View Full Version : Champions League final

joe kehoe
06/05/2007, 2:45 PM
im looking for a ticket. if you have one and your not going please contact me . thanks.

06/05/2007, 2:47 PM
What's this got to do with Ireland?

joe kehoe
06/05/2007, 3:36 PM
im from ireland

joe kehoe
06/05/2007, 4:20 PM
it was in the wrong forum, sorry but im desprate

casso36
14/05/2007, 1:59 PM
it was in the wrong forum, sorry but im desprate

We Know!!!!!;) :D

18/05/2007, 6:22 PM
Loads of Tickets on ebay if you trust them

Dub13
19/05/2007, 7:58 PM
There is a lad selling a package on IrishKop.com,he cant make it now.

reder
20/05/2007, 9:07 PM
and yer going to watch an English team play an Italian team:rolleyes:.

No point starting this debate again, you posted it in the wrong forum, just admit it!

You better not let your new manager hear you saying that, proper red that lad. I expect the town of Sligo to be fully behind the red side of mersyside on wed. North west of uk linked to the North West of Ireland. FYI, there is another club on merseyside called Everton. Forget about them in truth, the rest of Europe has.

21/05/2007, 12:30 PM
AC Milan narrowly, but there'll be a few goals i'd say.

onenilgameover
21/05/2007, 8:43 PM
I love abbey travel...They cancelled my Champions League Package today but I still love them....

22/05/2007, 1:16 AM
I love abbey travel...They cancelled my Champions League Package today but I still love them....
:o
Sympathies, seriously like.
Too late in the day to try alternative plans, yeah?:( :mad:

22/05/2007, 9:31 AM
This thread was full of crap. Keep it on topic.

onenilgameover
22/05/2007, 11:45 AM
:o
Sympathies, seriously like.
Too late in the day to try alternative plans, yeah?:( :mad:

nope boozer for me...unless I hear before 4 today which i highly doubt...

Midgit
22/05/2007, 1:41 PM
I have a ticket and am about to get on the plane to Athens! Can't wait!!!:D:D:D

Midgit
22/05/2007, 1:43 PM

Oh ya sorry mate! I am part of the other bunch heading with Abbey Travel. You must have been bulling!

onenilgameover
22/05/2007, 1:55 PM
Oh ya sorry mate! I am part of the other bunch heading with Abbey Travel. You must have been bulling!

nope walk on....

22/05/2007, 3:12 PM
Hope Liverpool get thumped in this. My prediction is 3-1.

What do ye all think?

22/05/2007, 3:22 PM
2-0 with a Milan breakaway sealing the win.

22/05/2007, 4:30 PM
Milan 3-1 Liverpool.

Donegalcelt
22/05/2007, 4:44 PM

747 ballsed mine up too. I rang them during the day after hearing the Abbey mess and they said it was ok. Then they called at 6:30 on Monday to say since the only tickets they had were for the Milan end they decided not to send the flight as the Greek authorities are not going to allow it.
It's nuts. On Joe Duffy, the Abbey people were going ape****. Rightly so. If you pay over 500 euro for a ticket you should still get it if the flight is not going. After all, it has to be physically taken from Dublin to London and given to other people even though you have technichally paid for it and they haven't

23/05/2007, 9:38 AM
Anyone else think Liverpool will start 4-5-1 with surprise starts for Garcia and Kewell? No surprise with back four Finnan and Riise. Gerrard, Alonso and Mascherano in the middle with the boyos on the wings. Kuyt up front on his own.

Liverpool to nick it 2-1.

23/05/2007, 10:03 AM
Kewell just getting fit in time for Champions League final?
What a leech?
I'd say he'll have gerrard behind one striker, probably Kuyt.

23/05/2007, 10:15 AM
747 ballsed mine up too. I rang them during the day after hearing the Abbey mess and they said it was ok. Then they called at 6:30 on Monday to say since the only tickets they had were for the Milan end they decided not to send the flight as the Greek authorities are not going to allow it.
It's nuts. On Joe Duffy, the Abbey people were going ape****. Rightly so. If you pay over 500 euro for a ticket you should still get it if the flight is not going. After all, it has to be physically taken from Dublin to London and given to other people even though you have technichally paid for it and they haven't

People who buy off touts should expect the worst

Roadend
23/05/2007, 11:18 AM
Anyone else think Liverpool will start 4-5-1 with surprise starts for Garcia and Kewell? No surprise with back four Finnan and Riise. Gerrard, Alonso and Mascherano in the middle with the boyos on the wings. Kuyt up front on his own.

Liverpool to nick it 2-1.

4-5-1 very possible, Garcia, no chance, Kewell starting would depend on whether Zenden is fit.

Dublin12
23/05/2007, 11:22 AM
Think Liverpool will win 2-1 AET,Milan have played their best game of the competition against Man Utd and I think Benitez will know how to beat them on that performance.

