View Full Version : Cork City

09/05/2007, 9:39 PM
Time to forget the last few games, no point looking back, clear underdogs for this one...o'donovan in the form of his life will be really hard to handle.
would be pretty happy with a point i guess
1-0 rovers, judge :confused:

09/05/2007, 9:42 PM
dont see anything but 0 points and 0 goals coming from this for us...

09/05/2007, 9:52 PM
Will O'Grady be fit?

SeaniesRedArmy
09/05/2007, 10:08 PM
Judge looks like are best chance of scoring. Great to see peers back. i have a feeling we might get a draw

10/05/2007, 9:14 AM
looking forward to this trip lads.

I reckon our team will be:

........................Devine.................... .......

Hoggy.......Dan......O'Callaghan.........Ryan

Softic........COB.......Gamble.............Woods

..................Flynny.........ROD.............. .....

Thats who i'd play. O'Callaghan in the continued absence of sean Kelly.. Even though i reckon Rico will play Kearney for Woods.

Darren Murphy, The Lordans, Behan and Kearney/Woods on the bench.

Hopefully enough for the 3 points.

Whats a good spot to head out on Saturday night?

10/05/2007, 9:52 AM
myself and fivesilver are getting a few flags and the like to add to the atmosphere for saturday which will be distributed to our singing group in the jinks'.We need a bit more colour and a few of the flags are going to making pretty massive one[which is midget is kindly putting together] which by the end should hopefully extend to about 30ftx18ft . the cost of it is €60, a couple of donations will be welcome saturday:D :p

10/05/2007, 3:23 PM
myself and fivesilver are getting a few flags and the like to add to the atmosphere for saturday which will be distributed to our singing group in the jinks'.We need a bit more colour and a few of the flags are going to making pretty massive one[which is midget is kindly putting together] which by the end should hopefully extend to about 30ftx18ft . the cost of it is €60, a couple of donations will be welcome saturday:D :p

:cool: fair play lads...

10/05/2007, 8:56 PM
said the same myself at the trust meeting last tuesday.our run of results sort of shoots in down though

sligobrewer had added €30 to our flag fund which means we have 40 flags now. which is 200ft x 120ft worth of flags. we'll do something anyway with them anwyay

Fivesilver
10/05/2007, 9:01 PM
I know some you may laugh at this but the club should have promoted this as saturday evening football returns to the showgrounds !

Laughing alright - because I can't believe they haven't. A good few of you are old enough to remember the first night game in the Showgies. Incredible buzz. I was living in Crozon Downs at the time, and I remember the feeling of seeing the light in the sky above the trees as I headed down.

Midgit
10/05/2007, 10:55 PM
said the same myself at the trust meeting last tuesday.our run of results sort of shoots in down though

sligobrewer had added €30 to our flag fund which means we have 40 flags now. which is 200ft x 120ft worth of flags. we'll do something anyway with them anwyay

WTF!!!:D How the hell am i gona put that together?:confused: :D
Wer u gona hang it up? it will be huge.

red bellied
11/05/2007, 10:47 AM
Laughing alright - because I can't believe they haven't. A good few of you are old enough to remember the first night game in the Showgies. Incredible buzz. I was living in Crozon Downs at the time, and I remember the feeling of seeing the light in the sky above the trees as I headed down.

Home Farm were the opposition if memory serves me right. Hammered them four nil, think that was the night Johnny Kenny went on the wonder run before finishing it off in front of the Shed. Crowds kept getting bigger and bigger after that, seemed like Rovers used to win all their home games then by three or four. Great buzz alright and around the town afterwards. The only down point was that you would be caked in mud heading into Xanadus

Shiba
11/05/2007, 12:16 PM
No Home Farm for sure and even remember seeing the lights for the first time on the approach to town, some buzz back then.

Remember that feeling well,I was working evenings at the time in saehan,i remmeber leaving work and seeing the lights for the first time was unreal and the buzz was electric.should be promote the same way again but I dont think even the local papers are promoting Rovers as well as they used to OR is it the club that is at fault!

