View Full Version : LOI Mascots

GalwayFrancis
07/05/2007, 10:24 PM
What are the LOI Mascots?

Galway Utd : Tiger
St Pats : Some kind of bear (look at eircomloi.ie)

Whats everyone elses?

And do ye have mascots at yer games?

kdjaC
07/05/2007, 10:26 PM
St Pats : Some kind of bear (look at eircomloi.ie)

Paddy the Panther :eek:

Does look like a bear tho.

kdjac

07/05/2007, 10:26 PM
Limerick have Leo the Lion for our sins

07/05/2007, 10:29 PM
benny the bull :p

Paddyfield
07/05/2007, 10:31 PM
...Galway Utd : Tiger...

Or to give him his full title.. Terry the (Terryland) Tiger :D

07/05/2007, 10:49 PM
Limerick have Leo the Lion for our sins

Leave him alone hes got ADD ;)

Battery Rover
07/05/2007, 11:01 PM
We have a lion. Lion was chosen as it is on the town of Athlone crest.

07/05/2007, 11:09 PM
Benny the bull would nearly do a job for us on the pitch at this stage!:o

RĂ©iteoir
07/05/2007, 11:23 PM
We have Barry the Penalty Taker at Dalymount

08/05/2007, 7:20 AM
Pat Fenlon.

saint dog
08/05/2007, 7:43 AM
Pat Fenlon.

the clown :D

08/05/2007, 8:01 AM
The Evening Echo, News Hound can be seen at City games. He's not a mascot though, he's part of the Evening Echo Family Enclosure thingy...

08/05/2007, 9:21 AM
benny the bull :p

Any relation to this fella in Chicago (http://www.nba.com/bulls/mascot/benny_the_bull.html)

Our "panther" looks awful IMO

08/05/2007, 9:35 AM
We have/had the Longford Lion. He only shows up for big cup games though, and then he was robbed by Leinster! :D

08/05/2007, 9:37 AM
We are thinking of a Magic Moo or Magic Mushroom or a Squealing Pig. Havent convinced the chairman yet and dont know who we would get to wear it. (Less of the "you be the mad cow" there lads!)

08/05/2007, 9:42 AM
We are thinking of a Magic Moo or Magic Mushroom or a Squealing Pig.
How about a milk carton, with an old style "collect 20,000 tokens for a Barry McGuigan school bag" promotion on the side?

08/05/2007, 9:47 AM
he runs the Evening Echo Family Enclosure thingy...
Correction

08/05/2007, 9:50 AM
Wexford Youths have an extremely hairy animal, tends to hide behind it's flowing mane of hair. Likes to wear bright colours to keep kids and adults entertained. Let's call him M Wallace... no too obvious Mick W...

08/05/2007, 11:13 AM
We have/had the Longford Lion. He only shows up for big cup games though, and then he was robbed by Leinster! :D

I thought Drogs stole him?

Why does every second team have a Lion? :confused:

Any chance of some pictures?

Leinster Lion (http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/uploadedfiles/Fan%20Zone/Leinster_lions.jpg)

Bray Seagul (http://homepage.eircom.net/~bwjsc/Mascot5shams.jpg)

08/05/2007, 12:39 PM
Am I the only one who thinks all mascot should be taken to a rather high, jagged cliff and pushed off?

08/05/2007, 12:43 PM
Am I the only one who thinks all mascot should be taken to a rather high, jagged cliff and pushed off?
Why would anyone care enough to do that? They're not for me but if t keeps kids happy for a few minutes, good luck to them...

08/05/2007, 12:44 PM
We are thinking of a Magic Moo

Has to be a Magic Moo in honour of the cows behind the goals :D

08/05/2007, 2:00 PM
We are thinking of a Magic Moo or Magic Mushroom or a Squealing Pig. Havent convinced the chairman yet and dont know who we would get to wear it. (Less of the "you be the mad cow" there lads!)Ye could do a Mon Dog mascot. Just get a hot dog costume, like this (http://www.jokesunlimited.com/funny_halloween_costumes/large/hotdog.jpg).

Might boost the Mon Dog sales too for people that don't know of them...;)

08/05/2007, 2:14 PM
I don't think anyone takes too much notice of mascots but if clubs are to keep them should get better costumes like in the UK.

