View Full Version : Forgotten Bands from the 90s
23/04/2007, 12:29 PM
it was one of the main festivals anyway, that may have been it. I dunno who had the brainwave for it, but fair play, funny stuff! Wish they’d do the same with Mika nowadays, I’d personally be in the front row with ammo.
Didn't Kelly Osbourne get pelted with bottles of **** at loads of different venues when she was playing support to Robbie Williams?
As for Daphne and Celeste, anyway who comes up with the lines 'oh stick you, your momma too and your daddy', deserves all the respect they eventually got
Wolfie
23/04/2007, 12:35 PM
Well obviously not forgotten, or else they wouldn't be here now would they? But I got the idea for this thread from talking to a 22 year old about bands like Sleeper, Shed Seven, Silver Sun, Powder and Gene, and that 22 year old not having a clue who I was on about, jesus she didn't even remember Elastica :mad:
Anyway I'll start it off by posting up a few videos of Sleeper, who I think were one of the more underrated guitar bands of the 90s, cracking lead singer too;)
Little Annie
C_ntPwp-ce4&NR=1
Inbetweener
3MelvqUwCFs
Sale of the Century
xhtQvFcXF3A
The House of Love - angsty intellectual types who had their moments of quality.
Northside - Limited baggy band from the Madchester scene. Released "Chicken Rhythms" LP in 1991 (I think). "Take 5" single charted.
23/04/2007, 12:38 PM
Didn't the House of love tou last year? Nearly sure my next door neighbour went to see them.
The Good Son
23/04/2007, 12:41 PM
Didn't the House of love tou last year? Nearly sure my next door neighbour went to see them.
Yeah, played a few dates here last year and released an ok album.
23/04/2007, 12:42 PM
Northern Uproar had one good single "Anyway You Look at It".
Wolfie
23/04/2007, 12:46 PM
Yeah, played a few dates here last year and released an ok album.
They're not as forgotten as I thought!!
McShels
23/04/2007, 12:55 PM
I dont think anyone's mentioned the band with the most apt name ever Dodgy.....they certainly were :D
Have to admit Shirley Manson from Garbage does it for me
23/04/2007, 2:13 PM
I dont think anyone's mentioned the band with the most apt name ever Dodgy.....they certainly were :D Vaguely remember them, did they have some really annoying song in 1995 or 1996 in the summer? There were loads of annoying songs that summer whichever one it was.
23/04/2007, 2:18 PM
Good Enough (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHS9jaINb0k) is the song i'd say you are thinking of. Staying out for the Summer was good too .
23/04/2007, 2:22 PM
In A Room was'nt bad either. Wasnt their guitarist dating Denise Van Outen? He was an ugly git too if I remember rightly.
Dr. Alban? Was he the guy who sang ‘Sing Hallelujah”?
Yep. More famous though for 'It's My Life', you know the one with the video where the young wan zips around in the white trousers playing tennis and trampolining and pouring blue liquid over everything. :D
23/04/2007, 3:33 PM
Yep. More famous though for 'It's My Life', you know the one with the video where the young wan zips around in the white trousers playing tennis and trampolining and pouring blue liquid over everything. :D
Yes, that's the one. :D
02/05/2007, 6:10 PM
On the topic whatever happened to Ocean Colour Scene? I'm sure they probably released more stuff but I can't remember anything since Profit In Peace.
02/05/2007, 9:20 PM
On the topic whatever happened to Ocean Colour Scene? I'm sure they probably released more stuff but I can't remember anything since Profit In Peace.
Dunno but they played the Olympia in March and chinchilla and haddock are also part of Paul Weller's backing group.
07/05/2007, 4:53 PM
Symposium
3 Colours Red
Screaming Trees?
The Jellyfish
Soul Asylum (started in the 80s but only broke through for a few yearsin the 90s, their new album is quite good btw)
Sugar
Blind Melon
They're just the ones I'm not completely embarrassed to remember!
