View Full Version : Apologies
Could I ask those in charge not to bin this post. Firstly apologies to the Drogs fan for not taking his word earlier today. Secondly, having had it confirmed what went on last night I'm totally sick to the stomach. Can't believe any person could do something like that, let alone a fellow fan. If I personally had've heard this at the time I would've risked a ban myself to deal with any individual who would stoop so low. To the player himself, fans and everyone connected to Drogheda Utd, heartfelt apologies from myself and every other genuine fan of our club
SeanDrog
21/04/2007, 3:49 PM
clearly it was few absoluate idiots and anyone with any sort of humanity in them would condone this shameful, absolutely shameful behaviour. Your post is fair enough for you as an individual as you made a mistake (fair enough as it wouldbe hard to think that other people could say such things) but we are waiting to see your clubs reactions.
I am sick in the stomach when I think of this low level for our league. I am a married man and I would be devastated if something happened my wife and the thoughts of some mindless morans then throwing her passing in my face - well lets say Webb has more strenght then me.
kev mcq
21/04/2007, 4:03 PM
What happened?
Philly
21/04/2007, 4:10 PM
Seems Simon Webb was given an extremely rough time over his wife, who passed away a while back.
Once again, a small section of Rovers fans let the club down. Lets hope they're not allowed near the next fixture, or any other game for that matter.
Sound of you to come on here Hoopy and apologise. Not enough soccer fans like that.
SeanDrog
21/04/2007, 4:11 PM
Simon Webbs wife passed away last season after fighting cancer. Some Rovers fans decided hurl personal abuse at him about this sad event and loss in his life.
I see an apology on the rovers website shamrockrovers.ie from their directors - its a start. I don't blame their directors or real supporters (as real supporters would never disgarce their club like this) but the task is now on them to burn the f***ers out of their club and if the word is true that one of their players was at similar stuff on the pitch, then he should be thrown out of the club with Scully making an apology to Simon Webb - thats my opinion for what it is worth.
21/04/2007, 4:12 PM
I thought the grief was from a player, rather than the fans?
SeanDrog
21/04/2007, 4:16 PM
defo from fans but there seems to be talk (and I stress talk) that a rover splayer was at it as well - I am sure it come out if true (again stress "talk" that a player was also at it.
HulaHoop
21/04/2007, 4:48 PM
Apology to Simon Webb (Drogheda United FC)
21 Apr 2007.On behalf of the club's membership and the entire Shamrock Rovers community, we wish to issue a public apology to Simon Webb for the heartless and highly personal verbal abuse he was subjected to from a tiny minority of the attendance at the Shamrock Rovers-Drogheda United game at Tolka Park on April 20. Those responsible should be ashamed of themselves and are certainly not welcome at Shamrock Rovers. An investigation into the incident has begun and those responsible will be dealt with in an appropriate manner.
Shamrock Rovers FC Board of Directors
Boh_So_Good
21/04/2007, 5:07 PM
I hope Rovers fans are currently giving the names and details to the directors.
iceman
21/04/2007, 5:08 PM
Fair playHoopy for coming on and apologising , Im sure you and 99% of Rovers fans adhore what went on last night. Lets hope the Rovers board are serious about the last line of their apology and get to the bottom of it. Mind you I dont see any mention there about the abuse that was hurled at Eamonn Zayed as well - no place for that in sport.
MojoPin
21/04/2007, 5:13 PM
what happened was wrong and an absolute discrase.. but i have to comment that it is not apprioate for hoopy to apoligise for something he didnt do... but fair play to him.. look all i gotta say on thus matter is................. rovers i feel have the best suport in the country they really saved their club from the **** and they usually have big travelling support..... BUT as with most clubs they have a minority tht are scum but n my experience they have a minority of utter scum that is pretty large... im from cobh and before our game last yaer at the end of the season i was working (in apub) and was warned not to let rovers fans in but being an el an myself i sed **** this and left the door open approx 15 fans came in over the few hours andeveryone of them was excellent and they were decent people. in went ti the match adn i also bumped into more fans who wanted directions to the ground and walked to the ground with them and got a prematch int with these lads.....
