View Full Version : Tonights Setanta cup scores
Steve Bruce
17/04/2007, 3:16 PM
I can imagine the pride of such a record would be equivalent to that of Cork City's Munster Senior Cup triumphs.
Pal one thing is for sure, your lot wouldn't win our league. Actually there is probably only 2 or 3 teams in your league that would challange. Drogs, St Pats and Derry City. Even then would they show the same consistancy as Linfield? Hardly think so.
17/04/2007, 3:18 PM
Aye that would be right. :rolleyes: How did you do against Dungannon at Stangmore, a mid table team this season? By the way we beat them five down there.
We drew 1-1 with them in our first game in 3 months. Telling me how easily you beat them only emphasises my point.
SwiftsSupporter
17/04/2007, 3:20 PM
As I've said before we need to have the competition at a different time. Our sides are shattered half way through just when the EL sides get full fitness and it's pointless and the last 2 seasons we've really struggled at this stage of the season mainly in the last few league games with it.
Ourselves this season we haven't been good enough bar a few games and we've almost thrown parts of our side together because we didn't have a good enough squad at the start and because of injuries it's been even more difficult. I think we've did decent enough in the competition although I think we should and will do better.
17/04/2007, 3:21 PM
Pal one thing is for sure, your lot wouldn't win our league. Actually there is probably only 2 or 3 teams in your league that would challange. Drogs, St Pats and Derry City. Even then would they show the same consistancy as Linfield? Hardly think so.
:rolleyes: yes, name the other 3 teams in the setanta cup, it shows how much you know. face it, the league you're in is a joke, and you're happy to wallow in it because a challenge might mean you can't brag about beating some of the worst footballing teams this side of georgia.
We drew 1-1 with them in our first game in 3 months. Telling me how easily you beat them only emphasises my point.
What point? That you could not beat a mid table Irish League team at the same venue that we won 5-1 at?
:rolleyes: yes, name the other 3 teams in the setanta cup, it shows how much you know. face it, the league you're in is a joke, and you're happy to wallow in it because a challenge might mean you can't brag about beating some of the worst footballing teams this side of georgia.
Teams like Portadown that have went to Turners Cross and got a win? Is that the sort of teams you are talking about?
17/04/2007, 3:37 PM
Teams like Portadown that have went to Turners Cross and got a win? Is that the sort of teams you are talking about?
No, teams like Portadown that have embarrassed themselves by being hockied this season.
What point? That you could not beat a mid table Irish League team at the same venue that we won 5-1 at?
No, my point is that they are supposedly regulars in the top four of your league, and you're beating them 5-1 away. Our little preseason kick about hardly constitutes a comparison to your lot taking pride/pleasure out of beating 15 rubbish teams.
Yeah how dare we celebrate from coming from 2 nil behind against full-time opposition who are from a superior league and more or less assuring that we qualified into the next round of the Setanta. Still undefeated by the European giants in 4 games.
Still hurting then:D
DCFC aha aha aha, aha aha aha, aha aha aha
Oh and enjoy your struggle in the league this year whilst I enjoy our 47th league triumph. :cool:
****hole of a league.
Ye can stick yer Irish League up yer hole!! We're now playing with the big boys of Irish football, a challenging match every week, unlike pathetic easy victories at Loughgall, Limavady etc...Aye sure you bask in your 47th Mickey Mouse league win and we'll continue to face European giants of football:p
SwiftsSupporter
17/04/2007, 3:44 PM
In fairness that was our season in one and it was complete ****e. We did get a draw up at WP if you can remember.
Steve Bruce
17/04/2007, 3:49 PM
****hole of a league.
Ye can stick yer Irish League up yer hole!! We're now playing with the big boys of Irish football, a challenging match every week, unlike pathetic easy victories at Loughgall, Limavady etc...Aye sure you bask in your 47th Mickey Mouse league win and we'll continue to face European giants of football:p
And win feck all good one pal:D
You where a small fish in our pond and your a small fish in the LOI pond. Your just a small fish:p
Steve Bruce
17/04/2007, 3:50 PM
No, teams like Portadown that have embarrassed themselves by being hockied this season.
