View Full Version : U19 squad for Elite Qualifiers

Pages : 1 [2]

citizenerased
17/05/2007, 9:41 AM
Yeah i was impressed by power, showed great guile and tenacity in the centre, also treacy showed some excellent touches and had a few great runs in the first half. He must have been injured there is no way he would have been taken off otherwise...Wasnt that impressed with stokes to be honest, had some good touches and a great effort out side the box in the first half but , never knew when to gave the ball, and took way too much out of it more often than not, a bit greedy also

17/05/2007, 10:16 AM
First off I'd like to say the ref was poor. Scratch that he was atrocious. Also the German's play acting and "gamesmanship" (God I hate that word) was despicable to see, moreso because it was underage football - these are the player of tomorrow and they're learning these sort of tricks now??
In the first half I felt the play was about even, most of the German attacks seem to come down the right side, and their huge right full was particularly impressive. The Irish seemed to be getting a lot of joy on both the wings, Blackburn's Treacy looking to cross at every opportunity, and Judge on the opposite wing doing the same. Rooney was playing as an out and out striker, with Stokes coming deep to receive the ball and play it through. Although more often than not he tried to beat the opposition all by himself. He may be one for the future, but he needs to learn when to play the ball and when to try and beat players. In defence, I thought Nolan (the captain on the night) was outstanding, keeping possession and clearing his lines to a teammate almost every time. In goals Henderson was rarely tested, but when he was I didn't think he commanded his area well and the lack of passes back to him tells its own story.
The penalty was soft at best. With the Germans being guilty of diving throughout the game, had this dive taken place later in the game it was debatable whether or not the ref would have given it. Henderson guessed right, but it was well struck, right to the corner and he had no chance.
Following this was a sustained period of pressure from the Irish, with the Germans seemingly unable to take the ball out of their own half. However the Boys in Green were unable to make their superiority count and the half ended 1-0.
The second half began with a surprising substitution, Celtic striker Cillian Sheridan coming on for the impressive winger Treacy. This meant a slight reshuffle up front, Sheridan playing the target man with Stokes and Rooney playing off him. Sheridan had an immediate impact, forcing his way through the German defence, but finding the keeper in fine form.
The second half was barely 10 minutes old when Sheridan broke free and was bearing down on goal when tackled from behind, a straight red for the German centre half was the only outcome. He dawdled over to the dug out on the far side of the ground, only to be ordered to the stands by the ref, which meant crossing the pitch again. This was done at a snail's pace to waste more time.
The Germans responded to the red card by bringing on a full back for their striker, and moving their impressive right full into central defence to counter the growing influence of Sheridan, but it was clear at this point they were playing for the 1-0 win and, with a game against Bulgaria on saturday, an almost guaranteed qualification.
The game boiled over as it passed into injury time, with several of the Irish players being restrained from the opposition, and another sending off for the Germans, who finished with 9 players.
Ireland can feel genuinely disappointed with not coming away from this game with at least a draw, and knowing that a win would have won qualification to the finals in July will make it even worse.
This leaves them hoping for a favor from Bulgaria against Germany at the weekend, and a win in their final match against Hungary

smithy
17/05/2007, 11:15 AM
German press mentions that the Irish tried to beat and hit the Germans after the match? What happened?

17/05/2007, 11:46 AM
German press mentions that the Irish tried to beat and hit the Germans after the match? What happened?
According to McCaffrey on NewsTalk last night, Judge was spat at which led to the second sending off, and one of the Germans made some insult about Shane Redmond's mother. When I was leaving, he was being held back by one of the Irish coaching staff.

17/05/2007, 2:02 PM
Watched the game with Tets. I was 10 mins late so wasnt sure who all the players were, but our right back was good I thought, as were both centre backs. Left back made no impression either way.

We were miles better in first half & we really should have equalised.

We lost our width when Treacy went off and once Sheridan came on our play deteriorated. The balls to our forwards were invariably speculative rather than precise and this made our numerical advantage irrelevant - if we'd played a higher tempo passing game the extra man may have counted.

Too many crosses were overhit too.

For a big guy Cillian Sheridan has some burst of pace.

Penalty was soft in extreme.

Neil, sorry I didnt get in touch. I was in a suit, wet & cold. My mate took his girlfriend from Florida to the game too and to bring her to the Bohs bar to watch more footy might have been an indulgence too far! Next time.

17/05/2007, 2:47 PM
I guess once the girlfriend becomes the wife then mercy goes out the window.

youngirish
17/05/2007, 3:22 PM
From uefa.com:

'Confident'
McCaffrey told fai.ie: "We had 70 per cent of the possession and deserved to win the game. I'd be confident that we can beat Hungary at United Park on Saturday. However, the control of the group is now with Germany and we need Bulgaria to give them a decent test on Saturday."

Don't like this sort of dissmissive talk from that fool McCaffrey. He was at it before the Germany game also. It's the sort of thing that the English media do a lot and it only serves to rile up opponents. Why is he so confident we are going to beat Hungary anyway? Didn't they draw with Germany who beat us with 9 men?

17/05/2007, 3:45 PM
According to McCaffrey on NewsTalk last night, Judge was spat at which led to the second sending off, and one of the Germans made some insult about Shane Redmond's mother. When I was leaving, he was being held back by one of the Irish coaching staff.

McCaffrey was furious - he said that the "coloured" guy on the German team :rolleyes: said something about Shane Redmond's mother who had died 8 or 10 months ago (not sure if the implication was that the German knew this or if he just picked an unfortunate target), as well as spitting at Judge. Said that this wasn't the first incident involving Germany and he wasn't surprised

I thought the Germans were disgraceful. You only have to look at their history to see where they're coming from.

17/05/2007, 4:01 PM
Didn't they draw with Germany who beat us with 9 men?
Beat us with 9 men? They had 10 men for the 2nd half and most of them were behind the ball. The 2nd red card was in the last minute. It was hardly a match of 11 v 9.

As for his quote. He's confident we can beat Hungary. Fair play to him. :)

Billsthoughts
17/05/2007, 4:15 PM
McCaffrey was furious - he said that the "coloured" guy on the German team :rolleyes: said something about Shane Redmond's mother who had died 8 or 10 months ago (not sure if the implication was that the German knew this or if he just picked an unfortunate target), as well as spitting at Judge. Said that this wasn't the first incident involving Germany and he wasn't surprised

yeah the "history" comment was pure "did he just say what I think he said??" radio.

youngirish
17/05/2007, 4:22 PM
As for his quote. He's confident we can beat Hungary. Fair play to him. :)
Yeah fair play to him but he should keep it quiet otherwise he only ends up looking like a plonker. He was confident we would beat Germany also.

17/05/2007, 4:25 PM
Anyway, for Saturday's game I think Bayly will replace Judge and Ryan will move out to the right. Sheridan in for Stokes with Rooney playing a bit deeper. Let's hope Bulgaria are up for it against Germany.

smithy
17/05/2007, 7:05 PM

I thought the Germans were disgraceful. You only have to look at their history to see where they're coming from.

that is a disgusting comment. Did he really say that exactly like that? Do you have an internet source for this?

17/05/2007, 7:17 PM
I don't remember him describing the player as "coloured" in the interview on NewsTalk, and it's certainly something that would stick in the memory.
Some of the comments are here: http://eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=27731

He said: “Their number 2 said something to [Ireland sub goalkeeper] Shane Redmond about his mother – Shane’s mother died of cancer about eight or ten months ago.
“I thought they were disgraceful to be honest. I haven’t liked them all week, I didn’t like them in Portugal and I didn’t like being over there in the times we’ve visited.”
and from http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/tempers-fray-as-germans-foil-irish-678249.html

"We created stacks of chances, dominated the game and must have had 15 corners and 70 percent of the possession," said a disappointed McCaffrey. "We can still qualify but the likes of Bulgaria and Hungary tend to be frightened of the Germans. We weren't tonight but we still lost the game."