23/05/2007, 12:28 PM
The problem with teams like Man UTd and Milan is they play football and they both showed their hand too early. Teams like Chelsea and Liverpool do not have a hand they just stop teams rather than beat teams. That is why Liverpool have come no where near winning the league this year as they struggle to beat lesser teams but like to stifle good teams. Expect a tight match and I think 10/1 for LIverpool to win on penalties could be a good bet. Liverpool to win 2 European Cups in 2 years but playing anti football.

23/05/2007, 7:44 PM
is it just me who thinks the match has been muck so far? Milan losing the ball all over the place, Liverpool just pressuring everything...........not great stuff......

Cymro
23/05/2007, 7:46 PM
is it just me who thinks the match has been muck so far? Milan losing the ball all over the place, Liverpool just pressuring everything...........not great stuff......

Yes.

Just like the FA cup final, rubbish!

23/05/2007, 7:49 PM
Yes.

Yes, it is just me?:D

23/05/2007, 8:20 PM
this is a brutal game. Liverpool have no guile, and Milan are just toothless.

23/05/2007, 8:38 PM
milan win 2-1. at least there were 2 minutes of excitement there at the end.

(sorry for the multiple posts......its just i got at up at 3.45 Japanese time to watch this......need to justify getting up in somw way)

Cymro
23/05/2007, 8:45 PM
Yes, it is just me?:D

No, more like I didn't read the post thoroughly enough :o

gilberto_eire
23/05/2007, 8:45 PM
milan win 2-1. at least there were 2 minutes of excitement there at the end.

(sorry for the multiple posts......its just i got at up at 3.45 Japanese time to watch this......need to justify getting up in somw way)

jez i knew ye were a bit differant down below in limerick...but didnt think ye were that differant!!:p

Sandro
23/05/2007, 8:59 PM
Not really an exciting game, Benitez did a great tactic job but then you can't play a final without a true forward. Milan were quite disappointing in the first half, completely unable to play their own football. A different story in the second half and with a little effort Milan deserved the win. I can't believe Maldini was there when Milan won the cup in the late eighties.
Man of the match: Gattuso but Nesta and Gerrard were good too. A special mention for Inzaghi, not impressive, probably not a champion but I wonder how many players score over 40 goals in champions league.

23/05/2007, 9:08 PM
Good game of football. Nice contrast in style. Liverpool more attacking without creating much chances. Milans elegance & style won through in the end. Inzaghi takes a lot of unwarranted stick from the UK & Irish media so good to see him with it with great finish.

23/05/2007, 9:11 PM
He takes stick because he can't play football, but he openly acknowledges that himself. I think playing him up-front on his own is a crazy tactic given his general ineptitude in open play, but he's there to score goals.

23/05/2007, 9:24 PM
Yep, Inzaghi v. Kuyt in the furthest upfront role. I know who I'd rather have upfront.

Fair play to Milan, that was pretty much the difference.

Soper
23/05/2007, 9:29 PM
Kaka's 'wife beater' at the end was amusing.

Is JESUS the same agency that Tevez and Mascherano belong/belonged to?

Billy Lord
23/05/2007, 11:31 PM
Typical 'British' attitudes towards Inzaghi. Having seen him play (as opposed to watching him on TV with a biased Brit commentary) it is obvious he is a superb sniffer; hanging off the last defender, using the width of the pitch to draw defenders, moving inside to cause confusion, totally focused and being instinctively in the right place to take advantage when the ball breaks loose. He was superb against Liverpool, using his body and positioning to create one goal, and being a craftsman striker to score the second, decisive goal.
Milan were nervous and careless but still tried to play football while Liverpool were merely hard-working and clueless. Steven Gerrard - I rest my case; the dipper was a waste of space. Italy are now World champions and Champions League winners yet the pub-loving Paddies still swear allegiance to the Premiership because it's all they see when they go to the boozer. Forza Italia! Inglese Merda! Gli Irlandesi sono ignari!

23/05/2007, 11:36 PM
I think he's a great asset but in fairness Billy, he didn't know much about the first goal.

gilberto_eire
23/05/2007, 11:47 PM
Typical 'British' attitudes towards Inzaghi. Having seen him play (as opposed to watching him on TV with a biased Brit commentary) it is obvious he is a superb sniffer; hanging off the last defender, using the width of the pitch to draw defenders, moving inside to cause confusion, totally focused and being instinctively in the right place to take advantage when the ball breaks loose. He was superb against Liverpool, using his body and positioning to create one goal, and being a craftsman striker to score the second, decisive goal.
Milan were nervous and careless but still tried to play football while Liverpool were merely hard-working and clueless. Steven Gerrard - I rest my case; the dipper was a waste of space. Italy are now World champions and Champions League winners yet the pub-loving Paddies still swear allegiance to the Premiership because it's all they see when they go to the boozer. Forza Italia! Inglese Merda! Gli Irlandesi sono ignari!

look i support united in english football but thats a joke to say that.... he was liverpools best player...look at the crap around him..pennant,zenden etc... and he's won games for them on his own....
this is exactly the critisism ronaldo gets if he has a bad game...''he's crap..this proves it'' cant play well in EVERY game.... thats not even the case with gerrard its if liverpool lose he'll be called that.....

