View Full Version : Belfield on Friday

Angus
30/04/2007, 7:47 AM
Hello all,

Firstly, much respect to your support at our place on Friday - top drawer.

Secondly, you probably fell robbed of two points and it is difficult to reconcile your league position with the performance on Friday. I thought you were pretty good and with any kind of luck will move up the table

30/04/2007, 6:09 PM
thanks angus for the complients

we were a tad unlucky but it will work out for us. i would be very confident of our season goin from strength to strenght. the best thing is that we have finally sorted out our vocal support both home and away. the players are really startin to respond to it. eg mooney cumin up to us to celebrate after his screamer against wateford.

i like the look of conor sammon and paul byrne.

01/05/2007, 12:50 PM
Firstly, much respect to your support at our place on Friday - top drawer.
Great to see the youth take on the singing responsibilities and running with it. Hopefully their numbers continue to grow and they carry it on.

Ronnie
01/05/2007, 1:03 PM
Well said, supporters have been superb for the last 3 games.

01/05/2007, 6:11 PM
thats the beuaty with new support they always come up with new ideas. our old timers are gettin old its near the end of our day! NOT!:p

Angus
02/05/2007, 7:42 AM
The moment when I walked in front of your boys and you all sang "Who are ya, who ara ya" and I did the "come and have a go if you think you're hard enough" gesture and you all did the "*$%£ you" thing, was one of the great moments I will pass on to children and grandchildren.

The day I fronted the Longford firm single handed !! (read any of those rubbish hooligan books by Cass Pennant for context).

Hope you boys stay up - the league will be worse off without you.

02/05/2007, 8:27 AM
The moment when I walked in front of your boys and you all sang "Who are ya, who ara ya" and I did the "come and have a go if you think you're hard enough" gesture and you all did the "*$%£ you" thing, was one of the great moments I will pass on to children and grandchildren.

The day I fronted the Longford firm single handed !! (read any of those rubbish hooligan books by Cass Pennant for context).

Hope you boys stay up - the league will be worse off without you.

FFS I hate this who are ya bull**** that and the easy bull****. :mad: :mad:

If its some of our newer fans doing it, as ye were told in Galway cut it the **** out, it makes ye look like knobs.

Bosco
02/05/2007, 8:47 AM
The "Easy" chant is outdated at this stage but it was used in section o long before all the new lads started coming!Agree about the "who are ya" chant,its funny in some circumstances but shouting it at every man woman and child that walks by is stupid!

02/05/2007, 9:23 AM
The "Easy" chant is outdated at this stage but it was used in section o long before all the new lads started coming!
It was feckin outdated when the soccer am nonces started doing it as if though they came up with it! Never liked the "who are ya" either (much preferred the old school "who the f**kin hell are you?"). However, wouldn't be too hard on the kids - they'll learn with time and they're certainly breathing new life into the vocal support...

02/05/2007, 10:05 AM
Oh I know, I came across worse in the above post that I intended, what I meant to say is shouting it at every man woman and child isnt the greatest idea. No point antogonising people!

However it is good to see new fans so dont take me as a miserable old git!

02/05/2007, 10:16 AM
Yeah, forgot to mention it, your display was equal to Derry fans and better than any other club I've seen in Belfield in my time.

Angus
02/05/2007, 10:24 AM
Oh I know, I came across worse in the above post that I intended, what I meant to say is shouting it at every man woman and child isnt the greatest idea. No point antogonising people!

However it is good to see new fans so dont take me as a miserable old git!

Agree - I wasn't suggesting that we need to import the worst elements of the premiership fans but it was delivered with humour and tongue in cheek and was good fun

02/05/2007, 2:33 PM
Looking forward to seeing the Junior Section O in action. Looks like through our mentorship, they'll learn the ropes and we can sit back, tend to our gardens in our pipes and slippers, look back and say 'we taught them well'. Not that any of us are near retirement of course.. :)