View Full Version : New York

Pages : 1 [2]

21/07/2008, 1:46 PM
Definitely going first week in October. What's the deal on buying eletrical equipment and bringing it back, will there be a problem with customs? From reading this thread, the city sounds right up my street..

forza rovers
22/07/2008, 11:03 AM
Definitely going first week in October. What's the deal on buying eletrical equipment and bringing it back, will there be a problem with customs? From reading this thread, the city sounds right up my street..150 euros worth i think.take all tags and receipt off and leave them their,go mad ,lots of the electrial goods are way cheaper than here.

25/07/2008, 10:20 AM
Definitely going first week in October. What's the deal on buying eletrical equipment and bringing it back, will there be a problem with customs? From reading this thread, the city sounds right up my street..Aside from the customs (which isn't a huge issue unless you taking the p*ss majorly), be aware that the voltage requirements are different. It usually doesn't matter for portable electronics which have variable voltage power supplies (ipods, laptops, portable DVDs etc.) but anything larger you generally need a step up converter (110 to 240) which can be a fairly heavy duty piece of kit.

29/07/2008, 7:14 PM
Aside from the customs (which isn't a huge issue unless you taking the p*ss majorly), be aware that the voltage requirements are different. It usually doesn't matter for portable electronics which have variable voltage power supplies (ipods, laptops, portable DVDs etc.) but anything larger you generally need a step up converter (110 to 240) which can be a fairly heavy duty piece of kit.

That's ok, im thinking more digital camera, iPods rather than a feck off plasma tv!

30/07/2008, 11:32 AM
I'd like to see you try and smuggle through a plasma tv Pauro :)

anto1208
06/08/2008, 11:30 PM
Can ye recomend a hotel ive everything else sorted for the rest of my trip bar NY hotel they are expensive compared to the other cities some thing in the city centre would be nice found the Dylan near central station but its 600 euro for 2 nights

forza rovers
07/08/2008, 6:28 AM
the Buckingham between 6 and 7 ave 57 st about a 5 min walk to time squre and central park about a min walk.

25/09/2008, 1:34 PM
A week to go until I get there. Can't wait. Any tips on bars to go, places to generally avoid, that kind of thing? the usual tourist things we'll be doing of course...

25/09/2008, 1:37 PM
I drank a lot in the Lower East Side and if you like your music and good bars etc that is the place I enjoyed.

http://www.arlenesgrocery.net/main.html

Stanton Street,

Its on Stanton Street and to me this is the best area for good bars, not expensive and a good crowd which is relaxed but still good craic and not full of tourists.

Another bar there that is good, is the living room also.

http://www.livingroomny.com/

anto1208
26/09/2008, 11:43 AM
Im just back and found the place a bit of a let down , spent a fortune and bought nothing !! people are not as rude as some make out but they are not as nice as say in orlando where i went after NY.

Id say its a great city if you have someone that knows where they are going and what pubs to hit. Worth seeing but i dont think ill be in any rush back at least not for a few years while i save up

26/09/2008, 11:47 AM
What did you spend the fortune on and where did you go drinking. I knew nobody over there and got no real recommendations from anybody but had a ball as I just headed down to the Lower East side, where I figured good restaurants and bars where. Then you get chatting to locals and then tell you other little bits of info and where to go etc. I thought it was a great city but you got to chat up the local women to find the info.

26/09/2008, 11:47 AM
Im just back and found the place a bit of a let down , spent a fortune and bought nothing !! people are not as rude as some make out but they are not as nice as say in orlando where i went after NY.

Id say its a great city if you have someone that knows where they are going and what pubs to hit. Worth seeing but i dont think ill be in any rush back at least not for a few years while i save up

I'm at an advantage here, as I've a mate already in New York, we're both meeting up with him, and meeting a few other American friends of mine there too, they know the place well. if they mess up, it's time to find new friends. ;)

anto1208
26/09/2008, 4:00 PM
What did you spend the fortune on and where did you go drinking. I knew nobody over there and got no real recommendations from anybody but had a ball as I just headed down to the Lower East side, where I figured good restaurants and bars where. Then you get chatting to locals and then tell you other little bits of info and where to go etc. I thought it was a great city but you got to chat up the local women to find the info.

Hotel was 900 dollars
taxis in and out from the airport 100 dollars
dinner 1 night 180 dollars !! the menu didnt have any prices on we should have know.
gig tickets 80 dollars
bus tickets 15
2nd dinner 70 dollars
empire state 70 dollars
other grub 100 dollars

$1500+ for 2 nights for 2 of us :eek: and didnt buy any clothes.

compare that to 750 dollars in orlando for 3 nights in 5 star accom and 2 tickets to universal theme park 3 breakfasts lunches and dinners and taxi's etc then.

and 500 dollars on 2 suit cases full of clothes !:D

26/09/2008, 4:16 PM
You're were ripped off anto. How many times did you go to the EMpire State Building? You could've got cheaper option in and out of the airport too. Hotels are ridiculously expensive but you could've easily got a good quality room for less than 450 per night.

