View Full Version : Gary Kelly on 100 Grand a Week Shocker!
youngirish
09/05/2007, 1:29 PM
Leeds chief hits out at Kelly terms
May 8, 2007
Leeds United chairman Ken Bates has hit out at former Ireland international Gary Kelly for refusing to accept a wage cut at the start of the season.
Leeds’s relegation from the Coca-Cola Championship last week marked the end of Kelly’s 16-year stay at Elland Road.
The Drogheda native had been out of the team since last November, first through injury and then a personality clash with manager Dennis Wise.
And Bates admits the Irishman’s contract was a major millstone around the club’s neck over the past nine months.
He said: “At the start of the season we asked Gary Kelly if he would reduce his wages after five years here on £5m a year.
“On top of all that he also got £4000 a game. His agent said he’d cut his appearance money to £2000 a game but wanted it all back if we were promoted. Thanks a bunch.”
Sligo Hornet
09/05/2007, 1:41 PM
Had Leeds got promoted to the Premiership, when they were stuffed in the Play-Off Final by Watford:D , no-one would have raised the issue.
It's not his fault ( alone ) that they have fallen so far........perhaps the more culpable "Millstones", namely Bates and Wise, should share the responsibility!! :(
Metrostars
09/05/2007, 1:48 PM
He signed a contract the club offered. He should not be criticized for honouring the contract.
09/05/2007, 1:50 PM
Bates is a degenerate trying to get the leeds fans to blame Kelly for their finances this season. What a servant to the club. He had a contract so they should honour it.
In Drogheda last night and I passed the Gary Kelly Cancer Support Centre http://www.gkcancersupport.com/
Ask the people he swindled in the Irish Trust Bank fiasco how they feel about this charlatan. Described Matthew Harding as evil after he died. Scumbag.
youngirish
09/05/2007, 2:05 PM
Bates is a wa*ker. Of that there can be no doubt. I'm just amazed Gary Kelly could get himself a contract worth anywhere near 100K a week, his agent must be a legend though this could be a severe exagerration from the aformentioned wa*ker.
If Kelly moved Bates would've accused him of being unloyal
Nothing story created by a egomaniac charlatan
09/05/2007, 2:15 PM
Bates is a terrible character but good for Leeds atm.
Incidentally, Kelly was rumoured to be interested in leading some consortium there before Bates pulled a fast one with the whole administration fiasco.
09/05/2007, 2:17 PM
No wonder they had a contract out to break his legs.
09/05/2007, 3:05 PM
100k a week?! Hahaha
09/05/2007, 3:05 PM
No wonder they had a contract out to break his legs.
:confused: :confused:
09/05/2007, 3:09 PM
tongue in cheek
Paddy Garcia
09/05/2007, 3:11 PM
There was apparently a contract out to break his legs/shoot his knee caps. Not sure of the final outcome but someone on the board was implicated - the motivation entirely driven by his wage bill.
youngirish
tongue in cheek
That was Neil Warnock. Maybe he has shares in Leeds Plc.
Paddy Garcia
tongue in cheek
really ??
09/05/2007, 3:16 PM
Don't you remember the story that Leeds had hired a hitman to end his career to save his wage expenses?
Paddy Garcia
09/05/2007, 3:23 PM
Yes sorry, I thought you meant your comment was tongue in cheek - and by that a coincidence. I don't think drummerboy was aware as opposed to questionning your wit. I was about to make the same comment as you!
livehead1
09/05/2007, 4:10 PM
i think i read quotes from bates in the sunday independant that said hes on 48k with bonuses...a sizeable amount
MojoPin
09/05/2007, 4:58 PM
well look lads kelly was given a contract and he honoured it but if he loves the club he should have taken a wage cut!!!!!!! he is a tosser for not doing it imo... would you lot pay an extra fiver into your teams home game if it was needed to save the club from administration or free up cash so the club cpuld survive for a bit longer.. if the fans would pay an extra fiver surely the millionaire players could take a% wage cut
09/05/2007, 5:26 PM
I wouldn't have considered that thought for a second. Gary Kelly had a decent stint in the national team. He did enough, just about, over the years to indemnify himself against any slur on his good name. The Gordon Gecko slogan rings true in this instance. The fans don't own that club, they have little more than serf consumer status.
zinedineontour
09/05/2007, 5:36 PM
From what i heard he was on £50000 grand a week and had already taken a pay cut from leeds. The way they treated him was disgraceful but I would not expect anything else from Leeds
danonion
09/05/2007, 7:14 PM
Easy for us to say take a paycut. If I felt I earned the contract I'd say **** Leeds pay me
co. down green
09/05/2007, 7:42 PM
Don't you remember the story that Leeds had hired a hitman to end his career to save his wage expenses?
Strange but supposedly true
http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/tm_objectid=15235693&method=full&siteid=106694&headline=plot-to-drug-soccer-star-name_page.html
Wise is such a decent charactor with his conviction for violence against a 60-year-old taxi driver, the fracturing of Leicester teammate Callum Davidson’s jaw, while the latter slept, and his suing of the cash-strapped Foxes for their temerity in sacking him for that assault). And lets not forget about the great chairman Ken Bates for putting the club into administration to save his business 30 million.
How dare Kelly have the cheek to collect his wages, after all, he only gave 16 years loyal service to the club !!
Irish_Praha
09/05/2007, 8:15 PM
It could be argued that once you have picked up your first few million quid if you really loved the club you could take a pay cut without having to worry about your future. I've heard good and bad things about G. Kelly but it's hard to separate the truth from the lies in such a scenario, however it was through a mistake from above that he was given such a high-earning contract. It wasn't his fault that they phucked up and got relegated. He always performed well and made himself available. As far as I can see he is an easy target because he was/is still at the club. If the reports are true Leeds were shelling out far more money on paying ex-players than they were on his wage and I'm sure they didn't ask him in the most polite way to reduce his wages. They wasted many millions on poor transfers and insane contracts and he is supposed to be the one who has to pay for it? In that situation I would tell them to go phuck themselves too.
The Legend
09/05/2007, 9:36 PM
isn't he retiring now anyway? so whats the point of giving out now?
Qwerty
09/05/2007, 11:01 PM
This contract is a reflection on the insanity within Leeds during Risdale's reign. Risdale has been dumping on O'Leary again recently, I don't think the insane 5M a year for modest Gary can be dumped on O'Leary. Risdale and the board are completely responsible for Leed's demise. Complete insanity, he was never worth even half of what he was getting and he s*cked for the last few seasons as well.
10/05/2007, 11:28 AM
"At the start of the season we asked Gary Kelly if he would reduce his wages after five years here on £2m a year," rued Bates.
"On top of all that he also got £4,000 a game.
"His agent said he’d cut his appearance money to £2,000 a game but wanted it all back if we were promoted. Thanks a bunch."
http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=465352&CPID=10&clid=2&lid=&title=Bates+issues+frank+assessment
10/05/2007, 1:20 PM
Could it be that some nefarious characters are spiking John O'Shea's cuppa with prozac?
Irish_Praha
10/05/2007, 3:31 PM
Could it be that some nefarious characters are spiking John O'Shea's cuppa with prozac?
Barbiturates would be my guess.
10/05/2007, 3:39 PM
Barbiturates would be my guess.
Sure they were giving Van Nistelrooy ketamine for years :D
11/05/2007, 7:24 AM
Was just going to say that £5m was a misprint but I see eirebhoy has posted the link. Still, for Gary Kelly to be on a basic £40k p/w shows how silly it all got at Leeds.
irishfan86
12/05/2007, 12:35 AM
This contract is a reflection on the insanity within Leeds during Risdale's reign. Risdale has been dumping on O'Leary again recently, I don't think the insane 5M a year for modest Gary can be dumped on O'Leary. Risdale and the board are completely responsible for Leed's demise. Complete insanity, he was never worth even half of what he was getting and he s*cked for the last few seasons as well.
In fairness, he was a quality right back, and made the Championship team of the season last year IIRC...
BobbySands
12/05/2007, 1:33 AM
I lost a lot of respect for Uncle Gary after the lazy, couldn't be arsed, I'm not up to it tackle that got him sent off in the crucial WC qualifier against Holland. Conversely, I'll never forget Harte coming to the sideline to take a throw in the same match and exhorting all us fans to start making noise (we already were). It was a nice gesture.