You would have to imagine if he did say "coloured" or the comment about their history then it would get a mention.

alkev
18/05/2007, 7:17 AM
He did indeed use the word coloured and refer to German history, disgraceful racist comments which prompted Claire Byrne on Newstalk Breakfast show (who played the clip) to comment "Did he just say what I thought he said".
If this is not a resigning matter I don't know what is.
PS how on earth would a German under 19 know of the family history of any of the Irish players?

18/05/2007, 8:30 AM
Yeah I was listening to the repeat of the breakfast show last night. Disgraceful comments about Germany. "I've never liked them, their history speaks for itself". As for the German player he was referring to. He said "The coloured player, the number 2, said..."

Torn-Ado
18/05/2007, 8:39 AM
I think some of you should chill out get off PC wagon. Sure, the comments were bad but so was insulting a players dead mother. Not much being said about that in here.

It was said in the heat of the moment and it's not worth dwelling on IMO.

18/05/2007, 8:49 AM
PC? Unless I heard him wrong he said he hated Germany. What's that got to do with political correctness? An Ireland manager shouldn't be making comments like that.

18/05/2007, 9:00 AM
I interpreted hios comments at the time as referring to the German underage teams he's encountered, and his historyt with them. Not a sweeping generalisation of the country and its history.

As for their no. 2: did you see the size of him? He was like John Carew at right back.

18/05/2007, 9:04 AM
I think some of you should chill out get off PC wagon. Sure, the comments were bad but so was insulting a players dead mother. Not much being said about that in here.

In all fairness, there is no way the Germany u19 right back knew that the Irish u19 player's mother died a few months ago. He obviously just made a general comment (as happens in every grade of football)

Torn-Ado
18/05/2007, 9:05 AM
PC? Unless I heard him wrong he said he hated Germany. What's that got to do with political correctness? An Ireland manager shouldn't be making comments like that.

He shouldn't have said it but the way your all jumping on his back and failing to condemn the German who actually insulted a players dead mother is unfair. Whether the German fella knew about his mother or not, it was out of order. I'd never insult someones family period.

McCaffrey was caught up in the heat of the moment and emotion expressed by Redmond and said what was on his mind. He shouldn't have but did. So we should let it go and stop calling for his head.

Torn-Ado
18/05/2007, 9:07 AM
In all fairness, there is no way the Germany u19 right back knew that the Irish u19 player's mother died a few months ago. He obviously just made a general comment (as happens in every grade of football)

Personally, I'd never insult someones family at all. Its a sensitive topic and its a low blow. There is always a chance people can be hurt i.e deaths etc.

youngirish
18/05/2007, 9:08 AM

That sort of stuff goes on all the time on football pitches (and in life generally). I seriously doubt the German player knew the lads mother had died. The player should be mature enough to take it with a pinch of salt (and yeah my mother died when I was younger and I had similar slaggings by people who didn't know the circumstances, all you have to say is here bud me mother's dead and watch their expression change).

The manager slagging the nation though is not on. It also stinks of sour grapes. What if we'd won and the German manager said we were all a shower of drunken, stupid leprechauns? Even that wouldn't be as bad as what McCaffrey said. The Germans are extremely sensitive about the war. Have you never seen that Fawlty Towers episode?

18/05/2007, 9:13 AM
So we should let it go and stop calling for his head.
I'm certainly not calling for his head.

Stutts is probably right and he was just talking about the German underage teams but the reaction of Claire Byrne and Ger Gilroy on Newstalk is an idea of how he came across.

18/05/2007, 9:52 AM
Here's the clip:
http://media.putfile.com/Sean-Mccaffrey-on-Newstalk

Torn-Ado
18/05/2007, 9:56 AM
Here's the clip:
http://media.putfile.com/Sean-Mccaffrey-on-Newstalk

Listening to that, I personally think it was football he was on about.