after the game i had tp go back to work in the pub and worked the night away but the boss was there so we were only open to which i taught was wrong but on saying that there was troublke in another pub a few doors away from us where the gardai had to be called...
after work i went to the chipper where i met a rovers fan and had a chat about what next season would offer with the new format of league and this lad wasnt wearing colours of any sort we both got verbally attacked by two louts who were total knackers.... the lad with me tried to explain i was ok and that he was a rovers fan but they were having none of it...... which prob illustartes that the club has genuine fans and scum fans who are totally difernent groups..
after this i decide decided to walk home.. jhad to pass the local night club ob the way home.... there was a group of rovers lads(i wont even call them fans) outside so i kept the head down and walked briskly past but one of the lads grabbed me and threw me to the floor and started shouted and threating me about throwin a bottle at his son earlier in the night i was on the ground surrounded by louts honestly ****tung it until a bouncer from the club came out and helped me and took me inside... i was left out the side the door of the club to encounter some of the same lads who duely cornered me and accsuded me again of doing stuff i did not do as i was at work at the time and left me with a black eye sore nose and balls.... brave men
in conclusion i feel rovers have an element of fans who are decent honest and true fans of the club but i fell that these lads although plenityful on here are a rariety in reality.
HulaHoop
21/04/2007, 5:25 PM
in conclusion i feel rovers have an element of fans who are decent honest and true fans of the club but i fell that these lads although plenityful on here are a rariety in reality.
It's the other way around. Take last night for example it must have been a maximum of 10 or 20 scumbags out of a crowd of 2000 who were responsible for those sick chants because nobody I know actually heard these chants. The rest of your post I agree with.
BohsFans
21/04/2007, 6:43 PM
what happened was wrong and an absolute discrase.. but i have to comment that it is not apprioate for hoopy to apoligise for something he didnt do... but fair play to him.. look all i gotta say on thus matter is................. rovers i feel have the best suport in the country they really saved their club from the **** and they usually have big travelling support..... BUT as with most clubs they have a minority tht are scum but n my experience they have a minority of utter scum that is pretty large... im from cobh and before our game last yaer at the end of the season i was working (in apub) and was warned not to let rovers fans in but being an el an myself i sed **** this and left the door open approx 15 fans came in over the few hours andeveryone of them was excellent and they were decent people. in went ti the match adn i also bumped into more fans who wanted directions to the ground and walked to the ground with them and got a prematch int with these lads.....
after the game i had tp go back to work in the pub and worked the night away but the boss was there so we were only open to which i taught was wrong but on saying that there was troublke in another pub a few doors away from us where the gardai had to be called...
after work i went to the chipper where i met a rovers fan and had a chat about what next season would offer with the new format of league and this lad wasnt wearing colours of any sort we both got verbally attacked by two louts who were total knackers.... the lad with me tried to explain i was ok and that he was a rovers fan but they were having none of it...... which prob illustartes that the club has genuine fans and scum fans who are totally difernent groups..
after this i decide decided to walk home.. jhad to pass the local night club ob the way home.... there was a group of rovers lads(i wont even call them fans) outside so i kept the head down and walked briskly past but one of the lads grabbed me and threw me to the floor and started shouted and threating me about throwin a bottle at his son earlier in the night i was on the ground surrounded by louts honestly ****tung it until a bouncer from the club came out and helped me and took me inside... i was left out the side the door of the club to encounter some of the same lads who duely cornered me and accsuded me again of doing stuff i did not do as i was at work at the time and left me with a black eye sore nose and balls.... brave men
that's both disgusting and cowardly! :mad:
21/04/2007, 7:11 PM
Feel sorry for the genuine Rovers fans.
It's unfortunate that proper Rovers fans,who are some of the best in the Country,have their name tarnished by morons.
I haven't posted on this forum for a while, but feel very strongly about this particular subject. I'm all for the banter and the slagging etc (which admittedly is wrong in itself), but last night's carry on is disgusting, absolutely disgusting. For f*** sake, we're talking about a human life here. I cannot comprehend this behaviour at all.
