View Full Version : Bray Friday Night
Tir Oilean
25/04/2007, 10:06 AM
It seems not many are giving us a chance against Bray (see predictions League). A lot of folk are sitting on the fence with a 1-1 draw. I think we will snatch a one nil victory O'Flynn to score it.
GuisaSaigon
25/04/2007, 10:13 AM
I'm going for a 0-2 win for United, we're improving alll the time, our first win has to come soon. I always take great satisfaction out of seeing a peed off Eddie Gormley. I cant make it to "Tuam Beside the Sea" on Friday, do they still have commentary on GBFM?
25/04/2007, 10:13 AM
I havent predicted a win for us all season maybe last fridays disappointment against Bohs shows how far weve come.United to win odd goal of 3 Murphs is on fire.
JC_GUFC
25/04/2007, 10:30 AM
I actually think we'll win this too - Bray not playing great of late, though seemingly they were worth their point against Cork.
Big game but I'll go for a 2-0 win.
eamo1
25/04/2007, 12:58 PM
most games so far have been on GBFM,fair play to them for that btw.
corbyeire
25/04/2007, 1:29 PM
yea its great that gbfm are covering the matches
gufcfan
25/04/2007, 1:43 PM
Ya fairplay to GBFM. A email off a few of us in that direction in appreciation wouldnt go amiss, to show them that they do have a listenership for it after all
fair Play to Bernie/Ollie and all the Staff at GBFM.
Galway First has been excellent too pity I can only get it on the net.Great to see KK there on friday night covering it for the Tribune Group who have appointed former Terryland Regular Dave Connell is their new editor maybe JMcIntyre might buck up his sports coverage.
Tir Oilean
25/04/2007, 2:32 PM
Havent been keepin track of the bookings but I think Reggi is near a suspension at this stage after his booking against Bohs, anybody able to shine some light on this?
MyTown
25/04/2007, 2:40 PM
I think Reggie has 3 Yellows to date against Sligo, Cork and Bohs.
GUISAUltra
25/04/2007, 6:15 PM
fancy us to get a scrappy 2-1 win. at this stage, scrappy or not i will take any 3 points that come our way. i think all we need is one win to get us going and get the confidence higher and then we'll start playing a bit of football
Claret Murph
26/04/2007, 6:23 AM
I am going to go for a 0-1 win for Bray , so please prove me wrong United .
GUISAUltra
26/04/2007, 12:20 PM
fair play to the bray fans. they have arranged to meet up with us before the game and make some sort of presentation to us. good to see that there is still good links between fans in the EL
corbyeire
26/04/2007, 4:28 PM
thats the way it should be - fair play to bray - more of the same required and itll go a long way to giving the league a good name
scotsbeer
26/04/2007, 4:48 PM
united to win 2-0 with wesley scoring first. was down in bray a cuople of years ago as my brother and couple of cousins came over as hearts were playing pre-season friendlies against pats on the sunday and bray on the wednesday. we somehow managed to make both games fromgalway and throughhangovers and we all still talk about the welcome we received form the bray fans. am looking forward to going back down and would appreciate if this could be passed onto bray fans.
p.s. pats fans were a bunch of knobends. no craic at all
GUISAUltra
26/04/2007, 6:11 PM
though the pats fans were fairly sound. bohs weren't exactly a barrell of laughs though
27/04/2007, 10:55 AM
am looking forward to going back down and would appreciate if this could be passed onto bray fans.
Here's hoping Franco scores another cracker like he did that night!
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 12:58 PM
Our luck has to change, let's hope it happens tonight, Can't make it to Bray so I'll be glued to the radio. AFAIK it's live on www.galwaybayfm.ie COME ON UNITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
JC_GUFC
27/04/2007, 2:27 PM
For those that don't know Galway Bay FM is also on NTL! Channel 920 or something like that if you want to listen and aren't in the Galway area!
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 6:52 PM
Ya fairplay to GBFM. A email off a few of us in that direction in appreciation wouldnt go amiss, to show them that they do have a listenership for it after all
7:50 THEY ARE PLAYING FECKIN FRANK SINATRA I'LL BE SENDING THEM AN EMAIL PRETTY SOON ALL RIGHT!!!!!!!!!
:mad: :mad: :mad:
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 6:56 PM
0-0 after 8 minutes I think! they are going live on GBFM after the arctic monkeys and the 8 o'clock news!
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 7:28 PM
1-0 United Murphy! Sounds like united are by far the better team.42 minutes gone
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 7:39 PM
1-0 Ht
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 8:01 PM
gough sent off for Bray 2nd yellow. United should be 2-3 up. Apparently Murphs is gone off injured too, Come on United!!!!!!!!!
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 8:15 PM
still 1-0 20 minutes left, bray coming into it a little
27/04/2007, 8:24 PM
bray coming into it a littleBray have had the only real chance in the second half according to RTE Radio.
Gaillimh Al
27/04/2007, 8:25 PM
Can just visualise us dropping deeper and deeper and deeper. Line of 4 across the 6 yard box with Charles beside Rogers on the goal line
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 8:26 PM
sounds like were doing our best to let bray into it since foley went off. COME ON UTD still 1-0 10 minutes left
Gaillimh Al
27/04/2007, 8:28 PM
Great commentary by Bernie. "TACKLE FROM BEHIND....by the referee" when OBrien could have had a penalty.
Gaillimh Al
27/04/2007, 8:30 PM
"Holy water(only good water in Galway) doing the trick at the moment."
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 8:33 PM
"Kick out to Bray To be taken by......... David Cooke"
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 8:34 PM
FECK 4 minutes extra
Gaillimh Al
27/04/2007, 8:34 PM
4 minutes injury time....................:eek:
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 8:38 PM
1-0 Full time GO ON YA GOOD THING!
Gaillimh Al
Nice one. 1st Premier Divison win since Jan 27 2002. 2-1 away to mons.
Well done to all
Gaillimh Al
And UCD just equalised against Longford ............lovely
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 8:44 PM
Nice one, about time we got a bit of luck. Thank god for Bernie and Keano on GBFM but this listening on the radio is not for me, jumping around the place with headphones on. The wife thinks im gone mad! It's just not right not being at the game
!
GuisaSaigon
27/04/2007, 9:05 PM
What was murph's injury?
eamo1
27/04/2007, 10:43 PM
that comment about the tackle behind by the ref had me laughing.also another where he said "great by ciaran foley on er em ciaran foley":) .
sounds like we should have had it sown up early into the second half.if russell had a better finish tonight then he could have had 2 it seems.unbeaten in 3 now:) .BRING ON DERRY!!
bray boy
28/04/2007, 9:07 AM
both teams were in a word horrible that was one of the worst matches ive ever been to
Torn-Ado
28/04/2007, 12:39 PM
Good to see a win for United at last.
Get to keep up with EL scores on Swedish teletext.
Claret Murph
29/04/2007, 8:03 AM
Great win for the lads , now for Derry next week .
corbyeire
29/04/2007, 6:51 PM
thank god - was listening on gbfm for a while and seemed like gufc were on top end of first half and start of second - got to play 10 men and started to play badly - just like longford - was thinking not again - another late goal to be conceded - at long last 3 points!
JC_GUFC
29/04/2007, 7:46 PM
Was pretty strange, we switched to 4-4-2 when they went down to 10 men and just couldn't keep the ball. Up to that point we'd dominated, although Clive Delaney did have a few chances from set pieces. In typical GAA manner being down a man worked to their advantage!
Bring on Derry, a relegation 6-pointer already! ;)
Tir Oilean
30/04/2007, 7:37 AM
I assume Foley coming off was a tactical move? I thought maybe 3-5-2 or 3-4-3 would hanve been better against the 10 men. Certainly sounded like we were on top for most of the game until the sending off but by God was it getting tense for the last 20 mins! Good to get that win under our belts.
GuisaSaigon
30/04/2007, 9:21 AM
I think Foley was injured. Bray seemed to get the upper hand after he went off.
braysnumber1
30/04/2007, 12:51 PM
fair play to you's on friday. prob deserved the win in a shocking game. we prob had more chances but you's controlled the ball for long spells. i havent seen longford play yet but you should be sfae come the end of the year.
oh and the cork fans wher not happy with our pitch the previous week, what did you lot think of it on friday?
gilberto_eire
30/04/2007, 1:22 PM
fair play to you's on friday. prob deserved the win in a shocking game. we prob had more chances but you's controlled the ball for long spells. i havent seen longford play yet but you should be sfae come the end of the year.
oh and the cork fans wher not happy with our pitch the previous week, what did you lot think of it on friday?
god knows what it was likestanding on it but from the side anyway looked A1...best pitch ive came across in the 4 away games to date thats including cork!
GUISAUltra
01/05/2007, 12:21 PM
pitch did look in very good shape. as gilberto said its impossibl to know what it played like but it looked nice.
also tir oilean, foley was injured and was probably the best player on the pitch up until he went off. losing him and murphs to inury kind off shocked the boys as the our 2 injured parties were running the show.
I was talking to Alan Keane before the game and he was raving about how good the pitch was.It looked great so I dont what the CCFC boys were on about.
Gary Rogers really came of age with two Top Drawer saves and if there is a better player in the league than Reggi at the moment I havent seen him.Himself and Wes were awesome along with Murphs and Foley.