18/05/2007, 10:07 AM
Yeah same here.

18/05/2007, 10:47 AM
Whether the German fella knew about his mother or not, it was out of order. I'd never insult someones family period.

Personally, I'd never insult someones family at all. Its a sensitive topic and its a low blow. There is always a chance people can be hurt i.e deaths etc.

I think you should chill out and get off the PC wagon.

livehead1
18/05/2007, 10:59 AM
i dont think his comments were outrageous at all. i've been to germany a number of times and there is no doubting their belief in their superiority above others. His comments are not about the war at all. He should not have said "coloured" in this age of political correctness but it aint that bad.

endabob1
18/05/2007, 11:19 AM
He should not have said "coloured" in this age of political correctness but it aint that bad.

What should he have said? I'm not sure anymore on all this PC nonsense, I thought "Coloured" was acceptable :confused:

18/05/2007, 11:24 AM
Seems to me he was talking about his history of playing them......especially since he mentioned other competitions...

jeez mention Germans and history in the same sentence and everyone jumps to conclusions

cavan_fan
18/05/2007, 1:22 PM
What should he have said? I'm not sure anymore on all this PC nonsense, I thought "Coloured" was acceptable :confused:

Well he could have used his name, as a professional manager it's not unreasonable to expect him to know the name of his opponents. If not why not refer to him as the right back or the number 3 or whatever

18/05/2007, 1:31 PM
Is McCaffrey from Cork? it might explain the sour grapes.

“I thought they were disgraceful to be honest. I haven’t liked them all week, I didn’t like them in Portugal and I didn’t like being over there in the times we’ve visited.”
I see that's the quote of the week on 11 a side. Should be the clanger of the month.
Fair enough to describe them on the football pitch as arrogant dirthy cheating divers. That would stand in any court of law.
His dislike comments say more about him than the nice German lads.

DeNiro
19/05/2007, 6:26 PM
Anyone got any updates on score v Hungary? Aertel don't even have it listed :rolleyes:

smithy
19/05/2007, 6:35 PM
35 minutes played.

Ireland 0-0 Hungary
Germany 2-0 Bulgaria

19/05/2007, 7:50 PM
Cillian Sherdian scores on 87 minutes, Ireland 1-0 up,Germany still 2-0 up

19/05/2007, 7:53 PM
2-0 Ryan. Pity it's not good enough.

kev mcq
19/05/2007, 8:06 PM
Just in from the germany game. bulgaria were **** poor and didn't really give them much of a game. germany should have had another couple. Christ that 'coloured' number 2 is a big lad!!

20/05/2007, 3:11 AM
Christ that 'coloured' number 2 is a big lad!!
Thought the same at Dalyer on Wednesday night, he was brought into the middle to counteract Sheridan when he came on at half time. Him and the right winger were the only German players to stand out, in an attacking sense.

20/05/2007, 7:21 AM

"coloured" is what whites in south africa called everyone nonwhite - there is a substantial indian and asian minority there too, so they just lumped all 'inferior' races into "coloured". the correct and logical thing to say is African, the same way we would describe someone as being asian without needing to specify he might have been born in britain etc.

kev mcq
20/05/2007, 11:45 AM
Thought the same at Dalyer on Wednesday night, he was brought into the middle to counteract Sheridan when he came on at half time. Him and the right winger were the only German players to stand out, in an attacking sense.
Yeah he looked decent going forward alright. Hit one shot from about 30 yards right footed that just whistled wide and then just as the ref blew the final whistle he hit one from about 25 yards left footed the keeper went ful stretch for.

Qwerty
20/05/2007, 5:27 PM
"coloured" is what whites in south africa called everyone nonwhite - there is a substantial indian and asian minority there too, so they just lumped all 'inferior' races into "coloured". the correct and logical thing to say is African, the same way we would describe someone as being asian without needing to specify he might have been born in britain etc.

'Coloured' or 'Colored' is also used in the U.S and is not necessarily seen as pejorative though it's usage has become less common in recent years, the NAACP is one example of it's usage. I imagine that most Irish people would be exposed more to the American usage of the term than South African.

I have to say it did sound like he was hinting at the war and German history - out of line in discussing under age soccer - but we all know the German teams by and large are not very nice.

Still we do have a few great prospects coming through and that is the main thing.

31/05/2007, 12:39 PM
Interview with Anthony Stokes, and highlights of all 3 games here: http://www.rte.ie/tv/obsport/
That German penalty seems especially dodgy from that angle.

endabob1
31/05/2007, 1:07 PM

Sorry to be a pedant, but the term coloured was (and is still widely) used in SA to describe the mixed race population, primarily in the Western Cape.
Under Apartheid every person was classified as a member of one of 4 races Black, White, Asian & Coloured.
The Asian population is primarily Indian decent in Kwazulu-Natal & Malay in the Cape. Black was used for Native Africans & White for European descendants.

If you want my opinon (actually even if you don't) Thanks to the over the top PC brigade there's no clear way of describing someones race, colour or ethnicity without someone getting offended, try to be sensitive to the feelings of others and apologise if you've genuinely and unintentionally caused offence. If you're genuine people will generally not take offence anyway.

05/06/2007, 12:51 PM
I see the "Emerging Talent" programme seems to be yielding some fruit:

Emerging Talent Programme blossoms in Lille

Date: Sunday, 03 June 2007 Section: Underage International

--------------------------------------------

The first fruits of the Football Association of Ireland's Emerging
Talent Programme blossomed in France this week when a home based squad
of players drawn from the nine regional centres won the prestigious
Lille International Tournament. The ten team tournament also featured
teams from France, Belgium, Sweden, Denmark and the Czech Republic and
was split into two groups of five for the opening round.

The FAI Emerging Talent team finished second behind Belgian side
Mourcron Excellsior in their group and qualified for the semi-finals
where they faced the winners of the other group, French side Strasbourg.

A goal from Dublin striker Patrick Madden was all that separated the
sides and earned the Irish a place in the final against Moucron where
another goal from the prolific Madden was enough to take the tournament.

The 18 players involved in Lille will form the nucleus of a 30 strong
panel of home based players at this age group who will be kept within
the FAI National Regional Centre set up next season.

The purpose of this to continually monitor and help with the development
of these players, especially the late physical developers, so that they
can eventually secure careers within professional football.

According to the FAI's Player Development Manager, John Morling, the
international dimension is a key element of the Emerging Talent
Programme

"The experience and education the players receive playing in
international competition both and off the pitch is paramount to their
development as players and more importantly as young adults," said
Morling.

"The players not only learn how to play against foreign opposition in a
competitive environment with different styles and cultures but they
would of also learnt the importance of all the off the pitch activities
and the effects it has on their performances, such as rest, hydration,
refuelling, diet, attitude and general professionalism of how young
international players should conduct themselves whist representing their
country," added Morling.

FAI U16 Emerging Talent Squad: Goalkeepers - Mark McGinley (Club:
Glenree. Regional Centre Donegal), Brian Kane (Home Farm & Dublin).
Defenders - Niall Walsh (Castlebar & Mayo), Shane O Connor (St Josephs &
Dublin) Craig O Hanlon (Wembley Rovers & Ennis), Robert Doran (Cherry
Orchard & Dublin), Daniel Langan (Home Farm & Dublin); Mitch Kelly (WFTA
& Bunclody). Midfielders - Ian Byrne (Bohemians & Dublin), Eoin Torphy
(Westport & Mayo); Stephen McLoughlin (St Mary's & Donegal), David O
Neil (Arklow Town & Bunclody), Kevin Dawson (Home Farm & Dublin), Joe O
Neill (Home Farm & Dublin). Forwards - Craig Duggan (Kilreen & Cork),
Keith Ward (Cherry Orchard & Dublin), Paul Gahan (Cherry Orchard &
Cork), Patrick Madden (W