of all, fair play for opening the shop but secondly, surely there's cheaper ways to stock a shop than to run down to Spar to buy what you intend to sell? I'm not knocking you, but surely it could save both you and the fans some money?
I'd say you grabbed the wrong end of the stick there Joey :D

shelbourne1904
19/06/2007, 8:33 AM

Try Musgraves!!!!

Old keeper
19/06/2007, 9:05 AM
Try Musgraves!!!!

I think the point being made is that the cost of the items in the shop on average were the same as in other shops bar a few cent. There are usually frebies as well. We do have a policy of fairness in the shop and try to give value for money.

Lastly, do you really think we buy the stock for the shop in another shop!!!!

Monkfish
19/06/2007, 10:20 AM

Im mortified for you!

shelbourne1904
19/06/2007, 2:34 PM
I think the point being made is that the cost of the items in the shop on average were the same as in other shops bar a few cent. There are usually frebies as well. We do have a policy of fairness in the shop and try to give value for money.

Lastly, do you really think we buy the stock for the shop in another shop!!!!

No but someone else thought it was bought in Spar!!!

4tothefloor
19/06/2007, 8:21 PM
Some right whoppers on here :D

JoeyFantastic
19/06/2007, 9:32 PM
Yeah, sorry for not giving the important topic of bags of tayto's my full attention, oh well.

declan hide
20/06/2007, 3:07 PM
Yeah, sorry for not giving the important topic of bags of tayto's my full attention, oh well.

stop advertising brands. we were taking about crisps.

maybe you should give stuff you full attention before posting?
seems what most people do.

JoeyFantastic
20/06/2007, 5:28 PM
Might ruin my style though.

L37Ultra
20/06/2007, 7:02 PM

The fact that we are worrying about important matters such as the price of a bag of crisps it really does show the progress we have made! We no longer have to worry about small things like what is going on, on the pitch :D :p

shelbourne1904
20/06/2007, 10:06 PM
And ver little comment about winning away from home and in the last 16??
I have to admit Wexford are not great but are getting better and the Blues tried to play a bit ,mind you ,you couldnt but try on the billiard table pitch.

L37Ultra
20/06/2007, 10:47 PM
And ver little comment about winning away from home and in the last 16??
I have to admit Wexford are not great but are getting better and the Blues tried to play a bit ,mind you ,you couldnt but try on the billiard table pitch.

If you go into the other threads there is a lot of talk about winning away from home against wexford!!

the dazzler
06/07/2007, 1:14 AM
is there goin to be any work done behind the dug outs like there is behind the goals the high grass looks terrible?plus decent toilets would not go a miss good work done so far already ps is the ldmc stopping work being done