Also Jebus I never knew you were into Gene... how can two people hang out for 8 years without that one coming to light? :D
08/05/2007, 1:13 PM
Symposium
Fairwell to Twilight was a good song. They'd not many more though.
The Jellyfish
There's no 'The'. Jellyfish were a bloody good band. King Is Half Undressed was a classic single. Think one of them ended up condemned to musical death in the rock'n'roll butlins that was Slashes Snakepit.
Sugar
Bob Mould is currently on tour playing solo, Husker Du and Sugar material
China Drum were a good mid-nineties band too. Their cover of Kate Bushes Wuthering Heights is the best cover-version of anything by anyone ever.
08/05/2007, 1:52 PM
25th of May is another forgotten band I was only listening to this morning.
CraftyToePoke
09/05/2007, 6:30 PM
Screaming Trees?
their frontman Mark Lanegan had a sole jobbie out last year i think, may have been called Bubblegum, but definately had a decent single,Hit The City, on it.
as for Blind Melon, didnt the old heroin do a job on the creative force in that lot, Shannon Hoon, iirc.
The Good Son
09/05/2007, 6:36 PM
their frontman Mark Lanegan had a sole jobbie out last year i think, may have been called Bubblegum, but definately had a decent single,Hit The City, on it.
Isobel Campbell had him doing a duet album with her a year or two ago as well, 'Ballad Of The Broken Seas'. Quite good it was too.
CraftyToePoke
09/05/2007, 6:39 PM
Isobel Campbell had him doing a duet album with her a year or two ago as well, 'Ballad Of The Broken Seas'. Quite good it was too.
yes, that was a good tune too.
Wolfie
09/05/2007, 6:43 PM
Anyone mention "The Real People" ?
stann
09/05/2007, 11:55 PM
Anyone mention "The Real People" ?
Wow, had forgotten all about them. Absolutely loved Window Pane!
Feck ya Wolfie, that's the night gone rooting through piles of tapes now. ;) :D
Edit to add: that's just put me in mind of a few more bands of about that time I thought were brilliant. Maybe some of them were very late '80s into the '90s, but what harm.
Ultra Vivid Scene - Always put me in mind of Beck the way he played everything himself, but more blissed out obviously, less dancey.
King Of The Slums - Class act. Still think Barbarous English Fayre is one of the best albums I've heard.
and Paris Angels - All On You is just about the perfect dance pop song, easily the equal of anything St Etienne produced.
Wolfie
10/05/2007, 8:29 AM
Wow, had forgotten all about them. Absolutely loved Window Pane!
Feck ya Wolfie, that's the night gone rooting through piles of tapes now. ;) :D
Edit to add: that's just put me in mind of a few more bands of about that time I thought were brilliant. Maybe some of them were very late '80s into the '90s, but what harm.
Ultra Vivid Scene - Always put me in mind of Beck the way he played everything himself, but more blissed out obviously, less dancey.
King Of The Slums - Class act. Still think Barbarous English Fayre is one of the best albums I've heard.
and Paris Angels - All On You is just about the perfect dance pop song, easily the equal of anything St Etienne produced.
The Real People should have been huge. There were two brothers in the band, if memory serves.
It's years since I heard that first album ("The Real People" - 1990?) but it had some realy good songs on it. I'd taped it so its probably long gone. "Window Pane", as you say Stann, was a great tune.
They were a big influence on Noel Gallagher and actually offered advice and help on hearing the demo of "Columbia" and some of the tunes that ended up on Definitely Maybe.
Have to go out and buy the bloody album now - if its still available!!! :)
10/05/2007, 4:33 PM
Catatonia, fell apart after Cerys lost the plot
I was mad to see them at Witnness in 2001, she went into rehab the previous wednesday and had to cancel.
10/05/2007, 4:57 PM
Soul Asylum are still going, quality band, just no promotional stuff. black gold is savage. loads of songs as good as runaway train. still going. its just people forgot about them/usual ppl who only listen to the radio to buy albums. LIke most of the crap bands out now ppl only buy their albums cos they heard them on the radio, thankfully they will all be forgotten soon, like strokes/that other crap irish band from dublin/white stripes/all those other crap bands in that genre of music.....though i am suprised the killers are still going.