Fivesilver
11/05/2007, 12:22 PM
The club PR person should be constantly on the phone to Ocean and the papers - maybe she is and they just don't respond?

11/05/2007, 12:38 PM
Wheres a good spot to watch the SC Final lads?

11/05/2007, 1:04 PM
Hampden Park.

11/05/2007, 1:10 PM
Hampden Park.

Doubt there would be much demand for a Drogheda -Linfield game over there. :rolleyes:

Probably Foleys would be the best spot ,But I wouldnt be sure

Tir Oilean
11/05/2007, 1:14 PM
Johnny Kenny

Now there was a great players what is he at now?

11/05/2007, 1:50 PM
Doubt there would be much demand for a Drogheda -Linfield game over there. :rolleyes:I think avvenlaf is trying to be funny(as usual:rolleyes: ) and imply he means the Scottish cup final.

11/05/2007, 2:02 PM
Now there was a great players what is he at now?

playin with a junior league side

12/05/2007, 2:19 PM
WTF!!!:D How the hell am i gona put that together?:confused: :D
Wer u gona hang it up? it will be huge.

obviously we're not going to use all of them! the rest will just be handed out

12/05/2007, 2:50 PM
so how big will this flag be and when will it make its debut?

12/05/2007, 2:56 PM
dunno exact measurements yet

probably the end of june,all going well

12/05/2007, 3:05 PM
i see..did you get the new skin for the drum rory?

12/05/2007, 3:14 PM
i did not:o i will soon,hopefully for next week. it still makes a decent sound now anyway!

12/05/2007, 4:39 PM
Seen two Cork City fans walking down Pearse Road a few minutes ago. They should have at least two fans there anyway!

12/05/2007, 4:51 PM
Seen two Cork City fans walking down Pearse Road a few minutes ago. They should have at least two fans there anyway!

theres a bus gone up and about 20 in 5 cars. they're watching the SC final at the moment because they left early. micls and her sister are going to their first away game without me :mad:

12/05/2007, 4:55 PM
theres a bus gone up and about 20 in 5 cars. they're watching the SC final at the moment because they left early. micls and her sister are going to their first away game without me :mad:Why didn't you go? How many is on the bus:confused:. They staying over or up and down in one night?

12/05/2007, 5:07 PM
Why didn't you go? stuck in work, i have my work schedule specially designed to let me have fridays off :D

How many is on the bus:confused:. They staying over or up and down in one night?not sure but i'd imagine its a 20/30 seater rather than a 50 seater. they'll be coming straight back, they made good time on the way up.

12/05/2007, 9:01 PM
Great craic with the Cork lads in Foleys , they brought down a good enough crowd fair play

12/05/2007, 9:22 PM
aye fair play...was talking to a few after the game briefly...nice bunch and well friendly....fair play for coming up...

Midgit
12/05/2007, 10:25 PM
obviously we're not going to use all of them! the rest will just be handed out

Hey rory in that bag u gave me there was only 2 flags!?!?! The rest was.....well i don't know what to call them.... miniture flags on strings???:confused:

Well anyway i cant really make the flag much bigger now but i will be at the Bray game if you want to sort it out then. Another 10-15 flags would make a nice big one.

13/05/2007, 8:56 PM
aye fair play...was talking to a few after the game briefly...nice bunch and well friendly....fair play for coming up...

ye, a sporting bunch.. well done..like the way they applauded us on their way out

and to the fan i swapped shirts with at end, take care of mine :(
still my new city one reminds me of one of my greatest nights in the showgrounds.

13/05/2007, 8:59 PM
ye, a sporting bunch.. well done..like the way they applauded us on their way out

and to the fan i swapped shirts with at end, take care of mine :(
still my new city one reminds me of one of my greatest nights in the showgrounds.

aye i swapped a scarf with one lad...

13/05/2007, 9:01 PM
aye i swapped a scarf with one lad...
i wonder what fabric conditioner she used.. was very nice :D