Joey Killester
08/05/2007, 2:15 PM
We have none, THANK GOD! Hate the idea of mascots, but I wouldn't go as far as genocide!

neville neville
08/05/2007, 2:20 PM
could maybe sort out a EL mascot grand national similar to the run at kempton ( i think) in england each year.

08/05/2007, 4:32 PM
We have none, THANK GOD! Hate the idea of mascots, but I wouldn't go as far as genocide!

I thought this was the Shels mascot: Here (http://www.gasp.org.uk/shopimages/m56bigcig.lrg.jpg)

08/05/2007, 4:42 PM
Kildare County's Stevie Capall (http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/gallery/images/SR1060021.jpg). Of course, we're working on this fella (http://www.drwinn.com/graphics/quarter_hourse.gif), but we can't catch him.

08/05/2007, 4:44 PM
Kildare County's Stevie Capall (http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/gallery/images/SR1060021.jpg).

When did ye sign Bobby Ryan?

08/05/2007, 4:51 PM
I hate them too but having seen the reactions that they have gotten from kids and some drunken adults, they seem to get the crowd going.

Also the FAI want us all to have them.

Oh and Ash the cows are gone now as work has started on the housing estate. I like the idea of a cow too but as our shirt sponsor is the Squealing Pig that mite be an idea too.

passerrby
08/05/2007, 5:05 PM
theres a club or two that springs to mind that should use an ostrictch

08/05/2007, 5:31 PM
Why would anyone care enough to do that? They're not for me but if t keeps kids happy for a few minutes, good luck to them...
Don't spoil my fun.

Actually, there is one mascot I like - Exeter City's (http://www.sports-mascots.co.uk/athena.jpg). Now that's thinking.

passerrby
08/05/2007, 5:36 PM
Don't spoil my fun.

Actually, there is one mascot I like - Exeter City's (http://www.sports-mascots.co.uk/athena.jpg). Now that's thinking.

whats her titlel sally the slapper

08/05/2007, 5:41 PM
Athena the Goddess.

08/05/2007, 5:45 PM
could maybe sort out a EL mascot grand national similar to the run at kempton ( i think) in england each year.
If that ever come to pass, we'll have to get Derval O'Rourke to appear at UCD, Exeter City-like. A runner might not be able to fill that dress though.

08/05/2007, 5:51 PM
Best mascot i've seen at a soccer match was the Long Island Rough Rider's cowboy. real quality suit, like something out of disneyland. looked like mario with chaps

Da Real Rover
08/05/2007, 6:18 PM

No, i would be willing to go alot further than genocide.

08/05/2007, 6:56 PM
Bray Seagul (http://homepage.eircom.net/~bwjsc/Mascot5shams.jpg)
It's actually Rocky the Seagull.

08/05/2007, 6:57 PM

Something for an Eircom League chairman "Where are they now" special

08/05/2007, 7:43 PM
My local American Football Team mascot Jackson De Ville (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LrHTQBhcog) doing his thing. Don't think this would work at Station Rd though!

08/05/2007, 9:03 PM

Is he named in honour of the Carlisle Grounds pitch? :eek:

sniffa
08/05/2007, 9:14 PM
Don't spoil my fun.

Are you sure she's a mascot and not an escort???;) :D

Philly
08/05/2007, 9:55 PM
We have Stevie Coppall

Check out this fine stallion @
http://kildarecountyfc.com/gallery/images/SR1060017.jpg

08/05/2007, 9:58 PM
We have Stevie Coppall
funny, hes at our games too :eek:

Jaime
09/05/2007, 2:53 PM
We should get this lad to liven up the eL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sAppy2q0JY

09/05/2007, 3:53 PM
Ha.
Whats with the sexuality flaunting?

09/05/2007, 4:08 PM
Is he named in honour of the Carlisle Grounds pitch? :eek:
Have you ever been on the Carlisle pitch?

09/05/2007, 4:14 PM
Relax superfrank, you know he was kidding...

09/05/2007, 4:16 PM
Don't think this would work at Station Rd though!It's worth a shot, Siempre Blanco could do it!;)

09/05/2007, 4:18 PM
It's worth a shot, Siempre Blanco could do it!;)
I'd like to see that, without the rope!:D