View Full Version : vs Cobh this Friday
Whats the thoughts on this one lads? I'd like to think there will be a big crowd at this one, but honestly I don't think Cobh is a big enough draw, shame as I'd like to put them to shame with our vocal support next week in as big a way as possible.
As for the match itself, well I'll go with a 2-1 L37 win
07/05/2007, 9:58 PM
Rams to win one nil or two one
07/05/2007, 10:26 PM
Ill go for a draw on this one although i think the division is so bad anything less than a victory is a poor result. We could win 5 0 though if Jamie Nolan comes on cos the way he plays its like having 12 against 10. :D
07/05/2007, 10:54 PM
Ill go for a draw on this one although i think the division is so bad anything less than a victory is a poor result. We could win 5 0 though if Jamie Nolan comes on cos the way he plays its like having 12 against 10. :D
he scored against ye last time though???:confused:
07/05/2007, 11:06 PM
he scored against ye last time though???:confused:
Yeah but he was about 5 yards offside for that one. The first game of the season though will go down in Limerick folklore as the day Jamie finally snapped :D
don ramo
07/05/2007, 11:55 PM
is say a draw our a 1-0 win to us,
fans draw is a shame as youd get more Vs shels we got 800 then athlone who are higher we got 600,:confused:
baffeling its like it all over the country,
if ye concentrate on nolan thats how youll lose, hes not our best player but hes not our worst,
i actually dont know whos our worst were playin so well its hard to choose
08/05/2007, 12:23 AM
is say a draw our a 1-0 win to us,
fans draw is a shame as youd get more Vs shels we got 800 then athlone who are higher we got 600,:confused:
baffeling its like it all over the country,
if ye concentrate on nolan thats how youll lose, hes not our best player but hes not our worst,
i actually dont know whos our worst were playin so well its hard to choose
Its just the name of Shelbourne, you get a lot of people who don't normally go to Eircom League games coming out to watch them, same with Rovers last year
08/05/2007, 12:24 AM
Yeah but he was about 5 yards offside for that one. The first game of the season though will go down in Limerick folklore as the day Jamie finally snapped :D
fair enough hope the crowd is good and the atmosphere rockin to be fair this fixture is always a good one with a few last minute thrills in the past few years! Graham Cummins could be on for his fourth 90th minute in a row! :D
08/05/2007, 1:07 PM
It's a must win for us because we're heading into a $hite fixture period
Don't see us having the guile if Hendo really has tripped over a proper defensive setup but you never know I suppose :ball:
Monkfish
09/05/2007, 3:01 AM
Lads, we all know things got a bit on the mental side during the second half of the Mons game, lets have the same from the 1st minute on and lets not wait for a goal, dirty fouls and above all a dirty long haired ****** who lashes a ball into the stand for no reason, and Noddy will probably be on from the start so abuse away! warm up for this almost loutish/abusive behaviour shall begin in the Still House from about half 5 on.
Voice of Reason
09/05/2007, 12:44 PM
We're going to miss it cos we're going to I Keano.
Cheer extra loud for us!
I Keano?! Thats a double betrayal!!!
09/05/2007, 4:31 PM
Cheer extra loud for us!
:eek: :eek: :eek:
Monkfish
09/05/2007, 6:58 PM
Cheer extra loud for us!
Are you Jebus in disguise?
don ramo
09/05/2007, 7:23 PM
Cheer extra loud for us!
:confused: :D :eek:
Monkfish
10/05/2007, 1:57 AM
L37. 7/5.
Draw. 11/5.
Queenstown. 8/5.
Might stick a euro or 2 on the draw.
Rambler1
10/05/2007, 3:43 PM
Are ye playing better or worst since the Turners Cross match. Thought ye played well that day especially in the second half and deserved the win on the day.
We were still experimenting with different positions at that stage but seem to have a fairly settled line up now but also involving all the squad. Predit 2-1 to Rams
10/05/2007, 6:22 PM
we're not playing too bad, nothing to offer in the centre of midfield though so i'd have to give this one to cobh. lim37 0-2 cobh
Needtoknow
10/05/2007, 6:27 PM
1-0 to the blues. :ball:
young boy
11/05/2007, 8:22 AM
2 - 1 to cobh.
see's it
11/05/2007, 8:47 AM
big big big test for limerick tonight.cobh will have improved hugely from the first game.id like to see conor molan back in the centre of midfield for the game just for his attitude alone.if ski changes things limerick could nick it if the middle of the park stays the same im guessing an away win
11/05/2007, 12:13 PM
Come on the mighty rams! See ye all later lads!
11/05/2007, 10:51 PM
Scoreless. Poor game. We'd nothing in the final third. Good atmosphere though.
Bonovox
12/05/2007, 10:31 AM
Scoreless. Poor game. We'd nothing in the final third. Good atmosphere though.