No, my point is that they are supposedly regulars in the top four of your league, and you're beating them 5-1 away. Our little preseason kick about hardly constitutes a comparison to your lot taking pride/pleasure out of beating 15 rubbish teams.
You can only beat whats in front of us and we do it very well. In fact when we are playing so called big LOI clubs, we manage to beat them to. So really does it matter? We have beaten both of your league favourites already this season.
Steve Bruce
17/04/2007, 3:53 PM
Our league is bad we accept that, but your league is hardly La liga now is it?
I accept your league has more depth. But your top teams are certainly no better than Linfield. I don't think any of your teams would find it easy to beat Coleraine, Ballymena or Portadown(just to name but a few) on a cold winters night in November on a heavy pitch.
17/04/2007, 3:57 PM
Our league is bad we accept that, but your league is hardly La liga now is it?
I accept your league has more depth. But your top teams are certainly no better than Linfield. I don't think any of your teams would find it easy to beat Coleraine, Ballymena or Portadown(just to name but a few) on a cold winters night in November on a heavy pitch.
Nor would we want to. But the attitude of the average linfield fan, they you're happy as a pig in muck being a football team in, well, muck... it both confuses and frustrates me. If you are as good as you say you are, would facing our greater depth not be beneficial to linfield as you would gain greater experience, face better quality of football, and not have to play in ballymena on a heavy pitch.
****hole of a league.
Continue? It was a one off. You will win no more than one game this year I would say. As for this pathetic league, how have you fared against playing teams in it. Let me see
Played 8
Won 2
Lost 3
Drawn 3
If our league is pathetic what does that make Derry City. Surely with two "pathetic" Irish League teams in your Setanta group you will have qualified comfortably both seasons.
Nor would we want to. But the attitude of the average linfield fan, they you're happy as a pig in muck being a football team in, well, muck... it both confuses and frustrates me. If you are as good as you say you are, would facing our greater depth not be beneficial to linfield as you would gain greater experience, face better quality of football, and not have to play in ballymena on a heavy pitch.
Why do you not aspire to playing in the English Premiership?
17/04/2007, 4:24 PM
Why do you not aspire to playing in the English Premiership?
we'd get slaughtered? :confused:
The SPL then? Or the French league? No because you are playing in the league of your country just like we are.
Continue? It was a one off. You will win no more than one game this year I would say. As for this pathetic league, how have you fared against playing teams in it. Let me see
Played 8
Won 2
Lost 3
Drawn 3
If our league is pathetic what does that make Derry City. Surely with two "pathetic" Irish League teams in your Setanta group you will have qualified comfortably both seasons.
When did i ever call Linfield pathetic? Everyone knows Linfield are the only good team in that league. What i dont get is that Linfield fans know this but still refuse to accept that they are winning a competition that is amateur at best. Linfield had 2 games against each team in the Il to prove that they are better. We've had eight, lost 3 deservedly, drawn 3 we maybe should have won and won 2 we did deserve. Now, should Derry City be playing in the IL (or any of the top LOI teams for that matter), then over a season, i'm sure we'd show that we could do what Linfield can. From my point of view, jelousy reeks from Linfield fans. The fact that we Derry City had a magnificent European run and the fact that the BBC covered us in our magnificent European run and not Linfields abysmal European run. Ever since Linfield fans have had a grudge against Derry City and our fans because of this. The fact is Linfield fans know the truth, and it seems the truth hurts by their reaction.
Enjoy your squabble in YOUR(;) ) amateur league!!
http://www.stpatsfc.com/watch_video.php?id=55
goals from pats port
kdjac
Steve Bruce
17/04/2007, 9:06 PM
When did i ever call Linfield pathetic? Everyone knows Linfield are the only good team in that league. What i dont get is that Linfield fans know this but still refuse to accept that they are winning a competition that is amateur at best. Linfield had 2 games against each team in the Il to prove that they are better. We've had eight, lost 3 deservedly, drawn 3 we maybe should have won and won 2 we did deserve. Now, should Derry City be playing in the IL (or any of the top LOI teams for that matter), then over a season, i'm sure we'd show that we could do what Linfield can. From my point of view, jelousy reeks from Linfield fans. The fact that we Derry City had a magnificent European run and the fact that the BBC covered us in our magnificent European run and not Linfields abysmal European run. Ever since Linfield fans have had a grudge against Derry City and our fans because of this. The fact is Linfield fans know the truth, and it seems the truth hurts by their reaction.