2 nights is no where enar enough time in New York. You'd have spent half your time in airports, taxis and hotel lobbies. When you're not rushinga round as much, you might enjoy it more

Fabulous, fabulous place IMO

26/09/2008, 4:20 PM
Spent a summer there on the J1, I was home days before 9/11. Really loved it, I haven't been back since but I'm dying to go some time.

26/09/2008, 10:25 PM
Yeah I bought the 7 day thing for the subway and thats how I got too and from the airport. Go into Jack Dempseys bar and you can get free to the Empire State building.

anto1208
29/09/2008, 4:31 PM
You're were ripped off anto. How many times did you go to the EMpire State Building? You could've got cheaper option in and out of the airport too. Hotels are ridiculously expensive but you could've easily got a good quality room for less than 450 per night.

2 nights is no where enar enough time in New York. You'd have spent half your time in airports, taxis and hotel lobbies. When you're not rushinga round as much, you might enjoy it more

Fabulous, fabulous place IMO

I know ! the hotel was top notch in fairness but i booked it on a site that didnt take your money there and then and by the time i got over the exchange rate had moved and they never mentioned tax wasnt added to that price ( keep this in mind when your going ). think taxes where nearly 150 dollars so when i booked it it was 750 which was under 500 euro at the time which was costly but even 3 stars where not that much cheaper.

I was going to get subways but after the flight over ( my worst flight ever , too much stress and the bird in toe taxis where just easier )

Id say id like it if i was on my own , but when you have the bird with you that wants to go to all the tourist traps your going to shell out for it.

And orlando was just so fecking nice it would be hard for any city to come out looking good after being there.

Another thing to watch is some hotels charge an excess to the room it can be a few hundred dollars and it goes back on the card a few days later but i got caught in vegas thinking i had 700 euro on the CC when i fact i had only 80 i could get at. just to be wary of sticking your money on the CC when travelling over.

30/09/2008, 12:34 PM
lesson to be learnt is do not have a bird.

30/09/2008, 12:48 PM
lesson to be learnt is do not have a bird.

Ah damn, if you'd told me that a month ago.. ;)

01/10/2008, 12:55 PM
dont bring an apple to the orchard as was once said by a Derry fella on here before.

If you go to the states and you are irish you would be mental to. If you have a g/f then thats a bit different I spose ;) :D

01/10/2008, 2:36 PM
dont bring an apple to the orchard as was once said by a Derry fella on here before.

If you go to the states and you are irish you would be mental to. If you have a g/f then thats a bit different I spose ;) :D

I'm going to say nothing and keep saying it. Tomorrow Im there folks, I shall report when I get back! :)

10/10/2008, 4:24 PM
Back from New York and i have to say, what a city. Absolutely loved it. What made it for me was the people. Had some fantastic times and memories there with new friends randomly picked up along the way, a great experience.

green army
07/12/2008, 3:19 PM
Go into Jack Dempseys bar

watched the ireland - poland game there a few week ago when i was over there. do great food in the pub also.

Thought new york was amazing. we stayed in hotel pennselyvania (spelling??). right across the road from madison square gardens. great location. would definately stay there again.

Saw the nicks play in MSG and was great fun.thought the people were very friendly.would definately go back again.

Did a bit of shopping. wasnt too impressed with woodbury common. everythnig was so cheap.

blinkx
24/01/2009, 1:13 AM
Did a bit of shopping. wasnt too impressed with woodbury common. everythnig was so cheap.

Isn't that why people go out to woodbury common in the first place?

Noelys Guitar
24/01/2009, 3:06 PM
Hoboken New Jersey is the best place to go when visiting New York. It is a 5 min ride by local train (33rd street staton). Or 2 min ride by local ferry. Great place with some of the best bars/clubs (Maxwell's music club) and restaurants. Mulligan's on first street is a great place to watch the matches. No tourists and prices are lower than Manhattan.

04/02/2009, 8:13 PM
Heading in April and staying in The Wellington Hotel for 4 nights. Anyone who was over recently make any amazing discoveries? What would be the essential must see/must do's for a first time (and possibly last time) visitor? I know I should just read the thread....

12/01/2010, 6:19 PM
going to new york paddys week, just wondering if anyone stayed in an apartment or a decent located hotel at a good price? Basically trying to do it for 4 lads on the cheap. Just wondering what others have done.

Crosby87 told me to check out atlantic city, i was supposed to go there before, the poor mans vegas as they call it, anyone gone their and recommend anything in particular stuff to do?!

ive been to new york before but it will be 8 years when i get there....just wondering what others reckon would be good to do/see or good spots to go out.

ParkLife
13/01/2010, 2:11 PM
it will be 8 years when i get there ...that's one slow plane :-)

13/01/2010, 2:17 PM
ya i meant to say im rowing myself there in a curragh stopping off at thta island in the middle of the atlantic where they brought some flowers in 1850s or so and now its got a huge natural habitation of wild flowers and plants etc. I might bring some hashish to let the time build up until I'm ready to finish the journey and arrive in 2018.

I meant to say it will have been 8 years since i was last there :D

Damn im getting old. Im going to have a midlife crisis at 30 in a few years.

ParkLife
13/01/2010, 2:34 PM
Ha..ha..very good. I haven't been there since 2000 myself, so I'm not much good to ya!!!

14/01/2010, 1:23 AM
Going in March. I've read that the Statue of Liberty is open again but you need to pre-book if you want to go up to the crown...is their an official site ya need to use to book that? I've found a few different ones that sell them. Is their one genuine one or does it not matter where you book it?

irishultra
14/01/2010, 1:39 AM
ny is awsome, i wish i lived there

14/01/2010, 2:20 AM
Going in March. I've read that the Statue of Liberty is open again but you need to pre-book if you want to go up to the crown...is their an official site ya need to use to book that? I've found a few different ones that sell them. Is their one genuine one or does it not matter where you book it?

http://www.nps.gov/stli/planyourvisit/feesandreservations.htm

http://www.statuecruises.com/ferry-service/welcome.aspx

They're the official links. As with most of the US, unnoficial resellers are everywhere, and most are legitimate and the price is roughly the same.

14/01/2010, 4:35 PM
AM i the only one that would have no interest in that stuff?

Come to think of it my mates better not be wanting to do all that sh1te.

14/01/2010, 6:58 PM
so thats football and culture you've no interest in ;)

14/01/2010, 8:01 PM
Crosby87 told me to check out atlantic city, i was supposed to go there before, the poor mans vegas as they call it, anyone gone their and recommend anything in particular stuff to do?!

In my opinion, it's a kip. Loads of Guido's and girls wearing rather large hooped earrings. Lots of shops and stuff on the boardwalk, but that's it. Casino's are poor and dingy.

14/01/2010, 10:01 PM
there are lots of seagulls too strange one.

damn you deflated my hopes for atlantic city, so it really is the poor mans vegas.

Yes dodge, that is right, give me something 1000s of years old rather than hundreds and it might grab my interest. Maybe something like the mayan pyramid structure at chichen itza or the pyramids in Egypt, but the empire state building or the statute of liberty really dont do anything for me. when you have been up or seen one, you have seen them all in my opinion. Of course everyone is entitled to their simple delights. I just dont find myself that appealed by those simple delights.

Closed Account 2
16/01/2010, 12:09 AM
Go to Philadelphia for the day if youre at a lose end only one hour on the train loads of great stuff to see a bit cheaper than NYC and they really love Irish people there.

irishultra
16/01/2010, 1:54 AM
i remember when i was like 14 in the usa an american telling me she loved my 'irish' accent, thing is i don't actually have an irish accent. lol

*im starting to get a dublin accent tho, damn dalymount lol*

16/01/2010, 10:00 AM
ultra you have whatever accent they want you to have.

18/01/2010, 12:06 PM
In my opinion, it's a kip. Loads of Guido's and girls wearing rather large hooped earrings. Lots of shops and stuff on the boardwalk, but that's it. Casino's are poor and dingy.Agree. Go one street back from the Boardwalk and its dodgeville central.

If you really like to gamble it may be worth a trip but I wouldn't bother.

Billsthoughts
20/01/2011, 11:05 AM
going end of May start of June. wondering does anyone have any recommendations for hotel? just me and missus...would preffer not to spend a fortune

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2011, 11:21 AM
going end of May start of June. wondering does anyone have any recommendations for hotel? just me and missus...would preffer not to spend a fortune

It depends on the level of comfort you want - but if you want something resonably cheap then I would recommend here:
http://www.radiocityapartments.com/
Usually pretty busy so I wouldn't waste any time. I've stayed there twice and it was grand, 5 min walk to time square.

20/01/2011, 11:30 AM
It depends on the level of comfort you want - but if you want something resonably cheap then I would recommend here:
http://www.radiocityapartments.com/
Usually pretty busy so I wouldn't waste any time. I've stayed there twice and it was grand, 5 min walk to time square.

We stayed in the Wellington Hotel which is right beside Radio City and got a great deal. We had no complaints at all.

Billsthoughts
20/01/2011, 11:42 AM
Thanks
what kind of per nite rate should I be looking at on average?

Real ale Madrid
20/01/2011, 11:52 AM
We paid on average $120 per night, for the both of us, the exchange rate was a lot better the last time as well, we spent 4 nights of our honeymoon there in August / September 09. Still for New York it was cheap - the rooms are self catering, small but clean and everything you need. There was a deli right next door where we would get breakfast and lunch - it was a great base to see the city I thought. I doubt it would be that cheap now though, I booked that about 8/9 months in advance.

20/01/2011, 7:32 PM
we stayed on lexington avenue on an apartment very central. decent price but there was a more than 2 of us.

Is this the part where I can say go somewhere else other than New York?

Billsthoughts
24/01/2011, 7:47 PM
flights booked stopping off on way to mates wedding.

Lev Yashin
09/11/2011, 8:12 PM
Thinking of bringing the missus over in the new year...just wondering if anyone has any new hotel recomendations??