Good atmosphere? Did you notice how many youngsters were in the ground or lack of them? I know parents who won't bring their kids to the game to listen to the sh1te that was being sung at the game last night. Good atmosphere my ar$e, a bunch of morons trying to outdo each other with their childish rants.
12/05/2007, 1:06 PM
Good atmosphere? Did you notice how many youngsters were in the ground or lack of them? I know parents who won't bring their kids to the game to listen to the sh1te that was being sung at the game last night. Good atmosphere my ar$e, a bunch of morons trying to outdo each other with their childish rants.
Your first football match then?
Monkfish
12/05/2007, 2:25 PM
What did you want? polite clapping at the correct time? did you sing or attempt to sing something of a more mature nature yourself?
Yeah when you actually start chanting along to any of our songs (what's wrong with 'Super Blues'?) then you can have a say, until then **** off back to rugby
As for the game itself I thought both teams were pretty poor. Cobh had a good ten minute spell when they looked like they were going to go on and win the game, other than that though neither of us created anything. On the evidence provided I reckon Dundalk should start booking hostels for their trip to Derry next year (provided Derry don't get relegated that is :D )
pearse4t3
12/05/2007, 3:31 PM
I think the singing adds to the atmosphere of the game and fairplay to the lads who are doing the singing,but it would have been better to sing in support of the team in the last 15mins,instead of giving Jamie Nolan stick,when they looked like they might nick a goal. Nolan is a nobody and doesnt deserve the amount of attention he gets.
KevB76
12/05/2007, 5:17 PM
The scoreless draw was predicatble I thought, two very good sides defensively.
I expected Cobh to be more of a threat than they turned out to be. That said, I thought we played better than we have done recently, we bossed the first half. Cobh came out strong after the break. There was a long spell in the second half when both sides seemed to lose interest, it went very dead, but we finished up stronger again and could have nicked a win. The draw was a fair result though.
Dundalk drew as well so we havent lost any ground on the top two.
I was glad to see Dave Ryan back, he did brilliant to prevent Cobh from scoring after that messed up back-pass late on. Have to say though Healy was man-of-match for me last week, pulled off some suuuuuuuper saves when Mons had a good spell near the end.
Bonovox
12/05/2007, 6:20 PM
Yeah when you actually start chanting along to any of our songs (what's wrong with 'Super Blues'?) then you can have a say, until then **** off back to rugby
Nothing wrong with "Super Blues" but a lot wrong with the racial abuse of players such as "inbreds", "pavies", the mention of mothers and fathers of players. So you are condoning it then? I can guarantee you I have been involved in football a lot longer than you little man and even though I would support Limerick in any sport, soccer is number 1. Now, can you answer my question?????????
12/05/2007, 6:35 PM
Nothing wrong with "Super Blues" but a lot wrong with the racial abuse of players such as "inbreds", "pavies", the mention of mothers and fathers of players. So you are condoning it then? I can guarantee you I have been involved in football a lot longer than you little man and even though I would support Limerick in any sport, soccer is number 1. Now, can you answer my question?????????
Do you understand the idea of "race"? Seriously, if you're old enough to know better, don't embarrass yourself, swearing and taunting are part of football and sport throughout the world. Even in a sterile sports environment such as baseball there are taunts.
Monkfish
12/05/2007, 11:25 PM
I am open to correction on this but i didnt hear any mention of members of our beloved traveller community in song and the only mention of players parents was Mr Nolans, and the 'fact' that they hate him (dont acually know if this is true or not) so where is this racial abuse you have mentioned? this is a serious alligation which everyone in the club would take seriously if true, but it seems for now your the only one who has any knowledge of it.
fc hammer
12/05/2007, 11:55 PM
Ya right mate go back to Thomond Park, this is football we are talking about, if a bit of good humoured banter upsets you god help us ! Just wait till we get rovers in the cup .:D
13/05/2007, 4:12 PM
if a bit of good humoured banter upsets you god help us !
To be fair, it is easy to say it's good-humoured banter when you're giving it.
Wonder if Jamie would agree with that definition of what it was. Based on what I remember on this forum regarding Jamie during his Limerick days, it wouldn't surprise me if it was far from good-humoured.
13/05/2007, 4:50 PM
the racial abuse of players
:D A WUM surely? Or Jamie Nolan himself? :)
Monkfish
13/05/2007, 5:13 PM
To be fair, it is easy to say it's good-humoured banter when you're giving it.
Wonder if Jamie would agree with that definition of what it was. Based on what I remember on this forum regarding Jamie during his Limerick days, it wouldn't surprise me if it was far from good-humoured.
Do you call spitting towards your own fans, giving them the finger, and doing it again on Friday to a couple of kids, ranting at Slk back in March and throwing your jersey to the ground good-humoured? we dont, thats why he got the bit of VERBAL abuse that he did, we didnt throw a pigs head, batter him with coins, or sing about a dead relative. Cobh havent even brought it up on their own forum (yet) Its not even worth talking about anymore, besides we have Athlone next week and a certain poser is still getting his game up there!!!!
13/05/2007, 5:22 PM
Do you call spitting towards your own fans, giving them the finger, and doing it again on Friday to a couple of kids, ranting at Slk back in March and throwing your jersey to the ground good-humoured? we dont, thats why he got the bit of VERBAL abuse that he did, we didnt throw a pigs head, batter him with coins, or sing about a dead relative. Cobh havent even brought it up on their own forum (yet) Its not even worth talking about anymore, besides we have Athlone next week and a certain poser is still getting his game up there!!!!
Try to read the post more carefully next time.
It was fchammer in post 36 who said that what had been said to Jamie was "good-humoured" banter. I said, in post 37, that I wondered how good-humoured it had been (if at all). You, in your post above (bold highlighted by me) have hinted that I may have been correct.
Nowhere did I say anything about Jamie's behaviour, nor say any of the above was good-humoured. I didnt even mention it.
13/05/2007, 6:39 PM
You know some easily offended parents with sheltered little kiddies, well done.
Heard one brief Anti-Semetic chant that towed the lines of good taste a small bit :p
Apart from that nothing I would disagree with or anyone else who has been going to games for any length of time would disagree with either.
Your first football match then?
Nah Gavin, I think you'll find the parks on a Sunday morning is more his thing
Nolan is a nobody and doesnt deserve the amount of attention he gets.
An excellent point and now that we have given the ape our opinions in two games this season a banner might be more appropriate from now on to remind him of his deficiencies as a human
Nothing wrong with "Super Blues"
Good, we have your permission so...............
but a lot wrong with the racial abuse of players such as "inbreds", "pavies"
You Sir are an idiot
the mention of mothers and fathers of players.
All fair game given the history
So you are condoning it then?
Why Yes, Yes I am
I can guarantee you I have been involved in football a lot longer than you little man
A round of Applause for the big man..................
Of course it wasn't good humoured and frankly myself or any other Limerick fans on here of any length of service couldn't give a toss what ape boy thinks of it.
Even after all that went before, ape boy still couldn't resist having a pop at a couple of kids on his way off again
Like Bono in the real world, Bonovox on this forum seems to have taken up getting upset on other peoples behalfs while talking out through his hole
13/05/2007, 6:41 PM
Like Bono in the real world, Bonovox on this forum seems to have taken up getting upset on other peoples behalfs while talking out through his hole
hehe nice, ciritical AND gets a dig in at bono.
*writes down for use later*
13/05/2007, 7:43 PM
Racial abuse at jamie nolan? hes white isnt he? i didnt see too many coloured ppl at the ground to give Jamie any abuse :rolleyes:
14/05/2007, 8:10 AM
Under most other circumstances I would seriously condemn savage personal abuse thrown at any footballer, be it Alan Gough or Osama Bin Laden, but that stupid immature little tit deserves everything he gets.
14/05/2007, 8:11 AM
That certain poser is starting to get found out for his lazy attitude by the athlone fans. Darren Young ??;) :D
Monkfish
14/05/2007, 9:17 AM
Try to read the post more carefully next time.
It was fchammer in post 36 who said that what had been said to Jamie was "good-humoured" banter. I said, in post 37, that I wondered how good-humoured it had been (if at all). You, in your post above (bold highlighted by me) have hinted that I may have been correct.
Nowhere did I say anything about Jamie's behaviour, nor say any of the above was good-humoured. I didnt even mention it.
Dont care if he found it good humoured or not, it wasent for his benefit, we found it funny and thats what counts, i just was listing some of the reasons why he got the abuse he did.
Monkfish
14/05/2007, 9:19 AM
That certain poser is starting to get found out for his lazy attitude by the athlone fans.and monkfish are you calling me a kid:confused: :eek: :D
Compaired to old man Gael you are! and your name is YOUNG l37 fan.
Am I condoning it? Well considering I sang along with every song I'd say yes, the rest of the lads have dealt with your idea of race all too well
Jebus, did you see nolans gesture to myself,gav and gael last night for absolutely nothing
Just what I read this morning, give me a pm sure as we can start thinking up more chants for Jamie for when we play Cobh next
14/05/2007, 10:59 AM
Under most other circumstances I would seriously condone savage personal abuse thrown at any footballer, be it Alan Gough or Osama Bin Laden, but that stupid immature little tit deserves everything he gets.
Condone?? condemn??
14/05/2007, 11:08 AM
Condone?? condemn?? Noted...and amended...
14/05/2007, 11:09 AM
this is ridiculous lads.
You're telling us