Enjoy your squabble in YOUR(;) ) amateur league!!
Once again Linfield shows the superiority we have even over the best LOI teams by topping the group with the supposed 2 best teams in the LOI.
That's 3 tournements in a row we have topped our group.
Also why would we be jealous? Sure you had a good run, well done. We would like to replicate that but jealous? Na. We win trophies every season, even when you where in our league and even when we had Belfast Celtic and even when the IL was streets ahead of the LOI. We always win trophies.
The IL will eventually close the gap between the two nations that is certain. But it's going to take some time. If the LOI experiances a massive lull in the next 5 years are Cork or any LOI team going to jump ship? Of course not.
harry crumb
17/04/2007, 9:13 PM
definitely going to head up for the Linfield game.
17/04/2007, 9:14 PM
Blah, blah, blah.....
More importantly than all that sh!te, have youse got a spare keeper?
17/04/2007, 9:22 PM
What a God-awful game of football tonight. Two teams who are supposedly among the best in the league, and they can't string two passes together for the most part, can't control the ball, can't take it down, can't give it to a defender without him hoofing aimlessly up the pitch... Derry couldn't even manage a back-pass properly - Oman's headed attempt where he injured himself and Rogers' suicidal pass for the goal were comical.
Thank God Zayed won be twenty quid at the death, or I'd be asking for that last 90 minutes back...
Once again Linfield shows the superiority we have even over the best LOI teams by topping the group with the supposed 2 best teams in the LOI.
Havent played us yet and in our 1st seaosn we have nearly scored as many goals as you in all 3 of yours.
How is Jennings a professional keeper, fair enough one or 2 mistakes a season are acceptable even Ryan makes mistakes but 2 every game is shocking.
kdjac
harry crumb
17/04/2007, 9:23 PM
Drogheda didnt come to play.
At least Derry tried.:ball:
Steve Bruce
17/04/2007, 9:25 PM
More importantly than all that sh!te, have youse got a spare keeper?
Our reserve keepers a good keeper but you cant have him:p :D
What a God-awful game of football tonight. Two teams who are supposedly among the best in the league, and they can't string two passes together for the most part, can't control the ball, can't take it down, can't give it to a defender without him hoofing aimlessly up the pitch... Derry couldn't even manage a back-pass properly - Oman's headed attempt where he injured himself and Rogers' suicidal pass for the goal were comical.
Thank God Zayed won be twenty quid at the death, or I'd be asking for that last 90 minutes back...
Dont know what game you were watching but i thought we played quite well up until the mistakes by PJ. Pizza was excellent and Molloy looked steady when he came on. I was happy with our performance
17/04/2007, 9:27 PM
How is Jennings a professional keeper, fair enough one or 2 mistakes a season are acceptable even Ryan makes mistakes but 2 every game is shocking.
In Jennings' defence, I'd have to say the first took a deflection and was possibly a free out (though he should have held the ball having gotten that much on it), and the second was a hospital pass from Rogers that Jennings had to run out of his box to try and clear, and the ball bounced badly for him. Could have done better for both, but I'd be looking at Rogers for the second goal way before Jennings.
Trust me CTID - it's one tihng when you're involved in the game, quite another as a neutral! That was a shocking 90 minutes of football. Seriously.
blueman1886
17/04/2007, 9:29 PM
Linfield arn't a good team but they can still win the 'group of death' two seasons in a row,so much for the galactico's of la eircom liga.
Shall we get t the final please dont insult us with Galacticos....we`re patselona!!!!!
kdjac
EireBadBoy
17/04/2007, 10:05 PM
All the games between Drogs and Derry have been hard to watch so far this season, thankfully we don't play them again for another while.
