View Full Version : Match Programmes
Real ale Madrid
12/02/2003, 5:38 PM
Just a thought, but maybe we could have a poll,
Which is the most interesting read, the programme or the fanzine?
IMO a programme is a completly different document to a fanzine, a programme's primary function is to inform while the fanzine is really there to entertain and give a voice. THey are completly different so they should by no means be competing with each other but COMLIMENTING each other - just another thought!
The Donie Forde
13/02/2003, 9:47 AM
Originally posted by Colm
[B
TDF, you said earlier that people who are "pro fanzine" are "anti programme". I would strongly disagree with that sentiment, I in fact would believe the opposite to be true. I think that most of the people who buy the zine would also buy the programme and vice versa. [/B]
To be precise, Colm, I didn't state pro fanzine people were anti programme. I did put a '?' in front of it. I did that because it would appear, to me at least, that there is a body of opinion there among fanzine people that the prog isn't worth the paper it's printed on...possibly because they simply don't buy it yet still strongly maintain it's crap.
Of course, I accept the opposite may also be true with certain programme buyers.
I buy 451 every issue, and I *have* contributed to NMPP in the past...
I don't have a problem at all with fanzines, honestly - I like that they bring a little extra to match days, just as the prog does.
What bugs me are people ready to slate the programme without actually basing their criticism on fact, pretty much like people slam the NL without ever actually going to games. Same argument. I would just like to encourage fans who generally don't get a programme to give it a bash next season. That is why I started the thread trying to find out what the general view of it was; how it could be improved, what people were happy with in it etc. I wasn't interested in a prog/zine debate at all...
I'm still interested to hear genuine criticisms and suggestions. I can't guarantee that any idea thrown on the table here will end up in the programme, but I can guarantee it will be given fair consideration.
Donie
The Donie Forde
13/02/2003, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by Real ale Madrid
Just a thought, but maybe we could have a poll,
Which is the most interesting read, the programme or the fanzine?
IMO a programme is a completly different document to a fanzine, a programme's primary function is to inform while the fanzine is really there to entertain and give a voice. THey are completly different so they should by no means be competing with each other but COMLIMENTING each other - just another thought!
I can imagine how that poll might turn out, but fire ahead if you want :D
I agree that you are dealing with two different types of production here. However, I would disagree with you when you suggest the programme roles is confined to merely informing, that's an over simplification. Informing the fans, of course, is a very important part of the programme's function, but even that needs improving IMO.
That said, I suggest that a well-written and balanced article on a serious topic on Irish football can be entertaining. I believe several of the stronger pieces were at least on a par with stuff in the general press on the same subjects...so the standard is quite good (says he modestly!), not that it, too, couldn't be improved.
Also, there were several very light/humerous/ironic articles run over the course of the season. I'd say the flavour of the programme is quite broad at this point, considering that it has to appeal to all age groups if it is to serve all of the fans, and still remain within the libel limits. I even recall a very tongue-in-cheek piece early on that drew tut-tuts on this board because of its tone... ;)
Donie
The Donie Forde
13/02/2003, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by A face
Fair play for you the Donie Ford. You have done well in this debate and kept the head, i mean it must be fustrating for you, as you seem to have you back up over there actually being a fanzine, maybe cos it affects your sales. Either way you have fought your corner, we'll give you that.
C'mon City !!
For the record, A face, I genuinely don't have a problem with the fanzine. I may not always agree with its content, but I still buy it and enjoy it.
Just to be clear, don't ya know. ;)
Donie
Originally posted by The Donie Forde
I agree that you are dealing with two different types of remain within the libel limits. I even recall a very tongue-in-cheek piece early on that drew tut-tuts on this board because of its tone... ;)
Donie
well I do rememeber a quite funny comment in the programme atthe time of the shels game taking the m**k out of foot.ie. i laughed;)
as i said the fanzine is ok and there is a place for it, the programme however takes priority
How and why does the programme take priority? I dont get it. the two of ye are going on extolling the virtues of the programme, while rubbishing the zine.
One thing Ill say on the matter is this, the programme has to be done, and it is a good read, but can be a bit tedious with fact fact boring on the fence. Was there EVER a critical comment (an opinion) in the programme?
As for the fanzine, while everyone will admit it could be better, i reckon most people would admit that its a breath of fresh air, as it is the only medium by which an opinion (whether pro or anti club/mngt/ player etc.) is given. I mean look at Spillane. The guy is afraid to move off the fence for fear of upsetting one of the lads.
One question to DALO, what would you rate as the best fanzine in the country? Ive got a few STIG, Red Inc, One F and DTTR, and i would say that 451 is much better than all of them. Ive also got a few from UK and 451 has a long way to go.
In conclusion, i feel both are doing a very good job. In fact i was surprised to see Shams' programme rated better than ours.
Originally posted by GWA
. Ive also got a few from UK and 451 has a long way to go.
couldnīt have said it better myself:D
no i think the fanzine is good and does serve a outlet as shown by itīs sales. i am not rubbishing the fanzine at all. just canīt understand why people get so *****ly when you make any critical observation of it' as I said i think the fanzine has itīs place and fair play to it but the function of the match programme is possibly a lot more important to both fans and club
jofyisgod
17/02/2003, 7:29 PM
Why the big fuss?If u dont li,e the feckin fanzine, there is a simple answer-DONT BUY IT! ( i recommend u do tho-its very funny!)
Peter:D
The Donie Forde
18/02/2003, 9:28 AM
Originally posted by jofyisgod
Why the big fuss?If u dont li,e the feckin fanzine, there is a simple answer-DONT BUY IT! ( i recommend u do tho-its very funny!)
Peter:D
Fuss, what fuss? Just wanna get people's views on the programme !
Comments still welcome but would appreciate if they were constructive...
Donie
jofyisgod
19/02/2003, 5:43 PM
Very sorry tdf...really.
Well-heres my constructive comment.The program isnt bad but i think that it could do with more player info and interviews as i couldnt care less about Noelles bit. Maybe a section on great City players would be good. The fanzine is also very good. It is sooo funny and the songs section is a good idea.I get them both, so i'm not complaining about either.
Peter