StarandCrescent
21/04/2007, 8:43 PM
i don't give a ****, something, whatever, something calous and evil was said to SW last night.
Just hearsd it now and i can't type fast enough to convey my fury. I feel that all SRFC should be banned from our ground for this season, i don't give a **** that it will punish the inniocent, they have turned a blind eye to the scum for too long, **** them all, **** them all i say. ****S every one of them.
I'm not ashamed to say that i shed a tear when Anelli died, even though i didn't know her. i just felt for Simon, he is of a similar age to my self and i just kept putting myself in his shoes. I felt so sorry for them that they could be seperated so young.
I am calling on our board to take the step of banning SRFC from our ground, they need to be thought a lesson. ****ing rovers, never our fault, small minority, press persecution, a few idiots etc etc etc etc etc. We've all heard it before and are sick to the back teeth of it. It is my sincere wish that you club should fold and never be heard of again, you are a blight on Irish society.
I feel that all SRFC should be banned from our ground for this season
Although what happened last night is 110 PER CENT WRONG and absolutely inexcusable - you Sir, are a gobdaw.
skitz3
21/04/2007, 8:56 PM
Although what happened last night is 110 PER CENT WRONG and absolutely inexcusable - you Sir, are a gobdaw.
I have to agree with Khoop and i'd like to think if that were the case that all Rovers fans were banned,fans of other clubs would boycott Drogheda games.
I dont think rovers should be banned from utd park but why would all fans wanna botcott drogs games for .A bit extreme considering it was one of our players who got abuse over his dead wife ,and eamonn zayed was apparently called a muslim ******* :confused:
skitz3
21/04/2007, 9:14 PM
For a start i'm a Shels fan and i can tell you there is no love lost between me and Rovers fans but what he is suggesting would threaten the very future of the league and the fundamental right we have as fans,which is going to see our team play. If it were to come into place,it wouldn't be just an issue for Rovers and Drogs it would be an issue for every single club,in both divisions. As i said,what happened was disgraceful and there is no excuse for it but banning all fans of a certain club because of a 0.2 minority is a very dangerous precedent to set and it would be one from which this league would never recover.
skitz3
21/04/2007, 9:23 PM
I dont think rovers should be banned from utd park but why would all fans wanna botcott drogs games for .A bit extreme considering it was one of our players who got abuse over his dead wife ,and eamonn zayed was apparently called a muslim ******* :confused:
Banning all fans because of a 0.2 minority would be very extreme and then where would we draw the line? As soon as there's a small incident other clubs will follow suit and very soon these fans can't go there,those fans can't come here and it'll kill any chance of attracting new fans. I think other fans would see the danger that i see and in an effort to stop it and also to protect their rights as fans they would boycott Drogheda games. I know for one,if my access to away games was restricted i'd lose some interest in the league. Also if it were to come into place the ban itself would attract far more media interest than the actual incident.
dubman
21/04/2007, 9:32 PM
look we all have fans like this. I'm not having a go at rovers too much, but we all know you have this problem, you know who they are. As a fan run club why do you allow them in? Its the clubs fault this goes on. plan and simple.
Snoop Drog
21/04/2007, 9:33 PM
Other clubs are just ****in sick of rovers. It's always one drama or another with ye.
Erstwhile Bóz
21/04/2007, 9:54 PM
Horses need to be held here, I feel; talk of a potential boycott of Drogs is absolutely ridiculous.
Rovers have to identify the fans giving the racist abuse and work out whether they want them going to matches any more, which ought to be relatively simple. Same choice with whatever fans were abusing Webb.
I don't have a clue what they can do with this player who's alleged to have reduced him to tears, though; even if it was something really, really sick — and Drogs are going spare in fairness — what can Rovers do? Sack him? Fine him?
21/04/2007, 10:00 PM
Does anybody know for sure whether or not any Rovers player made any comments that have been mentioned in this thread?
what can Rovers do? Sack him? Fine him?
