View Full Version : Rovers ban 'Webb incident' supporter
From Todays Indo.
SHAMROCK Rovers have identified the supporter who hurled personal abuse at Drogheda defender Simon Webb in last Friday's Premier Division clash at Tolka Park.
A Rovers' investigation of CCTV coverage and eyewitness accounts found the perpetrator who taunted Webb about the death of his wife.
The incident caused considerable upset to the player and infuriated his colleagues and Drogheda boss Paul Doolin. "As a consequence that individual is banned from future Shamrock Rovers games, both home and away, and with immediate effect," said a Rovers statement last night.
For all those who demanded action from SRFC in relation to this unsavoury incident i trust this addresses your concerns. The club has acted swiftly and correctly IMO so let this (hopefully) be the end of it.
Koh
26/04/2007, 7:49 AM
Well done Rovers.
But how long is "future"? Lifetime ban?
saint dog
26/04/2007, 7:49 AM
rightly so
but how do other teams stop this thug entering their grounds
chippie0001
26/04/2007, 8:24 AM
From Todays Indo.
SHAMROCK Rovers have identified the supporter who hurled personal abuse at Drogheda defender Simon Webb in last Friday's Premier Division clash at Tolka Park.
A Rovers' investigation of CCTV coverage and eyewitness accounts found the perpetrator who taunted Webb about the death of his wife.
The incident caused considerable upset to the player and infuriated his colleagues and Drogheda boss Paul Doolin. "As a consequence that individual is banned from future Shamrock Rovers games, both home and away, and with immediate effect," said a Rovers statement last night.
For all those who demanded action from SRFC in relation to this unsavoury incident i trust this addresses your concerns. The club has acted swiftly and correctly IMO so let this (hopefully) be the end of it.
Koh
So were all the threads, news reports, Doolin on TV etc, moaning about just one fan?
26/04/2007, 8:33 AM
rightly so
but how do other teams stop this thug entering their grounds
A member of Rovers committee or travelling support identifies him and he is ejected from the ground, or identified in advance and denied entry.
Totally unenforcable (is that a word? doesn't sound right...)
Stewarding for big games in dublin done by the FAI who employ blokes who simply don't care Short of plastering this guy's face all over the gates, there's very little way of stopping him enter.
BTW this is no slight on Rovers, who have done as much as they can it seems.
dubman
26/04/2007, 8:45 AM
Thats great news and nice and fast. Hats off to you
shelbourne1904
26/04/2007, 8:49 AM
What is his name??What does he look like??Have the Gardai been notified??
26/04/2007, 8:54 AM
Well done Rovers.
Erstwhile Bóz
26/04/2007, 9:01 AM
Fair play.
Amazing one supporter could cause so much hassle.
saint dog
26/04/2007, 9:08 AM
A member of Rovers committee or travelling support identifies him and he is ejected from the ground, or identified in advance and denied entry.
realisticly will this happen
we've all seen it with our own so called fans causing trouble
a week later its forgotten about
Fair play.
Amazing one supporter could cause so much hassle.
Well to be fair no one i knew at the game had heard anything at all until it all blew up in the media over the w/e, apparently though it was indeed down to one individual, obviously strategically positioned to get his 'rant' heard by its intended target!
TBH i reckon the club has done as much as it can in as short a space as possible given the information available. As previously said, hopefully this will be the end of it and the ban will be enforced as much as possible given the stumbling blocks as pointed out in the posts above.
Koh
gufcfan
26/04/2007, 9:17 AM
So were all the threads, news reports, Doolin on TV etc, moaning about just one fan?
It makes no difference whether it was 1 fan or 100 fans.
No player deserves to have something as personal and hurtful as that said to them. Put in Webb's position i'm not sure I would have been able to control myself
26/04/2007, 9:43 AM
But...
...realisticly will this happen...
It makes no difference
Just shows again that they would have been happier if we had done nothing about it. :rolleyes:
The incident has been dealt with. End of.
26/04/2007, 9:46 AM
No, Rovers have done all that is possible. Hopefully the message will sink in with the scum element that this kinda thing will not be tolerated.
Just shows again that they would have been happier if we had done nothing about it. :rolleyes:
The incident has been dealt with. End of.
Did you read the posts or just those little bits?
Nobody has said Rovers board acted anything other than honourably but if you want to play hard done by, fine....
Erstwhile Bóz
26/04/2007, 9:54 AM
I'm not trying to re-stoke the fire in any way (I think Rovers have done ... all right *spit* ... in acting so promptly) but can we assume now that the allegations of a player's involvement were way off the mark and that's that?
Ŕ la "purple monkey dishwasher", I mean?
Philly
26/04/2007, 10:10 AM
Well done Rovers. I hope the same sort of action is taken from now on when your scumy element acts up. If that happens then the Herald editorial will have some trouble dishing you.
saint dog
26/04/2007, 10:31 AM
we
done nothing about The incident .
do you work for the star
26/04/2007, 10:31 AM
Well done Rovers. I hope the same sort of action is taken from now on when your scumy element acts up. If that happens then the Herald editorial will have some trouble dishing you.
No they wont. They'll just make it up like before. This has happened at other clubs but without the media fanfare.
26/04/2007, 10:36 AM
This has happened at other clubs but without the media fanfare.
The only other time I heard of anything as bad as this was Bohs fans on Conor O'Dowd (worse as there were enough of them). Are you saying its happened elsewhere?
DSandy
26/04/2007, 10:37 AM
Good news. I am a bit surprised that it was only one "supporter" that caused all this (although one is more then enough if you're on the receiving end) but if that's the case and it has been dealt with then that's that.
26/04/2007, 10:39 AM
The only other time I heard of anything as bad as this was Bohs fans on Conor O'Dowd (worse as there were enough of them). Are you saying its happened elsewhere?
Yes. Was mentioned here a while back. Was a song about an individual not connected to the EL.
26/04/2007, 10:51 AM
Really? It was only one Rovers fan? You'd imagine the decent Rovers fans would have shut him up the second he started saved a years worth of bad publicity.........
26/04/2007, 10:53 AM
That is the 5th banning so far this week but I can't see how it will be enforced. Anyone who is banned could easily make their way into a ground IMO. Fair play to Rovers btw
26/04/2007, 10:55 AM
What is his name??What does he look like??Have the Gardai been notified??
What? :confused:
No laws were broken FFS. And yes, it was only one fan. (I was able to guess the individual's identity when I heard about it.)
see's it
26/04/2007, 10:58 AM
What? :confused:
No laws were broken FFS. And yes, it was only one fan. (I was able to guess the individual's identity when I heard about it.)
well if his a known di**head to the rovers fans it should be the same for everyone else,name and shame
26/04/2007, 10:58 AM
Fair play.
26/04/2007, 11:00 AM
And yes, it was only one fan. (I was able to guess the individual's identity when I heard about it.)
Why wasn't he told in the strongest possible terms to shut the fcuk up the second he started??
Is he some kind of super-villian??
26/04/2007, 11:09 AM
Yes. Was mentioned here a while back. Was a song about an individual not connected to the EL.
Well then its not the same
Calcio Jack
26/04/2007, 11:17 AM
well if his a known di**head to the rovers fans it should be the same for everyone else,name and shame
We dealt with this in the correct manner... to name the individual publicly would (1) Leave us open to to a potential legal action by said individual , which we'd win however it could easily cost us a substantial amount in legal fees and would also "prolong" the incident and might even involve Simon Webb having to be called as a wittness to give evidence , which IMO would be intolerable for him and hugely upsetting. (2) By putting the name in the public domain, it would leave that individual (disgusting/wrong as his actions were) open to a risk of violence from the "vigilante/hanging brigade.
So IMO we've done as much as we could and in a reasoned manner.Not that we take any kudos from our response to this incident but it does show that the people now running Rovers always act in the most professional manner possible and more importantly on this occasion in a sensitive manner to ensure that we did our upmost to mitigate the upset caused to Simon webb and his family.
qutus
26/04/2007, 11:27 AM
Does anyone know exactly what was said to Webb? And what was to Doolin about his daughter? Were they chants or just repeated shouting/abuse?
Fingal hoop
26/04/2007, 11:36 AM
Does anyone know exactly what was said to Webb? And what was to Doolin about his daughter? Were they chants or just repeated shouting/abuse?
who cares what was said to doolin about his ****in daughter
qutus
26/04/2007, 11:46 AM
Fingal hoop - Do you not see a link between the 2? Doolin most likely was peeved at the abuse he was getting about his daughter and when Webb told him of the abuse he was getting so he went to the press with it - I do not blame him though, I would have done the same. I am not condoning the attack on Webb or Doolin. Neither of them deserved what they got but I would like to know what said to both and understand the facts. I was not there but would like to form an opinion of whole thing with all the facts. So if you help me out I would appreciate it.
26/04/2007, 11:55 AM
What are the legalities of banning people from eL grounds? Is it the same as a nite club where the management refuse the right to entry:confused: I heard a few times (don't know if it is true) that only a judge has the right to ban a person from a certain location ?
26/04/2007, 11:56 AM
Nothing worng about the abuse Doolin received. Boo ****ing hoo if he gets upset about that. If he tried to say it was the same as the abuse at Webb, he's an idiot.
26/04/2007, 12:01 PM
Did you read the posts or just those little bits?
Yes, I did read the posts.
The point being that today, 2 weeks, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years time, when people want to have a go at us, the incident will continue to be brought up, both here, and in the media. No matter what we do, some people will never accept that it has been dealt with fully, and in a professional manner.
BohsFans
26/04/2007, 12:04 PM
There's CCTV inside Tolka now? :confused:
saint dog
26/04/2007, 12:08 PM
The point being that today, 2 weeks, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years time, when people want to have a go at us, the incident will continue to be brought up, both here, and in the media. No matter what we do, some people will never accept that it has been dealt with fully, and in a professional manner.
so why edit it, nobodys saying your not doing anything
the opposite most people are applauding your(clubs) actions
26/04/2007, 12:09 PM
There's CCTV inside Tolka now? :confused:
Yup, two cameras on the New Stand, the ones which you can't see where they're facing. I heard both clubs went halves on this but don't know if that is true, maybe some of the Rovers lads can clarify this. Shels seem to be cracking down on this as there were easily 15-20 guards on duty at the Monaghan game :eek:
26/04/2007, 12:11 PM
Can you point out where this has happened on this thread? Or are you playing victim again?
Rovers seemed to have done as much as they can for now. The enforcement of the ban is a different matter & not sure what can be done there. I see no reason to name & shame or contact the gardai as no laws broken.
Erstwhile Bóz
26/04/2007, 3:02 PM
So there was no player involved?
Bit disappointed to be honest. I was dying to know what kind of action they would have been able to take.
Unlike some places, this site can be sued. Don't be naming names
BohsFans
02/05/2007, 8:13 PM
Unlike some places, this site can be sued. Don't be naming names
I clearly stated it was a rumour and am not after an individual!:mad:
Just by stating its a rumour doesn't mean you can say his name FFS
BohsFans
03/05/2007, 2:40 PM
Just by stating its a rumour doesn't mean you can say his name FFS
OK
Did Barry Ferguson start that game by any chance?:confused: