View Full Version : Flares at grounds
passerrby
19/04/2007, 4:17 PM
is the football that bad that you need a flare to amuse yourself
its adds to the colour and atmosphere of the game passerby.In the right hands they are safe!
Sniffer
19/04/2007, 4:39 PM
Well the FAI aren't impressed by them, check out this week's fines and suspensions. (http://www.walkthechalk.com/content.php?show=eircom_suspensions)
19/04/2007, 4:40 PM
Going back to the original point, I see Waterford were fined E100 for flares against us (which I never even noticed, to be honest). Also interesting that they were the away team and still got fined; it seems a lot of the time, the home team gets fined regardless of who was at fault.
Karl Phillips
19/04/2007, 6:22 PM
Spoke to the FAI Observer in Tolka about the Flares and he said they mention it in their report and if the Club are seen to do something about it they may or may not get a fine if there is continued use of Flares the fines will be doubled until the Club or Clubs take action.
Tis-smeee
19/04/2007, 9:37 PM
Spoke to the FAI Observer in Tolka about the Flares and he said they mention it in their report and if the Club are seen to do something about it they may or may not get a fine if there is continued use of Flares the fines will be doubled until the Club or Clubs take action.
We have stamped them out at the R.S.C but can do sweet fa about them at away games, but we get fined 100 euro for a group of our fans setting them off at U.C.D but they get fined nothing, can somebody explain that to me, there bags werent searched going in?
19/04/2007, 9:59 PM
For the sake of €100 could anyone wanting to use them not have a bit of a whip round and give the old two fingers to Delaney and co. :confused:
19/04/2007, 10:02 PM
For the sake of €100 could anyone wanting to use them not have a bit of a whip round and give the old two fingers to Delaney and co. :confused:
The fines get doubled for continued breach of the rules.
19/04/2007, 10:03 PM
Was thinking that myself.
19/04/2007, 10:04 PM
Was thinking that myself.
If you were to have a display would you be fined per flare or just the one €100 fine per game I wonder :confused:
19/04/2007, 10:14 PM
If you were to have a display would you be fined per flare or just the one €100 fine per game I wonder :confused:
It's not €100 per game. Fines get doubled every time you continue to have them at games.
19/04/2007, 10:22 PM
Most flares are ignored.
Pats probably let them off more than anyone else and GUFC have a OTT policy with them aswell.
Sligo got away with it as did Waterford who let off about 5 against UCD.
The FAI's policy on flares is far from a tough one.
It appears to me aswell that the Dublin Clubs don't put to much effort into eradicating them at their games,as opposed to the Clubs around the Country.
For example......if you let one off at Dalymount at Richmond you'd be,at worst,told to out it out.
At Terryland you'd be removed from the ground and interrogated under the Terrorism Act.:rolleyes:
19/04/2007, 10:48 PM
Most flares are ignored.
Pats probably let them off more than anyone else and GUFC have a OTT policy with them aswell.
Sligo got away with it as did Waterford who let off about 5 against UCD.
Pats, Shels and Waterford got fines.
Dr.Nightdub
19/04/2007, 11:17 PM
Incurring a fine for flares is way more fun than incurring a fine for not handing in your team sheet.
Tis-smeee
20/04/2007, 9:00 AM
Why werent ucd fined?
20/04/2007, 9:29 AM
Incurring a fine for flares is way more fun than incurring a fine for not handing in your team sheet.
Unless you're "not handing in your team sheet on time" to Alan Kelly. Strange thing is he reported both Bohs and Rovers for that same game yet the PA announcer had the team sheets long before the deadline. Something smells fishy about that fine IMO. Anyone else from the Bohs or Rovers side heard anything on this?
Why werent ucd fined?
Its the Team whose fans let off the flares that are fined.We have a search policy in galway but you cant strip search people.
Its the same few clubs that let them off and it is dying out.
Joey Killester
20/04/2007, 12:05 PM
What, flares are diying out? Over my dead body! And is it a new thing for the away team to get fined as well if there fans let one off because last year I thought it was just the host club? And also, does anyone know about the rules for smoke? I know there not allowed either but are the fines and stuff the same?
20/04/2007, 1:03 PM
I read on Shelsweb that BD will be paying the fine!
Unless you're "not handing in your team sheet on time" to Alan Kelly. Strange thing is he reported both Bohs and Rovers for that same game yet the PA announcer had the team sheets long before the deadline. Something smells fishy about that fine IMO. Anyone else from the Bohs or Rovers side heard anything on this?
Athlone also got fined over a late team sheet for the away game in Dundalk.
Probably late handing it in as none of our players turned up on the night :o
Tis-smeee
20/04/2007, 2:21 PM
Its the Team whose fans let off the flares that are fined.We have a search policy in galway but you cant strip search people.
Its the same few clubs that let them off and it is dying out.
In Waterford we search bags and police our ground there was no such thing done up in Belfield, so how can you tell me that we are supposed to police away grounds?
Therefore the only conclusion I can reach is that we do away with the security we are currently paying and leave the away fans to there own devices as we will be not fined.
What happens if the clubs just refuse to pay the fines? Are the FAI going to kick all the clubs out of the Delaneyship? Am I right in saying Rovers still haven't paid Scully's litany of fines from last season?
