View Full Version : Atmosphere!
Bosco
04/05/2007, 11:17 PM
Anyone any ideas on improving the atmosphere?We've finally got a decent sized vocal group together so I believe we shouldnt rest and improve the atmosphere even further!Toilet rolls have been a big hit so far!Tryin to see about getting a big flag printed but I havnt got round to it!Was thinking for our next big big match(if one comes along) to have a bit of a flare display?I know,I know fine from the Fai but the fines only e100 for the use of any number of flares at a time!30-50 people there,e3-e5 each,hand the fine over to the club before anyone can say anything!Ideas?
05/05/2007, 10:12 AM
Well I have three flares for such an occasion. We need flags, plain and simple (the idea not the flags!) I was looking at getting one done but the costs for one person are very high. One thing which would be cheap and easy to do is a few homemade large flags on decent polesfairly handy to stitch together some red and black material.
**edit** The large one there tonight looked very well, needs a better pole however ;)
Bosco
05/05/2007, 11:56 AM
One of the lads already put together a homemade tifo flag,pretty impressive,looks the same as the ones cork,rovers,bohs etc have only a little smaller!I went looking for that O'Regan place on pearse street last week but couldnt find it,i'l give them a ring next week and maybe email them my plan for a flag to see how much it'll be.Otherwise,I'll get a few of the lads to chip into whatever flag your thinking of buying?
05/05/2007, 12:53 PM
Sure if I make it to the game I will chat to ya there (the tall bearded long haried chap)
05/05/2007, 3:08 PM
will be prepared to chip in a few euro if needs be for a few flags lads...
Wont be at the game but i'll be in dalymount on friday,think I know who ya are anyway!
I think moving to section A in the stand is the next step but you know the response that is going to get. Its only logical that if we move to where there is a stand over our heads we will cause more noise!!
On the fine for the flare thats a good idea. A fiver each is nothing and it adds to the atmosphere!!
05/05/2007, 11:37 PM
the fuking tv gantry thingy gets a new roof, and we dont...what the fuk? give us a roof and we'll make even more noise!!
Cabs88
06/05/2007, 12:37 PM
I think what we need in terms of atmosphere is a song, a proper song, a la west ham's forever blowing bubbles or you'll never walk alone, something to sing at the beginning and ending of matches, and also a few more new chants for variety!
The toilet roll really worked well yesterday after the goal and with the wind but seemed to distract people near the end of the game..
Flags would be good, and i wouldnt mind about the flares, providing the fine is for definate only a hundred euro, perhaps if we get a good draw like athlone or someone in the cup, it might be worth looking into. The scarves o think looks the part, and i reckon in Dalymount fri if we can get enough, 30 lads waving scarves would be impressive.
The numbers in support has really increased of late, but we shouldnt rest on our laurels, and strive to increase the support with every game, and make our supporters noticable and looked up to throughout the league.
Sonic
06/05/2007, 12:47 PM
In a couple of weeks time we will wasting our breaths chanting when derry come to town that is if we dont move over to the stand. Even if just for the one game. What do you think. The derry fans are usually loud so why not shut the feckers up 4 once.:p Marty????
Tallanted
07/05/2007, 8:49 AM
Sligo rovers were fined 2000euro for using a flare at our game this season as far as I know, I would be careful with that idea if this is the case
07/05/2007, 9:39 AM
Sligo rovers were fined 2000euro for using a flare at our game this season as far as I know, I would be careful with that idea if this is the caseWe didn't get fined anything in the end up.
07/05/2007, 1:39 PM
Lads, very impressed with the atmosphere. First town game of the season for me, some funny chants and the craic was good. Keep it up lads!
07/05/2007, 2:28 PM
Lads, very impressed with the atmosphere. First town game of the season for me, some funny chants and the craic was good. Keep it up lads!
Nah we were crap on saturday night compared to the 3 games before that..
08/05/2007, 10:43 AM
Just had a gawk in the Town Supproters notes in the Longford News and getting a fair old praising too. If that was you guys when you were crap, id have loved to have seen the lsat few weeks!
Bosco
08/05/2007, 11:23 PM
We'll have about 30 going up on the bus to the Bohs game on friday so everyone try to get there,should be a class atmosphere!
Bosco
10/05/2007, 12:39 PM
We could only get a 26 seater but its full...bring on the Bohs!!
"Athlone Town are ya listening,
your only in the first division,
and thats where ye'll stay,
till ye rot away,
living in a scumlone caravan"
"We all dream of a team of sean pruntys,
hes from balinalee,
he hates the whole bohs team"
12/05/2007, 12:36 AM
We could only get a 26 seater but its full...bring on the Bohs!!
Bet you wished you stayed at home? :D
12/05/2007, 11:42 AM
big time. last night was an annihilation! we are in serious trouble now. thats what happens to you when you let staff go and cant replace them properly. we played well for the first ten minutes and then collapsed. kevin doherty had to play even though he was off work sick for the last two weeks. then robbie martin gets stretchered off. it was a stinker of a night all rite.:(
12/05/2007, 11:47 AM
just read the match report. Shocking.
14/05/2007, 9:15 AM
At least ye won the Gaelic.