If they know who the player(s) are (if anything happened) they have to get rid of them or else they will get a reputation of a club that supports the sort of actions that took place.
khoop
21/04/2007, 10:09 PM
There is some confusion as to whether or not a player was involved.
If a player was involved - and it should not be too hard to find out - he should be sacked on the spot.
Erstwhile Bóz
21/04/2007, 10:11 PM
Does anybody know for sure whether or not any Rovers player made any comments that have been mentioned in this thread?
If they know who the player(s) are (if anything happened) they have to get rid of them or else they will get a reputation of a club that supports the sort of actions that took place.
I think someone was adamant either Doolin or someone else from Drogs was on TV3 last night saying they were filing a complaint against a player. Can't find it now.
Regarding the sacking of a player for something he said on the pitch, would there be any precedent? Sure even racism is (I think) just a straight two-match ban according to FIFA — I remember some lad got a straight red for saying something to Momo Sissoko in Europe a while ago — and when we all thought that Materazzi had said something so evil to Zidane that it was beyond the imagination of most of us I can't remember life bans being talked about.
Although actually I suppose they could do what they wanted internally, really, come to think of it.
21/04/2007, 10:16 PM
Regarding the sacking of a player for something he said on the pitch, would there be any precedent? Sure even racism is (I think) just a straight two-match ban according to FIFA — I remember some lad got a straight red for saying something to Momo Sissoko in Europe a while ago — and when we all thought that Materazzi had said something so evil to Zidane that it was beyond the imagination of most of us I can't remember life bans being talked about.
Slightly different scenario there- Matezzari was playing with his national team so no contract involved, so he can't be sacked. Also I don't think Materazzi said can be compared to what was said in this case.
SeanDrog
21/04/2007, 10:21 PM
If and it is "if" he did say something (and it will come out if he did) then no human being can defend him or argue for him to be kept playing football in Rovers or Ireland for that fact.
In terms of a ban for rover supporters in Utd Park, this is not the answer - I fully understand the anger ( what human wounldn't) but there are real supporters of rovers who are at not fault in this matter and should not be tarnish as a result. But at the same time they have a moral duty to deal with these scumbags that claim to be part of their numbers, their directors have issued very quickly statement of condamination but now we need to see swift action in terms of public identification and bannings.
I get the feeling that some Rovers spporters don't really fully understand the fury in Drogheda over this incident. The place is at boiling point, it was a tradegy for Simon last year and the town mourned for him, it was the death of his wife FFS, to see this crap dished out to him really has angered people.
Erstwhile Bóz
21/04/2007, 10:26 PM
Also I don't think Materazzi said can be compared to what was said in this case.
Oh God, absolutely! But there was a period when it hadn't come out and people were just imagining the worst thing you could say and doubling it and all that, that's what I meant.
Don't think people were talking about Italy dropping him for good, though.
Bosco
21/04/2007, 11:01 PM
Can not believe a human being could stoop so low,over nothing more then a player playing for the other team.Think rovers fans should just keep their heads down on this one.It would be very unfair to ban all fans because of a minority but this minority havnt came out of nowhere,they've been there for years and have caused trouble everywhere without punishment.Most rovers fans are decent people,probably the best fans in Ireland but time after time,promises are made to get the scum out and nothing is done and if this gets brushed under the carpet like everything else has been with Rovers been a fan owned club,all rovers fans have something to answer for.
look we all have fans like this. I'm not having a go at rovers too much, but we all know you have this problem, you know who they are. As a fan run club why do you allow them in? Its the clubs fault this goes on. plan and simple.
I am not sure on that one there...obviously i cannot speak for all Cork City fans but there is no way in my opinion that any of them would say these comments to any opposition player..not a chance...and i am fairly confident a lot of guys from other clubs would say the same about there fans...
Is there still not anyone here to confirm was it just supporters or was there a comment made to Simon Webb from an opposition player regarding his wife?...
StarandCrescent
22/04/2007, 10:02 AM
Can't believe that Rovers fans are coming on to defend the actions of some of their support. The fact that it was a small sections of fans doesn't make it ok, same as it wasn't ok when rovers were singing about the death of 11 year old Robert Houlihan when they were in Cobh.
Rovers have the biggest scum element of any club in Ireland. something has to be done about this, clubs in Europe have been forced to play behind closed doors because of racial abuse, this is far more serious in my opinion.
THIS CANNOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE CARPET, ROVERS MUST BE PUNISHED - THEN THEY MIGTH GET OFF THEIR ARSE AND DO SOMETHING.
Rovers have lost me as a supporter on the Tallaght issue, they could fold tomorrow and i wouldn't care.
ndrog
22/04/2007, 11:35 AM
Can someone delete those comments.
22/04/2007, 11:37 AM
Can someone delete those comments.
Done.
HulaHoop
22/04/2007, 11:51 AM
Late last night I posted here that we didn't have any eyewitnesses who heard the disgusting abuse at Webb, so it was likely that it came from an individual rather than a crowd chanting.
Today we have an eyewitness account that "a couple of lads" were giving Webb abuse over his wife. Their actions are indefensible and if/when they are identified will be told they are no longer welcome at our club. I'd like to give them a good hiding too. There is also talk of doing a collection for a cancer charity to give to Simon.
Drogheda fans your anger towards Rovers is completely understandable no normal human being can comprehend giving somebody that kind of abuse however please bear in mind it was two lads from a crowd of 2000 Rovers fans and talk of banning Rovers fans from United park is way OTT.
My point about Doolin stands, he was well wound up by Rovers fans over his daughter and was seething with anger over that at the end.
22/04/2007, 11:54 AM
Banning all fans because of a 0.2 minority would be very extreme and then where would we draw the line? As soon as there's a small incident other clubs will follow suit
Thats ********, this was hardly a small incident, so I don't think there's any need to jump to the conclusion that other clubs will start banning all and sundry by using this incident as a precursor.
Personally I don't think Rovers should be banned from Drog's ground, but the club do need to point out who was doing what and take action against these people, if the club are unwilling to do this, then I would see where Drogs would have grounds to ban Rovers support from their next game. It would be unfortunate, but sometimes harsh lessons need to be thought in matters like this
dubman
22/04/2007, 12:03 PM
can i ask what you have done to stop this. How many fans have you banned over the last few years?
The Man Himself
22/04/2007, 12:18 PM
i don't give a ****, something, whatever, something calous and evil was said to SW last night.
Just hearsd it now and i can't type fast enough to convey my fury. I feel that all SRFC should be banned from our ground for this season, i don't give a **** that it will punish the inniocent, they have turned a blind eye to the scum for too long, **** them all, **** them all i say. ****S every one of them.
I'm not ashamed to say that i shed a tear when Anelli died, even though i didn't know her. i just felt for Simon, he is of a similar age to my self and i just kept putting myself in his shoes. I felt so sorry for them that they could be seperated so young.
I am calling on our board to take the step of banning SRFC from our ground, they need to be thought a lesson. ****ing rovers, never our fault, small minority, press persecution, a few idiots etc etc etc etc etc. We've all heard it before and are sick to the back teeth of it. It is my sincere wish that you club should fold and never be heard of again, you are a blight on Irish society.
100% agree with that.
that is the lowest of the lowest from scum of the earth so called fans.
sombody must know the names of these scumbags and should give them to the club and get the little *****s banned for life from every eircom league ground.
im sure the rest of the clubs in the country will back this (i know waterford united will)
Midgit
22/04/2007, 12:31 PM
I can't believe some Shams fans would stoop so low.
Although there is nothing in the papers about it today!
Erstwhile Bóz
22/04/2007, 12:36 PM
What's the crack with the allegations about the player, though? Have they disappeared?
Erstwhile Bóz
22/04/2007, 12:43 PM
I can't believe some Shams fans would stoop so low.
Although there is nothing in the papers about it today!
Strange that, what with all sports editors being GAA fans who want to kill off Rovers and all. The GAA Mafia whose Stalinist control of the press in this country is an icy and deathly grip on the nads of Irish football has really let itself go...