17/04/2007, 10:44 PM
All the games involving Pat Doolin as amanager are hard to watch. Fenlon wouldn't be a fan of Brazil 1970 either
17/04/2007, 10:51 PM
In Jennings' defence, I'd have to say the first took a deflection and was possibly a free out (though he should have held the ball having gotten that much on it), and the second was a hospital pass from Rogers that Jennings had to run out of his box to try and clear, and the ball bounced badly for him. Could have done better for both, but I'd be looking at Rogers for the second goal way before Jennings.
Trust me CTID - it's one tihng when you're involved in the game, quite another as a neutral! That was a shocking 90 minutes of football. Seriously.Pathetic attempt to back up your guff from last season that PJ (your ex-keeper) is a better option than Forde.
He's cost us at least 6 goals this season.
The deflection on the first one was minimal and whilst Rodgers apologised for the poor header, Jennings lacks any sense of dominating his box, providing the defenders with no confidence that he will ever come off his line.
The man is living proof that evolution as a concept is a sack of ****. How can the great Pat Jennings produce a smaller, ****ter goalkeeper for a son?
Dr.Nightdub
17/04/2007, 10:56 PM
We win trophies every season, even when you where in our league and even when we had Belfast Celtic and even when the IL was streets ahead of the LOI.
In fairness, 27 of your 47 League titles were won since Celtic left the IL. I don't think anyone's questioning Linfield's dominance since then though, but more their sense of ambition.
You can only really judge teams' respective merits on performances against each other. Yes, European progress is also important but the IL teams handicap themselves by the timing of their season so it's not really a comparison of like with like.
To give Linfield their due, they did win the Setanta first time out and do have a good record against Derry who have been one of the top LoI teams since the Setanta came into being. Or were until they started signing keepers purely for their comedy value. The depths of current Derry delusion are possible best illustrated by
Molloy looked steady when he came on
Personally, I spent the whole second half wondering if he'd been subbed without me realising it.
Can't wait to take Linfield on in Belfast if we can get past Drogheda (and I fancy our chances of doing so) - have already pointed out to my da that if it happens, I'll be the first Nightdub to set foot in Windsor since THAT Boxing Day Cup semi and if we actually win it, it might shut him up banging on about Celtic and Jimmy Jones and 2-3-5 and seven Leagues in a row in the '30s / '40s. Honest to god, he's more tiresome than Rovers at times. ;)
17/04/2007, 11:09 PM
The man is living proof that evolution as a concept is a sack of ****. How can the great Pat Jennings produce a smaller, ****ter goalkeeper for a son?
if his son was put to death for his poor performance, negating his opportunities to breed and thus carry on his inferior gene mutation, that would be evolution at work. unfortunately (perhaps fortunately, for the jennings family) nobody has quite identified the "goalie" gene yet, so killing him would violate any number of ethical guidelines when breeding animals.
blueman1886
17/04/2007, 11:47 PM
We'd beat any of yas anyday bring it on.
LeviathanNI
18/04/2007, 12:44 AM
Looking forward to having you Cork lads and lasses up to Windsor Park.. we were hoping to have drawn you last year and this year, just to keep the competition fresh.. How many do you reckon you could get up for the match? It is a fair oul trek, but the more the merrier! Get in touch with one of the hotels and ask them for a deal..
Drogman.
18/04/2007, 8:31 AM
All the games between Drogs and Derry have been hard to watch so far this season, thankfully we don't play them again for another while.
We were muck last night, and I would imagine that it was a terrible game to watch on the box. It was terrible watching it on the terrace.
I thought the injuries really messed up our performance but in saying that Shelly was outstanding in defence, what a player.
Funny part of the night was after Jennings received a dodgy back pass and controlled it nicely and then got it cleared, all the Derry fans starting signing, "There's only one Pat Jennings", then 2 minutes later he drops the ball and lets in the equalizer :D Made me laugh anyway.