11/05/2007, 8:17 AM
like strokes//white stripes/.
They've been going strong for 7 years and 10 years respectively , dont see people just forgetting about them
11/05/2007, 8:18 AM
White Stripes are on Album number six now Paul so I doubt they're going to fall into the forgotten category. De Stijl and White Blood Cells are classics IMO.
11/05/2007, 12:59 PM
ya but they are crap, no more of the sensationalism about them and all that, just like that dublin band that i cant think of, oh the thrills thats them. all this stuff is just a fad. gone in no time. gustavo when i say gone, i dont mean they still arent playing away i mean just no one has any interest, or at least 60% less than had when they were all hype. The one band that i thought werent all hype but went this way are soul asylum and htey have been around for 15 - 20 years. So just because they are still releasing albums doesnt mean scheiser.
Oh ya franz ferdinand theres another one.....
11/05/2007, 1:06 PM
Listen, you like W.A.S.P. !!!
Anyway I agree with you on Franz Ferdinand and the Strokes, just think The White Stripes are a different animal. Last album wasn't great but they certainly are a fine duo.
11/05/2007, 2:00 PM
ya wasp have been going for 20 years and were never that big or sensationalised.
white stripes maybe, should not have been put there :) I just couldnt think of anymore particular examples, probably because they were all blown up and then forgotten about - in my mind too.
11/05/2007, 2:03 PM
Strokes imo have made 3 fine albums , Probably isnt the done thing to like them anymore but they have always been quality as far as I was concerned. Long may they continue to produce music.
11/05/2007, 2:55 PM
ya wasp have been going for 20 years and were never that big or sensationalised.
Speaking of WASP the bro in law went to see them in Wolverhampton and got to meet Blackie, got him to sign some rare poster he got off ebay. The guy is OBSESSED!
11/05/2007, 3:15 PM
im pretty sure i might know of him so.
when was this? when they were over touring? jees i didnt think they would play somewhere as small as wolverhampton.
11/05/2007, 3:24 PM
Last month. Myself and the mrs. sent him for his 30th
11/05/2007, 3:33 PM
Screaming Trees? I thought I was about the only person around these parts who likes them. Split up forever alas.
I've seen almost every band I like live, but probably my biggest regret as a music fan is never having seen the Trees live. I missed them in London by a week in 1993.
CraftyToePoke
12/05/2007, 10:25 AM
Screaming Trees? I thought I was about the only person around these parts who likes them.
quality band eh Stutt? i still give Dust and Sweet Oblivion a regular airing, did you buy/like Mark Lanegans solo album?
13/05/2007, 4:52 PM
Soul Asylum are still going, quality band
Couldn't agree more. "Silver Lining" is one of the best albums of the last 12 months.
republicofwhite
13/05/2007, 9:41 PM
Screaming Trees were probably decent exponents of grunge at the time but if you listen to them now I think they're quite dated, sound like a more motivated version of Kyuss. In fairness though, Mark "I go through three lighters a day, not three packs" Lanegan brought out a fantastic solo album called Bubblegum a few years ago, his thing with Isobel Campbell was quite good, and anything he's done with QOTSA is obviously very good. Just proves kicking heroin does wonders for your career.
22/05/2007, 10:50 PM
Currently listening to The Sugarcubes album "stick around for joy" makes you realise how far Bjork has fallen.
SaucyJack
23/05/2007, 7:27 PM
Probably best known for the Neil Diamond cover,"Girl You'll be a woman soon" from the Pulp Fiction soundtrack, Urge Overkill were one great band(lead singer Nash Kato looks eerily like a young Christopher Walken)
Sister Havana from Saturation - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6AFfQBxx4w
28/05/2007, 12:14 PM
Whipping Boy, only realised how much I like them whilst hurtling through the roscommon countryside with Heartworm blaring out the windows :D