23/05/2007, 11:57 PM
He was playing almost as a striker which was a bit of a waste.
He worked very hard but i was shocked at his lack of stamina.
The legs were gonw after 60 minutes and he should have been taken off for a striker rather than moved back to the middle.

Billy Lord
24/05/2007, 12:51 AM
look i support united in english football but thats a joke to say that.... he was liverpools best player...look at the crap around him..pennant,zenden etc... and he's won games for them on his own....
this is exactly the critisism ronaldo gets if he has a bad game...''he's crap..this proves it'' cant play well in EVERY game.... thats not even the case with gerrard its if liverpool lose he'll be called that.....

What exactly did Gerrard do? Even more to the point, was he effective? Nil points on both counts. Compared to Riise (for Liverpool) and Inzahgi (Milan) - who both put in splendid mental and physical performances - Liverpool's golden boy was rubbish. In a game that really mattered. And don't get me going about Ronaldo! Beckham with bobs on. Bull****. Give me Paul Scholes any day because he's a consistently intelligent footballer who performs far more effectively. If you're a United fan you should know this as fact.

Risteard: it's all about positional sense. Inzahgi was the only player who moved purposefully from the free kick (look at the replay!) and his deflection created the goal that changed the tone of the game. If he wasn't alert it wouldn't have gone in. QED. He's class. Watch him playing live rather than on TV and you'll see his true worth; I've rarely seen a striker work so hard and with such conviction - and it's all off the shoulder of the last defender. What a pain in the arse! He's no Marco Van Basten but his work rate and consistency is chilling. Football is all in the mind.

24/05/2007, 1:05 AM
The only players who were decent for Liverpool (I thought) were Mascherano, who shackled Kaka reasonably well all night. No surprise that after he went off, nobody closed down Kaka to send Inzaghi through for the second goal, Riise, who was dependable as ever, and Finnan, who was just decent.

Others, like Zenden, Gerrard, Pennant, Kuyt worked hard but produced very little throughout. Gerrard needed to be deeper (which I would say is Benitez's fault), Zenden needed to stop whinging, and Pennant, having gotten past the fullback, needed to actually put a decent cross in.

Liverpool had lots of possesion, but showed little cunning up front. Milan contained them relatively - most of Liverpool's chances came from silly Milan errors, which were plentiful (Time for Maldini to retire I think). In fact the whole game was full of under-hit, over-hit, mis-hit passes, poor control, lack of communiction.

Not a great game, but I would say the better team won

24/05/2007, 2:21 AM
What exactly did Gerrard do? Even more to the point, was he effective? Nil points on both counts.

Gerrard, like every other footballer is not effective when played out of position.

24/05/2007, 2:57 AM
Risteard: it's all about positional sense. Inzahgi was the only player who moved purposefully from the free kick (look at the replay!) and his deflection created the goal that changed the tone of the game. If he wasn't alert it wouldn't have gone in. QED. He's class.
Jayz, that's really stretching it imo.
I think the ball was on its way into the net before he even realised it hit him.
Agree that he's top class alright though.

24/05/2007, 7:35 AM
HAHAHA I'm so happy they got beat. I don't think I could hear about Liverpool's special crowd being the difference for another 18 months. I don't think one player had a stand out game last night, very poor all round. Gattuso was useless. Cannot believe this is the same Milan side that tore apart Man Utd. Ok it didn't help that Man Utd were playing their second string defence but still....

Steve Bruce
24/05/2007, 8:16 AM
Both teams where under par.

I have to say i'm delighted with the result, but the game was dross. I think I'll stick with Linfield vs Armagh City next season. I was half contemplating going over to watch a few games. But the last load of matches I have seen on tv have sickened me. Absolute rubbish.

24/05/2007, 8:21 AM
Was better than the FA Cup final, but only because both teams looked to get forward. If Liverpool had any attacking edge they'd have slaughtered a very off form Milan. Zendan, Pennant and Gerrard are not world class attackers and Kuyt can't do it all himself.

hoops1
24/05/2007, 8:33 AM

Is there any other forwards in Italy in the same mould as Inzaghi BL? Or is his style unique. I cant think of any like him in Ireland or England. Irish and British coaches seem obsessed with forwards getting involved in the build up play rather than just score goals. Just scoring goals doesnt seem to make you a good forward over here. Maybe the way Italians see their forwards is different