18/04/2007, 8:36 AM
all the Derry fans starting signing, "There's only one Pat Jennings"I can assure you not all of us sang.
Although the statement is factually correct, there is only one Pat Jennings.
Unfortunately its not the one playing for us.
coislaoi
18/04/2007, 9:26 AM
What a God-awful game of football tonight. Two teams who are supposedly among the best in the league, and they can't string two passes together for the most part, can't control the ball, can't take it down, can't give it to a defender without him hoofing aimlessly up the pitch... .
It was a poor match alright. I thought, of the two teams, that Derry were the better side for the most part. At least they tried to play football and it's squarely down to Jennings that they lost. The first goal was definitely his fault and while Rogers' back pass was woeful for the second, Jennings' attempted clearance was pathetic.
lofty9
18/04/2007, 10:08 AM
To give Linfield their due, they did win the Setanta first time out and do have a good record against Derry who have been one of the top LoI teams since the Setanta came into being. Or were until they started signing keepers purely for their comedy value. The depths of current Derry delusion are possible best illustrated by
Personally, I spent the whole second half wondering if he'd been subbed without me realising it.
Re: Molloy, couldn't agree more. Very very disappointing last night and even this year. Young Higgins was the only one of the two who showed for the ball last night. As for Jennings, his concentration has gone to pot since Miss Ireland came on the scene, this scoring lark has gone to his head.
Graemerz
18/04/2007, 12:12 PM
****hole of a league.
We have too many poor teams in our league, but not for one second can you say there isn't poor teams in the Eircom, the likes of Galway, Longford, Bray and Waterford are **** poor.
18/04/2007, 12:17 PM
Ye've a lot more filler in fairness Graemerz.
Should improve if the size of your league reduces.
18/04/2007, 12:33 PM
Pathetic attempt to back up your guff from last season that PJ (your ex-keeper) is a better option than Forde.
Forde is a highly dodgy keeper. It's a view shared by a lot of people on here, so you'll just have to get over it and move on.
Your quote that -
whilst Rodgers apologised for the poor header, Jennings lacks any sense of dominating his box, providing the defenders with no confidence that he will ever come off his line.
makes me wonder what match you were watching. Rodgers didn't head the ball back, he blindly hooked over his shoulder, which resulted in the important extra factor that PJ couldn't catch the ball. Dominating the box is irrelevant in this context as the back pass didn't even reach the box. He was also very quick off his line in a situation where he shouldn't have had to expect to come so far out.
He does deserve a share of the blame for the defeat, but I think Derry fans are having a collective knee-jerk reaction blaming him while Rodgers - who was about 80% to blame - gets off relatively scot free. I don't really care in the end of the day, but you may as well call it properly if you're going to call it at all.
18/04/2007, 12:41 PM
I don't really care
You obviously do, as you defend him regularly on these boards.
IMO he's rubbish and was at fault for both goals (not on his own for the 2nd one...)
18/04/2007, 12:43 PM
You obviously do, as you defend him regularly on these boards.
Nothing better to do. :)
I'll call it as I see it; Jennings is coming in for excessive criticism for last night's match. Previous defences were based on what I saw at Belfield.
18/04/2007, 12:47 PM
Which was a fair few years ago. Players can show talent and not fulfill it, or even regress. Everytime I've seen him playr for Derry he's been poor and he was nowhere near as good a keeper as Forde
18/04/2007, 12:52 PM
I suspect Pat Senior's wife may not have been selected primarily on either her height or goal-keeping abilities. :D
It takes two to breed. That's why Big Pat should just be cloned...... :)
18/04/2007, 12:52 PM
I accept that. Most of my defending of him was before the start of the season; haven't seen him much this year. But he wasn't as much to blame for that second goal as is being made out. Fact. :)
BohsFans
19/04/2007, 2:10 PM
http://www.stpatsfc.com/watch_video.php?id=55
goals from pats port
kdjac
Men against boys!
Portadown are ****in disgrace to the tournament, they just let Pats walk right through them (literally) for the third goal I think it was!:rolleyes:
btw was there more than 100 at the game?:confused: