View Full Version : League Cup v Derry
MyTown
08/05/2007, 11:37 AM
Well, a different game tonight, or not?
As long as it doesn't go to extra-time and penaltys. Hard to know how Derry will approach it as holders. Will they care enough?
I can really see where TC is coming from with his concern about all the travel. Derry and Waterford are two very long hauls in a short space of time and given how tight it is down our end, I would be very woried about Friday night.
I notice tonight's ref is the one who sent off two lads in Tolka AFTER the final whistle on Friday night. Listening to the end of it on RTE MW as I made my way home from Terryland, John Kenny and Eamon Collins praised the ref for his handling of the game and said he had no option but to red card the boys. Apparently all hell broke loose when Ger Rowe nicked a late winner for Shamrock Rovers.
Boy was that ever a sense of deja vu:(
Tir Oilean
08/05/2007, 1:11 PM
Like Geezer said elsewhere I dont like Cup competitions specially the LC I think we should give some of the young lads a run. We dont need to be picking up injuries in games like this. The squad is thin enough as it is.
galwayhoop
08/05/2007, 1:13 PM
Like Geezer said elsewhere I dont like Cup competitions specially the LC I think we should give some of the young lads a run. We dont need to be picking up injuries in games like this. The squad is thin enough as it is.
agree with you. friday is way more important but does the league cup winner not get a crack at europe??
corbyeire
08/05/2007, 1:17 PM
the setanta i thought? or is it a new thing?
Ya its the setanta.I think it would be a huge boost to win up there and keep the boys on a roll.
I think Derry will probably field a second 11, but they'll still be strong- http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/6632993.stm
While Derry have a lot of games to play with the Setanta and Europe I don't see why Galway wouldn't take this seriously. It could get ye in the Setanta and make ye a fair few quid- and is probably your best chance of winning a trophy.
damoGUFC
08/05/2007, 1:38 PM
I'd love to see United go on a good run in both cups tbh but I think the main aim for this season is to stay up.
corbyeire
08/05/2007, 1:54 PM
yep most people would say 3 poinst in the rsc
Fair enough- and I admit I'd far rather we had three more points than be in the quarter finals, but obviously it's not a choice that ever really happens.
But how likely would it be that giving it a lash in a maximum of four league cup games would affect the chances of staying up with a professional squad? I reckon it'd be more likely to boost the chances than to detract from them.
Tir Oilean
08/05/2007, 2:21 PM
Fair point Galway Harps. It is early days in the league so it might not be that detrimental to our hopes of staying up. Rest assured Nick and the board would love the cup runs as they will generate much needed gate receipts. Despite the fact that we are pro we will still suffer if we hit many more injuries and there are bound to be a few suspensions (Regis not far off one)
Tir Oilean
08/05/2007, 2:24 PM
PS is there anyone on this forum thats making the trip to Derry that could keep me in the loop with txts??
corbyeire
08/05/2007, 4:05 PM
www.xscores.com - apparently this is the spot for live scores
I reckon ye'd be better off watching the Derry forum for updates, they usually have a few people posting.
link?
08/05/2007, 5:45 PM
http://www.derrycitychat.com/phpBB2/index.php You have to register.
damoGUFC
08/05/2007, 10:18 PM
Derry won 2-1. Last minute goal from McHugh. Heard O'Brien's goal was from a counter attack. Fair play to them for holding them until the 90th min.
corbyeire
08/05/2007, 10:35 PM
but its another fecking late goal - they have to get out of the habit and concentrate for the whole game!
Gaillimh Al
08/05/2007, 10:42 PM
To be honest, I'm kind of glad it didn't go to extra time. Not what we needed ahead of long trip home then another long trip on Friday for a crucial game. Anybody any idea of what the team was?
Rogers, Charles, Nootimer, McKenna (Moran 30), Reilly; Russell (Cooke 64), Lester, Foley, James, O'Brien, O'Flynn (Glynn 90).
Looks fairly close to full strength to me.