20/04/2007, 3:05 PM
In Waterford we search bags and police our ground there was no such thing done up in Belfield, so how can you tell me that we are supposed to police away grounds?Not the last time I was there.
monutdfc
20/04/2007, 3:12 PM
What happens if the clubs just refuse to pay the fines? Are the FAI going to kick all the clubs out of the Delaneyship? Am I right in saying Rovers still haven't paid Scully's litany of fines from last season?
All clubs get a grant for entering the U-21 league and unpaid fines are offset from this grant
Tis-smeee
20/04/2007, 3:39 PM
Not the last time I was there.
Were you going in in a big group all with bags and flares?
Why should we pay for your clubs **** up?
20/04/2007, 3:48 PM
Were you going in in a big group all with bags and flares?Bags, yes. Flares, no. How would anyone have known though?
Why should we pay for your clubs **** up?Why should we pay if your fans break the rules?
Tis-smeee
20/04/2007, 3:53 PM
I agree totally with you but what can we do also , we are at the mercy of away security in these matters
20/04/2007, 4:16 PM
Tis-smeee....
Why should UCD pay for Waterford fans letting off flares?They've done nothing wrong.
Stewards have no legal right to search you or the bag.Waterford fans let flares off=Waterford paying for fine.
Is it just Terryland you get searched in or is there any other ground?
20/04/2007, 4:48 PM
Stewards have no legal right to search you or the bag.Waterford fans let flares off=Waterford paying for fine.No but guards do so if you put up a fight about been searched by a steward they'll probably refuse you entry and/or get the guards to search ya;).
Tis-smeee
20/04/2007, 4:50 PM
Tis-smeee....
Why should UCD pay for Waterford fans letting off flares?They've done nothing wrong.
Stewards have no legal right to search you or the bag.Waterford fans let flares off=Waterford paying for fine.
What can Waterford united do as a club to stop it at away games?
Joey Killester
20/04/2007, 5:14 PM
I read on Shelsweb that BD will be paying the fine!
What? First I've heard of it, who said that?
half_full
20/04/2007, 5:42 PM
Tis-smeee, stop acting like there was trouble in Belfield the other night. New security firm at the RSC now, but its the Gards that are the real problem, and are being VERY akward e.g. no confetti:rolleyes:
Tis-smeee
20/04/2007, 6:17 PM
What are you banging on about?
21/04/2007, 8:58 AM
e.g. no confetti:rolleyes:
The Gardaí stopped you using confetti? That is bizarre.
21/04/2007, 9:04 AM
They've paid a deposit, I assume. Any fines can come out of that.
What can Waterford united do as a club to stop it at away games?
I presume the idea is that the fns concerned see they're after getting the club fined and will think twice about doing it again if their own club is going to get hit. Although it does appear to be a change in focus given we were fined in 2005 because one Rovers fan called Gary Dicker a paki and another couple of Rovers fans sang a bold song.
Also, I've never been searched in Waterford. One time I even drove right into the ground, so I had an entire car to hide things in.
21/04/2007, 10:25 AM
What? First I've heard of it, who said that?
http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?p=116033#116033
Check out JM's post!
half_full
21/04/2007, 9:52 PM
The Gardaí stopped you using confetti? That is bizarre.
yes against derry. asked me was i going to light it on fire:eek:
21/04/2007, 10:31 PM
had a bag full of footy gear with me today goin to rovers v pats because i had a game before it....i had to take out all my gear to show a steward, a tad annoying but suppose has to be done
21/04/2007, 10:32 PM
Pat's let off one or two flares again today. I hope the FAI are consistent with their fines and punish them again.
21/04/2007, 10:53 PM
better not fine us either! seen a few young pats fans no older than myself buyin rounds a vodka in centra before the match, dont know how they would have got in with it though, didnt even have any bags with them
Bosco
21/04/2007, 11:05 PM
Bottles of vodka aren't exactly hard to hide!
21/04/2007, 11:07 PM
better not fine us either! seen a few young pats fans no older than myself buyin rounds a vodka in centra before the match, dont know how they would have got in with it though, didnt even have any bags with them
Going on precedent Sligo won't be fined.
AFAIK stewards can't body search anyone entering the ground.
21/04/2007, 11:38 PM
Going on precedent Sligo won't be fined.
AFAIK stewards can't body search anyone entering the ground.
No they can't.
Hense the lads with the bottles of Vodka would have had no problem.
BohsFans
21/04/2007, 11:41 PM
rounds a vodka
that's culchie for what?
bottles?
No,shots!The lads abviously both a load of shots of vodka and had to carry them into the ground on a tray!How the stewards didnt cop,I dont know!:D
Whats that to do with flares??? :rolleyes:
bad mongo
22/04/2007, 7:25 AM
I'd take a chance shoving a naggen of vodka down me jocks to smuggle into a game to enliven the atmosphere but I don't reckon I'd do the same with a roman candle!
Anyone ever risk it?
22/04/2007, 9:37 PM
I'd take a chance shoving a naggen of vodka down me jocks to smuggle into a game to enliven the atmosphere but I don't reckon I'd do the same with a roman candle!
Anyone ever risk it?
ummmm must go back on stewarding duty sometime and do some "searches" ;)
Tis-smeee
01/05/2007, 9:32 PM
liverpool - Chelsea seemed to get on ok tonight without flares, atmosphere was electric watching it, what were the other arguments?