22/04/2007, 12:56 PM
Strange that, what with all sports editors being GAA fans who want to kill off Rovers and all. The GAA Mafia whose Stalinist control of the press in this country is an icy and deathly grip on the nads of Irish football has really let itself go...
News hasn't filtered through. Just wait for the fantastic opinion pieces from "experts" in tomorrows weekly's.
Erstwhile Bóz
22/04/2007, 1:27 PM
News hasn't filtered through. Just wait for the fantastic opinion pieces from "experts" in tomorrows weekly's.
Hehe. I can already hear the sweaty breathing of Tom Humphries as he reads this thread. Hi, Tom.
Of course when the meáin chum(annlúthchleasgael)arsáide do report whatever the feck happened — we seem to be looking at one or two fans and quite possibly a player — we mustn't lose sight of the bigger picture, that it'll just be because they want to attack Rovers (maybe an Always Ultra got up one of the editors' daughters), and not because it's so scummy as to be newsworthy in itself. Death of Irish football, solidarity, boycott Drogs, boycott newspapers, boycott the act of reading, etc., etc., etc.
22/04/2007, 1:42 PM
Of course when the meáin chum(annlúthchleasgael)arsáide
stop that :p ;)
do report whatever the feck happened — we seem to be looking at one or two fans and quite possibly a player — we mustn't lose sight of the bigger picture, that it'll just be because they want to attack Rovers (maybe an Always Ultra got up one of the editors' daughters), and not because it's so scummy as to be newsworthy in itself. Death of Irish football, solidarity, boycott Drogs, boycott newspapers, boycott the act of reading, etc., etc., etc.
its a horrible incident, but can you honestly say its worthy of beating shamrock rovers the club with this stick for the foreseeable future? while its about as unsavoury as it gets, its a tiny minority of fans saying something stupid, and the club have apologised for it. if someone identifies the culprits i'm sure they'll be dealt with. unfortunately certain people will latch on to it and start questioning "do we want soccer scum in our neighbourhood" when, biased as you may be, you can see its a much more complex question than that.
22/04/2007, 4:58 PM
If Rovers don't bend over backwards to uncover every stone regarding this incident they've let themselves down. It's not fair to blame them for the incident itself but now there's an onus on them to find out the circumstances and if there are culprits identified they should have the book thrown at them. For supporters there should be a lifetime ban and if (and again it's an if right now) there's a player involved terminate his contract.
If the story is true it's a pretty despicable act by the individuals involved.
Simple way to deal with this. If ANY player is guilty of what is alleged, TERMINATE HIS CONTRACT. Dismissal for gross misconduct is allowed under employment law.
As for the vermin, it MUST be Rover's last chance. There's been a large scum element infecting their fixtures for many years and all we've heard are excuses and promises; the problem remains. If they don't identify and ban any follower guilty of misconduct, in addition to passing the details on to all other clubs, then other clubs would be justified in banning Rovers fans for the forseeable future.
I don't know what to think of the ordinary well-behaved Rovers fans. They deserve admiration for keeping their club afloat during the crisis times, but if they take no action on this, then they will be seen to be as guilty as the vermin.
Remember; All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.
22/04/2007, 9:19 PM
I'm totally in shock reading this. I cant comprehend how any human being could be so vile to someone else, especially someone who has am sure spent the past year and a half tryin to come to terms with one of the most devestating things that can happen in your life.
I dont know what to think. If Shamrock Rovers dont sort this "problem" out fast they will not be welcome anywhere in the country.
Here is the clip from Doolin
http://homepage.eircom.net/~drogvideos/rovers_v_drogs_20042007.avi
Posted by a guy on the Drog MB
23/04/2007, 1:51 AM
It would be very unfair to ban all fans because of a minority but they've caused trouble everywhere without punishment.
This is what some fans of clubs have being waiting for, a "Rovers" incident. :rolleyes:
Given the low attendances, and shaky financial positions of many NL clubs, they're not in a position to enforce bans on travelling support. Should Drogs or any other club attempt it, it should be reciprocated, at reverse fixtures.
The club have publically apologised to the club and player over the abuse, and will deal with the individuals concerned. That should close the issue. There is nothing more to say on it.